Guide to Kanchanaburi

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

General information of Kanchanaburi

Kanchanaburi (Kanchanaburi) is a city and province in Central Thailand, West of Bangkok (Kanchanaburi map Thailand). The city itself is quite small, its population of a little over 50 thousand people. In this province though not densely populated, but the area ranks third in the country, accounting for 19 483 square that is approximately two times smaller than the area of the Moscow region.

And the city and province are a popular tourist sightseeing places. Special popularity of this region was because there are famous railway bridge over the river Kwai (River Kwai), which was built during the Second World war, the Western prisoners of war, captured by the Japanese. Et the most famous historical attractions of this province, related to the tragic events that occurred in the pow camp during the construction of the railway bridge, and was later reflected in the novel and filmed. In addition to the bridge in Kanchanaburi is home to several museums of World war II, the military memorial cemetery, there is a pleasant tourist atmosphere. An abundance of entertainment in town, but the village can not say: there are many bars and restaurants, night market.

Мост через реку Квай, Канчанабури The bridge over the river Kwai

But the bridge over the river Kwai – not only that attracts tourists. The province is considered one of the most beautiful in the Central part of Thailand. Here is several national parks; the largest and most beautiful falls in Thailand – Erawan; caves; several waterfalls; hot radon sources; elephant parks where you can ride these animals through the jungle, or to look after them. Also the province is on the border with Myanmar (Burma), and tourists can cross the border crossing in this country.

Водопад Эраван, Канчанабури Erawan Waterfall

More on Kanchanaburi province are several unique historical and cultural attractions that will amaze with its scale and beauty, but is little known among tourists. So, you should definitely visit the historical Park Prasat Muang Sing, reminiscent of the Khmer ANKOR Wat in miniature. And the tiger cave Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea) is one of the most interesting and beautiful temples of Thailand, and by far the most beautiful in the province. In addition to the beautiful statues and sculptures of Buddha, it houses the mummy of a monk.

Мумия монаха в храме, Канчанабури The mummy of a monk in the temple of the Tiger Cave Temple

Especially popular among tourists for sightseeing tours in Kanchanaburi for one or two nights with popular resorts in Central Thailand, such as Pattaya, Hua hin, the island of Samet, Koh Chang etc. During such tours, depending on the tour, visit historic and natural attractions, bathing in hot springs, ride elephants through the jungle and swim off in the river, do rafting on the river Kwai, and spend the night in floating hotel or a campground in the National Park. These tours are offered everywhere, but their routes generally pretty standard, pass through the beaten paths.

If such a route you are not satisfied, it can be much cheaper and without any difficulties to travel to Kanchanaburi yourself, which is not difficult even experienced tourists. To do this, see our detailed guide to the city and Kanchanaburi Province for independent travellers:

ADVERTISING

Weather in Kandersteg, tourist seasons

Although Kanchanaburi is not a beach resort, the season of the year to visit the province is also important. And although the heat here year round, during the rainy season impressions of the city can be much worse. Just here there are three seasons throughout the year:

  • The hot season from February to may. This is the hottest time of the year, the temperature reaches 38 degrees, rain a little bit.
  • The rainy season is from June to October. This is the rainy season, strong rains and cloudiness, especially in June and sometimes the rains start in may. In General, the time is not right and low tourist season, but if there's no other way, it can not go in this time. Just keep in mind that for a few hours a day you can go powerful showers, and make beautiful pictures not to be due to obscuring clouds of the sky.
  • The dry season (cold season) from November to January. At this time, a bit of rain, and the best temperature for travel – at about 25 degrees. This is the high season.

Seasons in Kanchanaburi months:

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
                       

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

Weather in Kanchanaburi and forecast

ADVERTISING

The tourist infrastructure in Kanchanaburi province

Kanchanaburi province – this is not a godforsaken place. Here is almost everywhere, even in the most remote towns and villages, you can find accommodation, and tourists are welcomed anywhere. Especially popular are the floating hotels on the river Kwai, and advanced travelers can stay in a tent in the campgrounds of national parks.

