Of interest in the area of Negombo (Sri Lanka), what to see

In addition to attractions in the heart of Negombo, while relaxing at the resort, tourists have the opportunity to visit other places around Sri Lanka on their own or with a guided tour for a few days, which can be bought at travel agencies on the street. But there are several attractions near Negombothat can be visited in a short day trip. You can reach them yourself, hiring a tuk-tuk, a taxi or buy a tour.

Find online tours in Sri Lanka

Lagoon Negombo (Negombo Lagoon)

Закат в Негомбо, Шри-Ланка The sunset in Negombo lagoon, Sri Lanka

Laguna is located in the South-West of Negombo and is associated with the Indian ocean by a narrow Strait. This small reservoir with an area of about 35 sq. m. will add diversity to stay in Negombo, and can be pretty interesting, if you take a tour and swim on it. Traveling through the Lagoon to see the mangroves and, if lucky, a large number of different waterfowl. Also you can go fishing. Along the Lagoon is very modest and poor local residents, the main source of income is fishing and agriculture.

The Munneswaram Temple (The Munneswaram Devasthanam)

Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка The Munneswaram Temple, Sri Lanka

The temple is located in a small village near Chilaw in the North from Negombo. It is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is considered one of the oldest temples in Sri Lanka, although originally founded in the year 1000 of the temple, nothing was to be preserved. Largely due to the Portuguese who destroyed it twice (in 1578 and 1600), and the stubbornness of the locals who restored it again and again, today it looks impressive. Is a complex of several temples, including the main Shrine to Shiva (center), in the South-East and South-West is a Shrine for Sri Ganesha, in the North-East corner is a Buddhist Shrine for Ayyanayake. According to some, part of the walls of the main altar to Shiva dated back to the late XVI - early XVII centuries look Very impressive bas-reliefs of Hindu deities along the outer wall of the chariot for religious ceremonies and festivals. In the Eastern part of the entrance grows a Bodhi tree, and behind him the sacred pond. Overall, a worthwhile place.

Read more about Temple of Munneswaram and photos...

How to get there: at the intersection from at Chilaw Wariyapola Rd. 2.5 km to the East (the temple on the interactive map Negombo)

Hours: daytime

Entrance fee / ticket Price: free

The Munneswaram Kali Temple (The Munneswaram Kali Kovil)

Храм Муннесварам Кали, Шри-Ланка The Temple Munneswaram Kali

This temple is 100 metres to the North of the main Temple Munneswaram is part of it. It is dedicated to goddess Kali, and is popular not only among Hindus, but also Buddhists, and even Catholics. Apparently not very neat and tidy, but interesting in its own way. Prior to 2011, the Church held the rituals of animal sacrifice that is part of the ritual worship of goddess Kali. Animals were killed in large numbers, and outraged some animal advocates. After their repeated appeals to the local authorities about the termination of such rituals, they were banned.

To visit this temple stands, if only because of its history. And if you pay a visit to this region to visit the Munneswaram temple, the Munneswaram Kali, not to be missed.

Read more about Temple of Munneswaram Kali and photos...

How to get there: at the intersection from at Chilaw Wariyapola Rd. 2.5 km to the East (the temple on the interactive map of Negombo). From the Munneswaram temple is located just up the road, you need to drive or walk 100 meters far from the road (left).

Hours: daytime

Entrance fee / ticket Price: free

The Village Udappu (Udappu)

Деревня Удаппу, Шри-Ланка The main temple in Udappu

Udappu (Udappuwa) is a small fishing village on the coast 65 km North of Negombo. It is sometimes visited by the rare tourists passing during the trip and Negombo to the North, including in Anuradhapura or Trincomalee. So be prepared for the fact that in the village you will find yourself in the limelight. But, surprisingly, this attention is limited to only smiles of the local people or annoying kids. No one would be Intrusive to suggest you to buy something or ask for money.

In the centre of the village is the main temple of Sri Partha Sarathi Temple dedicated to the goddess Draupadi. Due to this temple the village and earned the attention of the curious traveller. In front of it a large area where there are lots of events of local importance. At the end of July - beginning of August, the temple becomes the center of the annual festival in honor of the goddess Draupadi, the final part which is the traditional men walking on hot coals.

