What to bring from Sri Lanka?

Tea, coffee

Цейлонский чай

Tea grown in Sri Lanka (Ceylon tea) do not need additional advertising. About it anywhere and everywhere it is written much. I would like to Express my opinion that, although buy higher quality tea is recommended in the factories in the tea estates, the prices are highly inflated. In supermarkets and specialty departments also have a good selection of teas at much more attractive prices, and have the gift packs (though, for the beautiful packaging will have to pay a little extra). For example, 200 grams of tea packaging "Mlesna" in the supermarket is 245 rupees (refer to the currency of Sri Lanka, the exchange rate), a little easier "Maskeliya", the same 200 – a is 190 rupees, cheapest and known to us "Dilmah" for 95 rupees (100 grams). Of course, taste sensations are influenced by many factors: locus, to which the leaves are harvested, the processing of tea leaves, the size of the finished tea leaves etc. It is everyone chooses for themselves.

It is believed that the best tea in Sri Lanka – mountain, on the South of the island in Nuwara Eliya, Dambulla, and UDA Pussellawa. In mid-highland (Kandy, UVA) and lowland (Ruhuna) – the tea is not worse, but slightly inferior to the high altitude quality. Produce black and green tea. However, more widespread and popular black.

There are in Sri Lanka and coffee, but its grown a bit and it has a very refined taste and excellent qualities. In the supermarkets you can find "Island Coffee" with vanilla and ginger (200 gr. pack costs around 290 crore).

Jewelry

Ювелирный магазин в Шри-Ланке

Mined in Sri Lanka, both precious and semi-precious stones. Among local allocate precious sapphire, especially blue, alexandrite, ruby, garnet, among semi – blue moonstone, quartz, Topaz, amethyst.

Stones and jewelry with them, offer to purchase on a small jewelry factories that can be visited independently or as part of a tour group. A visit to these places is free, instead you crave a response in the form of buying. Here tell and show the process of extraction of stones (from lifting from the mine to the sorting), as well as the technology of manufacturing of finished jewelry. In addition, to buy jewelry in Sri Lanka are everywhere: in shopping malls and small shops. The most famous centre for the production and manufacture of jewelry is the city of Ratnapura, but his fame adds to the final cost of the product for more cheat. There are several small factories close to Hikkaduwa in Meetiyagoda, specializing in the production of moonstone (Moonstone Mine).

It is believed that to buy in Sri Lanka better only stones, for the reason that silver and gold is very expensive, and the finished product does not differ elegance. However, a waste of time to search for a good master, material plus work in Russia, will be cheaper. And, if you don't like the stones themselves, it is possible to buy ready-made jewelry. While at purchase, as stones, and the finished product can always be trapped, faced with forgery. To check the quality of the stone, unfortunately, not a specialist, it will be impossible, and therefore we can only trust the merchant or abandon the purchase.

Spices

In Sri Lanka, in the district of Matale are many spice gardens, each having its own serial number. Can be used both independently and in the framework of some excursions. You will hold in the garden, get acquainted with the assortment of spices (pepper, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, vanilla, coriander, turmeric, ginger, etc.) grown on the island, tell them useful and medicinal properties. If you want, here you can buy your favorite spices, cosmetic products (coconut or sandalwood oil, aloe Vera cream, mosquito repellent), ointments and balms based on herbs and plants. However, as elsewhere in Sri Lanka, there is a small caveat: many who visit these spice gardens consider them as regular wired for tourists, so take a look at similar products in regular stores or on the market: it is there, and is much cheaper.

Clothing

The clothes are good quality, there are plenty to choose. Particular praise for the products from silk and cotton. For example, silk shawls can be bought for 600 rupees, t-shirts for RS 400, t – 850 RS, silk blouses for 1000 rupees.

Perhaps the most original of things, brought from Sri Lanka, will be a Sari (for women) and a sarong (for men). If desired, one can think of something to sew or to wear for special occasions.

Usually, shopping is dedicated to the final part of the trip and it ends in Colombo. The most famous large shopping malls, where consumers prefer to make purchases - Odel, House of Fashion, Liberty Plaza, Majestic City, Nolimit. It is not necessary to dismiss and small shops, sometimes you can find good stuff.

Souvenirs

Магазин сувениров в Коломбо

As the chief of the souvenir of Sri Lanka can bring to the various figures of elephants, large and small, from different wood species (from RS 700), including black (the most expensive) and a simple painted (from RS 400), coconut in traditional attire on the occasion of the Perahera.

