UNESCO sights in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is very rich in cultural attractions and natural beauty. And in all this variety it is sometimes difficult to decide what is a must see, and what you can skip. A sign of quality attractions is included in the UNESCO list. Such places in Sri Lanka 8: six cultural sites and two natural. Below are a list of them and brief description. Visiting these places can guarantee you the pleasure and satisfaction of curiosity. However, it should be said that in Sri Lanka , these places are not only a sign of quality, but also particularly high, sometimes unreasonable price.

Here the cost of visiting the sites:

  • Anuradhapura – 30$
  • Dambulla – USD 10
  • Mikindani - 4$
  • Sigiriya – 30$
  • Polonnaruwa – 25$
  • Was ritigala - 10$
  • Horton plains, Sinharaja Forest, Udawalawe and other National parks - admission is $ 15+8 dollrov for the group+rent transport+guided tour+entrance cost of transport. In the end the price of self-visit costs from $ 30 at the most economical option visit and excluding the cost of transport.

Cultural attractions of Sri Lanka

  • Polonnaruwa ancient city (Ancient City of Polonnaruwa)

    Included in the UNESCO world heritage list in 1982. Is a city in Central Sri Lanka. He is known as the second capital (after Anuradhapura) and the ancient city and ruins in the archaeological Park of Polonnaruwa is one of the most popular attractions of the island. In our opinion, it is a must to visit if you are even slightly interested in the history and ancient monuments. Visited as an independent tourist destination, and to examine carefully all the monuments of Polonnaruwa need at least a couple days. Read more about Polonnaruwa here...

    Квадрангл в Полоннаруве Quadrangle in Polonnaruwa
  • Ancient city of Sigiriya (Ancient City of Sigiriya)

    Included in the UNESCO world heritage list in 1982. Sigiriya – ancient city, built in the V century by king Kashyapa as a fortress, but it never became a full-fledged capital. The king's Palace the king built on an impregnable cliff 370 metro. At least Kashyapa believed that the rock would protect him, but nothing ever came of it, and he was killed by his brother.

    The place is very fascinating and interesting, and definitely worth a visit. There is only one drawback – unreasonably high price for a site visit. For a walk around the monument you will have to pay $ 30. Today Sigiriya is not a tourist town, and so it is visited as a standalone attraction, the inspection lasted several hours. Read more about Sigiriya here...

    Сигирия Sigiriya
  • Sacred city of Anuradhapura (Sacred City of Anuradhapura)

    Included in the UNESCO world heritage list in 1982. The first capital of the Sinhala state in the island of Sri Lanka, which was such from IV to X century ad.

    Today Anuradhapura is a city-the capital of the province, but interesting tour of the archaeological Park with its ancient monuments, located near (the so-called old town). Close to Anuradhapura is another tourist place of mihintale, where considered to be in Sri Lanka began to spread Buddhism.

    To see in Anuradhapura there is something: it's palaces, temples and pagodas. Indifferent to the scale of the monuments and their beauty here will be no. To see all of you in 1-2 days. Read more about Anuradhapura here...

    Ступа Джетавана, Анурадхапура The Jetavana stupa in Anuradhapura
  • Golden temple of Dambulla (Golden Temple of Dambulla)

    Included in the UNESCO list in 1991. Golden temple of Dambulla or the cave temple in a natural cave on the mountainside in the ist century BC. This is a unique place and age and for entertainment, and it is certainly worth a visit, especially as it is very close to Sigiriya rock fortress, and a visit can be combined. The temple is located in the city of Dambulla is one of its attractions. The town itself is of no particular interest, except perhaps as a place to stay overnight. Read more about Dambulla here...

    Храм Дамбуллы Temple Of Dambulla
  • Old town of Galle and its Fort (Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications)

    Included in the UNESCO list in 1988. The city of Galle is in the South of Sri Lanka close to the popular beach resorts of Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa, Bentota and others, making it one of the most visited and popular tourist places. However, the town itself is not very interesting, just a typical Sri Lankan town, quite large by local standards. Interesting here was built by the Portuguese in the seventeenth century granite Fort fortress, which today is the largest built by Europeans fortress in Asia. This castle is a town which is not only interesting, but also romantic. Here you can wander through the winding streets and enjoy the architecture and monuments, but even to stay at one of the hotels or just sit in the restaurant. What's especially nice visit to the fortress while free, will have to pay only for the separate entrance to the monuments and museums on its territory. Read more about Halle here...

