Seasons and weather in Sri Lanka months, when to go

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

Despite the small size of the island, weather and seasons here in Sri Lanka are very different at the same time. Although in General there is always hot, sometimes, when at one resort is always clear weather, just a couple of hundred miles away on the other coast can pass the season of rain, when all day rains and the monsoon winds blow. Therefore, the choice of resort on the island should be approached with caution, otherwise you can completely ruin your entire vacation.

We have gathered information about the seasons and weather in all parts of the island, and displays it on an interactive map for months (months the switch at the bottom of the card). If the map for some reason you are not working properly, read the text description below.

  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в январе
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в феврале
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в марте
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в апреле
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в мае
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в июне
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в июле
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в августе
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в сентябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в октябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в ноябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в декабре

Table seasons in Sri Lanka by month:

The resort\month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Negombo                        
Colombo                        
Beruwala                        
Bentota                        
Hikkaduwa                        
Galle                        
Unawatuna                        
Koggala                        
Weligama                        
Mirissa                        
Dikwella South                        
Tangalle                        
Trincomalee                        

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

ADVERTISING

Seasons in Sri Lanka by month:

  • January

    In January, the best time to travel to the Western (Negombo, Colombo, Bentota, etc.) and southern resorts (Unawatuna, Mirissa, Tangalle etc.).

    In the Central regions of the country (Kandy, Nuwara Eliya) the weather is changeable, but in General you can go to recover from long trips. In the highlands (Nuwara Eliya) at this time is pretty cool, especially at night.

    On the West coast (Trincomalee) and North (Anuradhapura and Jaffna) the weather is not very good, and if possible, you should postpone the trip to these areas.

  • February

    Weather conditions remain the same as in January.

  • Mar

    March is the time code, you can go to any place on the island, and everywhere is wonderful. And while on the East coast (Trincomalee) in the North is not the best season, the recreational facilities are quite acceptable.

  • April

    As in March, in April you can go to any resort, and everywhere you will get beautiful weather. It remains only to choose the best location of the good.

  • May

    Begins the season of monsoon, blowing from the Indian ocean. It can not worsen the weather on the island. Especially strongly it is deteriorating on the West coast (Colombo and Negombo) and in the South, where in may have high precipitation. But overall, still, it is possible to go anywhere, just can't be sure that it won't rain always the sun will Shine. The best places in this time – the South and the East coast.

    Monsoon winds create in the Western and southern shores strong waves, such that sometimes to swim in the ocean just becomes dangerous. Only in rare places, such as at Unawatuna, where the Bay is protected, without fear to enter the sea.

  • Jun

    The weather continues to be satisfactory throughout the island, but far from perfect. You can rest anywhere, but it is not excluded rain. The best time is June to go to the East (Trincomalee), where just the midst of the best season.

    As in may, the monsoons create strong waves on the West and South coast, and is dangerous to swim or at least not comfortable.

  • Jul

    In July in the South and West of the island, and in the centre of the island the weather is getting worse. Sunny days, of course, happen, but the probability of daily rainfall is large. The sky is often overcast. Monsoon winds are still not allowed to swim due to strong waves.

    In the North and the East coast is quite the opposite and this is a great time to visit, Trincomali and sightseeing in the North, for example Anuradhapura and Mihintale.

  • August

    August is an unusual month. Low season and the monsoon season continues, but the weather suddenly gives you a chance to relax tourists in most resorts in the country this month. At all beach resorts, the weather is improving, the number of Sunny days is becoming more and rainfall decreases. Only in the centre of the island the weather is not the best, but not so not worth it to go on excursions to Cultural triangle of Sri Lanka and mountainous regions of Nuwara Eliya.

    Unfortunately, the wind and waves on the West and South and a little weaker, but still make it difficult and uncomfortable swimming in the ocean.

  • September

    Good August weather ends abruptly, and on the South and West again starts the low season. Swimming is also not recommended due to strong waves and wind. But on the East coast, the high season continues in full with calm seas and an abundance of Sunny days.

  • October

    The weather continues to deteriorate on the island, moving to the peak of the low season. It was on October and November, the heaviest rainfall at most resorts in the island, and overall this is the worst season. And, worse is not only on the southern and Western coast and in the East in Trincomalee. Thus, if in the East you can still find a number of Sunny days recovered there by luck, in the West and the South the chance to catch the sun and cloudless sky very little.

    The monsoons in October, begin to slowly fade away, like the waves, but swimming is still not comfortable.

  • November

    Bad hearth continues their winning streak, and along with October, November is one of the worst months in Sri Lanka. To go almost nowhere, except to tempt happiness on the South or southwest shore. On the East coast abruptly starts very rainy season.

    Fortunately, already in the second half of the month weather in the South and the West coast is starting to improve. And yet, the winds in November subsided, the waves becoming smaller, and swimming season starts.

