The island of Phi Phi in Krabi

General information about Phi Phi

Phi Phi island (Koh Phi-Phi also PI-PI) – a group of six Islands in Krabi province in the Andaman sea (the archipelago on the map). Usually when people say about Phi Phi, we often mean not all the archipelago, specifically the island of Phi Phi don. So often written and guidebooks, not to mention the existence of other smaller Islands in the archipelago. Do Phi Phi don – the only one in the archipelago, which is a full resort with its infrastructure, beaches, lots of hotels.

The island Phi Phi don (Ko Phi-Phi Don, Phi Phi don) is the largest and popular in the archipelago. Of course, compared to other popular Thai Islands he's just a baby, his total area of 9.73 square kilometers and the resident here less than three thousand (Phi Phi don on the map). Compare this to Phuket, which is 576 square kilometers. However, despite the size – it is very popular and famous place you know and try to get tourists from around the world.

In addition to Phi Phi don in the archipelago also includes:

  • Phi Phi Ley (Phi Phi Leh). Uninhabited island, famous for the fact that here was filmed the movie "the Beach" with Leonard DiCaprio in the title role (PI Phi Ley on the map). It can be visited in the tour, if you want to spend the night at the campsite, but no more. See more about Phi Phi Ley.

  • Ko Mai Phai (Bamboo island Bamboo Island). Uninhabited island with a beautiful beach, where tourists are imported for a few hours with fun, and without any infrastructure (Ko Mai Phai on the map).

  • Ko Yung (mosquito island, Mosquito Island). Also residential, you can visit it only by hiring a boat, since the tour here do not carry (Ko Mai Phai on the map).

  • Bida Nok and Bida Nai. Two tiny limestone Islands with a very steep banks, where it is almost impossible to land. In the waters around them make stops for diving or snorkeling during the boat excursions. The self is not visited (Bida Nok and Bida Nai on the map).

Stay on Phi Phi

Phi Phi don is a real Paradise, which combines the best for a holiday: beautiful sandy beaches, clear turquoise water, year-round sunshine, free young vibe. But do not think that since it is a remote small island is a rustic setting – quite the contrary. In the main village and centre of the island, Ton Sai until late at night did not subside noisy parties, progressive rhythms coming from bars and discos on the beaches. If that's not enough, you can have your party right on the beach, wanting to join you will always abound. If a bustling nightlife is not for you, and you want to enjoy the peace and quiet is not a problem: you can choose place to stay on remote beaches.

You can spend your entire vacation, or to spend a few days. Much more interesting would be if you diversify your visit with a stop at the other resorts in Krabi province. For example, half of our vacation to spend on the mainland part of the province where you can get acquainted with the natural attractions of Krabi and the other half to Pee. You can also combine Phi with a stay at Phuket, which is at the same distance as the mainland part of the province.

However, the popularity of this place is the opposite of rest. Unfortunately, an endless stream of tourists and buildings change the image of the resort not for the better. It is not only affected the topography and nature of all the Islands of the archipelago, but also the sea. Walking water generally remains transparent, but it floats a lot of garbage. Once perfectly clean sandy beaches, even on uninhabited Islands are littered with rubbish left by tourists who go simply washed ashore by the waves. Coral reefs are dying from the actions of man, the diversity of marine animals is reduced. To somehow rectify the situation, starting in 2017, the government began to temporarily close part of the archipelago to tourists, and there was even talk about closing down Phi Phi don for a few years to restore it. Most likely this will not happen, but that's Phi Phi Ley, where the famous May Bay (the beach Leonardo DiCaprio) have already been closed from 01 June 2018 for four months.

The Infrastructure Of Phi Phi

As we mentioned, the tourist infrastructure is only on Phi Phi don, the rest of the Islands of the archipelago are not intended for long-term guests. On Phi Phi don there is all for rest: budget hostels and five star hotels with their beaches, cafes and restaurants, markets and supermarkets, excursions and private guides. The Internet is in every, even the cheapest hotel. There are ATMs, banks and currency exchange.

In 2004, the entire archipelago is strongly affected by the tsunami, killing 2,000 people. After that it was rebuilt, and today nothing reminds of that disaster.

Weather and tourist seasons on Phi Phi island when to go

Phi Phi island is a year – round resort, but in the course of the year the weather is expressed varies according to the seasons, which coincide with the mainland of Krabi and Phuket.

From November to may (the first half) is high season. The temperature is not too hot, rains are rare. This is the best time to relax, but at the same time and the period of the influx of tourists, and higher prices. Especially a lot of tourists from January to April.