In different parts of the village there are several small temples, which are open only in the morning or evening, and in principle, nothing special in itself is not. And in the village there is a fish market, but to visit it must be very early in the morning, and see there is nothing special.

Read more about the Village Udappu and photos...

How to get there: the village is located 65 kilometers from Negombo to the North (the village on the interactive map of Negombo). With the main road A3 will need to turn to the side road Udappuwa rd. and drive another 5 kilometers. The road will lead you directly to the centre of the village, where the main temple is located.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin January 26, 2014
Before asking questions, read the collected information about Negombo on the website: General tourist information about Negombo, weather and seasons, useful information, Hotels in Negombo How to get to Negombo Negombo Attractions, what to see and do places of interest near to Negombo Photos, Negombo Negombo Card Maybe the answer to your question is already there. If not, ask here any questions on Negombo ...
Anatoly Sholokhov January 31, 2014
Loved the journey, it was just incredible emotions. So many exotics in one place, I think something to go with the kids there. ...
Antonina January 31, 2014
Left in awe of the journey, so many exotics in one place, emotions just going wild,hoping that something happen to get to this wonderful Paradise. ...
admin February 1, 2014
You subject is not confused by chance? This is the theme of Negombo. Where you there is a Paradise and the exotic found? I'm not kidding, just wondering. ...

Rate the article:
(3 votes, rating: 4.7 of 5)

Достопримечательности в окрестностях Негомбо (Шри-Ланка), что посмотреть

Помимо достопримечательностей в самом Негомбо, во время отдыха на курорте туристам представляется возможность посетить и другие места по всей Шри-Ланке самостоятельно или с экскурсией на несколько дней, которую можно купить в турагентствах на улице. Но есть несколько достопримечательностей неподалеку от Негомбо, которые можно посетить и в течение короткой однодневной поездки. Добраться до них можно самостоятельно, наняв тук-тук, такси, или купив экскурсию.

Найти экскурсии онлайн (с отзывами)

Лагуна Негомбо (Negombo Lagoon)

Закат в Негомбо, Шри-Ланка Закат в лагуне Негомбо, Шри-Ланка

Лагуна расположена на юго-западе от Негомбо и связана с Индийским океаном узким проливом. Этот небольшой водоем площадью около 35 кв.м. добавит разнообразия пребыванию в Негомбо и может показаться довольно интересным, если взять экскурсию и поплавать по нему. Путешествуя по Лагуне можно увидеть мангровые заросли и, если повезет, большое количество разных водоплавающих птиц. Также можно порыбачить. Вдоль Лагуны очень скромно и бедно живут местные жители, основным источником доходов которых является лов рыбы и сельское хозяйство.

Храм Муннесварам (Munneswaram Devasthanam)

Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка

Храм расположен в небольшой деревне недалеко от г. Chilaw на севере от Негомбо. Он посвящен богу Шиве и считается одним из старейших храмов в Шри-Ланке, хотя от изначально основанного в 1000 году храма ничего на сохранилось. Во многом «благодаря» португальцам, разрушавшим его дважды (в 1578 и 1600 г.), и упрямству местных жителей, восстанавливавшим его снова и снова, сегодня он выглядит впечатляюще. Представляет собой комплекс из нескольких храмов, включающих основной алтарь для Шивы (в центре), в юго-востоку и юго-западу – святыня для Ганеши, в северо-восточном углу – буддийская святыня для Ayyanayake. По некоторым данным, часть стен главного алтаря для Шивы датирована концом XVI - началом XVII вв. Очень эффектно смотрятся барельефы индуистских божеств вдоль внешней стены, колесницы для религиозных обрядов и фестивалей. В восточной части от входа растет дерево бодхи, а за ним священный пруд. В целом, заслуживающее внимания место.

Подробнее про Храм Муннесварам и фото...

