Tourist information about Thailand

This article has been translated from Russian language using an artificial intelligence-based translation algorithm. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the quality of the translation. You can read the original of this article in Russian here, and ask questions on the topic of our travel forum in English here.

General information about Thailand

Taling Ngam

Thailand is the land of a thousand smiles! These are not just words. As soon as you get off the plane landing in Thailand for the first time, you will immediately feel it. Probably the Thais are the friendliest people on the planet.

The modern name of Thailand translates as "Land of the Free", and this is not accidental. Thailand is the only eastern country that did not know the "colonial slavery" of England or France, which was greatly facilitated by the friendship of Russian Emperor Nicholas II and Thai King Rama V (and before that Alexander III began to establish friendly relations with Thailand). That is why the birthday of any Siamese emperor (and especially Rama V) is celebrated here on a huge scale.

The Big Buddha of Phuket

Among Russian tourists, Thailand is one of the most popular holiday destinations. And this is felt not only by the large number of vouchers sold, but also by the fact that more and more often on the streets of resort towns in Thailand you can hear Russian speech from the mouths of Thais, see signs in Russian on the streets, in shops, hotels and restaurants, and in some places you can even exchange Russian rubles for baht. In addition, it is the most popular and fashionable vacation spot for show business stars not only from Russia, but also from all over the world.

For most Russian tourists, Thailand has long been a kind of starting point for exploring Southeast Asia, and for many it has remained a place of first love with travel. Well-developed tourist infrastructure, convenient inexpensive transport, low prices, and most importantly - friendly population, made the country the most convenient for independent travel. Therefore, if you are planning to go on an independent trip abroad for the first time without a permit, there is no better place than Tai. And to make it easier for you to organize and plan a trip, in this section we have collected all the necessary information for independent travel in Thailand.

Major cities and resorts of Thailand:

🌴 Beach Pattaya, O. Ko Lan, Phuket Island, Koh Samui, Phangan Island, O. Tao, Krabi (Islands and province), O. Chang, Hua Hin, O. Samet, Rayong, Cha-Am, O. Ko Kud, O. Ko Lipe, Chumphon (Chumphon), O. Tarutao, Pranburi
📷 Sightseeing Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Lopburi, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Kanchanaburi (province), Ayutthaya, Phetchaburi
🏢 Transit cities Hat Yai, Surat Thani, Satun (Satun), Chumphon (Chumphon)

A little history of Thailand

Wat Phra Mahatat Temple

Kingdom of Thailand (before 1939 and in 1945-48 it was called Siam) is a state in Southeast Asia on the islands of Indochina and Malacca, washed by the Andaman Sea and the Gulf of Thailand of the South China Sea. The area is 514 thousand km2. The population is 62.4 million people (2000), about 3/4 — Tai peoples, about 1/5 — Lao. The urban population is about 22%. The official language is Thai (Siamese). The official religion is Buddhism. Administrative division: 73 changwats (provinces). The capital is Bangkok.

Thailand is a constitutional monarchy. The head of state is the king. The legislative body is the bicameral National Assembly (Senate and House of Representatives).

The climate of Thailand

Pattaya City Beach

Humid tropical and subtropical. This is due to the location of most of the country in tropical and subtropical zones and the influence of the southwest and northeast monsoons. The distance between the extreme northern and extreme southern points of Thailand is 1860 km, and the latitude difference is about 15. This length from north to south makes Thailand's climate one of the most diverse in Southeast Asia. The southwest monsoon brings rains and relative coolness in late May — mid-July. By November, the rains stop and the "cool dry" season begins, lasting until mid-February. At this time, the influence of the northeast monsoon is also affected, not directly affecting Northern, Northeast and Central Thailand, but bringing coolness. After the weakening of the monsoon, in February — May, there is a strong heat wave, and the humidity of the air gradually increases until the beginning of the new monsoon season, and then the cycle repeats again.