May (second half) - October is low season. It is also the rainy season with the wettest months in may, September and October. The temperature is very high, averaging 29-30 degrees, precipitation and cloud cover are not uncommon. But prices for housing and services fall, tourists becomes much less. This period is also a good time to travel to Phi Phi, and actually lingering showers for a few days are rare, mostly it doesn't rain more than two hours a day, and then abruptly gives way to the Sunny weather.

Seasons in Krabi by months*

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
                       

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

Current weather in Krabi/Phi Phi and the forecast for the near future:

Attractions, things to do

On Phi Phi don and the entire archipelago is virtually no historical or cultural attractions. Attractions include the Islands themselves, their beaches and natural resources. The latter, incidentally, quite quickly disappearing because of human actions, and this is especially true of the underwater world: corals die, decreases diversity of fish and other marine life.

On the main island of Phi Phi don there are some amazingly beautiful isolated beach, reachable on foot and some by boat only. Some of them are famous as a habitat of monkeys. But do not think that once these places are hard to reach, there won't be anyone but you. Almost every little bit is a beautiful Bay or beach are visited by large groups of tourists who come here from other resorts of Krabi and Phuket.

You can still go Hiking on foot to one of the lookout points on the mountains of the island. It's easy Hiking trails, accessible to everyone without training, you only need to bring drinking water. From these lookout offers panoramic views of the island and here you can see the sunrise or sunset.

Definitely worth a swim on one of the uninhabited Islands of the archipelago, most often it is Phi Phi Ley and Bamboo island (Ko Mai Phai). On Phi Phi Ley to visit the famous Bay where they filmed the movie the Beach, and Bamboo island you can just relax on the wonderful sandy beach. Also very popular activities snorkeling or diving because it is believed that they are almost the best in all of Thailand. However, we should not naively assume that in these places you will be alone: here, everything is crowded with tourists who were being taken on trips from Phuket and mainland Krabi.

Well, if all the sea and island sights take a look, and want something else, you can go to the mainland, and explore the Krabi province. This can be done independently selected from Phi Phi island by ferry for a couple of days on the mainland, and getting a car. You can also directly on the island to buy a group tour, but it's not so interesting because most of the time you spend on the road.

🕒 October 16, 2018

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 21 December, 2015
Already working on the topic not all that long. By the end of this week or early next should finish ...
angel January 6, 2016
Thank you very much for Lanta!!! ...
Guest Sep 25, 2016
Hello. How long to drive from Saladan to the southern part of Lanta? If there are great rental, or just stories? And is it possible to see the Isle of man, do not know how to drive a bike? And if you still dare to try on the bike, slipped the broken as not to understand this? ...
admin 1 Oct, 2016
Hello! Because the island is quite small, from long beach to the South 20-30 minutes on the bike. But on the bike it is just too much, 30 kilometers to go, and even in the heat. I think not everyone will master, but in principle, if breaks and holidays, be sure to stock up on water, it is possible for 3-4 hours to get there, but it's so vskidku. Anyway in my opinion this is a dubious idea, if you consider it from the point of view just to get. It is better to use a motorcycle taxi. If you were a lover go and see this as a trip for pleasure and travel, great rental would find no problems, everything is there. ...
admin 1 Oct, 2016
Well, what about "to take a motorbike as not knowing how to drive" - IMHO forget it. If at least some experience was. But without prejudice, I understand you girl. I will not impugn your abilities, but in the eyes of the distributors you just "girl", and even then likely to get a divorce you will have a lot more ...
Guest October 1, 2016
Thank you. Hence, it is necessary to select in absentia the most beautiful beach and the hotel next to it, so on the taxi ride :-( Write anything more about Phi Phi island and about the island on which it is possible to go with Lanta on a trip. Especially about the desert, the jungle, "where many wild monkeys". There are? How to get how much, can I spend the night on some deserted island? ...
admin 1 Oct, 2016
About Phi Phi, we will have relatively soon complete travel guide. For you to his side do not look, this is not Paradise island, and ravey. Quiet area it can not be called. On other Islands I can not say, went round a few of them along with the tour, there is always the beaches are always Packed, and bring Turikov boat for boat. But try to look at the Islands South of Lanta, there seems to be not so crowded. ...
baronfonvolf 29 September, 2017
good afternoon , tell me where I can catch songthaews to the bus station , I live near the sculpture of the crab ... and also.. with the Chao FA pier to Koh Lanta I will get ? or another pier .. thank you ...and here's the tickets for the ferry to Lanta for the day to actually take and where ? on the pier or in the agencies(there are probably more) and if the bass stern on the bus with tickets ? ...
admin 30 September, 2017
Hello! If I remember correctly, the minivans stopped on the street jazz Alley in shopping centre Vogue. This is from the promenade with crab 15 minute walk. There is, in any case, everything is close, within walking distance. About pierce Chao FA not sure what to Lanta leave from there, or rather has always been sure that are not sent unless something has changed. And ferry tickets are not fundamentally where to buy, the difference is not big, and even if the Agency you transfer to will offer, and so will have to get. https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/thai/krabi-ko-lanta-kak-dobratsa ...
baronfonvolf October 1, 2017
Thank you ...

