Hikkaduwa or Unawatuna

Southern resorts Sri Lanka, Hikkaduwa and Unawatuna are very close, separated by only 25 kilometers. They are both worthy of a visit, and ideally you should visit here and there. But not everyone is perfect option of changing resorts, especially if you stay on the reservation. In this case, you have to tie yourself to one of them, and it is very important not to be mistaken with a choice, otherwise the holiday experience can be a little spoiled. Here is our comparison of resorts Hikkaduwa and Unawatuna, which I hope will help you make the right choice:

  • Beaches

    The beaches at both resorts are good, but far from ideal. And although the Discovery channel once turned on the Unawatuna beach in top ten beaches on the planet, it makes us (the authors) true bewilderment.

    So, the unextended Unawatuna beach, on the strength of 1 kilometer. The rest of the beach for bathing and relaxing is not suitable, as close to the water built up with hotels and restaurants. Beautiful palm trees stretching to the water, there is no trace. Water activities and sunbeds on the beaches abound. But the main advantage of Unawatuna the beach is protected from waves by a coral reef, and why it is considered one of the most suitable for swimming beaches in the South. On the Western edge of the beach there is a pool, perfect for swimming with children. There is another in Unawatuna beach, Jungle Beach. He is a 20-minute walk from the centre through the forest. This is a very tiny beach, but much more beautiful and cozy. Unfortunately, today it is so filled with tourists that sometimes there is simply no place where to sit or where to swim.

    Пляж Унаватуны, Шри-Ланка The Unawatuna Beach

    In Hikkaduwa beach is just huge compared to Unawatuna. Its length is at least 4 kilometers, and, for a while pervasis, he then again proceeds in both directions from the resort on many more miles. Entertainment abound here, too, the sunbeds are. But especially good local waters for surfers, because there is almost always on the shore rolled waves. Not to say that swimmers don't belong here, but in the low season to swim here is dangerous because of the waves.

    Пляж Хиккадувы, Шри-Ланка The beach just North of Hikkaduwa

    Read more:

  • Seasons

    Both year-round resort, and as usual, stands out for high and low season. However, if in Unawatuna low season passes almost unnoticed, in the Ways they created problems for travelers. From may to October in Hikkaduwa constantly blowing wind creates strong waves, sometimes even a storm. At this time, some hotels close for renovations or vacations.

    Seasons in Hikkaduwa months*

    Resort/month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
    Hikkaduwa                        
    Unawatuna                        

    * best time to visit;
    appropriate time to visit;
    not a recommended time to visit

    Пляж Хиккадувы, Шри-ЛанкаOn the wave of Hikkaduwa
  • Infrastructure

    Unawatuna is very compact, and the entire infrastructure it is concentrated along one of the tiny streets Welle Dewalaya. Hikkaduwa stretched for several kilometers along the busiest road Gale Road, which is not very nice.

    At the same time in Unawatuna there is a liquor store, a normal supermarket, there is no official currency exchange and even ATM. If you want to buy something big, find a pharmacy, you have to go to Galle, where shops abound. In Hikkaduwa with it is much better, and there are at least a few alcohol shops and some large supermarkets. Overall, Unawatuna compared with the Golden Sands looks like a village, and at the same time peaceful tourist Paradise. But if you need to find a travel Agency, Shuttle service, motorbike rental, all this can be found in Unawatuna, just have a little longer to look.

    Хиккадува, Шри-Ланка The main street in Hikkaduwa
  • How to get

    Hikkaduwa is a little closer to the international airport of Colombo, and to get there a little easier and cheaper than to Unawatuna.

    Read more:

  • Prices

    Prices in both places are almost the same, but Unawatuna is considered a more backpacker place, i.e. more orientated towards budget backpackers willing to settle for a room with private facilities on the street and with cold water for mere rupees. Hikkaduwa, on the contrary rather a place for package tourists, though if you want you can find plenty of budget guesthouses, especially quantitatively, the choice of accommodation here is much broader than in Unawatuna.

