Matale, Sri Lanka

General information

Matale (Matale) – a city in the Central part of Sri Lanka, 160 km from Colombo and the airport, and 30 kilometers away from Kandy. It is not a mountain resort, like Nuwara Eliya or Ella, it is located almost in the plain, at an altitude of 300 meters above sea level (see mátala map of Sri Lanka).

Matale is not particularly popular with tourists. Attended, as a rule, independent tourists and travelers and organized groups here do not carry. However, the city is an important historical centre of Sri Lanka, and it is unfair to do touristy side. Here is the iconic temple of Aluvihara in the surrounding area you can see several cave temples. In 1848, during the British colonization, there broke out a revolt and a battle took place between the British garrison and the rebels, who laid siege to the British and kept the city. The leaders of the uprising, the Fan Puranpur and Gehalgod Gang, became national heroes of Sri Lanka. In addition, mátala centre of the spice Islands. Around is full of farms of spices, where it is always waiting for tourists to spend a free tour of the fields to show and tell how to grow spices, and then offer to buy it all.

Matale is located on the road between Dambulla/Sigiriya rock fortress and Kandy, so there is a convenient place to stay when travelling between the popular tourist cities.

The infrastructure for tourists in Matale is very poorly developed. Along the main road of the A9, passing through the town, with a number of guesthouses, shops and simple cafes. Nothing especially for tourists there.

Find and book a hotel in mátala at the best search engine for hotels in Asia Agoda.com can through the search form. Russian interface and Russian-speaking customer support is present:

How to get to Matala

It is best to get in Matale in a rented transport. Since the city is located between Kandy and Dambulla, it can be a convenient place to stop for the night and simultaneous inspection of its attractions that are mostly outside the city, and to reach them will be more convenient on their own.

If the rented transport, you can get in Matale and on buses. The buses are here, at least from Matara, Colombo, Badulla, Anuradhapura, Trincomalee. But given that city are unlikely to need to travel here from distant areas. Therefore, the most popular routes from Kandy and Dambulla. From Kandy and Matale in Dambula buses depart every 10 minutes, and although the distance is short, the journey takes an hour and a half. On these buses you can get to some of the attractions of Matala, which are located along the main road A9. In Matale bus stops on the main road in the center.

Another way to get there is by train. There is one train a day from Colombo via Kandy and seven suburban trains from Kandy to Matale. The cost is 30 and 60 rupees for 3rd and 2nd class carriages. The schedule can be viewed here https://www.eservices.railway.gov.lk

How does a transfer bookingDetails >
Поиск трансфераFind the right route
Бронирование онлайнBooking a transfer online
Встреча водителемThe driver meets you at the airport or at the station

Matale attractions, what to see

  • Spice gardens

    Сады специй

    In the vicinity are several Matale spice gardens, the most famous of which – Euphoria Spice and Heritage Spice and Herbs. There are many other gardens, all of them are located along the main road A9, you can find them on signs on the road. They offer free admission with a sightseeing tour of the farm, and ends with spice shop. Keep in mind that the sellers are very persistent, and leave without buying after the tour it will be very difficult. The prices are too high, so don't forget to bargain.

    Entrance fee / ticket price: free

    How to get: spice farm are located to the North of Matale along the A9 road (the spice garden on the map, the spice garden on the map). You can get there by bus in the direction of Dambulla, which depart from the center every 10 minutes.

  • The cave temple of Aluvihara

    Алувихара

    Aluvihara – a wonderful Buddhist temple complex located on top of the hills to the North of Matala. It is believed that this is a very ancient temple, and first mentioned in the 3rd century BC it is Also believed that it was written on paper of the Buddhist Canon Tripitaka in Sinhala language.

    The structure of the temple is sandwiched between towering cliffs and in the caves are statues of Buddha, pagodas and ancient frescoes. Particularly interesting are the frescoes: some of which depicts the beautiful scenery of the Himalayas, and part of it talks about hell torments in a very cruel manner. Because the temple is located high with a viewing platform on top of a hill near the temple offers a wonderful view of the surroundings. And advice: if you plan to visit the temple during the day, it is better to bring your socks, because at the entrance to the area you need to remove your shoes and the stones is very hot in the sun.

