Alcohol and cigarettes in Sri Lanka

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

Alcoholic beverages and cigarettes in Sri Lanka is not prohibited, but the state is seriously fighting with their use, limiting the sale and setting high taxes. In some cities, the sale of alcohol is strictly prohibited. This is at least the sacred city of Kandy and the village of Dalhousie.

In practice, buy in Sri Lanka alcohol can be of any type and strength, including foreign ones, but the prices are very high. Foreign spirits are 2-3 times higher than in Russia, for example. So it makes sense to buy them in stores dyutifri the airport, or be carried from the house. By the way, at the airport in Colombo this can be done on arrival after passport control, so as not to drag the bottle of alcohol from the home airport. The prices are reasonable.

However, note that without the payment of a fee is allowed to bring two bottles of wine and half a litre of alcohol per person (over 18 years), and cigarettes without paying the fees generally import is impossible.

Alcoholic drinks of local production cheaper, but the taste is much worse. In fact of the local interest will be only beer, Arak (Arrack, coconut moonshine), rum and Calypso. Here are the minimum prices for reference:

  • The local Lion beer 0,5 l. of the Bank of 180 rupees (66.08 RUB, refer to the currency of Sri Lanka, the exchange rate).
  • Arak 0,75 l - 1750 (642.44 RUB)
  • Rum 0,75 l - 2870 (1053.61 RUB)
  • Vodka 0,75 l - 2300 (844.36 RUB)
  • Gin BeeFeater (foreign) 1l - 9000 (3304 RUB)
  • Cigarettes from 1200 rupees per pack (440.53 RUB)

Foreign alcohol is 3 times more expensive. In cafes and restaurants, the price is 2-3 times higher.

Аррак на Шри-Ланке Local Arrak
ADVERTISING

Buy alcohol only in special stores under the names "Wine Stores" etc. These stores quite a bit, usually one or two in small towns, and sometimes to buy a bottle of beer, you have to go even to a nearby city. Not even in all tourist areas you can find such shops. Traditionally, they work from 9 am to 9 PM, and on the eve of a religious or official holidays closed. To buy a cold beer sometimes is also a problem, because although the refrigerators in the stores and there's beer in them no time to cool off.

Алкогольный магазин в Шри-Ланке Typical liquor store in Sri Lanka

To buy alcohol at most of these stores not just. In the evenings there gathers a considerable part of the locals, and many of them, incidentally, unceremoniously climb before the tourists queue. And yet, these stores are not allowed (sale is conducted through a small window), no price tags, and therefore, in order to choose something, you have to ask the seller what is what.

In recent years, however, there are more civilized shopping with open shelves, however, and there to take the item and inspect it you should only issue the seller. Appeared Alko shops and in big supermarkets, but even though they are inside, still working separately on his own schedule and his office.

And yet, in Sri Lanka, welcomed the delivery of empty glass containers. Sometimes in the store, buying glass bottles of lemonade, beer and even spirits, you can offer at the checkout to return an empty bottle at once, and when you pay deduct its cost.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 17 November, 2018

Good suggestion on the course. Can you agree that at the Domodedovo airport to meet in a week and there buy? ...
Kotia December, 12, 2018
Hello! Prompt, please, at the end of December in Trinko very large waves and quite impossible to bathe? Thank you! ...
admin 12 December, 2018

You know, I was not in Sri Lanka at this time, but was in the normal season, almost all the resorts, saw different waves. And I suppose that in the off-season should be powerful waves. I don't think come entering is generally impossible, but to swim out of the question to go. Although it's very lucky, now the climate is changing everywhere,it might be a normal period. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018
In this period of the year to go to the South of Sri Lanka. This Is Galle,Hikkaduwa, Ambalangoda,Balapitiya,Bentota. At this time of the year is a favorable climate for holidays and no storms. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018

Better at this time of the year to go South of Sri Lanka. In Sri Lanka there are two periods. The Northern and Eastern part it is better to go from April to October. And in South and South-West from November to April. ...
vitsa Feb 10, 2019
Julianna wrote(a):
> Good day!
> Please tell me, and the hotel it is advisable to book in advance or on
> place..In the Hikkaduwa hotel Hikkaduwa beach? ...
admin 10 February, 2019

But who knows, there will be room when you arrive, or not THINK ,it is necessary to be a fortuneteller to answer. ...
stasya 27 March, 2019
We're flying in June, Mr. Trincomalee , now our friends are there, send a video, the beaches are so kick some dirty ...
Karina T. 8 April, 2019
Took a bike in Negombo Lewis Place, 152. Guy speaks in Russian. Gasoline in March 2019 were 132 rupees per 1 liter. ...
admin April 24, 2019
Friends, if you are going in the near future to Sri Lanka, here's the latest information about the situation in the country following the recent terrorist attacks: In General no problem and restriction is not observed with the exception of input in the evening and night curfews in major cities, but they likely soon will be cancelled. Police and military everywhere lot, security measures are strengthened, but tourists are not affected. Transport operates in the normal mode without any restrictions and on schedule. The sights also work normally with the exception of some measures in Colombo. Yesterday was a day of mourning, everywhere lit candles, hung white mourning flags with the cross, because the attacks were directed against the Christian minority population. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Алкоголь и сигареты на Шри-Ланке

Алкогольные напитки и сигареты на Шри-Ланке не запрещены, но государство серьезно борется с их употреблением, ограничивая продажи и устанавливая высокие налоги. В некоторых городах продажа алкоголя строго запрещена. Это по крайней мере священный город Канди и деревня Далхаузи.

