Address and orienteering in the streets of Thailand

Soi в Тайланде

The names of the streets in Thailand at most resorts is duplicated in English, but orientation without a map or Navigator, and some skill, it may be difficult. Not only is the writing in English of the same street or point of interest may differ (e.g. street Phahonyothin, Phahon Yothin, Pahon Yothin, Phaholyothin it's the same thing, and it's not the most complicated case), and addressing system in Thailand can confound any cartographer. A little information below will help you understand the intricacies of Thai legend:

  • Major streets in Thailand are referred to as Thanon (often abbreviated as Th), for example - Thanon Sukhumvit. At the same time, in the English version often such streets are designated as Road or Rd, i.e. Sukhumvit Rd.
  • To great streets perpendicular, angle or parallel usually adjacent small alleys called Soi, and they're just numbered. Ie Sukhumvit Soi 2 it's not the street name, just the designation of alley No. 2 on Sukhumvit. Odd and even lanes are on opposite sides of the street and are in ascending order. But what is bad, adjoining rooms can be located far from each other. For example, Sukhumvit Soi 39 and Sukhumvit Soi 40 are not directly opposite each other, and a few kilometers from each other.
  • More confusion makes the fact that many famous Soi receive their own names, and are indicated in different sources in different ways, for example Sukhumvit Soi 3 is also referred to as Soi Nana Nuea. And then even more difficult, since these have their Soi Soi.
  • House numbers are indicated at the beginning of the address, then there is a big street, then the number of the alleyway Soi. For example, 125 Sukhumvit Soi 13 125 means the house in lane 13 on Sukhumvit.
  • Sometimes the house numbers are indicated by a slash, for example 52/2. This is roughly similar to our case, i.e. 52/2 denotes the house No. 2 near the house No. 52.

And finally, our subjective advice from my own experience: the Thai people, particularly adults, does not focus on the map. Show them the map and asking for directions is useless, they don't even understand the world (apparently at school they are not taught geography). So, if you go to them for help in finding a place, just to ask, "How come," and listen carefully as they will tell you the route. In answer usually follows instructions like "Go to the first traffic light, turn left, walk to the store so-and there turn right, etc."

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 11 Mar 2017, 11:47
Of course you can ...
nikolaStrannik 11 Mar 2017, 14:15
The question of course is not the topic, the customs, how can packs of cigarettes to take with you? or at different customs in different countries in different ways? ...
admin 11 Mar 2017, 15:03
To Thailand can bring in as many cigarettes for personal consumption. Allowed to import duty-free 200 cigarettes or 250 grams of cigars or Smoking tobacco. ...
nyundo 09 Apr 2017, 11:48
Hello. Planning a trip of 5-6 people at 18-22 days in Thailand from December to January with travel to Malaysia, Singapore and back to Ty. If anyone can tell me how to make a route on which sites to buy plane tickets and stuff. I will be glad to all councils. Thank you. ...
admin 09 Apr 2017, 12:31
Well we have the site everything about it, and about the tickets and all the planes are, and on the booking form. Begin to study and plan their routes, and along the way ask questions. You can start here - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/thai/thai.html ...
Delduwath 19 May 2017, 06:30
Scared something go now Ty,after I read the statement of the foreign Ministry ...
admin 20 May 2017, 08:07
Are you talking about? What is a statement? ...
traveller 11 may 2017, 05:58
In October 2017 20 popular beaches of Thailand for an experiment, and it will be a complete ban on Smoking on the beaches. The need has arisen due to the fact that the sand on the beaches began to find a huge number of cigarette "bulls". On the one hand it is good, but for Smoking on the beaches impose enormous fines of 100,000 baht or one year in prison! For Smoking!!! The ban will be marked with signs, so watch carefully if you don't know where it is entered. But information about the beaches, where there will be a ban.
zapret.jpg

As you can see, under the ban hit the beaches in Pattaya, Cha-am, Patong in Phuket, the beaches in Krabi. ...
of Antoch 18 Oct 2017, 04:35
Hi all. Somewhere seen information that tiende banned electronic cigarettes. Anyone on this site heard? Really? ...
admin 2017 18 Oct, 16:33
All right, prohibited, and a violation is punishable by a fine. ...