  • December

    December is the transitional month between high season, which sharply starts in January in most parts of Sri Lanka. Do constantly bad weather remains only on the East coast. To the South and West you can go, and it is likely that you will find there's good weather.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
Rupii 17 November, 2018
Sell 10 000 Sri Lankan rupees for 3000 rubles in Moscow. 8 nine hundred twenty six zero 467888 ...
admin 17 November, 2018

Good suggestion on the course. Can you agree that at the Domodedovo airport to meet in a week and there buy? ...
Kotia December, 12, 2018
Hello! Prompt, please, at the end of December in Trinko very large waves and quite impossible to bathe? Thank you! ...
admin 12 December, 2018

You know, I was not in Sri Lanka at this time, but was in the normal season, almost all the resorts, saw different waves. And I suppose that in the off-season should be powerful waves. I don't think come entering is generally impossible, but to swim out of the question to go. Although it's very lucky, now the climate is changing everywhere,it might be a normal period. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018
In this period of the year to go to the South of Sri Lanka. This Is Galle,Hikkaduwa, Ambalangoda,Balapitiya,Bentota. At this time of the year is a favorable climate for holidays and no storms. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018

Better at this time of the year to go South of Sri Lanka. In Sri Lanka there are two periods. The Northern and Eastern part it is better to go from April to October. And in South and South-West from November to April. ...
vitsa Feb 10, 2019
Julianna wrote(a):
> Good day!
> Please tell me, and the hotel it is advisable to book in advance or on
> place..In the Hikkaduwa hotel Hikkaduwa beach? ...
admin 10 February, 2019

But who knows, there will be room when you arrive, or not THINK ,it is necessary to be a fortuneteller to answer. ...
stasya 27 March, 2019
We're flying in June, Mr. Trincomalee , now our friends are there, send a video, the beaches are so kick some dirty ...
Karina T. 8 April, 2019
Took a bike in Negombo Lewis Place, 152. Guy speaks in Russian. Gasoline in March 2019 were 132 rupees per 1 liter. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Сезоны и погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам, когда лучше ехать

Несмотря на небольшие размеры острова, погода и сезоны здесь на Шри-Ланке очень сильно отличаются в один и тот же момент. И хотя в целом здесь всегда жарко, случается так, что когда на одном курорте постоянно стоит ясная погода, всего в паре сотен километров от него на другом побережье может проходить сезон дожей, когда целыми днями идут дожди и дуют муссонные ветра. Именно поэтому к выбору курорта на острове стоит подходить с осторожностью, иначе можно напрочь испортить себе весь отдых.

Мы собрали и обобщили информацию о сезонах и погоде во всех частях острова, и отобразили ее на интерактивной карте по месяцам (переключайте месяцы внизу карты). Если карта по каким-то причинам у вас работает некорректно, можете прочитать текстовое описание ниже.

  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в январе
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в феврале
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в марте
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в апреле
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в мае
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в июне
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в июле
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в августе
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в сентябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в октябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в ноябре
  • Погода на Шри-Ланке по месяцам в декабре

Таблица сезонов на Шри-Ланке по месяцам:

Курорт\месяц Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
Негомбо                        
Коломбо                        
Берувала                        
Бентота                        
Хиккадува                        
Галле                        
Унаватуна                        
Коггала                        
Велигама                        
Мирисса                        
Диквелла                        
Тангале                        
Тринкомали                        

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Сезоны на Шри-Ланке по месяцам:

  • Январь

    В январе лучшее время для поездки на западные (Негомбо, Коломбо, Бентота и др.) и южные курорты (Унаватуна, Мирисса, Тангале и др.).

    В центральных районах страны (Канди, Нувара-Элия) погода переменчивая, но в целом можно туда оправляться на длительные экскурсии. В высокогорных районах (Нувара-Элия) в это время довольно прохладно, особенно по ночам.

    На западном побережье (Тринкомали) и на севере (Анурадхапура и Джафна) погода не самая хорошая, и если есть возможность, стоит отложить поездку в эти районы.

  • Февраль

    Погодные условия сохраняются точно такие же, как и в январе.

  • Март

    Март – это время, кода можно ехать в любое место на острове, и везде будет замечательная погода. И хотя на восточном побережье (Тринкомали) и на севере это не лучший сезон, условия для отдыха вполне приемлемые.

  • Апрель

    Как и в марте, в апреле можно ехать на любой курорт, и везде вы получите прекрасную погоду. Остается только выбирать лучшие места из самых хороших.

  • Май

    Начинается сезон муссонов, дующих с Индийского океана. Это не может не ухудшить погоду на всем острове. Особенно сильно она ухудшается на западном побережье (в Коломбо и Негомбо) и на юге, где на май приходится максимум осадков. Но в целом, по-прежнему, можно ехать куда угодно, просто уже нельзя быть уверенным, что не пойдет дождь и всегда будет светить солнце. Лучшие места в это время – юг и восточное побережье.

    Муссонные ветры создают на западном и южном берегах сильные волны, такие, что порой купаться в океане становится просто опасно. Лишь в редких местах, например в Унаватуне, где бухта защищена, можно без особых опасений входить в море.