But the main tourist center with a developed infrastructure is located in Kanchanaburi. It is from here that you should start your journey through the province, because there is a large number of hotels, guesthouses and hostels, many travel agencies offer tours to the province, rental cars and motorcycles massage and Spa. Here also is the tourist street with bars, restaurants and shops.

Shopping in Kanchanaburi

The city of Kanchanaburi can not be called a shopping centre, but here you can buy Souvenirs and goods that cannot be found elsewhere. One of the main Souvenirs that you can bring out the elephant paper. Is this paper, which is made from the waste of elephants. Of course, not sold the paper, and made of her Souvenirs: paintings, paper lanterns and lamps. Such Souvenirs are sold only in special shops operating at elephant farms, at markets and in shops of the city we find a paper could not. Even the province and the city is famous as the place de can be purchased illegally imported from Myanmar precious and semi-precious stones and jewelry from them. They are literally crammed markets in the city center near the bridge over the river Kwai. However, to make expensive purchases, unless you actually are an expert on stones, here, we would not recommend. But to buy something as inexpensive souvenir for a few dollars is quite possible.

Шопинг в Канчанабури Jewellery shop in Kanchanaburi

The main tourist trade is concentrated in the center city of Kanchanaburi near the bridge. It has a large market, River Kwai Park Market, and a few small and individual markets and shops. Are also street vendors, there are network supermarket of Souvenirs OTOP. Prices from different sellers differ, so you need to go and compare, and bargain. In the evening (approximately after 16 hours) most traders is minimized, leaving only the sellers of fast food and small Souvenirs.

If you need to buy something more serious, on the main street, Sangchuto Raod you will find a hypermarket, Big-C, and in the South of the city there is a large Tesco Lotus. Next to the city bus station throughout the day to the local market in Kanchanaburi Town Local Market. You will not find tourist goods, but a lot of cheap consumer goods. Oh and don't forget with the coming of darkness (usually after 18:00) to visit the night market in Kanchanaburi, which, however, is more a tourist attraction than venue for shopping.

Useful information on Kanchanaburi

  • Banks and ATMs. The city has offices of all major national banks and their ATMs. They are mainly concentrated in the area of the bus station.
  • Currency exchange. The city has several currency exchange offices, mostly near the bridge over the river Kwai and on the streets of Mae Num Kwai Road. Also exchange money at the banks. The rate is slightly lower than in Bangkok and in the resorts. Exchange offices work from 09:00 to 17:00 seven days a week.
  • Tourist information. The tourist information office (TAT) is located on the street Sangchuto road, (office on the map). Here you can take a free kartie province, tourist brochures and other information, to book excursions. Also maps and brochures are available at the Desk in the tourist police booth near the bridge over the river Kwai.
  • Good hostel near to railway station. One of the most convenient places to stop backpackers hostel is a Hostel Asleep. It is in walking distance from the railway station, Kanchanaburi, almost is a night market, and before the start of the tourist street it is a 10-minute walk.
Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 14 April, 2018
Compiled guide to Kanchanaburi province in Central Thailand, where this famous river Kwai and the bridge over it.
Here are the main sections:
A General description of the province and city of Kanchanaburi
How to get to Kanchanaburi
Hotels in Kanchanaburi where to stay
Attractions Kanchanaburi
Attractions Kanchanaburi province
Map with attractions, hotels, transport
Sections will be supplemented and refined as the journey. In this topic, ask questions and discuss. ...
Sybarite 14 November, 2018
not quite accurate information. From Pattaya to Kanchanaburi there is a direct bus. About 6 hours on the road 300-400 baht one way per person ...
admin 15 November, 2018

Assume that we are talking about some tourist or corporate bus, because the bus station in Kanchanaburi such a flight schedule does not exist. But thanks for the complement ...
Frau 11 January, 2019
Bought tickets direct to Pattaya, cost 240 baht. Bus to Rayong three times a day ...
admin 11 January, 2019

Yes you are right, the bus. I contacted a friend from Kanchanaburi, here is the schedule - 09:00, 13:00, 17:30, true on the photo, it how much it on a simple piece of paper is written, and in General the display schedule, it is not. How many of Pattaya goes, I don't know. ...