Адреса и ориентирование на улицах Тайланда

Soi в Тайланде

Названия улиц в Тайланде на большинстве курортов продублированы на английском языке, но ориентация без карты или навигатора, и некоторого навыка, может оказаться затруднительной. Мало того, что написание на английском языке одной и той же улицы или достопримечательности может сильно отличаться (например улицы Phahonyothin, Phahon Yothin, Pahon Yothin, Phaholyothin это одно и тоже, и это еще не самый сложный случай), так еще и система адресации в Тайланде может поставить в тупик любого картографа. Информация ниже немного поможет вам разобраться в хитросплетениях тайских обозначений:

  • Крупные улицы в Тайланде обозначаются как Thanon (часто сокращают как Th), например - Thanon Sukhumvit. В то же время в английском варианте часто такие улицы указываются как Road или Rd, т.е. Sukhumvit Rd.
  • К большим улицам перпендикулярно, под углом или параллельно обычно примыкают небольшие проулки, которые называются Soi и они просто нумеруются. Т.е. Sukhumvit Soi 2 это не название улицы, а просто обозначение проулка №2 на улице Sukhumvit. Четные и нечетные проулки находятся по разные стороны улицы и расположены по возрастанию. Но что плохо, соседние номера могут находится далеко друг от друга. Например Sukhumvit Soi 39 и Sukhumvit Soi 40 находятся не напротив друг друга, а в нескольких километрах друг от друга.
  • Еще большую путаницу вносит то, что много известных Soi получают свои собственные названия, и обозначаются в разных источниках по-разному, например Sukhumvit Soi 3 также указывается как Soi Nana Nuea. А дальше еще сложнее, поскольку такие Soi имеют свои Soi.
  • Номера домов обозначаются в самом начале адреса, затем идет большая улица, затем номер проулка Soi. Например, 125 Sukhumvit Soi 13 означает дом 125 на проулке 13 на улице Sukhumvit.
  • Иногда номера домов указываются через дробь, например 52/2. Это примерно похоже на наши корпуса, т.е. 52/2 обозначает дом №2 рядом с домом №52.

И напоследок наш субъективный совет из собственного опыта: тайцы, особенно взрослые, никак не ориентируются по карте. Показывать им карту и спрашивать направление бесполезно, они даже не понимают сторон света (видимо, в школе им совсем не преподавали географию). Поэтому, если будете обращаться к ним за помощью в поиске места, то просто спрашивайте, «Как пройти туда-то», и внимательно слушайте, как они вам расскажут маршрут. В ответ обычно следует инструкция по типу: «Идите туда до первого светофора, поверните на нем налево, дойдите до магазина такого-то и там поверните направо и т.д.»

Последние сообщения по теме на форуме / задать вопрос Вы не авторизированны на форуме и сайте. Вы можете оставить сообщение как гость, а можете Зарегистрироваться или Войти

admin 18 Oct 2017, 16:33
Все верно, запрещены, нарушение наказывается штрафом. ...

Антох 18 Oct 2017, 04:35
Привет всем. Где-то встречал информацию, что в тиланде запретили электронные сигареты. Кто что на этот счет слышал? Правда? ...

traveller 11 Oct 2017, 05:58
В октябре 2017 года на 20 популярных пляжах Тайланда будет проведен эксперимент, а именно, будет введен полный запрет на курение на данных пляжах. Такая необходимость возникла из-за того, что в песке на пляжах стали находить огромное количество сигаретных "бычков". С одной стороны это хорошо, но с другой, за курение на пляжах вводят огромные штрафы - 100 000 бат или один год тюрьмы! За курение!!! Запрет будет обозначен знаками, так что внимательно следите, если не знаете, где он введен. А вот информация о пляжах, где будет введен запрет.
zapret.jpg

Как видите, под запрет попали пляжи в Паттаей, в Ча-аме, Патонг на Пхукете, пляжи в Краби. ...

admin 20 May 2017, 08:07
Вы о чем? Какое такое заявление? ...

Delduwath 19 May 2017, 06:30
Страшно что-то ехать сейчас в Тай,после того как почитал заявление МИД ...

admin 09 Apr 2017, 12:31
Ну у нас на сайте все расписано об этом, и про билеты и самолеты все есть, и формы бронирования. Начинайте изучать информацию и составлять маршрут, и по ходу дела задавайте вопросы. Можете начинать отсюда - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/thai/thai.html ...

nyundo 09 Apr 2017, 11:48
Здравствуйте. Планируем поездку 5-6 человек на 18-22 дня в Тайланд с декабря по январь с переездами в Малайзию, Сингапур и обратно в Тай. Если кто может, подскажите, как составить маршрут, на каких сайтах можно покупать билеты на самолёт и прочее. Буду рад всем советам. Спасибо. ...

admin 11 Mar 2017, 15:03
В Тайланд можете ввозить сколько угодно сигарет для личного потребления. Безпошлинно разрешается ввозить 200 сигарет или 250 граммов сигар или курительного табака. ...

nikolaStrannik 11 Mar 2017, 14:15
Вопрос, может конечно не в тему, на таможне сколько можно пачек сигарет брать с собой? или на разных таможнях разных стран по разному? ...

admin 11 Mar 2017, 11:47
Конечно можно ...
0.009821891784668 сек.