Very popular mask, they have different shape and meaning. But in most cases, sold masks have the function of protection and protection from evil spirits and other negative feelings. In Ambalangoda that is famous for its craftsmen, masks are there are at least two of the Museum of Masks where you can not only learn the history of their origin, but also to buy any. By the way, in the store at the Museums not only masks, but also many other Souvenirs. Price mask medium size starts from 600 RS.

The drums play an important role in the lives of Sri Lankans, they are present in daily life and in religious and other festivals of the inhabitants. Therefore, in the souvenir shops you can find different types of drums from cylindrical to flat.

Ювелирный магазин в Шри-Ланке

Very beautiful batik products (from 1500 INR), painted pattern on the fabric (from 1050 rupees), silverware, cane, ceramics, woodcarving, as well as other small things: the magnets (60-400 rupees), key chains, bookmarks, etc.

Buy the best in specialized souvenir shops with fixed prices. For example, in Colombo , the best known are Lakpahana Laksala Handicrafts and; the prices are reasonable and the selection is huge and varied. Besides, buy Souvenirs everywhere: in markets, in small shops, specialized departments in shopping malls, however, cheat here will be significant.

There is also a feeling that buying gifts is most advantageous in areas where guided tours and close to major attractions. This is true, but only if you know how to bargain. Initially, the price is three to four times higher and it is necessary to bargain until it stops.

Useful tips

Torg. Sri Lanka can and should bargain: when shopping in the market when renting a vehicle, using the services of tuk-tuks in other cases, when the price is clearly not fixed. To bargain, even in the guesthouses and hotels. Sometimes the price can be brought down to 30%, however, traded here, with great confusion and reluctance, after all, a tourist in the eyes of the locals – it's a piece of bread with butter: don't fuck (fool) – not live...

Shopping. In Colombo there are several large shopping centers where you can find almost everything: clothes, shoes, electronics, perfumes, toys, Souvenirs, tea departments, etc., in some of them there are supermarkets, cafes and cinemas. Among the famous: Odel, Liberty Plaza, Majestic City, House of Fashion. Yet it is worth noting the Arpico chain of stores that meet in major cities of the country, with a large assortment of food and essential items for the home. Grocery stores presents a well-developed network throughout the country under the name Food City.


Author: I

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
Lauryn 15 Dec 2017, 17:33
1Добрый evening! Going to Sri Lanka in the second half of January. If I'm on the ETA, do not tell me when it's ready? (including the upcoming NG) Or is it better to do it at the airport on arrival? I read that this is possible. Is this true? Thank you for your answer. ...
admin 15 Dec 2017, 17:38
1 do Not see the advantages of what to do at the airport. First of all expensive and secondly have at the airport to spend more time, you need it. Make from home a few days everything will be ready. ...
Yanita 05 Feb 2018, 18:35
1 > we are flying with a child. In Thailand no problem we went with the baby on the motorbike. Can there be a problem with the police in Sri Lanka if the motorcycle will be 2 adults and a child? ...
admin 06 Feb 2018, 09:29
1 Hello! Yes, it seems that even we are not forbidden to carry on a motorcycle in the front seat, and after 12 on the rear. But in Sri Lanka, motorbikes for transport is generally not considered, all ride, and many times with children seen. Well, even if there are complaints, the police (police on the roads, by the way, very little), solve the problem on the spot. The cops are here Oh-Oh-Oh-ry is corrupt, everything can be solved for a few bucks. Do not swear with them, and smile and even laugh, and everything will be OK. P. S. in Kandy into oncoming traffic on the bike flooded, and then as luck COP. He blowed, poulybalis each other, turned around and went back. ...
Lukas 07 May 2018, 18:55
1Hello! I'm going to Sri Lanka in about a month and have thoughts on renting a scooter when I'm in Ella and perhaps also in/around Arugam Bay. I only have my Swedish drivers license (I know more is required) but I wonder about the consequenses if being pulled over? I was several times in Bali and just paid for a temporary license the first time which I could then show when it happened again. How expensive would a fine be in Sri Lanka, it is high risk to get pulled over as a tourist on bike and also, what is worse case scenario if I do get pulled over? Answers would be appriciated! Regards Lukas ...
admin 09 May 2018, 05:13
1 Hi Lukas! You are right, officialy you need to get a local drivers permit. But on practice you don't really need this, actually like on Bali too. I have expirience in driving all around Sri Lanka, have met twice policemens on the road and they cheked-out my russian driving license, and I don't have any problems and fines. ...
Оксана1083 31 may 2018, 13:16
1A how much is one day delay in the visa. We have tickets for 32 days. And how to do better. To change tickets or expired visa to pay ...
aksinew 13 may 2018, 13:54
1C visoiu to decide ...
ucy6ucy 16 may 2018, 11:08
1Скажите please, here I was in Sri Lanka in spring of this year, I was there 2 and a half months, returned in April, now I want to go there for a month, will you give me a visa? ...
admin 16 may 2018, 11:36
1 Make ETA, there will be no problems. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Что привезти из Шри Ланки?