    Hours: 06:00 – 18:30

    Entrance fee / ticket price: 50 rupees or more as a donation

    How to get there: the temple is 3 kilometers on the road A9 to the North of the city (the temple on the map). You can get there on foot or by bus in the direction of Dambulla.

  • Park Pitawala Pathana and mini "end of the world"

    If you do not have the opportunity to visit Horton plains and the world's End, this Park is in some way able to replace them. Here, too, with amazing views of the mountains and surrounding countryside, there are walking trails, a mini "end of the world" - a steep cliff from which opens from the breathtaking views. There are two waterfalls Pitawala Pathana Ella Fall no 1 and no 2, and to reach them you have to take a little trip with a length of several kilometers. The Park is not promoted as Horton plains, and yet there are very few tourists.

    Hours: around the clock, it is better to visit early in the morning, as the day the neighborhood is often covered by a fog or haze

    Entrance fee / ticket price: free

    How to get there: the Park Pitawala Pathana is located 30 kilometers away from Matale (the Park map). You can get there by a rented vehicle, taxi or tuk-tuk. Serpentine road, you will need an hour and a half to overcome 30 kilometers.

  • The Sri Muthumariamman Temple

    Храм Sri Muthumariamman

    Sri Muthumariamman Temple, the biggest and most beautiful Hindu temple in Matale. Unlike other local churches, of which there are quite a lot, this temple is very colorful, decorated with many statues and wall images. Another feature inside it is very spacious which is not typical of such temples in Sri Lanka.

    Operation time: from 06:00 to 13:00 and from 16:00 to 20:00

    Entrance fee / ticket price: 200 rupees as a donation

    How to get there: located in the city limits to the North along the main road (temple on the map). To get from anywhere in the city easily on foot.

  • The Temple Of Nalanda Gedige

    Храм Sri Muthumariamman

    Nalanda Gedige is the ruins of an ancient Hindu temple built in the period of 8th to 10th century ad, and one of the most significant architectural and historical landmarks. It is believed to be one of the first buildings in Sri Lanka, built entirely of stone, and that is the geographical center of the island. The image of the Buddha indirectly talking about the fact that the temple in later years was used by the Buddhists.

    The temple can be visited during a trip from Dambulla to Matale and Kandy or Vice versa, but this ride may not be worth it. To visit the temple you will spend no more than 10 minutes, but try to find one of the temple walls scenes for adults only. If you linger here longer will be able to enjoy the peace and nature of a large artificial lake, whose shores are the ruins.

    Hours: around the clock

    Entrance fee / ticket price: free

    How to get there: the temple is located 25 kilometers from Matale on the way in the direction of Dambulla is one kilometer from the highway A9 (the temple on the map). It can be reached by bus from Kandy or Matale towards Dambulla (going very often), or from Dambulla to Kandy and Matale respectively. You need to go in the village Nalanda (Nalanda crossroads Junction), and go to the temple walking one kilometer.

☞ to display the map
^
Закрыть

🕒 October 16, 2018

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 30 November, 2017
The site presents guides to Central cities and sites of Sri Lanka: the Cultural triangle of Anuradhapura, Mihintale, Polonnaruwa, Kandy, Sigiriya, Dambulla, Pidurangala Adam's Peak Badulla pinnawella the Forest Sinharaja Mulkirigala Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Haputale Bandarawela Guides will be supplemented. In this topic you can ask questions and discuss travelling to these places. Changes to the guides are appreciated :SUPER ...
Competent 5 January, 2018
Correct though Pinnawella at Pinnawala. In English, too. ...
admin 5 January, 2018
Thanks for noticing. As it turns out, the first time for you to remember and pronounce then. It was also with Polonnaruwa-Polonnaruwa for a long time myself retrained. ...
AMN Oct 10, 2018
Assalamu Alaikum. I would like to ask. can I find in Sri Lanka Halal food thanks. and sorry for the mistakes ...
admin October, 10, 2018
Hello! Yes, I can, but this kitchen is not very widespread. Looking for Muslim hotels, if they operate such restaurants. ...
Павел112244466 11 November, 2018
Here you write "you can still get from Matara to Bandarawela" what kind of bus? What's the number? As he goes ?? If you write a guide, write all the information or just certain. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Матале на Шри-Ланке

Общая информация

Матале (Matale) – город в центральной части Шри-Ланки в 160 километрах от Коломбо и аэропорта, и в 30 километрах от Канди. Это не горный курорт, как, например Нувара-Элия или Элла, он располагается почти на равнине, на высоте 300 метров над уровнем моря (см. Матале на карте Шри-Ланки).

