Security in Sri Lanka

Security in Sri Lanka

Полицейский на Шри-Ланке

Unfortunately, a very safe country Sri Lanka until called. The political situation in the country is quite unstable. Many years in the country proceeded tamilo-Sinhala conflict, but in 2009 the civil war completed the victory of the government troops. The roots of the conflict lay in the long-standing confrontation between ethnic Sinhalese and the Tamil minority.

The result of this war, there are mined areas, so the warnings about the minefield should be taken seriously. Do not be surprised that on the streets you can see armed people (mostly police officers), and traffic checkpoints. Due to heightened security measures, the armed men and checkpoints, Sri Lanka is one of the safest tourist destinations. However, the tension is felt. But outside of major cities, resort areas, beaches and areas of the hotels, you'll hardly feel that in this country more recently had some problems. Going on trips, travel to non-tourist areas of the country, it is advisable to take your passport.

With crime in Sri Lanka the situation is more favorable. Serious crimes are very few. High, which may suffer tourist theft and fraud. Theft of personal belongings from the room, pickpocketing, thefts from safes in hotels are not uncommon, so this issue should take the necessary security measures, which can be found in the article "issues of keeping money and documents while traveling". Extremely rare case of a robbery by snatching bags, phones, cameras.

Really serious problem in Sri Lanka are different types of fraud. The scammers sell the tourists non-existent travel services, tickets, or sell them at inflated prices. Cheat even in churches "linestotal or lemonade". Always be careful and double check what you say, local businessmen and the spring and summer, they are ready to deceive you, even in such seemingly innocuous things as the sights, just to get their benefits.

Here is some of the most simple ways of taking money from tourists to Sri Lanka:

  • Unexpected service. Entrance fee to the attraction or service you declare after you received it. Moreover, you will learn that you favor.
  • Unexpected surcharges. Sri Lankans love to include to include in the final cost of any service or product all sorts of unexpected fees and taxes. It may be service charges or government taxes the hotel charges for wear and tear when you rent a motorcycle, rent a helmet and anything else. Worst of all, about the need to pay this fees, you will learn only years has already received a product or service, and the ability to say no. Even if you asked the first direct question "are taxes Included, this is the final price?", this does not guarantee that you they still do not require.
  • Friends helper. Almost any attraction you could settle down people, who say a few words about this place and will constantly follow you. At the end of the inspection he will announce that he is a tour guide conducted a tour for you and will require money for this.
  • Still friends-assistants. Any person who accidentally talks to you on the street, will try under some pretext to get you in the store or to bring the tray for you he gets a Commission. Of course, this is all very well rehearsed, and this acquaintance may be provided, for example, a chef's kitchen in your hotel. All of this is in any case intended to sell you some "stuff" at fantastic prices.
  • Paid gifts. At the entrance to the temple you can give a flower or candle to give, and even if you ask how much it costs, will tell you that for free to you have opted. At the exit of the temple, this same man will catch you and will demand money.
  • Unexpected Parking. Leaving the bike in some place, in the back, you suddenly learn that this place has paid Parking, and you have to pay an unreasonable amount even five minutes of Parking.
  • Additional fee for Parking. Even in the paid Parking areas near sites, where you are officially paid and received a receipt upon return you can expect a Stalker, who "looked after" separately, for your motorcycle, for which he will claim the money.
  • The fee for the shoes. At the entrance to the temples and sights you will be asked to remove your shoes, and don't let him take her with him even in a package or backpack. At the exit, of course, will require money for safekeeping.

Health and medicine in Sri Lanka

Medicine in Sri Lanka at a high enough level. Clinic, there are free and paid. Of course, it is better to seek help in private institutions, but it is best in such cases to have an insurance policy.

Medications at local drugstores, you can find almost any, but many of them are fakes or they are very low quality. So do not be fooled by low prices at local pharmacies, and is really important to you drugs better bring.