Rate the article:
(7 votes, rating: 4.9 out of 5)

Остров Пхи-Пхи в Краби

Общая информация о Пхи-Пхи

Пхи-Пхи (Koh Phi-Phi, также Пи-пи) – группа из шести островов в провинции Краби в водах Андаманского моря (архипелаг на карте). Обычно когда туристы говорят о Пхи-Пхи, то чаще всего подразумевают не полностью архипелаг, а конкретно остров Пхи-Пхи Дон. Так часто пишут и путеводители, не упоминая о существовании других мелких островов архипелага. Действительно Пхи-Пхи Дон – единственный в архипелаге, являющийся полноценным курортом со своей инфраструктурой, пляжами, большим количеством отелей.

Остров Пхи-Пхи Дон (Ko Phi-Phi Don, также Пи-Пи Дон) – самый крупный и популярный в архипелаге. Конечно, по сравнению с другими популярными тайскими островами он просто кроха, его площадь всего 9,73 квадратных километра, а проживает постоянно здесь менее трех тысяч человек (Пи-Пи Дон на карте). Сравните это с Пхукетом, который занимает 576 квадратных километров! Однако, несмотря на размеры – это очень популярное и известное место: его знают и стараются сюда попасть туристы со всего мира.

Кроме Пхи-Пхи Дон в архипелаге также входят:

  • Пхи-Пхи Лей (Phi-Phi Leh). Необжитый остров, прославившийся тем, что здесь снимался фильм «Пляж» с Леонардом Ди Каприо в главной роли (Пи-Пи Лей на карте). Его можно посетить в виде экскурсии, при желании переночевать в кемпинге, но не более. Смотрите подробнее про Пхи-Пхи Лей.

  • Ko Mai Phai (также Бамбуковый остров, Bamboo Island). Нежилой островок с прекрасным пляжем, куда отдыхающих завозят на несколько часов с экскурсиями, и без какой-либо инфраструктуры (Ko Mai Phai на карте).

  • Ko Yung (также остров москит, Mosquito Island). Тоже нежилой, посетить его можно только наняв лодку, т.к. экскурсии сюда не возят (Ko Mai Phai на карте).

  • Bida Nok и Bida Nai. Два крохотных известняковых острова сочень крутыми берегами, куда практически невозможно высадиться. В водах вокруг них делают остановки для дайвинга или снорклинга во время морских экскурсий. Самостоятельно не посещаются (Bida Nok и Bida Nai на карте).

Отдых на Пхи-Пхи

Пхи-Пхи Дон – это настоящее райское место, где сочетается лучшее для отдыха: прекрасные песчаные пляжи, чистая бирюзовая вода, солнце круглый год, свободная молодежная атмосфера. Но не стоит думать, что раз это отдаленный небольшой остров, здесь царит деревенская обстановка – скорее наоборот. В главной деревне и центре острова Ton Sai до поздней ночи не стихают шумные вечеринки, прогрессивные ритмы доносятся из баров и дискотек на пляжах. Если этого мало, можете устроить свою вечеринку прямо на пляже, желающих присоединиться к вам всегда будет предостаточно. Если шумная ночная жизнь не для вас, и вы хотите насладиться тишиной и спокойствием – это не проблема: можно выбрать места для отдыха на отдаленных пляжах.

Провести здесь можно весь свой отдых, или же потратить лишь несколько дней. Гораздо интереснее будет, если разнообразить свое путешествие остановкой на других курортах в провинции Краби. Например, половину отдыха провести на материковой части провинции, где можно познакомиться с природными достопримечательностями Краби, а другую половину на Пи-Пи. Также можно совместить ПхиПхи с отдыхом на Пхукете, который находится на таком же расстоянии, как и материковая часть провинции.

