Surfing in Sri Lanka

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

In Sri Lanka fall in love in absentia, looking at the photos on the Internet. The perfect combination of ocean, sand and lush greenery fascinates at first sight. It is always warm, the annual fluctuation of temperature is a few degrees. And an increasingly popular kind of sports is surfing and its fans flock to the island from all over the world. Here, in contrast to the popular Mediterranean or the red sea resorts, real ocean waves, because Sri Lanka bordering the Indian ocean.

Where and when is the best time to surf in Sri Lanka

Серфинг в Велигаме Surfing in Weligama

Surfing on the island is possible throughout the year. You should know that the change of weather conditions occurs two times from the beginning of the local "winter" and "summer". A more favorable time for surfing is winter, that is the period from mid-October to March. At this time, is warm dry weather, wind blowing from the North-East.

Especially attractive for surfing at this time of Hikkaduwa is a small town situated in the South-West coast. There are many tour Desk, surf schools, equipment rental. Wave height is 2-4 m, it is possible to move in both directions.

Summer period is the time from the second half of March to mid-October. When the Gale begins to blow from the South-West side of the island and the Western part becomes unsuitable for surfing, the athletes move to the East coast. The calm waves in this period in the Bay area of Arugam Bay.

Read more about seasons and weather in Sri Lanka...

The tourist seasons in Sri Lanka by months*

The resort\month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Negombo                        
Colombo                        
Beruwala                        
Bentota                        
Hikkaduwa                        
Galle                        
Unawatuna                        
Koggala                        
Weligama                        
Mirissa                        
Dikwella South                        
Tangalle                        
Trincomalee                        

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

ADVERTISING

The best places in Sri Lanka for surfing

Хиккадува, Шри-Ланка On the wave of Hikkaduwa

Winds blowing from different angles in summer and winter season, ensure year-round surfing for beginners and high level athletes. Surfers often choose the beaches of Hikkaduwa, Arugam Bay, Mirissa, Weligama.

The most famous spot is the resort of Hikkaduwa. For surfers, the conditions are ideal during the winter season. The infrastructure of the resort is well developed, it is generally one of the youth resorts. Conditionally it can be divided into two parts – sand and reef. Training starts on the sand, in the skin. On the reef, where waves of high surf, those who have sufficient experience and newcomers, studying under the guidance of coaches. Board can be rented directly on the beach, hour rental costs 400 rupees (refer to the currency of Sri Lanka, the exchange rate), to take for a longer period much more profitable. If you hire an instructor, he gives a wide, stable Board that is unlikely to find in the rental. For accommodation you can rent one of the mini-hotels with a restaurant located right on the beach.

On the South coast of the island, 40 km from the Hikkaduwa beach Mirissa is one of the most beautiful in Sri Lanka. Its length is only about 1.5 km, but if viewed together with the neighboring beaches, it turns out pretty long line. Large waves are almost constantly so here is one of the best places for surfing. The bottom Study of the stone, which is not very good for beginners. At the end of the beach is a large rock called "Parrot", offering spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and watch the sunset.

Russian Mirissa is very small. The atmosphere is calm and romantic. Hotels are only two conditions to stay comfortable. Rent a cosy private home. Here the prices are much cheaper than in Hikkaduwa. So, a full Breakfast for two will cost around$ 5-6, and the beach snack bars are even cheaper.

5.5 km from Mirissa Bay is a small cozy town of Weligama. The Eastern part of this Bay has long been popular with surfers. An attractive place not only for professionals but also for beginners who can learn the skills of riding in the surf schools. Weligama is the best place for beginner surfers in Sri Lanka. There is a surf school with Russian instructors. Gentle waves and sandy bottom contribute to learning. You can learn to turn and slide easily along the wall of the wave. The spot is open from October to March.

Surf schools in Sri Lanka

In Sri Lanka a lot of surf schools, including Russian schools. Also has a lot of private trainers who offer their services for a surfing lesson on the spot or through social networks for less than cost. But be careful, and try not to give money to private owners forward.

The most famous Russian school of surfing Surflanka.me located in Hikkaduwa. The training is from November to April. The instructor leads classes at the same time with 3-4 newcomers. In addition to practical lessons, lectures and seminars. One lesson costs$ 60, five classes -275$, 10 – 395$, private lessons – is$ 130. The price includes surf wear and Board.