Consider the following guidelines:

  • Tap water can not drink. Use for drinking and brushing teeth purchase bottled water
  • Always wash your hands before eating
  • Mandatory vaccinations for entry to Sri Lanka not required, but recommended vaccinations against hepatitis (A and b), tetanus, diphtheria, and typhoid. If you arrive from the regions to be declared a zone of infestation of yellow fever (usually Africa, South America), mandatory vaccination
  • Protect yourself from mosquito bites (mosquitoes), potential vectors of dangerous diseases by using insect repellent and clothing that covers exposed skin
  • It is recommended to perform a prophylactic against malaria

Recommendations for security in Sri-Lanka and traditions of behavior

  • Drugs in Sri Lanka outside the law, and for their distribution and storage the death penalty. Domestically, soft drugs can be bought quite easily, but it might be a provocation, followed by divorce for money
  • Be careful with the monkeys: they not only can bite you, but can steal your things, sneaking them directly with you (sunglasses, chain, camera, purse, etc.)
  • Nudity in Sri Lanka illegal. Topless sunbathing is possible only on private beaches or pools in hotels
  • Do not photograph military installations, government agencies, police and military
  • When visiting temples, dress appropriately, do not enter churches in shorts, short skirt, open back and shoulders, headdress. Before entering the temple, remove shoes
  • Do not touch the head monk. Women to touch a monk at all
  • Don't turn your back to pictures and statues of the Buddha even at the time of photographing. If you really want to be photographed in front of the Buddha, it is better to stay away from the subject
  • Do not use your left hand for eating, do not take or give anything with the left hand. Left hand in Sri Lanka use the toilet, not toilet paper, so nothing more to it (left hand) do not
  • To point at someone with the index finger in Sri Lanka is considered a very rude gesture
  • Gestures of the head "Yes" and "no" in Sri Lanka are the opposite: nodding the head means "No" and from side to side and shrug - "Yes"

Customs regulations of Sri Lanka

According to the current legislation allowed to import duty free in Sri Lanka:

  • Clothes for personal use
  • Two bottles of wine and half a litre of spirits per person (see the import of alcohol in Sri Lanka)
  • Toilet water: not more than 0.25 liters, a small quantity of perfume and Souvenirs with a total value of not more than $ 250 and not for commercial purposes.

Import of cigarettes is permitted only upon payment of a fee. All other things are not from the list above, equipment, jewelry, etc., by law, must be declared to allow their removal later.

All this according to the law, in fact, not every tourist is going to pay a fee for a couple packs of cigarettes and an extra bottle of wine. Tourists neither when entering nor when leaving the country almost never inspected, although, in case you are carrying expensive equipment (photo, video), not be amiss to declare, to avoid problems at checkout.

Prohibited import/export

  • drug
  • pornographic and promotional materials
  • anti-religious materials

Import/export of currency in Sri Lanka

The amount of imported foreign currency in Sri Lanka is unlimited, but amounts over the equivalent of $15 000 (including travellers cheques and Bank obligations) must be declared. When importing currency, subject to Declaration by the amount equivalent to more than $5 000 if you intend to export it back.

Indian and Pakistani currency is prohibited to import/export.

Import/export of national currency of Sri Lanka is limited to a maximum of 5000 rupees.

The import of alcohol in Sri Lanka

In Sri Lanka is allowed to bring two bottles of wine and half a litre of spirits per person, but only for persons over 18 years.

Some popular Internet sources erroneously indicate that it is possible to import or wine or spirits. That's not true, it is possible to import both wine and spirits. Here is a quote from the official rules "Two regular-size bottles of wine and one and a half liters of spirits".

🕒 October 16, 2018

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 16 September, 2018
Make ETA, there will be no problems. ...
Ludmilapl 21 September, 2018
friends who is moving to Sri Lanka in early June? 1-10 fly out there. The wind is great, will catnum rules ...
admin 21 September, 2018
Well, you have plans already for next year. I October can not decide how and where to go, and you have 2019 :shock: ...
nausla 21 September, 2018
Well, that's fine. :) I'm also already planning the trip next year. :THINK ...
viola September 23, 2018
...
viola September 23, 2018
Hello! The first time we go to Sri Lanka. Exploration))). Planned in November-December for two weeks. I would like to rent a house on the coast (preferably right on the beach). But not in the hotel but it was a private house/Bungalow/etc. is Very desirable with the kitchen. And I want to look for housing already in place. That is, to arrive, to remove that thread for a day, what would things leave and go in search of a place by the ocean. Is it real? Is there in Lanka beaches "the private sector" on the first line? ...
admin September 24, 2018
Hello! Of course there are bungalows. ...
viola 24 September, 2018
Thank you! Already encouraging :). And which beach is better to go in search of such housing? That would have been a great choice of accommodation and it is quite quiet, peaceful beach. ...
viola 24 September, 2018
Even more specifically ask. Can I rent a house on the first line on the beach of Mirisa? He's descriptions are most like. ...
admin 25 September, 2018
Yes, Mirissa. You can see the options on Airbnb or Booking ...