    Форт Галле, Шри-Ланка Galle Fort View photos in 3D
  • The sacred city of Kandy (the Sacred City of Kandy)

    Included in the UNESCO list in 1988. Another city in Central Sri Lanka, but now the last Royal capital of Sri Lanka. Today Kandy, we can safely assign the title of culture and spiritual capital of the country. Here you can see not only interesting architectural sights, and a traditional dance show. The main attraction of Kandy is the Temple of the Tooth relic (Sri Dalada Maligawa), where it is considered that houses the most sacred Buddhist relic - one and four teeth of the Buddha. Read more about Kandy here...

Natural (natural) attractions

  • Central highlands of Sri Lanka (Central Highlands of Sri Lanka)

    Included in the UNESCO world heritage list in 2010. The highlands of Sri Lanka located in the South-Central part of the island. The most interesting places here is the nature reserve Horton Plains National Park, a protected conservation area, forest the Knuckles Conservation Forest. In these forests, with altitudes up to 2500 m above sea level, is the extraordinary diversity of flora and fauna, including several endangered animal species.

  • Forest reserve Sinharaja (Sinharaja Forest Reserve)

    Included in the UNESCO list in 1988. The Sinharaja forest is located in the South of the island. This is the last area on the island where the original tropical forest. The diversity of animal and plant species here is enormous. Read more about Sinharaja forest here...


Ожидайте, карта загружается
^
Закрыть
Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
Elena 1207 26 may 2017, 00:28
Sorry, I bought the plane tickets there and back, November 11 in Colombo and 11 December from Colombo. Thought wrong, turns out I'm leaving for 31 days. A visa for 30 days, what should I do? ...
admin 26 may 2017, 06:13
Hello! You can extend your visa while in the country for another 60 days, it is done in Colombo. But, IMHO I would not bother was the more to pay for 1 day. With high probability on the road this one will not even pay attention; and if you draw the problem to try to solve on the spot. But this is my personal opinion, of course you decide. ...
Elena S. On 27 may 2017, 06:32
Hello! How to get from Anuradhapura to Mihintale? Approximately how much is the fare of science-tuk? With respect. ...
admin 27 may 2017, 13:28
Hello! Here we have everything about how to get to Mihintale - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/ ... e#dobratsa ...
наташа86 22 Nov 2017, 04:55
fly on tour package tour to Goa, is it possible to get to Goa to Sri Lanka, whether for earlier to do a visa? ...
admin 22 may 2017, 11:03
Hello! From India to Sri Lanka can only be reached as from any other country, any simplified procedure no including visa. So you need to buy tickets from India to Sri Lanka, and to issue an e-visa ETA. On the other way. ...
Paul M 15 Dec 2017, 00:15
Hello,

I can't find a website where you can buy a ticket from Ella to Hikkaduwa on any train or bus.

Also wanted to ask about the local mobile operators. Necessary mostly the Internet. Suggest some kind of network? Just there to buy a SIM card (Colombo) and what the price would be for a package where a few minutes, but a lot of the Internet?

Thanks in advance ...
admin 15 Dec 2017, 09:49
Hello Paul! And you will not find such a site. First, there are no such websites, electronic ticketing on trains and buses in Sri Lanka does not exist; and secondly, from Ella to Hikkaduwa can be reached only with a change in Colombo. Generally you do not see this as a big problem, tickets for 2 and 3 class will be able to buy on the spot right before the departure. Timetable here https://eservices.railway.gov.lk/schedu ... on?lang=en If you definitely want to travel first class in observation car, then it is better to buy in advance the plot of Ella-Colombo, but not necessarily. Available in advance through special sites to the Agency with a large wrap, but it will not be an e-ticket and the paper that you get in the place.
On the Internet today, not to advise, has long not been there, but in General without problems to buy and use. If English little own in any shop with SIM cards explain what you need, you will be offered options. ...
Lauryn 15 Dec 2017, 17:33
Good evening!
Going to Sri Lanka in the second half of January. If I'm on the ETA, do not tell me when it's ready? (including the upcoming NG) Or is it better to do it at the airport on arrival? I read that this is possible. Is this true? Thank you for your answer. ...
admin 15 Dec 2017, 17:38
Do not see the advantages of what to do at the airport. First of all expensive and secondly have at the airport to spend more time, you need it. Make from home a few days everything will be ready. ...