Rainy season. The duration of the rainy season is very difficult to determine. It usually starts in May — June and can last until November. In the center of the country and on the east coast, heavy rains occur in August — September. October is usually the last month of the wet season, when significant amounts of water have already accumulated in irrigation systems and urban drainage, as a result of which, with infrequent and not very heavy rains, quite severe floods occur. In particular, when the Chaopraya River overflows its banks, some parts of Bangkok are flooded, because about a third of the city is below sea level. The rainy season in Thailand is incomparable with the same time of year in other Southeast Asian countries. Of course, dirt roads become impassable, and clouds hang over tropical beaches part of the day, however, they let in enough ultraviolet rays to warm up the air, the sea and the sand of the beaches.

It should also be said about the air temperature — the closer you are to the equator, the smaller the temperature difference. So in the coolest months (from December to February, when the average temperature ranges from +20 to +27), the night air temperature can drop to zero in the mountains in the north, while during the day it reaches +25. In the mornings in Chiang Mai (the capital of Northern Thailand) at this time there is about +10 heat, and in other areas above +20. The highest temperature is observed in April and May — then it is above + 35 (the norm), but sometimes up to + 40 in the shade.

Weather and tourist seasons in Thailand

Results of rain in Thailand (After an hour there will be no trace of rain)

Despite the fact that there is no special period of the tourist season in Thailand, especially for Russians, nevertheless it is considered that the best time to travel is from November to the end of March. This is the so-called "non-rainy season", and it is not very hot at this time. In addition, most of the holidays and festivals in Thailand take place at this time. Also, tourists prefer to visit Thailand in July and August.

If you are planning to spend time in the northern part of Thailand, the hot season (from March to May) and the beginning of the rainy season (from June to July) is also a good time.

The northeastern and central part of Thailand is undesirable to visit in the period from March to May due to high temperatures, sometimes reaching up to 40 ° C and forest fires. During these periods, it is better to choose a place to visit in the southern part of the country.

If you want to avoid the influx of tourists, buy a ticket, air tickets or book a hotel at a lower price, go to Thailand from April to June or from September to October.

Despite the fact that in the rainy season (from July to October), as is commonly believed, rest is not so comfortable, in fact there are advantages of rest during this period: the temperature is slightly lower and more comfortable, prices are also lower, there are fewer tourists. There is no need to be afraid of rains during this period: it doesn't rain every day, and although they are abundant, they are quite short-lived. Literally an hour after heavy torrential rain, there is no trace of it. Even if the sky is overcast, you still have a great chance to get a great tan, the sun is so active.

Seasons in the resorts of Thailand*

Resort/month Jan Feb March Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec
Bangkok                        
Pattaya                        
O. Ko Lan                        
Phuket Island                        
Koh Samui                        
Phangan Island                        
O. Tao                        
Krabi                        
Chiang Mai                        
O. Chang                        
Hua Hin                        
O. Samet                        
Chiang Rai                        
Lopburi                        
O. Ko Kud                        
Ayutthaya                        

* the best time to visit;
acceptable time to visit;
not recommended time to visit

Time in Thailand

The time difference in Thailand and Moscow is +4 hours in winter and summer.

Current time in Thailand*
Разница по времени с городами:
Москва: +4 Самара: +3
Казань: +4 Нижний Новгород: +4
Екатеринбург: +2 Новосибирск: 0
Иркутск: -1 Владивосток: -3
* - если время неверно, обновите страницу Ctrl+F5:

Electricity in Thailand

Electricity in Thailand is the same as in Russia - 220 V, 50 Hz. Local electrical outlets are made for three-pin plugs with flat pins. But sockets are almost always made universal, and an adapter for standard Russian and Euro plugs is not required.

Language in Thailand

The official language of Thailand is Thai. It is also quite common to find the languages of the small nationalities of Thailand. The Thai language is very complex and it takes a very good ear to master it, but if you learn a few basic phrases in Thai, you will get a lot of respect from Thais. They are well aware of how complex their language is, and they are very proud of it. You can learn the basics of the language via the Internet on special sites, and you can study at language courses, which are offered in large numbers in tourist places.

In tourist places, you will not have any problems communicating in English. All Thais, at least somehow connected with tourism, speak excellent English. The names are duplicated almost everywhere in English. The exception is taxi drivers, who sometimes do not understand a word in English, and there are such even in Bangkok. In more remote, non-tourist areas of Thailand, not everyone knows English, but you can almost always find a local resident within sight who understands English and will be happy to help you as an interpreter.