Чай, кофе

Цейлонский чай

Чай, выращиваемый на Шри-Ланке (Цейлонский чай) не нуждается в дополнительной рекламе. О нем везде и всюду написано много. Хочется высказать свое мнение, что, хотя покупать более качественный чай рекомендуют на фабриках при чайных плантациях, цены здесь сильно завышены. В супермаркетах и специализированных отделах также есть неплохой выбор чая по куда более привлекательным ценам, есть и в сувенирных упаковках (правда, за красивую упаковку придется немного доплатить). К примеру, 200 гр упаковка чая «Mlesna» в супермаркете стоит 245 рупий (см. валюта Шри-Ланки, курс обмена), немного проще «Maskeliya», те же 200 г. – стоит 190 рупий, самый дешевый и известный у нас «Dilmah» за 95 рупий (100 гр). Конечно, на вкусовые ощущения влияет множество факторов: место произрастания, какие листья собирают, процесс обработки чайного листа, размер готовых чаинок и пр. Это уже каждый выбирает по себе.

Считается, что самый лучший чай на Шри-Ланке – высокогорный, на юге острова в Нувара Элии, Дамбулле, Уда Пусселлаве. В средневозвышенных (Канди, Ува) и равнинных (Рухуна) местах – чай не хуже, но немного уступает высокогорному по качеству. Вырабатывают как черный, так и зеленый чай. Однако, все же более распространен и популярен черный.

Есть на Шри Ланке и кофе, но его выращивают немного и оно не обладает изысканным вкусом и отменными качествами. В супермаркетах можно встретить «Island Coffee» с ванилью и имбирем (200 гр. упаковка стоит примерно 290 рупий).

Ювелирные изделия

Ювелирный магазин в Шри-Ланке

Добывают на Шри Ланке как драгоценные, так и полудрагоценные камни. Среди местных драгоценных выделяют сапфир, особенно синего цвета, александрит, рубин, гранат, среди полудрагоценных – голубой лунный камень, кварц, топаз, аметист.

Камни и ювелирные изделия с ними предлагают приобрести на небольших ювелирных фабриках, которые можно посетить самостоятельно или в составе экскурсионной группы. Посещение таких мест бесплатное, взамен от вас жаждут ответной реакции в виде покупки. Здесь расскажут и покажут процесс добычи камней (от подъема из шахты до сортировки), а также технологию изготовления готового ювелирного изделия. Помимо этого, купить драгоценности в Шри-Ланке можно повсюду: в торговых центрах и мелких лавочках. Самым известным центром по добыче и изготовлению ювелирных изделий является г. Ратнапура, но его известность добавляет итоговой стоимости изделия дополнительную накрутку. Есть несколько маленьких фабрик недалеко от Хиккадувы в г. Meetiyagoda, специализирующихся на добыче лунного камня (Moonstone Mine).

Считается, что покупать на Шри-Ланке лучше только камни, по причине того, что серебро и золото здесь очень дорогое, а готовые изделия не отличаются изысканностью. Однако, трата времени на поиск хорошего мастера, материал плюс работа в России, не выйдет дешевле. И, если вы небольшой любитель самих камней, вполне можно купить и уже готовое ювелирное изделие. При этом при покупке, как камней, так и готового изделия всегда можно попасть впросак, натолкнувшись на подделку. Проверить качество камня, к сожалению, не специалисту будет невозможно, а потому остается только довериться продавцу или отказаться от покупки.

Специи

В Шри-Ланке в районе Матале находится много садов специй, имеющих каждый свой порядковый номер. Их можно посетить как самостоятельно, так и в рамках какой-нибудь экскурсионной программы. Вас проведут по саду, познакомят с ассортиментом специй (перец, корица, кардамон, гвоздика, ваниль, кориандр, куркума, имбирь и др.), выращиваемых на острове, расскажут их полезные и лечебные свойства. При желании здесь можно купить понравившиеся специи, косметическую продукцию (кокосовое или сандаловое масла, крема с алоэ, средства от комаров), мази и бальзамы на основе трав и растений. Однако, как и везде на Шри-Ланке, есть небольшая оговорка: многие посетившие такие сады специй считают их очередной разводкой для туристов, поэтому присмотритесь к аналогичной продукции в обычных магазинах или на рынке: она там есть, и стоит намного дешевле.