Однако популярность этого места является и обратной стороной отдыха. К сожалению, нескончаемый поток туристов и застройка меняют образ курорта не в лучшую сторону. Коснулось это не только рельефа и природы всех островов архипелага, но и моря. Ходя вода в целом по-прежнему прозрачная, но в ней плавает много мусора. Когда-то идеально чистые песчаные пляжи даже на необитаемых островках завалены мусором, который оставляют туристы, иди его просто выбрасывает на берег волнами. Коралловые рифы погибают от действий человека, разнообразие подводной живности сокращается. Чтобы хоть как-то исправить ситуацию, начиная с 2017 года власти стали временно закрывать части архипелага для посещения туристами, и поговаривают даже о полном закрытии Пхи-Пхи Дон на несколько лет для его восстановления. Скорее всего этого не произойдет, но вот Пхи-Пхи Лей, где находится знаменитый Май Бэй (пляж Леонардо Ди Каприо), уже был закрыт для посещения с 01 июня 2018 года на четыре месяца.

Инфраструктура Пхи-Пхи

Как мы уже упомянули, туристическая инфраструктура есть только на Пхи-Пхи Дон, остальные острова архипелага не предназначены для долговременного отдыха. На Пхи-Пхи Дон есть все для отдыха: бюджетные хостелы и пятизвездочные отели со своими пляжами, кафе и рестораны, рынки и супермаркеты, экскурсии и частные гиды. Интернет есть в каждом, даже самом недорогом отеле. Есть банкоматы, банки и обмен валюты.

В 2004 году весь архипелаг сильно пострадал от цунами, погибло 2000 человек. После этого все было отстроено заново, и сегодня ничто не напоминает о той катастрофе.

Погода и туристические сезоны на Пхи-Пхи, когда лучше поехать

Пхи-Пхи – круглогодичный курорт, однако в течение года погода выражено меняется по сезонам, которые совпадают с материковой частью Краби и Пхукетом.

С ноября по май (до первой половины) проходит высокий сезон. Температура не слишком жаркая, дожди редки. Это лучшее время для отдыха, но одновременно и период наплыва туристов, и более высоких цен. Особенно много отдыхающих с января по апрель.

С мая (второй половины) по октябрь проходит низкий сезон. Это также сезон дождей с самыми дождливыми месяцами в мае, сентябре и октябре. Температура очень высокая, в среднем 29-30 градусов, осадки и облачность – не редкость. Зато цены на жилье и услуги понижаются, туристов становится намного меньше. Этот период – тоже подходящее время для поездки на Пхи-Пхи, и на самом деле затяжные ливни по несколько дней бывают редко, в основном дождь идет не более двух часов в день, после чего резко сменяется на солнечную погоду.

Сезоны в Краби по месяцам*

Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
                       

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Текущая погода в Краби/Пхи-Пхи и прогноз на ближайшее время:

Достопримечательности и развлечения, чем заняться

На Пхи-Пхи Дон и всем архипелаге практически нет исторических или культурных достопримечательностей. Достопримечательностями являются сами острова, их пляжи и природные богатства. Последние, кстати, довольно быстро исчезают из-за действий человека, и особенно это касается подводного мира: умирают кораллы, уменьшается разнообразие рыб и других морских обитателей.

На главном острове Пхи-Пхи Дон есть несколько удивительно красивых изолированных пляжа, куда можно добраться пешком, а до некоторых только на лодке. Часть из них известна как место обитания обезьян. Но не стоит думать, что раз места эти труднодоступные, там не будет никого кроме вас. Практически каждая мало-мальски красивая бухта или пляж посещаются большими группами туристов, прибывающих сюда с других курортов провинции Краби и Пхукета.

Еще можно отправиться в пешую прогулку пешком до одной из смотровых точек на горах острова. Это легкие пешие маршруты, доступные каждому без подготовки, нужно только брать с собой питьевую воду. С этих смотровых открываются панорамные виды на остров, и здесь можно встретить рассвет или закат.

Обязательно стоит сплавать на один из необитаемых островов архипелага, чаще всего это Пхи-Пхи Лей и Бамбуковый остров (Ko Mai Phai). На Пхи-Пхи Лей посещают знаменитую бухту, где снимался фильм «Пляж», а на Бамбуковом острове можно просто отдохнуть на замечательном песчаном пляже. Также очень популярны занятия снорклингом или дайвингом, ведь считается, что они здесь чуть ли не самые лучшие во всем Тайланде. Однако не стоит наивно полагать, что и в этих местах вы будете одни: здесь все переполнено туристами, которых везут на экскурсии с Пхукета и материковой части Краби.