In large ones resort areas of Thailand (Phuket, Pattaya, Koh Samui) in many hotels, restaurants and shops, the inscriptions are duplicated in Russian, and the staff may know the basic phrases.

The State structure of Thailand

The Kingdom of Thailand is a constitutional monarchy. The head of state is the king. The King and his family members enjoy unquestionable authority and respect in the country. Disrespectful attitude towards them in any form is very severely punishable by law.

There is a close relationship between the King and the government: the kings of Thailand exercise their legislative power through the National Assembly, executive power through the Cabinet of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister, and judicial power through the courts.

The Supreme Ruler of Thailand is His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Bhumibol Adulyadej / Rama IX). Administrative division: The country is divided into 72 provinces (Tiangwat).

Holidays in Thailand

Learn more about holidays in Thailand are here

  • January 1 is a New Year.
  • January 10 is Children's Day.
  • January 16 is Teachers' Day.
  • February - Makha Puja - Full Moon Day. The national holiday is associated with one of the central events in the history of Buddhism, when 1250 followers of the Buddha gathered to listen to his sermon. During this day, prayers alternate with treats, birds and fish are released from cages and aquariums. After sunset, Buddhist monks lead worshippers around temples throughout the kingdom, lighting the way with triple candles. Each person silently carries flowers, burning incense and burning candles in honor of the Buddha, his teachings and followers.
  • April 6 is the Day of the Chakri dynasty. An official holiday in honor of King Rama I, the founder of the dynasty of Thai kings, who is still on the throne.
  • April 12-14 – Songkran - Thai New Year. One of the most important holidays of Thais. Many tourists and travelers are eager to visit Thailand at this time. Hotels and plane tickets for this period are booked several months in advance, and prices are rising. On the days of this holiday, on April 13-15, the Songkran Festival is held – the festival of water. It is especially stormy in Chiang Mai. Thanks to several weekends, the fun lasts 3-4 days. At this time it is necessary to do good deeds, make pilgrimages to shrines, hold festive parades and performances, and also... pour water on each other.
  • May 1 is Labor Day.
  • May 5 is Coronation Day. In 1946, the current king was crowned on this day.
  • May 11 is the Day of the First Furrow. This date marks the beginning of the season of growing rice and other crops.
  • May - Full Moon Day - Visakha Puja. One of the most sacred days in Buddhism: at the same time the Birthday, Enlightenment and Death of the Buddha.
  • July - Full Moon Day - Asanaha Puja.
  • July 19 - Khao Phansa. One of the Buddhist religious holidays. July 28 is the prince's birthday. August 12 is the birthday of Her Majesty the Queen. Nationwide celebrations are concentrated in Bangkok. State buildings on this day are decorated with colorful illuminations. In addition to Queen Sikirit's birthday, this day is also Mothers' Day. October 23 is Chulalongkorn Day. This is a holiday in honor of King Rama V, who can be considered the most significant reformer in the history of Thailand. He banned slavery, created a ministerial system, founded the post office and telegraph.
  • November - Loi Krathong is a lantern festival held on the full moon of the 12th lunar month.
  • December 5 is the birthday of His Majesty the King. The holiday begins on December 3, when at a colorful and exciting ceremony at the Royal Plaza in Bangkok, the elite units of the Royal Guard solemnly confirm their oath to His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej. All government buildings and many other structures are festively decorated. At night, Bangkok in the area of the Grand Royal Palace and Ratchadamnoen Avenue turns into a fairyland of colorful lights. In addition, this holiday is also Fathers' Day.
  • December 10 is Constitution Day.