    By the way, due to the fact that Hikkaduwa is a popular destination for package holidays, it is much more Russian-speaking tourists from Ukraine and Russia.

  • Attractions & sightseeing

    Hi there, there are no major interesting places and attractions to be enjoyed on their own or with a guided tour in the centre of the island, where you can see the rock of Sigiriya, the ancient city of Polonnaruwa and Anuradhapura, the cultural capital of Kandy, national parks, etc.

    By bus from both resorts you can visit the city of Galle and its Fort, a UNESCO world heritage site. Also by bus you can visit the turtle farm in Habaraduwa. From Hikkaduwa can be rolled up on the bus along the coast to the North to Hikkaduwaand on the way to visit some interesting places.

    As for the attractions that you can visit while Hiking resorts in Hikkaduwa to see nothing at all, while in Unawatuna you can at least visit a couple of temples and pagodas, take a walk in the forest jungle of Rumassala.

    Храм Ятагала рядом с Унаватуной, Шри-Ланка Yatagala temple near Unawatuna

    Read more:

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 19 Nov 2014, 08:58
"On the edge", next. On the bike the most. From the village a kilometer or two before the beginning of the forest, and there begins the path which has lead the group into the woods to the river (before the bridge) and beyond. I'm even on this track on a motorcycle drove once, though not good, just lost. ...
Travelenka.Com 06 Dec 2014, 20:27
And what beach would you advise (on any coast), which closely corresponds to the requirements:
1.calm water
2.deep (preferably 2 step and stepped on his chest in the water)
3.not crowded, with a lack of boats, etc., interfering float
4.with shade in which to hide until the swim ...
admin 07 Dec 2014, 07:37
Calm water, in my opinion, only in Unawatuna and Mirissa are and Dikwella. Yes, perhaps, under your requirements the best Dickwella suitable. If not South considered, Trincomalee can still see it, but there's wave season can be very large. ...
Julia 09 Dec 2014, 16:20
Are you sure that 500 rupees is guided? I here on one site even saw the picture of the plaque at the entrance to the forest, where it is written except for the price of 500 rupees and the price for the guide (although there are due to flash not visible). And no guide tourists are not allowed like ...
admin 09 Dec 2014, 18:57
Hello! You, apparently, about the Sinharaja forest? If so, then Yes, that's right, without a guide of course 500. I have not written anywhere that this is the price guide. Guides charge separately, and it is different, sometimes even you can bargain and pay the money to the guide in hand and not in cash. And without guides on the standard routes do not allowed. It is just necessary to understand that in the forest you find yourself free, and you can do anything you want to walk or to go anywhere (within reason, of course). But when you get to any of the trekking route, you will have the money to take over and guide. ...
Julia 09 Dec 2014, 20:28
And what is the actual difference visit with or without guide? I see something special? Trekking routes especially breathtaking and picturesque? And how long is the guide? If I go I will for what path to walk, and not just on the road, which probably leads to a village or somewhere else? ...
Julia 09 Dec 2014, 20:30
And another question, I can without a guide to walk on the trekking route, or if already entered, you definitely need to take it? ...
Natalichka 22 Feb 2015, 09:22
I do not agree that in Unawatuna there is a liquor store. It is, if you go from the resort to the main road, walk 5 - 7 minutes towards the South (in the direction of Mirissa) if you look carefully, you'll see a small stall, full of concrete, the Windows and doors are thick lattice, there, in certain hours and sell alcohol. In the evening, always! Local rum - a miracle! Stumbled upon this stall quite by accident, we love to walk around the neighborhood, and that dogulyalis that is already beginning to get dark, turned back and saw the notice about this larocca. Men happy, having bought a bottle of Araki, immediately deal with it, drank. Went and we bought a few bottles of rum (with a margin). Pushes the coin into the narrow window and give you the desired alcohol.:))) Well, I found this stall in the first days of our holiday:)) when I came a year, once in the stall ;)). Rested in December 2012 and 2013. And yet, nearby, there are tea plantations that will take you any Tucker on his tuk - tuk. In addition to informative tour about the production of tea, you will buy there gorgeous Ceylon tea at a nice price, however, then you're welcome not to believe the hype that the tea that is sold in a supermarket in Russia "produced and Packed in Sri Lanka"!:))).Although, of course, the best in Unawatuna, this is the OCEAN with its incredible energy. All wonderful holidays!!! ...
admin 22 Feb 2015, 18:42
You are right, the liquor store is there, just not in the village, but close. He we even marked on the map here http://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/u ... -karta.php in the form of an icon. Only liquor shops in Sri Lanka are not working during the holidays, so if you want to celebrate Christmas or new year, buy in advance. About tea plantations near Unawatuna is a divorce. These tea plantations are located only in mountainous areas. ...
MikkyMouse 02 Sep 2015, 10:47
very interesting! now you can safely go to rest ...