Матале не особенно популярен у туристов. Его посещают, как правило, самостоятельные туристы и путешественники, а организованные группы сюда не возят. Однако город является важным историческим центром Шри-Ланки, и несправедливо обходиться туристами стороной. Здесь находится знаковый храм Алувихара, также в окрестностях можно увидеть несколько пещерных храмов. В 1848 году, в период британской колонизации, здесь вспыхнуло восстание и произошло сражение между британским гарнизоном и повстанцами, которые осадили англичан и удерживали город. Руководители восстания, Веер Пуранаппу и Гонгалегода Банда, стали национальными героями Шри-Ланка. Помимо этого, Матале – центр специй острова. Вокруг находится множество ферм специй, где всегда ждут туристов, чтобы провести бесплатную экскурсию по полям, показать и рассказать, как растут специи, и потом предложить все это купить.

Матале находится на дороге между Дамбуллой/Сигирией и Канди, поэтому здесь удобно останавливаться во время перемещений между этими популярными туристическими городами.

Инфраструктура для туристов в Матале развита очень слабо. Вдоль главной дороги А9, проходящей через город, находится несколько гестхаузов, лавки и простые кафе. Ничего специально для туристов нет.

Найти и забронировать отель в Матале на лучшем поисковике отелей в Азии Agoda.com можете через форму поиска. Русский интерфейс и русскоязычная поддержка клиентов присутствует:

Как добраться в Матале

Лучше всего добираться в Матале на арендованном транспорте. Поскольку город находится между Канди и Дамбуллой, он может быть удобной точкой для остановки на ночевку и одновременного осмотра его достопримечательностей, которые находятся преимущественно за городом, и добираться до них будет удобнее всего своим ходом.

Если арендованного транспорта у вас нет, можно добраться в Матале и на автобусах. Автобусы сюда идут, по крайней мере, из Матары, Коломбо, Бадуллы, Анурадхапуры, Тринкомали. Но учитывая, что город не туристический, едва ли понадобиться ехать сюда из дальних направлений. Поэтому наиболее популярны маршруты из Канди и Дамбуллы. Из Канди и Дамбулы в Матале автобусы отправляются каждые 10 минут, и хотя расстояние небольшое, дорога занимает час-полтора. На этих же автобусах можно добраться и до некоторых достопримечательностей Матале, которые находятся вдоль главной дороги А9. В Матале автобус делает остановку по главной дороге в центре.

Еще один способ добраться – на поезде. Существует одни поезд в день из Коломбо через Канди, и семь пригородных поездов из Канди в Матале. Стоимость составляет 30 и 60 рупий для 3-го и 2-го классов вагонов. Расписание можете посмотреть здесь https://www.eservices.railway.gov.lk

Как работает заказ трансфераПодробнее >
Поиск трансфераНаходите нужный маршрут
Бронирование онлайнБронируете трансфер он-лайн
Встреча водителемВодитель встречает вас в аэропорту или на вокзале

Достопримечательности Матале, что посмотреть

  • Сады специй

    Сады специй

    В окрестностях Матале находится несколько садов специй, самые известные из которых – Euphoria Spice и Heritage Spice and Herbs. Есть и еще много других садов, все они располагаются вдоль главной автодороги А9, найти их можно по указателям на дороге. Они предлагают бесплатное посещение с обзорной экскурсией по ферме, а заканчивается все магазином специй. Имейте в виду, что продавцы здесь очень настойчивые, и уехать без покупки после экскурсии будет очень сложно. Цены завышены, поэтому не забывайте торговаться.

    Входная плата: бесплатно

    Как добраться: фермы специй находятся к северу от Матале вдоль дороги А9 (сад специй на карте, сад специй на карте). Добраться можно на автобусе в сторону Дамбуллы, которые отправляются из центра каждые 10 минут.