Ну а если все морские и островные достопримечательности осмотрите, и захочется чего-то еще, можно отправиться на большую землю, и познакомиться с достопримечательностями провинции Краби. Сделать это можно самостоятельно, выбравшись с Пхи-Пхи на пароме на пару дней на большую землю, и взять там в аренду транспорт. Также можно прямо на острове приобрести групповую экскурсию, но это не так интересно, поскольку большую часть времени вы проведете в пути.

🕒 16 Октября, 2018

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 21 Декабрь, 2015
Уже работаем над разделом, не все же так быстро делается. К концу этой недели, началу следующей должны закончить ...
angel 6 Январь, 2016
Спасибо большое за Ланту!!! ...
Гостья 25 Сентябрь, 2016
Здравствуйте. Сколько времени ехать от Саладана до самой южной части Ланты? Есть ли там велики в аренду, или только байки? И реально ли посмотреть весь остров человеку, не умеющему водить байк? А если всё же рискну попробовать на байке, подсунут сломанный как непонимающей в этом? ...
admin 1 Октябрь, 2016
Здравствуйте! Остров ведь совсем небольшой, от Саладан до юга 20-30 минут на байке. А вот на велосипеде это уже многовато, километров 30 ехать, да еще и по жаре. Думаю, не каждый то осилит, но в принципе если в перерывами и отдыхом, обязательно запастись водой, то можно за 3-4 часа добраться, но это так, на вскидку. Да и вообще на мой взгляд это сомнительна затея, если рассматривать ее с точки зрения чтобы только добраться. Лучше уж воспользоваться мототакси. Если же вы именно любитель покататься и рассматриваете это как поездку для удовольствия и попутешествовать, то велики в аренду найдете без проблем, все есть. ...
admin 1 Октябрь, 2016
Ну а насчет "взять мотобайк как неумеющему водить" - ИМХО забудьте про это. Если бы хоть какой-то опыт был, то можно. Но, без всяких предубеждений, я так понял вы девушка. Не буду ставить под сомнение ваши способности, но в глазах прокатчиков вы именно "девушка", и уж тут шансов попасть на развод у вас будет куда больше ...
Гостья 1 Октябрь, 2016
Спасибо. Значит, надо заочно выбрать самый красивый пляж и отель возле него, чтоб на такси не ездить :-( Напишите ещё что-нибудь про Пхи-Пхи и про острова, на которые можно съездить с Ланты на экскурсию. Особенно про необитаемые, с джунглями, "где много диких обезьян". Есть такие? Как добраться, сколько стоит, можно ли переночевать на каком-нибудь необитаемом острове? ...
admin 1 Октябрь, 2016
Про Пхи-Пхи у нас будет относительно скоро полный путеводитель. По вы в его сторону не смотрите, это далеко не райский островок, а тусовочное место. Тихим уголком его никак не назовешь. По другим островам сказать не могу, объезжал несколько из них вместе с экскурсией, так там везде на пляжах яблоку негде упасть, так и привозят туриков лодка за лодкой. Но попробуйте посмотреть на острова южнее Ланты, там вроде бы не так людно. ...
baronfonvolf 29 Сентябрь, 2017
добрый день , скажите где останавливается сонгтэо до бас стэйшн , буду жить в районе скульптуры краба ... и еще.. с пирса чао фа я до ко ланта доберусь ? или с другого пирса .. спасибо ...и вот еще , билеты на паром до ланты за день реально взять и где ? на пирсе или в агенствах(там наверно дороже) и если с бас стэшн на автобусе до как с билетами ? ...
admin 30 Сентябрь, 2017
Здравствуйте! Если мне не изменяет память, то минивэны останавливаются на улице Maharaj Alley в районе ТЦ Vogue. Это от набережной с крабом 15 минут пешком. Там в любом случае все рядом, в пешей доступности. Насчет пирса Чао Фа не уверен, что до Ланты оттуда отправляются, вернее всегда был уверен, что не отправляются, если только что-то не изменилось. А билеты на паром не принципиально где покупать, разница не большая, да еще и если в агентстве, вам трансфер предложат, а так придется самому добираться. https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/thai/krabi-ko-lanta-kak-dobratsa ...
baronfonvolf 1 Октябрь, 2017
Спасибо ...

Оцените статью:
(7 голосов, оценка: 4.9 из 5)