Одежда

Одежда здесь неплохого качества, выбрать есть из чего. Особенно хвалят изделия из шелка и хлопка. Например, шелковое парео можно купить за 600 рупий, футболки, майки – за 400 рупий, рубашки – 850 рупий, шелковые блузки – за 1000 рупий.

Пожалуй, самыми оригинальными из вещей, привезенных с Шри-Ланки, будет сари (для женщин) и саронг (для мужчин). При желании из них можно что-нибудь сшить или надевать на особые случаи.

Как правило, шопингу посвящается заключительная часть поездки и завершается она в Коломбо. Из наиболее известных крупных торговых центров, где предпочитают совершать покупки - Odel, House of Fashion, Liberty Plaza, Majestic City, Nolimit. Не стоит отметать и небольшие магазинчики, иногда в них можно найти неплохие вещи.

Сувениры

Магазин сувениров в Коломбо

В качестве главного из сувениров Шри-Ланки можно привезти различные фигурки слонов, большие и маленькие, из разных пород дерева (от 700 рупий), в т.ч. и черного (самые дорогие) и простые расписные (от 400 рупий), из кокоса, в традиционном одеянии по случаю праздника Перахера.

Большой популярностью пользуются маски, они имеют разные формы и значение. Но в большинстве случаев, продающиеся маски имеют функции оберега и защиты от злых духов и прочего негатива. В городе Амбалангода, который славиться своими мастерами-масочниками, есть, как минимум два Музея Масок, где можно не только узнать историю их происхождения, но и купить понравившиеся. Кстати, в магазине при Музеях есть не только маски, но и много других сувениров. Цена маски среднего размера начинается от 600 рупий.

Барабаны играют важную роль в жизни шриланкийцев, они присутствуют и в повседневной жизни, и в религиозных и прочих празднествах жителей. Поэтому в сувенирных лавках можно встретить разного вида барабаны от цилиндрических до плоских.

Ювелирный магазин в Шри-Ланке

Очень красивые изделия из батика (от 1500 рупий), расписные картины на ткани (от 1050 рупий), изделия из серебра, тростника, керамика, резьба по дереву, а также прочая мелочевка: магниты (60-400 рупий), брелки, закладки для книг и пр.

Покупать лучше всего в специализированных сувенирных магазинах с фиксированными ценами. Например, в Коломбо самыми известными являются Lakpahana Handicrafts и Laksala; цены здесь приемлемые, а выбор огромен и разнообразен. К тому же, купить сувениры можно повсюду: на рынках, в маленьких лавчонках, специализированных отделах при торговых центрах, однако, накрутка здесь будет значительная.

Есть также мнение, что покупать сувениры выгоднее всего в местах, где проходят экскурсии и рядом с крупными достопримечательностями. Это действительно так, но только при условии, что вы умеете хорошо торговаться. Изначально цена называется в три-четыре раза выше, и нужно торговаться до упора.

Полезные советы

Торг. На Шри Ланке можно и нужно торговаться: при покупках на рынке, при аренде транспорта, пользуясь услугами тук-тукеров и в прочих случаях, когда цена явно не зафиксирована. Торговаться нужно даже в гестхаузах и отелях. Порой цену можно сбить до 30%, однако, торгуются здесь с большим недоумением и неохотой, ведь турист, в глазах местных жителей – это кусок хлеба с маслом: не поимеешь (обманешь) – не проживешь...

Шоппинг. В Коломбо есть несколько крупных торговых центров, где можно найти практически все: одежду, обувь, электронику, парфюмерию, игрушки, сувениры, чайные отделы и пр., в некоторых из них есть продуктовые супермаркеты, кафе и кинозалы. Среди известных: Odel, Liberty Plaza, Majestic City, House of Fashion. Еще стоит отметить сеть магазинов Arpico, которые встречаются в крупных городах страны, с большим ассортиментом, как продуктов питания, так и необходимых предметов для дома. Продуктовые магазины представлены развитой сетью по всей стране под названием Food City.