Rate the article:
(12 votes, score: 4.8 out of 5)

Путеводитель по Канчанабури

Общая информация о Канчанабури

Канчанабури (Kanchanaburi) – это город и одноименная провинция в центральном Таиланде к западу от Бангкока (Канчанабури на карте Тайланда). Сам город совсем небольшой, его население немногим более 50 тысяч человек. При этом провинция хоть и не густо населена, зато по площади занимает третье место в стране, составляя 19 483 квадратных, что примерно в два раза меньше, чем площадь Московской области.

И город и провинция являются популярными экскурсионными туристическими местами. Особую популярность этот регион получил из-за находящегося здесь знаменитого железнодорожного моста через реку Квай (River Kwai), который был построен во время Второй Мировой войны западными военнопленными, схваченными японцами. Эт самая известная историческая достопримечательность провинции, связанная с трагическими события, которые произошли в лагере военнопленных при строительстве железной дороги и моста, и позже были отражены в романе и экранизированы. Помимо моста, в городе Канчанабури находится несколько музеев Второй Мировой войны, военные мемориальные кладбища, присутствует приятная туристическая атмосфера. Изобилия развлечений в городе нет, но и деревней его не назовешь: есть много баров и ресторанов, ночной рынок.

Мост через реку Квай, Канчанабури Мост через реку Квай

Но мост через реку Квай – далеко не единственное, что привлекает сюда туристов. Провинция считается одной из самых красивых в центральной части Тайланда. Здесь находится сразу несколько национальных парков; самый большой и красивый водопад в Тайланде – Эраван; пещеры; несколько водопадов; горячие радоновые источники; парки слонов, где можно покататься на этих животных по джунглям, или поухаживать за ними. Также провинция находится на границе с Мьянмой (Бирмой), и туристы могут пересекать пограничный переход в эту страну.

Водопад Эраван, Канчанабури Водопад Эраван

Еще по провинции Канчанабури разбросано несколько уникальных исторических и культурных достопримечательностей, которые удивляют своими масштабами и красотой, но пока что малоизвестны среди туристов. Так, обязательно стоит посетить исторический парк Prasat Muang Sing, напоминающий Кхмерский Анкор Ват в миниатюре. А храм пещеры тигра Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea) можно смело назвать одним из самых интересных и красивых храмов Тайланда, и однозначно самым красивым в провинции. Помимо красивых статуй и изваяний Будды, в нем хранится мумия монаха.

Мумия монаха в храме, Канчанабури Мумия монаха в храме Tiger Cave Temple

Особой популярностью у туристов пользуются экскурсионные туры в Канчанабури на одну или две ночи с популярных курортов центрального Тайланда, таких как Паттайя, Хуахин, о. Самет, о. Чанг и др. Во время таких туров, в зависимости от программы экскурсии, посещают исторические и природные достопримечательности, купаются в горячих источниках, катаются на слонах по джунглям и купаются сними в реке, совершают сплав по реке Квай, и ночуют в плавучем отеле или палаточном лагере в Национальном парке. Подобные экскурсии предлагаются повсеместно, но маршруты их в целом довольно стандартные, проходят по избитым туристическим тропам.