Useful information

  • Identity card. According to Thai law, even tourists should always carry an ID card with them. If you don't want to carry your passport with you all the time, at least carry a photocopy.
  • Tourist information in Russian. In Bangkok Suvarnabhumi International Airport you can get tourist information in Russian. The tourist center, which provides information in ten languages, including Russian, is located on the first floor of the passenger terminal.
  • Chronology in Thailand. Official chronology in Thailand is conducted according to the Buddhist calendar. This means that all dates in official documents, tickets, dates of manufacture of products, etc., are indicated according to the Buddhist calendar, although in many cases for foreigners, the year of the birth of Christ is placed for compatibility, i.e. like ours.
  • What is the current year in Thailand? The Thai chronology is ahead of ours by 543 years, i.e. the year 2013 corresponds to the year 2556 according to the Buddhist calendar, the year 2014 to the year 2557, the year 2015 to the year 2558, etc.
  • Cigarettes in Thailand. If you are an avid smoker, it is better to bring cigarettes with you or buy them at the dry-free shops at the airport. Cigarettes in tae are very expensive and of poor quality (as smokers say, "Just straw"). You can import 200 cigarettes without duty.
  • Where to leave warm clothes on arrival. All Bangkok airports have luggage storage rooms where you can leave warm clothes and other luggage for an average of 100 baht per day. It is much cheaper to store things in the storage rooms of tourist areas: for example, on Khao San Road in Bangkok, you can leave things for storage in hotels or guest houses for 16 baht per day.

Отзывы и комментарии

Мы будем очень благодарны, если вы оцените это место или оставите свой отзыв

👍 👎 😄 😁 😞 😠 🌏 💩
   ★★★★★
Куда поехать в Таиланд в первый раз?
Нужны ли права категории «А» для аренды мотобайка?
Можно ли поменять рубли на Пхукете?
Заходите по ссылке, все эти вопросы обсуждают в чате - https://t.me/thailand_travel_chat
  
💥 Спасибо, полезная ссылка 😊!
Discuss on forum

На главную Наша Планета
Флаг Тайланда Тайланд

Туристическая информация о Тайланде

Общая информация о Таиланде

Талинг Нгам, Самуи

Таиланд – страна тысячи улыбок! Это не просто слова. Как только вы впервые сойдете с борта самолета, приземлившегося в Таиланде, вы сразу же почувствуете это. Наверное тайцы – самый дружелюбный народ на планете.

Современное название Таиланда переводится как «Земля Свободных», и это не случайно. Таиланд - единственная восточная страна, не знавшая «колониального рабства» Англии или Франции, чему немало способствовала дружба русского императора Николая II и тайского короля Рамы V (а до этого дружеские отношения с Тайландом начал устанавливать Александр III). Именно поэтому День рождения любого Сиамского императора (а в особенности Рамы V) празднуется здесь с огромным размахом.


Большой Будда Пхукета

Среди российских туристов в последние годы Таиланд бешено набирает популярность. И это ощущается не только большим количеством проданных путевок, но и тем, что все чаще на улицах курортных городов Таиланда можно услышать русскую речь из уст тайцев, увидеть вывески на русском языке на улицах, в магазинах, отелях и ресторанах, а в некоторых местах можно даже поменять русские рубли на баты. К тому же это самое популярное и модное место отдыха звезд шоу-бизнеса не только из России, но и со всего мира.

Для большинства российских туристов Таиланд уже давно стал своеобразной отправной точкой знакомства с Юго-Восточной Азией, а для многих остался местом первой любви с путешествиями. Отлично развитая туристическая инфраструктура, удобный недорогой транспорт, низкие цены, и самое главное - дружелюбное население, сделали страну самой удобной для самостоятельных путешествий. Поэтому, если вы планируете впервые отправиться в самостоятельную поездку за границу без путевки, лучшего места чем "Тай" не найти. А чтогбы вам было легче организовать и запланировать поездку, в данном разделе мы собрали всю необходимую информацию для самостоятельных путешествий по Тайланду.

Крупные города и курорты Тайланда:

Пляжные курортыПляжные Паттайя, о. Ко Лан, о. Пхукет, о. Самуи, о. Панган, о. Тао, Краби (острова и провинция), о. Чанг, Хуахин, о. Самет, Районг, Ча-Ам, о. Ко Куд, о. Ко Липе, Чумпхон (Chumphon), о. Тарутао, Пранбури
Экскурсионные курортыЭкскурсионные Бангкок, Чиангмай, Чианграй, Лопбури, Мае-хонг-сон (Mae Hong Son), Пай (Pai), Канчанабури (провинция), Аюттайя, Пхетчабури
Транзитные городаТранзитные города Хат Яй (Hat Yai), Сураттани (Surat Thani), Сатун (Satun), Чумпхон (Chumphon)

Немного истории Тайланда

Храм Wat Phra Mahatat

Королевство Таиланд  (до 1939 и в 1945-48 назывался Сиам) - государство в Юго-Восточной Азии на п-овах Индокитай и Малакка, омывается Андаманским морем и Сиамским заливом Южно-Китайского моря. Площадь 514 тыс км2. Население 62,4 млн человек (2000), около 3/4 — народы группы таи, около 1/5 — лао. Городское население около 22%. Официальный язык — тайский (сиамский). Официальная религия — буддизм. Административно-территориальное деление: 73 чангвата (провинции). Столица — Бангкок.