  • Пещерный храм Алувихара

    Алувихара

    Aluvihara – замечательный буддистский храмовый комплекс, распложенный на вершине холмов севернее Маталы. Считается, что это очень древний храм, и первые упоминания о нем встречаются в 3-ем веке до н.э. Также считается, что именно здесь был записан на бумаге буддийский канон Трипитака на сингальском языке.

    Строения храма зажаты между возвышающимися скалами, а в пещерах находятся статуи Будды, пагоды и старинные фрески. Особенно интересны фрески: часть из которых изображает красивые пейзажи Гималаев, а часть рассказывает об адских мучениях в очень жестокой форме. Поскольку храм находится высоко, со смотровой площадки на вершине холма рядом с храмом открывается замечательный вид на окрестности. И совет: если планируете посетить храм днем, лучше захватить с собой носки, поскольку при входе на территорию нужно снимать обувь, а камни очень сильно нагреваются под солнцем.

    Время работы: 06:00 – 18:30

    Входная плата: 50 рупий или более в качестве пожертвования

    Как добраться: храм находится в 3-х километрах по дороге А9 к северу от города (храм на карте). Добраться можно пешком или на автобусах в сторону Дамбуллы.

  • Парк Pitawala Pathana и мини «Конец Света»

    Если у вас не будет возможности посетить плато Хортона и «Конец света», то этот парк в какой-то мере сможет заменить их. Здесь тоже открываются замечательные виды на горы и окрестности, есть тропы для прогулок, и свой мини «Конец Света» - крутой обрыв с открывающимися с него захватывающими видами. Недалеко есть два водопада Pitawala Pathana Ella Fall №1 и №2, и чтобы добраться до них, придется совершить небольшой поход протяженностью в несколько километров. Парк не раскручен так, как плато Хортона, и пока что здесь очень мало туристов.

    Время работы: круглосуточно, посещать лучше рано утром, так как днем окрестности часто накрывает туман или дымка

    Входная плата: бесплатно

    Как добраться: Парк Pitawala Pathana находится в 30 километрах от Матале (парк на карте). Добраться сюда можно на арендованном транспорте, такси или на тук-туке. Дорога серпантинная, понадобится полтора часа, чтобы преодолеть 30 километров.

  • Храм Sri Muthumariamman

    Храм Sri Muthumariamman

    Sri Muthumariamman Temple – главный и самый красивый индуистский храм в Матале. В отличие от остальных местных храмов, которых здесь довольно много, этот храм очень красочный, украшен множеством статуй и настенных изображений. Еще одна особенность – внутри он очень просторный, что не свойственно подобным храмам на Шри-Ланке.

    Время работы: с 06:00 до 13:00 и с 16:00 до 20:00

    Входная плата: 200 рупий в качестве пожертвования

    Как добраться: находится в пределах города на севере вдоль главной дороги (храм на карте). Добраться из любого места города легко пешком.

  • Храм Nalanda Gedige

    Храм Sri Muthumariamman

    Nalanda Gedige – это руины древнего Индуистского храма, построенного в период в 8-го по 10-ый века нашей эры, и одна из знаковых архитектурных и исторических достопримечательностей. Считается, что это одно из первых зданий на Шри-Ланке, полностью построенных из камня, а также что это географический центр острова. Изображения Будды косвенно говорят о том, что храм в более поздние годы использовался буддистами.

    Храм можно посетить во время поездки из Дамбуллы в Матале и Канди или обратно, но специально сюда ехать, возможно, и не стоит. На осмотр самого храма вы потратите не более 10 минут, но постарайтесь найти на одной из стен храма сцены только для взрослых. Если задержитесь здесь подольше, сможете насладиться тишиной и природой большого искусственного озера, на берегу которого находятся руины.

    Время работы: круглосуточно

    Входная плата: бесплатно

    Как добраться: храм находится в 25 километрах от Матале по дороге в сторону Дамбуллы в одном километре от трассы А9 (храм на карте). Сюда можно доехать на автобусе из Канди или Матале в сторону Дамбуллы (отправляются очень часто), или из Дамбуллы в Канди и Матале соответственно. Нужно выйти в деревне Nalanda (перекресток Nalanda Junction), и пройти до храма пешком один километр.

Ожидайте, карта загружается
^
Закрыть