Хиккадува или Унаватуна

Южные курорты Шри-Ланки Хиккадува и Унаватуна находятся совсем рядом, их разделяет всего 25 километров. Оба они достойны посещения, и в идеале стоит побывать и там и там. Но не каждому подходит вариант смены курортов, особенно если вы отдыхаете по турпакету. В таком случае придется привязать себя к одному из них, и здесь очень важно не ошибиться с выбором, иначе впечатления от отдыха могут быть немного испорчены. Вот наше сравнение курортов Хиккадува и Унаватуна, которое, надеемся, поможет вам сделать правильный выбор:

  • Пляжи

    Пляжи на обоих курортах неплохие, но далеки от идеала. И хотя телеканал Discovery однажды включил пляж Унаватуны в десятку лучших пляжей планеты, это вызывает у нас (авторов сайта) истинное недоумение.

    Итак, пляж Унаватуны непротяженный, от силы 1 километр. Остальная часть пляжа для купания и отдыха не пригодна, поскольку вплотную к воде застроена отелями и ресторанами. Красивых пальм, тянущихся к воде, здесь нет и в помине. Водных развлечений и лежаков на пляжах предостаточно. Но главным плюсом унаватунского пляжа является его защищенность от волн коралловым рифом, и поэтому он считается одним из самых пригодных для купания пляжей на юге. На западной окраине пляжа даже есть «лягушатник», отлично подходящий для купания с детьми. Есть в Унаватуне еще один пляж – Jungle Beach. Он находится в 20 минутах ходьбы от центра через лес. Это совсем крохотный пляж, но куда более красивый и уютный. К сожалению, сегодня он настолько заполнен туристами, что там временами просто нет места, куда присесть или где поплавать.

    Пляж Унаватуны, Шри-Ланка Пляж Унаватуны

    В Хиккадуве пляж просто огромный по сравнению с Унаватуной. Его протяженность как минимум 4 километра, причем, ненадолго прервавшись, он затем снова продолжается в обе стороны от курорта на еще многие километры. Развлечений здесь тоже предостаточно, лежаки есть. Но особенно хороши местные воды для серферов, ведь здесь почти всегда на берег накатывают волны. Нельзя сказать, что простым купальщикам здесь не место, но в низкий сезон здесь купаться просто опасно из-за волн.

    Пляж Хиккадувы, Шри-Ланка Пляж к северу от Хиккадувы

    Читайте подробнее:

  • Сезоны

    Оба курорта круглогодичные, и как обычно, выделяется высокий и низкий сезон. Однако, если в Унаватуне низкий сезон проходит почти незамеченным, то в Хиккадуве это время создает проблемы для отдыха. С мая по октябрь в Хиккадуве постоянно дующий ветер создает сильные волны, иногда даже шторма. В это время некоторые отели закрываются на ремонт или отпуска.