🚶  Как добраться: на перекрестке от Chilaw по Wariyapola Rd. в 2,5 км к востоку (храм на интерактивной карте Негомбо)

🕐  Время работы: в дневное время

💵  Входная плата / стоимость билетов: бесплатно

Храм Муннесварам Кали (Munneswaram Kali Kovil)

Храм Муннесварам Кали, Шри-Ланка Храм Муннесварам Кали

Этот храм находится в 100 м к северу от основного Храма Муннесварам и является его частью. Посвящен он богине Кали, и популярен не только у последователей индуизма, но и буддистов и даже католиков. Внешне не очень ухожен, но интересен по-своему. До 2011 г. храме проводились ритуалы жертвоприношения животных, что является частью ритуала поклонения богине Кали. Животных убивали в больших количествах, и это очень возмущало некоторых защитников животных. После их неоднократных обращений к местным властям о прекращении таких ритуалов, они были запрещены.

Посетить этот храм стоит, хотя бы из-за его истории. А если уж вы наведались в эти края, чтобы посетит храм Муннесварам, то Муннесварам Кали никак нельзя пропустить.

Подробнее про Храм Муннесварам Кали и фото...

🚶  Как добраться: на перекрестке от Chilaw по Wariyapola Rd. в 2,5 км к востоку (храм на интерактивной карте Негомбо). От храма Муннесварам, который находится прямо у дороги, нужно проехать или пройти метров 100 дальше от дороги (налево).

🕐  Время работы: в дневное время

💵  Входная плата / стоимость билетов: бесплатно

Деревня Удаппу (Udappu)

Деревня Удаппу, Шри-Ланка Главный храм в Удаппу

Udappu (Udappuwa) – небольшая рыбацкая деревня на побережье в 65 км к северу от Негомбо. Ее иногда посещают редкие туристы мимоходом при поездке и Негомбо на север, в том числе в Анурадхапуру или в Тринкомали. Поэтому будьте готовы к тому, что в деревне вы окажетесь в центре всеобщего внимания. Но, как ни удивительно, это внимание ограничится только улыбками жителей или местной приставучей детворой. Никто не будет навязчиво предлагать вам что-то купить или просить денег.

В центре деревни находится главный храм Sri Partha Sarathi Temple, посвященный богине Драупади. Именно благодаря этому храму деревня и заслужила внимание самых любознательных путешественников. Перед входом в него большая площадка, где проводятся разные мероприятия местного значения. В конце июля - начале августа храм становится центром ежегодного фестиваля в честь богини Драупади, заключительной частью которого становится традиционное хождение мужчин по горячим углям.

В разных концах деревни есть еще несколько маленьких храмов, которые открыты только утром или вечером, и в принципе ничего особенного из себя не представляют. А еще в деревне есть рыбный рынок, но его посещать нужно очень ранним утром, да и смотреть там особо нечего.

Подробнее про Деревню Удаппу и фото...

🚶  Как добраться: деревня находится в 65 километрах от Негомбо на север (деревня на интерактивной карте Негомбо). С главной трассы А3 нужно будет свернуть на проселочную дорогу Udappuwa rd. и проехать по ней еще 5 километров. Дорога приведет вас прямо в центр деревни, где и находится главный храм.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 26 Январь, 2014
Прежде чем задавать вопросы, прочитайте собранную информацию о Негомбо на сайте:
Общая туристическая информация о Негомбо, погода и сезоны, полезная информация
Отели Негомбо
Как добраться в Негомбо
Достопримечательности Негомбо, что посмотреть и чем заняться
Достопримечательности рядом с Негомбо
Фото Негомбо
Карта Негомбо
Возможно ответ на ваш вопрос там уже есть. Если нет, задавайте здесь любые вопросы по Негомбо ...
Анатолий Шолохов 31 Январь, 2014
Очень понравилось путешествие, это были просто невероятные эмоции. Столько экзотики собрано в одном месте, думаю еще как-нибудь отправиться с детишками туда. ...
Антонина 31 Январь, 2014
Осталась в восторге от путешествия, столько экзотики собрано в одном месте, эмоции просто зашкаливают,надеюсь что еще как-нибудь получиться выбраться в этот чудесный рай. ...
admin 1 Февраль, 2014

Вы тему не перепутали случайно? Это тема о Негомбо. Где вы там чудесный рай и экзотику нашли? Я не издеваюсь, просто интересно. ...

Оцените статью:
(4 голосов, оценка: 4.8 из 5)