Автор: Svetka

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 22 Nov 2017, 11:03
Здравствуйте! Из Индии на Шри-Ланку можно попасть только как и из любой другой страны, никакого упрощенного порядка нет, в том числе и по визе. Поэтому вам нужно купить авиабилеты из Индии на Шри-Ланку, и оформить электронную визу ЕТА. По другому никак. ...
Павел М 15 Dec 2017, 00:15
Здравствуйте, Никак не могу найти какой-нибудь сайт где можно купить билет из Ella в Hikkaduwa на какой-нибудь поезд или автобус. Ещё хотел спросить про тамошних операторов сотовой связи. Нужен, в основном, интернет. Советуете какую-нибудь сеть? Просто ли там купить симку (Коломбо) и какая цена была бы за пакет где немного минут, но много интернета? Заранее спасибо ...
admin 15 Dec 2017, 09:49
Здравствуйте Павел! И не найдете такой сайт. Во-первых, таких сайтов нет, электронных билетов на поезда и автобусы в Шри-Ланке не существует; и во-вторых, из Эллы в Хиккадуву можно добраться только с пересадкой в Коломбо. Вообще же не вижу в этом большой проблемы, билеты во 2 и 3 класс сможете купить на месте прямо перед отправлением. Расписание здесь - https://eservices.railway.gov.lk/schedule/homeAction.action?lang=en Если же вы хотите непременно проехать первым классом в обзорном вагоне, тогда лучше покупать заранее на участок Элла-Коломбо, но вовсе не обязательно. Заранее можно купить через специальные сайты агентства с большой накруткой, но это будет не электронный билет, а бумажный, который вы получите на месте. По Интернету сейчас не проконсультирую, уже давно там не был, но в целом без проблем сможете купить и пользоваться. Если английским хоть немного владеете, в любой лавке с симками объясните что вам нужно, вам предложат варианты. ...
Lauryn 15 Dec 2017, 17:33
Добрый вечер! Собираюсь на Шри-Ланку во второй половине января. Если я сейчас подам на ЕТА, не подскажите, когда оно будет готово? (с учетом грядущего НГ) Или лучше сделать его в аэропорту по прилету? Читала, что такое возможно. Это правда? Благодарю за ответ. ...
admin 15 Dec 2017, 17:38
Не вижу плюсов, чем лучше делать в аэропорту. Во-первых так дороже, а во-вторых придется в аэропорту потратить больше времени, оно вам надо. Оформляйте из дома, через несколько дней все будет готово. ...
Янита 05 Feb 2018, 18:35
Мы летим с ребенком. В Тайланде без проблем ездили с ребёнком на мотобайке. Могут ли быть проблемы с полицией в Шри Ланке если на мотоцикле будет 2 взрослых и ребёнок? ...
admin 06 Feb 2018, 09:29
Здравствуйте! Да вроде бы даже у нас не запрещено перевозить на мотоцикле на переднем сиденье, и после 12 можно на заднем. А в Шри-Ланке мотобайки вообще за транспорт не считаются, все ездят, и много раз с детьми видел. Ну, даже если будут претензии у полиции (полицейских на дорогах, кстати, очень мало), решите проблему на месте. Копы тут о-о-о-чень коррумпированные, все можно решить за несколько баксов. Только не ругайтесь с ними, а улыбайтесь и даже шутите, и все будет ОК. П.С. Я как-то в Канди по встречке на байке поперся, и тут как назло полисмен. Посвистел, поулыбались друг другу, развернулся и поехал обратно. ...
Lukas 07 May 2018, 18:55
Hello! I'm going to Sri Lanka in about a month and have thoughts on renting a scooter when I'm in Ella and perhaps also in/around Arugam Bay. I only have my Swedish drivers license (I know more is required) but I wonder about the consequenses if being pulled over? I was several times in Bali and just paid for a temporary license the first time which I could then show when it happened again. How expensive would a fine be in Sri Lanka, is it high risk to get pulled over as a tourist on bike and also, what is worse case scenario if I do get pulled over? Answers would be appriciated! Regards Lukas ...
admin 09 May 2018, 05:13
Hi Lukas! You are right, officialy you need to get local drivers permit. But on practice you don't really need this, actually like on Bali too. I have expirience in driving all around Sri Lanka, have met twice policemens on the road and they cheked my russian driving license, and I don't have any problems and fines. ...
Оксана1083 31 Jul 2018, 13:16
А сколько стоит один день просрочки визы. У нас по билетам 32 дня. И как лучше сделать. Поменять билеты или просроченую визу оплатить ...

Оцените статью:
(Пока оценок нет)