Достопримечательности ЮНЕСКО в Шри-Ланке

Шри-Ланка очень богата культурными достопримечательностями и природными красотами. И во всем этом многообразии порой трудно решить, что же стоит обязательно посмотреть, а что можно пропустить. Своеобразным знаком качества достопримечательностей является включение ее в список ЮНЕСКО. Таких мест на Шри-Ланке 8: шесть из них – культурные достопримечательности, а две – естественные. Ниже представлен их список и краткое описание. Посещение этих мест гарантирует вам удовольствие и удовлетворение любознательности. Правда, стоит сказать, что в Шри-Ланке эти места выделяются не только знаком качества, но и особенно высокой, порой неоправданной ценой.

Культурные достопримечательности Шри-Ланки

  • Древний город Полоннарува (Ancient City of Polonnaruwa)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1982. Это город в центральной Шри-Ланке. Он известен, как вторая столица государства (после Анурадхапуры) и древний город, а руины в археологическом парке Полоннарувы – одна из популярнейших достопримечательностей острова. На наш взгляд место, просто обязательное к посещению, если вам хоть немного интересна история и древние памятники. Посещается как самостоятельное туристическое место, и чтобы осмотреть внимательно все памятники Полоннарувы, нужна хотя бы пара дней.

    Подробнее про Полоннаруву здесь…

    Квадрангл в Полоннаруве Квадрангл в Полоннаруве
  • Древний город Сигирия (Ancient City of Sigiriya)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1982. Сигирия – древний город, построенный в V веке царем Касапа как неприступная крепость, однако так и не ставший полноценной столицей. Свои чертоги царь построил на неприступной скале высотой 370 метро. По крайней мере Касапа считал, что неприступная скала защитит его, но ничего из этого не вышло, и он был убит своим братом.

    Место это очень захватывающее и интересное, и определенно стоит посещения. Есть лишь один недостаток – неоправданно высокая цена за посещение места. За прогулку по памятнику придется заплатить 30 долларов. Сегодня Сигирия не является туристическим городом или районом, и поэтому ее посещают как отдельную достопримечательность, затратив на осмотр несколько часов.

    Подробнее про Сигирию здесь…

    Сигирия Сигирия
  • Священный город Анурадхапура (Sacred City of Anuradhapura)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1982. Первая столица сингальского государства на острова Шри-Ланка, являвшаяся таковой с IV по X век нашей эры.

    Сегодня Анурадхапура представляет из себя город-столицу провинции, но туристам интересен археологический парк с древними памятниками, расположенный рядом (так называемый старый город). Рядом с Анурадхапурой находится еще одно туристическое место – Михинтале, откуда, как считается, на Шри-Ланке начал распространяться Буддизм.

    Посмотреть в Ануадхапуре есть на что: это дворцы, храмы и пагоды. Равнодушным к масштабам памятников и их красоте здесь не останется никто. Осмотреть все можно за 1-2 дня.

    Подробнее про Анурадхапуру здесь…

    Ступа Джетавана, Анурадхапура Ступа Джетавана в Анурадхапуре
  • Золотой храм Дамбуллы (Golden Temple of Dambulla)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1991 году. Золотой храм Дамбуллы или пещерный храм был обустроен в естественных пещерах на склоне горы в I-м веке до нашей эры. Это уникальное место и по возрасту и по зрелищности, и его обязательно стоит посетить, тем более что находится оно совсем рядом с Сигирией, и их посещение можно совместить. Храм находятся в городе Дамбулла и является одной из его достопримечательностей. Сам город особого интереса не представляет, разве что только как место, где можно остановиться переночевать.

    Подробнее про Дамбуллу здесь…

    Храм Дамбуллы Храм Дамбуллы
  • Старинный город Галле и его крепость (Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1988 году. Город Галле находится на юге Шри-Ланке недалеко от популярных пляжных курортов Унаватуна, Хиккадува, Бентота и других, что делает его одним из самых посещаемых и популярных у туристов мест. Правда, сам по себе город не представляет большого интереса, это просто обычный ланкийский город, довольно крупный по местным меркам. Интересен здесь построенный португальцами в XVII веке гранитный форт-крепость, который по сей день является самой крупной построенной европейцами крепостью в Азии. Эта крепость – целый городок, который можно назвать не только интересным, но и романтичным. Здесь можно не только побродить по извилистым улочкам и наслаждаться архитектурой и памятниками, но даже остановиться в одном из отелей или просто посидеть в ресторане. Что особенно приятно, посещение крепости пока бесплатное, платить придется лишь за вход в отдельные памятники и музеи на его территории.