Таиланд — конституционная монархия. Глава государства — король. Законодательный орган — двухпалатная Национальная ассамблея (Сенат и Палата представителей).

Климат Тайланда

Городской пляж в Паттайе

Влажный тропический и субтропический. Это объясняется расположением большей части страны в тропической и субтропической зонах и влиянием юго-западного и северо-восточного муссонов. Расстояние между крайней северной и крайней южной точками Таиланда составляет 1860 км, а перепад широт — около 15. Такая протяженность с севера на юг делает климат Таиланда одним из самых разнообразных в Юго-Восточной Азии. Юго-западный муссон приносит дожди и относительную прохладу в конце мая — середине июля. К ноябрю дожди прекращаются и наступает «прохладный сухой» сезон, продолжающийся до середины февраля. В это время сказывается и влияние северо-восточного муссона, не задевающего Северный, Северо-Восточный и Центральный Таиланд непосредственно, однако приносящего прохладу. После ослабления муссонов, в феврале — мае, наступает сильная жара, причем влажность воздуха постепенно увеличивается вплоть до начала нового муссонного сезона, а затем цикл повторяется снова.

Сезон дождей. Продолжительность сезона дождей определить очень трудно. Обычно он начинается в мае — июне и может продолжаться до ноября. В центре страны и на восточном побережье сильные дожди идут в августе — сентябре. Октябрь — обычно последний месяц влажного сезона, когда значительные объёмы воды уже накопились в ирригационных системах и городском дренаже, в результате чего при нечастых и не очень сильных дождях происходят довольно сильные наводнения. В частности, когда река Чаопрайя выходит из берегов, некоторые кварталы Бангкока бывают затоплены, ведь около трети города находится ниже уровня моря. Сезон дождей в Таиланде несравним с аналогичным временем года в других странах Юго-Восточной Азии. Конечно, грунтовые дороги делаются непроходимыми, а над тропическими пляжами часть дня висят тучи, тем не менее, они пропускают достаточное количество ультрафиолетовых лучей, чтобы прогреть воздух, море и песок пляжей.

Также нужно сказать и о температуре воздуха — чем ближе находишься к экватору, тем меньше перепад температур. Так в самые прохладные месяцы (с декабря по февраль, когда средняя температура колеблется от +20 до +27) ночная температура воздуха может опускаться до нуля в горах на севере, тогда как днем она достигает +25. По утрам в Чиангмае (столице Северного Таиланда) в это время бывает около +10 тепла, а в остальных районах выше +20. Самая большая температура наблюдается в апреле и мае — тогда она выше +35 (норма), но бывает и до +40 в тени.

Погода и туристические сезоны в Тайланде

Результаты дождя в Тайланде (Через час и следа от дождя не останется)

Несмотря на то, что не существует особого периода туристического сезона в Таиланде, особенно для россиян, тем не менее считается, что самое лучшее время для поездки – период c ноября по конец марта. Это так называемый «не дождливый сезон», и в это время не очень жарко. К тому же в это время происходит большая часть праздников и фестивалей в Тайланде. Также туристы предпочитают посещать Тайланд в июле и августе.

Если вы планируете провести время в северной части Таиланда, жаркий сезон (с марта по май) и начало сезона дождей (с июня по июль) также является неплохим временем.

Северо-восточная часть и центральная часть Таиланда нежелательна к посещению в период с марта по май из-за высоких температур, порой доходящих до 40°C и лесных пожаров. В эти периоды лучше выбрать для посещения какое-нибудь место в южной части страны.

Если вы хотите избежать наплыва туристов, купить путевку, авиабилеты или забронировать отель по более низкой цене, отправляйтесь в Таиланд с апреля по июнь или с сентября по октябрь.