На практике, купить на Шри-Ланке можно алкоголь любого вида и крепости, в том числе иностранный, но цены очень высокие. Иностранные крепкие алкогольные напитки стоят в 2-3 раза выше, чем в РФ, например. Поэтому есть смысл приобретать их в магазинах дютифри аэропорту, или везти из дома. Кстати, в аэропорту Коломбо это можно сделать по прилету после прохождения паспортного контроля, чтобы не тащить бутылку спиртного из домашнего аэропорта. Цены здесь приемлемые.

Однако учтите, что без уплаты пошлин разрешено ввозить две бутылки вина и полтора литра крепких спиртных напитков на человека (для лиц старше 18 лет), а сигареты без уплаты пошлины вообще ввозить нельзя.

Алкогольные напитки местного производства дешевле, но и по вкусу намного хуже. Фактически из местного интересны будут только пиво, арак (Arrack, кокосовый самогон), и ром Calypso. Вот минимальные цены для ориентира:

  • Местное пиво Lion банка 0,5л. – 180 рупий (63.76 руб., см. валюта Шри-Ланки, курс обмена).
  • Арак 0,75л. - 1750 (619.87 руб.)
  • Ром 0,75л. - 2870 (1016.58 руб.)
  • Водка 0,75л. - 2300 (814.68 руб.)
  • Джин BeeFeater (иностранный) 1л. - 9000 (3187.89 руб.)
  • Сигареты от 1200 рупий за пачку (425.05 руб.)

Иностранный алкоголь в 3 раза дороже. В кафе и ресторанах цена в 2-3 раза выше.

Аррак на Шри-Ланке Местный аррак

Купить алкоголь можно только в специальных магазинах под вывесками «Wine Stores» и т.п. Таких магазинов совсем немного, обычно один-два в небольших городах, и иногда, чтобы купить бутылку пива, приходится ехать даже в соседний город. Даже не во всех туристических местах можно найти такие магазины. Работают они традиционно с 9 утра до 9 вечера, а в канун религиозных или официальных праздников закрываются. Купить холодное пиво иногда тоже проблема, т.к. хоть холодильники в магазинах и есть, пиво в них не успевает охлаждаться.

Алкогольный магазин в Шри-Ланке Типичный алкогольный магазин в Шри-Ланке

Покупать алкоголь в большинстве таких магазинов не просто. По вечерам там собирается немалая очередь из местных жителей, и многие из них, кстати, бесцеремонно лезут перед туристами без очереди. А еще, в эти магазины нельзя заходить (продажа ведется через небольшое окошко), ценников нет, и поэтому чтобы что-то выбрать, приходиться спрашивать у продавца, что почем.

В последнее время, правда, появились и более цивилизованные магазины с открытыми прилавками, правда, и там взять товар и внимательно осмотреть его нельзя, все выдает только продавец. Появились алко-магазины и в крупных супермаркетах, но хотя они и находятся внутри, работают все равно отдельно по своему расписанию и со своей кассой.

А еще, на Шри-Ланке приветствуется сдача пустой стеклянной тары. Иногда в магазине, при покупке стеклянной бутылки лимонада, пива и даже крепкого алкоголя, вам могут предложить на кассе вернуть пустую бутылку сразу, и при оплате вычтут ее стоимость.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 10 Февраль, 2019

Да кто же его знает, будут там номера когда вы приедете, или нет :THINK ,это надо предсказателем быть, чтобы ответить. ...
stasya 27 Март, 2019
Мы летим в июне в р-н Тринкомале , сейчас наши друзья там, шлют видео, пляжи так пипец какие грязные ...
Карина Т. 8 Апрель, 2019
Брали байк в Негомбо на Lewis Place, 152. Парень хорошо говорит по-русски. Бензин в марте 2019 был 132 рупии за 1 литр. ...
admin 24 Апрель, 2019
Друзья, если вы собираетесь в ближайшее время на Шри Ланку, то вот вам самая свежая информация об обстановке в стране после недавних терактов: В целом никаких проблем и ограничений не наблюдается за исключением вводимых в вечернее время и до шести утра комендантских часов в крупных городах, но и они скорее всего скоро будут отменены. Полиции и военных везде очень много, меры безопасности усилены, но туристов это никак не затрагивает. Транспорт работает в обычном режиме без ограничений, все по расписанию. Достопримечательности также работают в обычном режиме за исключением некоторых мер в Коломбо. Вчера был день траура, везде зажигали свечи, вывешены белые траурные флаги с крестом, поскольку теракты были направлены против христианского меньшинства населения. ...
Любовь77 15 Октябрь, 2019
Добрый день!
Подскажите, где на Шри-Ланке лучше всего отдохнуть с ребенком 5-ти лет? ...
admin 15 Октябрь, 2019

Здравствуйте! Унаватуна, Хиккадува, Негомбо. Но учтите, что там, как и на всей Шри-Ланке, нет никаких развлечений для детей, только пляжи, но на перечисленных курортах хоть какая-то цивилизация. Я имею ввиду, супермаркеты, обменники, куча кафе. Вообще я бы лично выбрал Унаватуну, т.к. там есть отличный "лягушатник" для деток, а в других местах волны. Ну и сезоны учитывайте, про них собрана информация здесь - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/art-sezony-na-sri-lanke. ...
Александр2 28 Октябрь, 2019
Подскажите, пожалуйста, есть права, но без категории А, как я понял, там вообще Российские права не катят... Как люди снимают мопеды? Штрафы платят или как ? ...
admin 31 Октябрь, 2019

Там вообще никакие кроме своих ланкийских прав не катят. Но все без проблем катаются на свой страх и риск. Все подробнее некуда расписано у нас здесь - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/art-arenda-motocikla-shri-lanka ...
Игорь А 10 Ноябрь, 2019
Не работает ваша ссылка ...
admin 10 Ноябрь, 2019

Какая именно ссылка? ...