Если такой маршрут вас это не устраивает, можно гораздо дешевле и без каких-либо трудностей совершить поездку в Канчанабури самостоятельно, что не составит труда даже не опытным туристам. Для этого изучите наш подробный путеводитель по городу и Провинции Канчанабури для самостоятельных путешественников и туристов:

РЕКЛАМА 

Погода в Канчанабури, туристические сезоны

Хотя Канчанабури – это не пляжный курорт, сезон года для посещения провинции тоже важен. И хотя тепло здесь круглый год, в период сезона дождей впечатления от экскурсий могут оказаться значительно хуже. Всего здесь существует три сезона в течение года:

  • Жаркий сезон с февраля по май. Это самое жаркое время года, температура доходит до 38 градусов, дождей немного.
  • Сезон дождей с июня по октябрь. Это самое дождливое время года с мощными ливнями и облачностью, особенно в июне, а иногда дожди начинаются уже в мае. В целом не самое удачное время и низкий туристический сезон, но если другого выхода нет, то можете ехать и в это время. Просто имейте в виду, что по несколько часов в день могут идти мощные ливни, а сделать красивые фотографии не получиться из-за затянутого тучами неба.
  • Сухой сезон (холодный сезон) с ноября по январь. В это время немного осадков, и самая подходящая температура для путешествий – в районе 25 градусов. Это самый высокий сезон.

Сезоны в Канчанабури по месяцам:

Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
                       

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Погода в Канчанабури и прогноз

  • 21 Мар
    600
    +45°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 48%
  • 21 Мар
    1500
    +24°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 85%
  • 22 Мар
    000
    +21°C
    1м/с
    Влаж. 86%
  • 22 Мар
    900
    +37°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 31%
  • 22 Мар
    1800
    +25°C
    3м/с
    Влаж. 74%
  • 23 Мар
    300
    +33°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 51%
  • 23 Мар
    1200
    +33°C
    4м/с
    Влаж. 38%
  • 23 Мар
    2100
    +25°C
    1м/с
    Влаж. 81%
  • 24 Мар
    600
    +36°C
    4м/с
    Влаж. 42%
  • 24 Мар
    1500
    +29°C
    3м/с
    Влаж. 67%
  • 25 Мар
    000
    +26°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 88%
  • 25 Мар
    900
    +28°C
    2м/с
    Влаж. 89%
* - прогноз указан по местному времени. Данные получены с https://openweathermap.org. Если даты устаревшие, обновите страницу.
РЕКЛАМА 

Туристическая инфраструктура в провинции Канчанабури

Провинция Канчанабури – это далеко не богом забытое место. Здесь почти везде, даже в самых отдаленных городках и деревнях, можно найти размещение, а туристам рады везде. Особой популярностью пользуются плавучие отели на реке Квай, а продвинутые путешественники могут останавливаться в палатке в кемпингах национальных парков.

Но основной туристический центр с развитой инфраструктурой находится в городе Канчанабури. Именно отсюда стоит начинать свое путешествие по провинции, поскольку здесь находится большое количество отелей, гестхаузов и хостелов, много туристических агентств предлагающих туры по провинции, прокат автомобилей и мотоциклов, массажные салоны и спа. Здесь же находится и туристическая улица с барами, ресторанами и магазинами.

Шопинг в Канчанабури

Город Канчанабури нельзя назвать центром шопинга, однако здесь можно приобрести такие сувениры и товары, которые больше не найти нигде. Одним из главных сувениров, который можно отсюда привезти – слоновья бумага. Это такая бумага, которая делается из отходов слонов. Разумеется, продается не сама бумага, а сделанные из нее сувениры: картины, бумажные фонарики и светильники. Продается такие сувениры только в специальных магазинах, действующих при слоновьих фермах, на рынках и в лавках города мы найти такую бумагу не смогли. Еще провинция и город славится как место, де можно приобрести нелегально ввезенные из Мьянмы драгоценные и полудрагоценные камни и украшения из них. Ими буквально забиты рынки в центре города рядом с мостом через реку Квай. Однако совершать дорогостоящие покупки, если только вы действительно не являетесь экспертом по камням, здесь мы бы не рекомендовали. Но купить себе что-то в качестве недорогого сувенира за несколько долларов вполне можно.