  • Июнь

    Погода по-прежнему удовлетворительная на всей территории острова, но уже далеко не идеальная. Отдыхать можно где угодно, но не исключены дожди. Лучше всего в июне ехать на восток (Тринкомали), где как раз разгар лучшего сезона.

    Также как и в мае, муссоны создают сильные волны на западном и южном берегах, и купаться опасно или как минимум не комфортно.

  • Июль

    В июле на юге и западе острова, а также в центре острова погода становится все хуже. Солнечные дни, конечно, бывают, но вероятность ежедневных дождей велика. Небо часто затянуто тучами. Муссонные ветры по-прежнему не позволяют купаться из-за сильных волн.

    На севере и восточном побережье все совершенно наоборот, и это прекрасное время для поездки в Тринокомали и посещения достопримечательностей на севере, например Анурадхапуры и Михинтале.

  • Август

    Август – необычный месяц. Низкий сезон и сезон муссонов продолжаются, но погода неожиданно дает шанс отдохнуть туристам на большинстве курортов страны в этом месяце. На всех пляжных курортах погода улучшается, количество солнечных дней становится больше, а количество осадков уменьшается. Лишь в центре острова погода не самая лучшая, но и не так чтобы не стоило ехать на экскурсии в Культурный треугольник Шри-Ланки и в горные районы Нувара-Элии.

    К сожалению, ветер и волны на западе и юге хоть немного и ослабевают, но все равно делают затруднительным и некомфортным купание в океане.

  • Сентябрь

    Хорошая августовская погода резко заканчивается, и на юге и западе снова начинается низкий сезон. Купаться также не рекомендуется из-за сильных волн и ветра. Зато на восточном побережье высокий сезон продолжается по полной программе со спокойным морем и обилием солнечных дней.

  • Октябрь

    Погода продолжает ухудшаться на всем острове, двигаясь к пику низкого сезона. Именно на октябрь и ноябрь приходится максимальное количество осадков на большинстве курортов острова, да и в целом это худший сезон. Причем, хуже становится не только на южном и западном побережье, но и на востоке в Тринкомали. При этом, если на востоке еще можно застать некоторое количество солнечных дней оправившись туда на везение, то на западе и юге шансов застать солнце и безоблачное небо очень мало.

    Муссоны в октябре начинают потихоньку угасать, как и волны, но купаться по-прежнему не комфортно.

  • Ноябрь

    Плохая пода продолжает свое победное шествие, и наряду с октябрем, ноябрь является одним из худших месяцев на Шри-Ланке. Ехать практически некуда, разве что попутать счастья на южном или юго-западном берегу. На восточном побережье резко начинается очень дождливый сезон.

    К счастью, уже во второй половине месяца погода на юге и западном побережье начинает улучшаться. И еще, ветры в ноябре утихают, волн становится меньше, и начинается купальный сезон.

  • Декабрь

    Декабрь – переходный месяц между высоким сезоном, который резко начинается в январе на большей части Шри-Ланки. Действительно постоянно плохая погода сохраняется только на восточном побережье. На юг и запад уже можно ехать, и велика вероятность, что вы застанете там хорошую погоду.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
З ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Первый раз едем на Шри-Ланку. На разведку))). Планируем в ноябре-декабре на две недели. Хотелось бы снять жильё на побережье (желательно прямо на пляже). Но не в отеле, а именно частный домик/бунгало/и т.п. Очень желательно с кухней. И хотим искать жильё уже на месте. То есть приехать, снять что-нить на сутки, что бы вещи оставить и в путь на поиски местечка у океана. Это реально? Есть ли на Ланке пляжи с "частным сектором" на первой линии? ...
admin 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Конечно есть бунгало. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Спасибо! Уже обнадёживает :). А на какой пляж лучше ехать в поисках подобного жилья? Что бы был большой выбор жилья и при этом достаточно тихий, спокойный пляж. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Даже более конкретно спрошу. Можно ли снять домик на первой линии на пляже Мириса? Он по описаниям больше всех понравился. ...
admin 25 Сентябрь, 2018
Да, в Мириссе можно. Вы же сами можете посмотреть варианты на Airbnb или Booking ...
Rupii 17 Ноябрь, 2018
Продам 10 000 шриланкийских рупий за 3000 рублей в Москве. 8 девятьсот двадцать шесть ноль 467888 ...
admin 17 Ноябрь, 2018
Хорошее предложение по курсу. Можно будет с вами договориться, чтобы в аэропорту домодедово встретиться через неделю и там купить? ...
Котя 12 Декабрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Подскажите, пожалуйста, в конце декабря в Тринко очень большие волны и совсем нельзя купаться? Спасибо! ...
admin 12 Декабрь, 2018
Знаете, я не был на Шри-Ланке в это время, но был в нормальный сезон почти на всех курортах, видел там разные волны. И предполагаю, что в самый несезон должны быть мощные волны. Не думаю, что зайти ввод будет вообще нельзя, но о том чтобы поплавать речи не может идти. Хотя это ведь еще как повезет, сейчас климат меняется везде,может будет и нормальный период. ...

Оцените статью:
(Пока оценок нет)