    Сезоны в Хиккадуве и Унаватуне по месяцам*

    Курорт/месяц Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
    Хиккадува                        
    Унаватуна                        

    * лучшее время для посещения;
    приемлемое время для посещения;
    не рекомендуемое время для посещения

    Пляж Хиккадувы, Шри-ЛанкаНа волне Хиккадувы
  • Инфраструктура

    Унаватуна очень компактна, и вся инфраструктура в ней сосредоточено вдоль одной крохотной улочки Welle Dewalaya. Хиккадува растянулась на несколько километров вдоль загруженной дороги Gale Road, что не очень-то приятно.

    В то же время, в Унаватуне нет алкогольного магазина, нормального супермаркета, нет официального обмена валюты, и даже банкомата. Если нужно купить что-то серьезное, найти аптеку, то придется ехать в Галле, где магазинов предостаточно. В Хиккадуве с этим куда лучше, и есть, по крайней мере, несколько алкогольных магазинов и парочка крупных супермаркетов. В целом, Унаватуна по сравнению с Хиккадувой выглядит просто деревней, и одновременно тихим туристическим раем. Но если вам нужно найти туристическое агентство, трансфер, аренду мотоцикла, то все это можно найти и в Унаватуне, просто придется немного подольше поискать.

    Хиккадува, Шри-Ланка Главная улица в Хиккадуве
  • Как добраться

    Хиккадува находится немного ближе к международному аэропорту Коломбо, и добраться туда немного проще и дешевле, чем до Унаватуны.

    Читайте подробнее:

  • Цены

    Цены в обоих местах почти не различаются, однако Унаватуна считается более бэкпекерским местом, т.е. более ориентированным на недорогих самостоятельных туристов, готовых довольствоваться комнатой с удобствами на улице и с холодной водой за сущие рупии. Хиккадува напротив скорее место для пакетных туристов, хотя и здесь при желании можно найти предостаточно недорогих гестхаузов, тем более что количественно выбор размещения здесь гораздо шире, нежели в Унаватуне.

    К слову, из-за того, что Хиккадува – популярное место для пакетного отдыха, в ней намного больше русскоговорящих туристов из Украины и России.

  • Достопримечательности и экскурсии

    Ни там ни там нет никаких серьезных интересных мест, и за достопримечательностями следует отправляться самостоятельно или с экскурсией в центр острова, где можно посмотреть скалу Сигирию, древний город Полоннарува и Анурадхапура, культурную столицу Канди, национальные парки и др.

    На автобусе с обоих курортов можно посетить город Галле и его форт, включенные в список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Также на автобусе можно посетить черепашью ферму в Хабарадуве. Из Хиккадувы можно скататься на автобусе вдоль побережья на север в Амбалангоду, и по пути посетить еще несколько интересных мест.

    Что касается достопримечательностей, которые можно посетить во время пеших прогулок по курортам, то в Хиккадуве посмотреть нечего вообще, в то время как в Унаватуне можно хотя бы посетить парочку храмов и пагод, совершить прогулку по лесным джунглям Rumassala.

    Храм Ятагала рядом с Унаватуной, Шри-Ланка Храм Ятагала рядом с Унаватуной

    Читайте подробнее:

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 19 Ноябрь, 2014
Прямо "на опушке", рядом. На велике самое то. Из поселка километр-два до начала леса, и там начинается тропинка, по которой уже водят группы в лес до реки (до моста) и далее. Я даже по этой тропинке на мотоцикле проехал однажды, хоть и не хорошо так, просто заблудился. ...
Travelenka.Com 6 Декабрь, 2014
А какой бы вы пляж посоветовали (на любом побережье), который ближе всего соответствует требованиям: 1.спокойная вода 2.глубокий (желательно 2 шага ступил и по грудь в воде) 3.немноголюдный, с отсутствием катеров и т.п., мешающих плавать 4.с теньком, в который можно спрятаться пока не плаваешь ...
admin 7 Декабрь, 2014
Спокойная вода, на мой взгляд, только в Унаватуне и в Мириссе есть, и Диквелла. Да, пожалуй, под ваши требования лучше всего Диквела подходит. Если не юг рассматривать, то может Тринкомали еще посмотреть, но там волны по сезону могут быть очень даже большие. ...
Julia 9 Декабрь, 2014
А вы уверенны, что 500 рупий - это с гидом? Я вот на одном сайте даже фотку видела таблички на входе в лес, где написана кроме цены 500 рупий еще и цена за сопровождение гида (правда там из-за вспышки не все видно). А без гида туристы не допускаются типа ...
admin 9 Декабрь, 2014
Здравствуйте! Вы, видимо, про лес Синхаражда? Если так, то да, все верно, без гида конечно 500 рупий. Я нигде и не писал, что это стоимость с гидом. Гиды берут плату отдельно, причем она разная, кое-где даже можно торговаться, и платить деньги гиду в руки а не в кассу. И без гидов на стандартные маршруты действительно не пускают. Здесь просто надо понимать, что в сам лес вы попадаете бесплатно, и можете делать там что угодно и ходить или ехать куда угодно (в разумных пределах, конечно). А вот когда доберетесь до какого-либо треккингового маршрута, там с вас будут деньги брать и за гида и за вход. ...
Julia 9 Декабрь, 2014
А в чем собственно разница посещения с гидом и без? Я увижу что-то особенное? Трекинговые маршруты особо захватывающие и живописные? И сколько по времени длится сопровождение гида? Если я сама пойду я смогу по какой то тропинке прогуляться, а не просто по дороге, которая наверняка ведет в деревню или еще куда? ...
Julia 9 Декабрь, 2014
И еще вопрос, я могу без гида пройтись по трекинговому маршруту, или уже если туда вошла, то обязательно нужно его брать? ...
Наталечка 22 Июль, 2015
Не согласна, что в Унаватуне нет алкогольного магазина. Он есть, если выйти из курортной зоны на основную дорогу, пройти 5 - 7 минут по направлению к югу (в сторону Мириссы) если внимательно смотреть, то увидите небольшой ларек, весь из бетона, на окнах и дверях толстые решетки, вот там то, в определенные часы и продается алкоголь. Вечером всегда! Местный ром - просто чудо! Наткнулись на этот ларек совершенно случайно, любим погулять по окрестностям, вот и догулялись, что уже темнеть начало, повернули назад и увидели аншлаг около этого ларечка. Довольные мужики, прикупив бутылочку араки, тут же с удовольствием ее распивали. Подошли и мы, приобрели несколько бутылок рома (с запасом). Просовываешь денежку в узкое окошко и вам выдают желанное спиртное.:))) Хорошо, что нашли этот ларек в первые дни нашего отдыха:)), когда приехали через год, сразу в ларек ;)). Отдыхали в декабре 2012 и 2013 года. А еще, недалеко, есть чайные плантации, на которые вас отвезет любой тукер на своем тук - туке. Кроме познавательной экскурсии о производстве чая, вы купите там великолепный цейлонский чай по приятной цене, правда, потом, вы незачто не поверите рекламе, что чай, который продается в супермаркете в России "произведен и упакован на Шри - Ланке"!:))).Хотя, конечно же, самое лучшее, что есть в Унаватуне, это ОКЕАН, со своей невероятной энергетикой. Всем замечательно отдыха!!! ...
admin 22 Июль, 2015
Вы правы, алкогольный магазин есть, только не в самом поселке, а рядом. Он у нас даже на карте отмечен здесь - http://nashaplaneta.net/asia/srilanka/unawatuna-karta.php в виде значка. Только алкогольные магазины на Шри-Ланке не работают в праздники, так что если захотите отметить рождество или новый год, покупайте заранее. Насчет чайных плантаций рядом с Унаватуной - это развод. Настоящие чайные плантации находятся только в горных районах. ...
MikkyMouse 2 Сентябрь, 2015
очень интересно! теперь можно смело ехать отдыхать :) ...

Оцените статью:
(1 голосов, оценка: 5 из 5)