Шопинг в Канчанабури Ювелирная лавка в Канчанабури

Основная туристическая торговля сосредоточена в центре города Канчанабури возле моста. Днем там работает большой рынок River Kwai Park Market, и еще несколько небольших и рынков и отдельных лавок. Также работают уличные торговцы, есть сетевой супермаркет сувениров OTOP. Цены у разных продавцов разняться, так что нужно ходить и сравнивать, и торговаться. К вечеру (ориентировочно уже после 16 часов) большая часть торговцев сворачивается, остаются только продавцы фастфуда и мелких сувениров.

Если вам нужно приобрести что-то более серьезное, то на главной городской улице Sangchuto Raod вы найдете гипермаркет Big-C, а на юге города есть большой Tesco Lotus. Рядом с городской автостанцией в течение всего дня работает местный рынок Kanchanaburi Town Local Market. На нем вы не найдете туристических товаров, зато очень много дешевого ширпотреба. Ну и не забудьте с приходом темноты (обычно это после 18:00) посетить ночной рынок Канчанабури, который, правда, является скорее достопримечательностью, нежели местом для покупок.

Полезная информация по Канчанабури

  • Банки и банкоматы. В городе есть офисы всех основных национальных банков, и их банкоматы. В основном они сосредоточены в районе автобусной станции.
  • Обмен валюты. В городе есть несколько обменных пунктов валюты, в основном возле моста через реку Квай и на улице Mae Num Kwai Road. Также обменять деньги можно в банках. Курс немного ниже, чем в Бангкоке и на курортах. Работают обменные пункты с 09:00 до 17:00 без выходных.
  • Туристическая информация. Офис туристической информации (TAT) находится на улице Sangchuto road, (офис на карте). Здесь можно взять бесплатны картые провинции, туристические проспекты и другую информацию, заказать экскурсии. Также карты и проспекты можно взять на стойке в будке туристической полиции рядом с мостом через реку Квай.
  • Хороший хостел рядом с ж/д станцией. Одним из самых удобных мест для остановки бюджетных туристов является хостел Asleep Hostel. Он находится в пешей доступности от ж/д вокзала Канчанабури, практически вплотную находится ночной рынок, а до начала туристической улицы отсюда 10 минут пешком.
Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 14 Апрель, 2018
Составлен путеводитель по провинции Канчанабури в центральном Тайланде, этот там где знаменитая река Квай и мост через нее.
Вот основные разделы:
Общее описание провинции и города Канчанабури
Как добраться до Канчанабури
Отели в Канчанабури, где лучше остановиться
Достопримечательности Канчанабури
Достопримечательности провинции Канчанабури
Карта с достопримечательностями, отелями, транспортом
Разделы будут пополнятся и уточняться по мере путешествия. В этой теме задаем вопросы и обсуждаем. ...
Субаристка 14 Ноябрь, 2018
не совсем точная информация. Из Паттайи до Канчанабури идет прямой автобус. Примерно 6 часов в пути и 300-400 батт в одну сторону на человека ...
admin 15 Ноябрь, 2018

Предполагаю, что речь идёт о каком то туристическом или фирменном автобусе, т.к. на автобусной станции в Канчанабури такого рейса в расписании не существует. Но спасибо за дополнение ...
Фрау 11 Январь, 2019
Позавчера купили прямые билеты до Паттайи, стоимость 240 бат. Автобус следует до Районга три раза в день ...
admin 11 Январь, 2019

Да вы правы, рейсовый автобус. Списался с другом из Канчанабури, вот расписание - 09:00, 13:00, 17:30, правда на фото оно почем-то на простом листочке написано, а в общем табло расписания его нет. Во сколько из Паттайи отправляется, не знаю. ...

Оцените статью:
(12 голосов, оценка: 4.8 из 5)