    Подробнее про Галле здесь…

  • Священный город Канди (Sacred City of Kandy)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1988 году. Еще один город в центральной Шри-Ланке, но теперь уже последняя столица королевской Шри-Ланки. Сегодня Канди можно смело присвоить звание культурой столицы страны, и здесь можно посмотреть не только интересны архитектурные достопримечательности, но и традиционное танцевальное шоу. Одной из главных достопримечательностей Канди является Храм Зуба Будды (Шри-Далада-Малигава), где, как считается, хранится самая священная буддистская реликвия - один и четырех зубов Будды.

Натуральные (природные) достопримечательности

  • Центральное высокогорье Шри-Ланки (Central Highlands of Sri Lanka)

    Включено в список ЮНЕСКО в 2010 году. Высокогорье Шри Ланки расположено в юго-центральной части острова. Самые интересные места здесь – заповедник Horton Plains National Park, защищаемая заповедная зона, лес Knuckles Conservation Forest. В этих лесах, расположенных на высоте вплоть до 2500 м над уровнем моря, находится необычайное разнообразие флоры и фауны, в том числе несколько исчезающих животных видов.

  • Лесной заказник Синхараджа (Sinharaja Forest Reserve)

    Включен в список ЮНЕСКО в 1988 году. Лес Синхаражда находится на юге острова. Это последняя зона на острове, где сохранились оригинальные тропические леса. Разнообразие животных и растительных видов здесь огромно.

    Подробнее про лес Синхаражда здесь...


Ожидайте, карта загружается
^
Закрыть
Последние сообщения по теме на форуме / задать вопрос Вы не авторизированны на форуме и сайте. Вы можете оставить сообщение как гость, а можете Зарегистрироваться или Войти

наташа86 22 Nov 2017, 04:55
лечу по тур путевке на Гоа, возможно ли с гоа попасть на Шри-Ланку, нужно ли за ранее делать визу? ...

admin 27 Oct 2017, 13:28
Здравствуйте! Здесь у нас все про как добраться до Михинтале - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/ ... e#dobratsa ...

Елена С. 27 Oct 2017, 06:32
Здравствуйте! Как можно доехать от Анурадхапуры до Михентале? Сколько приблизительно стоит проезд наук-туке? С уважением. ...

admin 26 Oct 2017, 06:13
Здравствуйте! Вы можете продлить визу находясь в стране еще на 60 дней, это делается в Коломбо. Но, ИМХО я бы заморачиваться не стал, тем более столько платить за 1 день. С большой долей вероятности на выезде на это никто даже не обратит внимание; а если обратит, проблему попытаться решить на месте. Но это мое личное мнение, решать конечно вам. ...

Елена 1207 26 Oct 2017, 00:28
Извините, я купила билеты на самолёт туда и обратно, 11 ноября в Коломбо и 11 декабря из Коломбо. Посчитала неправильно, получается я улетаю на 31 день. А виза на 30 дней, что мне делать? ...

admin 26 Jun 2017, 16:43
Здравствуйте! Да вроде нет никаких проблем с ETA в этом плане. При оформлении вы будете указывать дату въезда, вот с того момента оно и будет действовать. ...

Людмила111 25 Jun 2017, 17:10
Добрый день. Лечу на Шри Ланку 30 августа на 2 недели. Могу ли я сейчас оформить ETA, не просрочится ли она к тому времени, когда я полечу на Ланку? ...

admin 13 May 2017, 09:57
Да, конечно, без проблем. Не в каждом магазине, конечно, но в крупных туристических местах и в Коломбо есть ...

12 May 2017, 09:07
можно ли оплачивать покупки в магазинах банковской картой? ...

Кнапа 26 Mar 2017, 19:01
Здравствуйте! Скажите, пожалуйста, я в конце января летала в Шри-Ланку, визу оформляла по прилету. На ней стоит буква D.
В начале апреля снова туда лечу. Нужно ли открывать новую визу или можно въехать по старой? Спасибо! ...
0.0013151168823242 сек.