Rate the article:
(1 votes, rating: 4 of 5)

Безопасность в Шри-Ланке

Безопасность в Шри-Ланке

Полицейский на Шри-Ланке

К сожалению, абсолютно безопасной страной Шри-Ланку пока не назовешь. Политическая ситуация в стране довольно нестабильная. Много лет в стране протекал тамило-сингальский конфликт, но в 2009 году эту гражданскую войну полностью завершили победой правительственные войска. Корни конфликта лежали в давнем противостоянии этнических сингалов и тамильского меньшинства.

В результате этой войны остались заминированные территории, поэтому к предупреждениям о минном поле следует относиться серьезно. Не удивляйтесь, что на улицах городов можно увидеть вооруженных людей (в основном это полицейские), а на дорогах блок-посты. Из-за повышенных мер безопасности, тех самых вооруженных людей и блок-постов, Шри-Ланка является одним из самых безопасных туристических мест. Однако, напряжение чувствуется. А вот за пределами крупных городов, в курортных зонах, на пляжах и территориях отелей, вы едва ли ощутите, что в этой стране совсем недавно были какие-то проблемы. Отправляясь на экскурсии, в поездки в нетуристические районы страны, рекомендуется с собой брать паспорт.

С преступность на Шри-Ланке дело обстоит благоприятнее. Тяжких преступлений очень мало. Максимум, от чего может пострадать турист – кражи и мошенничества. Воровство личных вещей из номеров, карманные кражи, кражи из сейфов в отелях не редкость, так что в этом вопросе следует предпринимать необходимые меры безопасности, о которых можно прочитать в статье «вопросы сохранности денег и документов во время путешествия». Чрезвычайно редко случаются грабежи с вырыванием сумок, телефонов, фотоаппаратов.

Действительно серьезной проблемой на Шри-Ланке являются разного рода мошенничества. Мошенники продают туристам несуществующие туристические услуги, билеты, или продают их по завышенным ценам. Обманывают даже в храмах "лженастоятели" или "лжемонахи". Всегда будьте на чеку и перепроверяйте, что вам говорят местные дельцы и приставалы: они готовы обмануть вас даже в таких, казалось бы, безобидных вещах, как время работы достопримечательности, лишь бы получить свою выгоду.

Вот вам для сведения некоторые самые простые способы отъема денег у туристов на Шри-Ланке:

  • Неожиданная услуга. Плату за вход в достопримечательность или услугу вам объявляют после того, как вы ее получили. Причем, вы узнаете о том, что вам оказали услугу, уже на выходе.
  • Неожиданные доплаты. Ланкийцы очень любят включать включать в окончательную стоимость любой услуги или товара всяческие неожиданные сборы и налоги. Это могут быть сервисные сборы или государственные налоги в отеле, плата за износ при аренде мотоцикла, аренда шлема и еще что угодно. Хуже всего, что о необходимости уплатить это сборы вы узнаете только года уже получили услугу или товар, и возможности отказаться нет. Даже если вы задали вначале прямой вопрос «Включены ли налоги, это окончательная цена?», это вовсе не гарантия, что с вас их все равно не потребуют.
  • Друзья-помощники. Почти в любой достопримечательности к вам может пристроиться человек, который обмолвится несколькими словами об этом месте, и будет постоянно следовать за вами. В конце осмотра он вам объявит, что он гид, проводил для вас экскурсию, и потребует за это деньги.
  • Еще друзья-помощники. Любой человек, который якобы случайно заговорит с вами на улице, обязательно попытается под каким-нибудь предлогом завести вас в магазин или подвести к лотку, где за вас он получает комиссию. Разумеется, все это очень хорошо отрепетировано, и этот случайны знакомый может представиться, например, поваром с кухни в вашем отеле. Все это в любом случае нацелено на то, чтобы продать вам какую-нибудь «фигню» по баснословным ценам.
  • Платные подарки. При входе в храм вам могут подарить цветок или дать свечу, и даже если вы спросите, сколько это стоит, вам скажут что бесплатно, чтобы вы не отказались. На выходе из храма этот же человек поймает вас, и будет требовать деньги.
  • Неожиданная платная парковка. Оставив мотоцикл в каком-нибудь месте, по возвращении вы вдруг узнаете, что это место – платная парковка, и вы должны заплатить неразумную сумму даже за пять минут стоянки.
  • Дополнительная плата на парковке. Даже на платной парковке рядом с достопримечательностями, где вы официально заплатили и получили квитанцию об оплате, по возвращении вас может ожидать приставала, которые «приглядывал» отдельно за вашим мотоциклом, за что он будет требовать деньги.
  • Плата за обувь. При входе в храмы и достопримечательности вас попросят снять обувь, причем не разрешат взять ее с собой даже в пакете или рюкзаке. По выходу, разумеется, будут требовать деньги за хранение.

Здоровье и медицина в Шри-Ланке

Медицина в Шри-Ланке на достаточно высоком уровне. Клиники существуют бесплатные и платные. Разумеется, лучше обращаться за помощью в платные учреждения, но лучше всего в таких случаях иметь страховой полис.

Лекарства в местных аптеках можно найти практически любые, но среди них много подделок или они очень низкого качества. Поэтому не покупайтесь на низкие цены в местных аптеках, а действительно важные для вас препараты лучше привозите с собой.

Придерживайтесь следующих рекомендаций:

  • Водопроводную воду пить нельзя. Используйте для питья и чистки зубов покупную бутилированную воду
  • Всегда тщательно мойте руки перед едой
  • Обязательных прививок для въезда в Шри-Ланку не требуется, однако рекомендуется сделать прививки от гепатита (А и В), столбняка, дифтерии и брюшного тифа. Если вы прибываете из регионов, объявленных зоной заражения желтой лихорадки (обычно это страны Африки Южной Америки), обязательна вакцинация
  • Защищайтесь от укусов комаров (москитов), возможных переносчиков опасных болезней, с помощью репеллентов и одежды, закрывающей открытые участки кожи
  • Рекомендуется провести профилактический курс против малярии

Рекомендации по безопасности в Шри-Ланке и традиции поведения

  • Наркотики на Шри-Ланке вне закона, и за их распространение и хранение полагается смертная казнь. Внутри страны легкие наркотики можно купить достаточно свободно, но это может быть и провокация с последующим разводом на деньги
  • Будьте осторожны с обезьянами: они не только могут вас покусать, но и могут украсть ваши вещи, стащив их прямо с вас (очки, цепочку, фотоаппарат, кошелек и т.п.)
  • Нагота в Шри-Ланке противозаконна. Загорать топлес можно только на частных пляжах или у бассейнов в отелях
  • Не фотографируйте военные объекты, государственные учреждения, полицейских и военных
  • При посещении храмов одевайтесь подобающе, не входите в храмы в шортах, короткой юбке, с открытой спиной и плечами, в головном уборе. Перед входом в храм снимайте обувь
  • Не дотрагивайтесь до головы монаха. Женщинам трогать монаха нельзя вообще
  • Не поворачивайтесь спиной к изображениям и изваяниям Будды даже во время фотографирования. Если уж очень хотите сфотографироваться на фоне Будды, то лучше отойдите подальше от объекта съемки
  • Не используйте левую руку для еды, не принимайте и не передавайте ничего левой рукой. Левую руку в Шри-Ланке используют в туалете, причем не с туалетной бумагой, и поэтому ничего больше ей (левой рукой) не делают
  • Указывать на кого-либо указательным пальцем в Шри-Ланке считается очень грубым жестом
  • Жесты головой "да" и "нет" на Шри-Ланке действуют наоборот: кивание головой означает "Нет", а из стороны в сторону и пожимание плечами - "Да"

