Bandarawela

General information about Bandarawela

Bandarawela (Bandarawela) – a small town in Central Sri Lanka, at an altitude of about 1200 meters above sea level and 200 kilometers from Colombo and from Kandy 125 (Bandarawela on the map). The town is small, with a population of just 8 thousand people, but it is the second largest and largest town in the province of Badulla. It is a market town, and on Sunday morning here, there is a large food market.

For tourists Bandarawela is almost unremarkable, but is a convenient starting point to access other towns and attractions. It is also a major transport hub that will be useful while traveling in the mountainous part of Sri Lanka.

Panorama of the center Bandarawela

As in most other cities of mountain of Sri Lanka, Bandarawela tourists can enjoy wonderful views of the surrounding mountain scenery and tea plantations. Perhaps, Bandarawela even not inferior to other popular resorts, and in some ways even better: the fact that the city is below popular with tourists Nuwara Eliya, so here is a little warmer. And if you don't want to freeze in the winter months in Nuwara Eliya, because there the temperature can drop at night down to zero degrees, you can as a base point for exploring the mountain Sri Lanka to choose this town.

But be prepared for the fact that there is almost no infrastructure and entertainment created specifically for tourists. There are only hotels, and not a little, tuk-tuks for trips around the area, as well as the opportunity to book individual tours to nearby attractions and that's it. Within the city you can visit several Buddhist and Hindu temples, mosques and churches, nothing more of the attractions there. All interesting places are outside the city and in the neighboring towns of Ella, Haputale, Horton plains.

How to get to Bandarawela

Bandarawela is an important transport hub. There is a railway station of the branch Colombo-Badulla. Accordingly, to get clean from Colombo, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Haputale, Ella, Badulla and other cities of this branch. The schedule and cost of the trains, see here - https://eservices.railway.gov.lk.

Also in Bandarawela is located just a few bus stations (stops), where you can leave/arrive in Ella, Nuwara Eliya, Badulla, Haputale, Welimada, Wellawaya and even Colombo. Of course, from Colombo it is better to go by train, but to move between small towns Badulla district, including Ella, Haputale and Nuwara Eliya, it is necessary to transplant with a change of bus here. The buses run very often, schedules do not stick, are inexpensive. For each direction it has its own bus station/stop and to understand what you need, it is best to seek the assistance of the locals or bus drivers.

Бандаравела

Общая информация о Бандаравеле

Бандаравела (Bandarawela) – небольшой город в центральной Шри-Ланке на высоте около 1200 метров над уровнем моря, в 200 километрах от Коломбо и 125 от Канди (Бандаравела на карте). Город небольшой, его население всего 8 тысяч человек, но при этом это второй по значимости и размеру город в провинции Бадулла. Это торговый город, и по воскресеньям утром здесь работает крупный продовольственный рынок.

Для туристов Бандаравела почти ничем не примечательна, но является удобной отправной точкой для доступа к другим городам и достопримечательностям. Также это крупный транспортный узел, что будет полезно во время путешествия по горной части центра Шри-Ланки.

Панорама центра Бадаравелы

Как и в большинстве других городов горной Шри-Ланки, в Бандаравеле туристам открываются замечательные виды на окружающие горные пейзажи и чайные плантации. Пожалуй, видами Бандаравела даже не уступает другим популярным курортам, а кое в чем даже удобнее: дело в том, что город находится ниже популярной у туристов Нувара-Элии, поэтому здесь немного теплей. И если вы не хотите мерзнуть в зимние месяцы в Нувара-Элии, ведь там температура может опускаться по ночам до нуля градусов, то можете в качестве базовой точки для знакомства с горной Шри-Ланкой выбрать этот городок.

Но следует быть готовым и к тому, что здесь практически нет никакой инфраструктуры и развлечений, созданных специально для туристов. Есть только отели, и их не мало, тук-туки для поездок по окрестностям, а также возможность заказать индивидуальные туры к близлежащим достопримечательностям, и на этом все. В пределах города можно посетить несколько буддистских и индуистских храмов, мечетей и церквей, больше ничего из достопримечательностей нет. Все интересные места находятся за пределами города и в соседних городах Элла, Хапутале, Плато Хортона.

Как добраться в Бандаравелу

Бандаравела – важный транспортный узел. Здесь находится железнодорожная станция ветки Коломбо-Бадулла. Соответственно, добраться без пересадки можно из Коломбо, Канди, Нувара-Элии, Хапутале, Эллы, Бадуллы и других городов данной ветки. Расписание и стоимость поездов смотрите здесь - https://eservices.railway.gov.lk.

Также в Бандаравеле находится сразу несколько автобусных станций (остановок), с которых можно уехать/приехать в Эллу, Нувара-Элию, Бадуллу, Хапутале, Welimada, Wellawaya, и даже Коломбо. Конечно, из Коломбо ехать сюда лучше на поезде, но чтобы перемещаться между небольшими городами округа Бадулла, включая Эллу, Хапутале, а также Нувара Элию, нужно делать пересадку со сменой автобуса здесь. Автобусы ходят очень часто, расписания не придерживаются, стоят недорого. Для каждого направления здесь своя автобусная станция/остановка, и чтобы разобраться, какая вам нужна, лучше всего обратиться за помощью к местным жителям или водителям автобусов.