Несмотря на то, что в сезон дождей (с июля по октябрь), как принято считать, отдых не такой комфортный, на самом деле есть и преимущества отдыха в этот период: температура немного ниже и комфортнее, цены тоже ниже, туристов меньше. Дождей в этот период боятся не стоит: дожди идут совсем не каждый день, и хотя они и обильные но довольно кратковременные. Буквально через час после обильного проливного дождя от него не остается и следа. Даже если небо затянуто облаками, у вас все равно есть прекрасный шанс отлично загореть, настолько активно солнце.

Сезоны на курортах Тайланда*

Курорт/месяц Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
Бангкок                        
Паттайя                        
о. Ко Лан                        
о. Пхукет                        
о. Самуи                        
о. Панган                        
о. Тао                        
Краби                        
Чианг Май                        
о. Чанг                        
Хуахин                        
о. Самет                        
Чианг Рай                        
Лопбури                        
о. Ко Куд                        
Аютайя                        

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Время в Тайланде

Разница во времени в Тайланде и Москве +4 часа зимой и летом.

Электричество в Таиланде

Электричество в Таиланде так же, как и в России - 220 В, 50 Гц. Местные электрические розетки выполнены для трехштырьковых вилок, имеющих плоские штыри. Но розетки почти всегда делаются универсальными, и переходник для стандартных российских и евро-вилок не требуется.

Язык в Тайланде

Официальный язык Тайланда - тайский язык. Также достаточно часто можно встретить языки малых народностей Тайланда. Тайский язык очень сложный, и для владения им нужен очень хороший слух, но если вы выучите несколько основных фраз на тайском языке, вы получите очень большое уважение со стороны тайцев. Они прекрасно понимают, насколько их язык сложен, и очень этим гордятся. Освоить основы языка можно через Интернет на специальных сайтах, а изучить можно на курсах языка, которые в большом количестве предлагаются в туристических местах.

В туристических местах у вас не возникнет проблем с общением на английском языке. Все тайцы, хоть как то связанные с туризмом, отлично владеют английским. Названия почти везде дублируютс я на английском. Исключением являются таксисты, которые иногда ни слова не понимают на английском языке, причем встречаются такие даже в Бангкоке. В более отдаленных, не туристических районах Тайланда, английский знают не все, но почти всегда в пределах видимости можно найти местного жителя, который понимает английский и с радостью поможет вам в качестве переводчика.

В крупных курортных районах Тайланда (Пхукет, Паттайя, Самуи) во многих отелях, ресторанах и магазинах надписи дублируются на русском языке, а персонал может знать основные фразы.

Государственное устройство Таиланда

Королевство Таиланд является конституционной монархией. Глава государства - король. Король и члены его семьи пользуются в стране непререкаемым авторитетом и уважением. Неуважительное отношение к ним в любой форме очень сурово карается законом.

Между королем и правительством существует тесная взаимосвязь: короли Таиланда осуществляют свою законодательную власть через Национальную Ассамблею, исполнительную власть через Кабинет Министров, возглавляемый премьер-министром, а судебную власть - через суды.

Верховный правитель Таиланда - Его Величество Король Пумипон Адульядет (Bhumibol Adulyadej / Paмa IX). Административное деление: страна делится на 72 провинции (тьянгват).