Таможенные правила Шри-Ланки

Согласно действующего законодательства беспошлинно разрешено ввозить в Шри-Ланку:

  • Вещи и одежду для личного использования
  • Две бутылки вина и полтора литра крепких спиртных напитков на человека (см. ввоз алкоголя в Шри-Ланку)
  • Туалетную воду в количестве не более 0,25 литра, небольшое количество духов и сувениров общей стоимостью не более $ 250 и не для коммерческих целей.

Ввоз сигарет разрешается только при уплате пошлины. Все прочие вещи не из списка выше, аппаратуру, ювелирные украшения и т.д., по закону необходимо декларировать для возможности их дальнейшего вывоза.

Все это по закону, а на деле же далеко не каждый турист идет оплачивать пошлину за пару пачек сигарет и лишнюю бутылку вина. Туристов ни при въезде ни при выезде из страны практически никогда не досматривают, хотя, в случае если вы везете дорогостоящую аппаратуру (фото, видеокамеру), не лишним будет их задекларировать, чтобы не было проблем при выезде.

Запрещен ввоз/вывоз

  • наркотиков
  • порнографических и пропагандистских материалов
  • антирелигиозных материалов

Ввоз/вывоз валюты в Шри-Ланку

Сумма ввозимой иностранной валюты в Шри-Ланку не ограничена, однако суммы более в эквиваленте $15 000 (в том числе дорожные чеки и банковские обязательства) должна быть задекларирована. При ввозе валюты, подлежит декларированию сумма в эквиваленте более $5 000 в случае, если вы намереваетесь вывозить ее обратно.

Индийская и пакистанская валюта запрещены к ввозу/вывозу.

Ввоз/вывоз национальной валюты Шри-Ланки ограничен максимум 5000 рупий.

Ввоз алкоголя в Шри-Ланку

В Шри-Ланку разрешено ввозить две бутылки вина и полтора литра крепких спиртных напитков на человека, но только для лиц старше 18 лет.

Некоторые популярные источники в Интернете ошибочно указывают, что можно ввозить или вино или крепкие спиртные напитки. Это не правда, можно ввозить одновременно и вино и крепкие напитки. Вот цитата из официальных правил «Two regular-size bottles of wine and one and a half liters of spirits».

🕒 16 Октября, 2018

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 16 Сентябрь, 2018
Оформляйте ETA, никаких проблем не будет. ...
Ludmilapl 21 Сентябрь, 2018
друзья кто двигает в Шри-Ланку в начале июня? 1-10 туда улетаю. Ветер отличный, катнем норм ...
admin 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну у вас и планы, аж на следующий год. Я на октябрь никак не могу определиться как и куда поехать, а у вас уже 2019 :shock: ...
nausla 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну это нормально. :) Я тоже уже во всю планирую поездки следующего года. :THINK ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
З ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Первый раз едем на Шри-Ланку. На разведку))). Планируем в ноябре-декабре на две недели. Хотелось бы снять жильё на побережье (желательно прямо на пляже). Но не в отеле, а именно частный домик/бунгало/и т.п. Очень желательно с кухней. И хотим искать жильё уже на месте. То есть приехать, снять что-нить на сутки, что бы вещи оставить и в путь на поиски местечка у океана. Это реально? Есть ли на Ланке пляжи с "частным сектором" на первой линии? ...
admin 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Конечно есть бунгало. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Спасибо! Уже обнадёживает :). А на какой пляж лучше ехать в поисках подобного жилья? Что бы был большой выбор жилья и при этом достаточно тихий, спокойный пляж. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Даже более конкретно спрошу. Можно ли снять домик на первой линии на пляже Мириса? Он по описаниям больше всех понравился. ...
admin 25 Сентябрь, 2018
Да, в Мириссе можно. Вы же сами можете посмотреть варианты на Airbnb или Booking ...

Оцените статью:
(1 голосов, оценка: 4 из 5)