Праздники в Таиланде

Подробнее про праздники в Тайланде здесь

  • 1 января - Новый год.
  • 10 января - День детей.
  • 16 января - День Учителей.
  • Февраль - Макха Пуджа (Makha Puja) - День полнолуния. Национальный праздник связан с одним из центральных событий в истории буддизма, когда 1250 последователей Будды собрались послушать его проповедь. В течение этого дня молитвы чередуются с угощениями, птиц и рыб освобождают из клеток и аквариумов. После заката по всему королевству буддийские монахи водят молящихся вокруг храмов, освещая путь тройными свечами. Каждый человек молча несет цветы, пылающий фимиам и горящие свечи в честь Будды, его учения и последователей.
  • 6 апреля - День династии Чакри. Официальный праздник в честь короля Рамы I, основателя династии тайских королей, находящейся у престола до настоящего времени.
  • 12-14 апреля – Сонгкран - Тайский Новый год. Один из самых главных праздников тайцев. Много туристов и путешественников стремятся посетить Тайланд в это время. Гостиницы и билеты на самолеты на этот период бронируются за несколько месяцев вперед, а цены поднимаются. В дни этого праздника, 13-15 апреля, проводится Фестиваль Сонгкран (Songkran Festival) – праздник воды. Особенно бурно он проходит в Чиангмае. Благодаря нескольким выходным, веселье длится 3-4 дня. В это время положено делать добрые дела, совершать паломничества к святыням, проводить праздничные парады и представления, а также... обливать друг друга водой.
  • 1 мая - День Труда.
  • 5 мая - День коронации. В 1946 г. в этот день был коронован действующий король.
  • 11 мая - День Первой борозды. Этой датой знаменуется начало сезона выращивания риса и других сельскохозяйственных культур.
  • Май - День полнолуния - Висакха Пуджа. Один из самых священных дней в буддизме: одновременно День Рождения, Просвящения и Смерти Будды.
  • Июль - День полнолуния - Асанаха Пуджа.
  • 19 июля - Кхао Пханса (Khao Phansa). Один из буддистских религиозных праздников.
  • 28 июля - день рождения принца.
  • 12 августа - День рождения Ее Величества Королевы. Общенациональные праздничные мероприятия сконцентрированы в Бангкоке. Государственные здания в этот день украшаются разноцветными иллюминациями. Кроме дня рождения королевы Сикирит, этот день также является Днем Матерей.
  • 23 октября - День Чулалонгкорн. Это праздник в честь короля Рамы V, которого можно считать самым значительным реформатором за всю историю Таиланда. Он запретил рабство, создал министерскую систему, основал почту и телеграф.
  • Ноябрь - Лой Кратонг - Праздник фонариков, проводимый в полнолуние 12-ого лунного месяца.
  • 5 декабря - День рождения Его Величества Короля. Праздник начинается еще 3 декабря, когда на красочной и волнующей церемонии на площади Ройал Плаза (Royal Plaza) в Бангкоке элитные части Королевской гвардии торжественно подтверждают свою присягу Его Величеству Королю Пумипону Адульядету. Все правительственные здания и многие другие сооружения празднично украшаются. В ночное время Бангкок в районе Большого Королевского дворца и проспекта Ратчадамноен превращается в сказочную страну разноцветных огней. Кроме того, этот праздник еще является и Днем Отцов.
  • 10 декабря - День Конституции.

Полезная информация

  • Удостоверение личности. По тайским законам даже туристы должны всегда носить с собой удостоверение личности. Если не хотите постоянно носить с собой паспорт, носите хотя бы ксерокопию.
  • Туристическая информация на русском языке. В международном аэропорту Бангкока Суварнабхуми можно получить туристическую информацию на русском языке. Туристический центр, дающий справки на десяти языках, в том числе и на русском, находится на первом этаже пассажирского терминала.
  • Летоисчисление в Тайланде. Официальное летоисчисление в Таиланде ведется по буддийскому календарю. Это значит, что все даты в официальных документах, в билетах, даты изготовления продуктов и т.п., указаны по буддийскому календарю, хотя во многих случаях для иностранцев для совместимости помещается год от рождества Христова, т.е. как у нас.
  • Какой сейчас год в Таиланде? Тайское летоисчисление опережает наше на 543 года, т.е. 2013-й год соответствует 2556-му году по буддийскому календарю, 2014-й год 2557 году, 2015-й год 2558 году и т.д.
  • Сигареты в Таиланде. Если вы заядлый курильшик, то лучше привозите сигареты с собой или покупайте их в дюти-фри магазинах в аэропорту. Сигареты в тае очень дорогие и плохого качества (как говорят курильщики, "просто солома"). Ввезти без пошлины можно 200 сигарет.
  • Где оставить теплые вещи по прилету. Во всех аэропортах Бангкока есть камеры хранения, где можно оставить теплые вещи и другой багаж в среднем за 100 бат в сутки. Гораздо дешевле можно хранить вещи в камерах хранения туристических районах: например на Каосан-род в Бангкоке можно оставить вещи на хранение в отелях или гестхаузах за 15 бат в сутки.