Another surf school were caught on Dalawella beach (Dalawella) near Unawatuna and the resort of Koggala.

At Weligama also has a Russian-speaking school SurfDiscovery. Trial lesson for anyone who wants to understand whether he will be able to learn surfing, costs$ 50. The price of four lessons for$ 180. The price includes Board rental with a soft finish. Accommodation is possible in hotel Cahaba, located in the rainforest. Room for two including Breakfast, worth 45-55$ per day and beach Bungalow can be rented for 60-90$.

Every year in the first half of July on the beach of Arugam Bay are the surfing competition.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 25 September, 2018

Yes, Mirissa. You can see the options on Airbnb or Booking ...
Rupii 17 November, 2018
Sell 10 000 Sri Lankan rupees for 3000 rubles in Moscow. 8 nine hundred twenty six zero 467888 ...
admin 17 November, 2018

Good suggestion on the course. Can you agree that at the Domodedovo airport to meet in a week and there buy? ...
Kotia December, 12, 2018
Hello! Prompt, please, at the end of December in Trinko very large waves and quite impossible to bathe? Thank you! ...
admin 12 December, 2018

You know, I was not in Sri Lanka at this time, but was in the normal season, almost all the resorts, saw different waves. And I suppose that in the off-season should be powerful waves. I don't think come entering is generally impossible, but to swim out of the question to go. Although it's very lucky, now the climate is changing everywhere,it might be a normal period. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018
In this period of the year to go to the South of Sri Lanka. This Is Galle,Hikkaduwa, Ambalangoda,Balapitiya,Bentota. At this time of the year is a favorable climate for holidays and no storms. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018

Better at this time of the year to go South of Sri Lanka. In Sri Lanka there are two periods. The Northern and Eastern part it is better to go from April to October. And in South and South-West from November to April. ...
vitsa Feb 10, 2019
Julianna wrote(a):
> Good day!
> Please tell me, and the hotel it is advisable to book in advance or on
> place..In the Hikkaduwa hotel Hikkaduwa beach? ...
admin 10 February, 2019

But who knows, there will be room when you arrive, or not THINK ,it is necessary to be a fortuneteller to answer. ...
stasya 27 March, 2019
We're flying in June, Mr. Trincomalee , now our friends are there, send a video, the beaches are so kick some dirty ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Серфинг на Шри-Ланке

В Шри-Ланку влюбляются заочно, посмотрев фото в интернете. Прекрасное сочетание океана, песка, буйной зелени очаровывает с первого взгляда. Здесь всегда тепло, колебание годовой температуры составляет несколько градусов. И все более популярным видом спорта становится серфинг и его любители съезжаются на остров со всего мира. Здесь, в отличие от популярных средиземноморских или курортов Красного моря, настоящие океанские волны, ведь Шри-Ланка омывается водами Индийского океана.

Где и когда лучше заниматься серфингом на Шри-Ланке

Серфинг в Велигаме Серфинг в Велигаме

Серфинг на острове возможен в течение всего года. Следует знать, что изменение погодных условий происходит два раза – с началом местной «зимы» и «лета». Более благоприятным временем для серфингистов является зимнее, то есть период с середины октября до марта. В это время стоит теплая сухая погода, ветер дует с северо-востока.

Особенно привлекателен для серфинга в это время Хиккадува – городок, расположенный на юго-западном побережье. Здесь находится множество экскурсионных бюро, серфинг-школы, пункты проката снаряжения. Высота волн достигает 2–4 м, по ним можно двигаться в обоих направлениях.

Летним периодом считается время со второй половины марта до середины октября. Когда штормовой ветер начинает дуть с юго-западной стороны острова и его западная часть становится непригодной для серфинга, спортсмены перекочевывают на восточное побережье. Наиболее спокойные волны в этот период в районе залива Аругам-Бей.

Читайте подробнее про сезоны и погоду на Шри-Ланке...

Туристические сезоны на Шри-Ланке по месяцам*

Курорт\месяц Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
Негомбо                        
Коломбо                        
Берувала                        
Бентота                        
Хиккадува                        
Галле                        
Унаватуна                        
Коггала                        
Велигама                        
Мирисса                        
Диквелла                        
Тангале                        
Тринкомали                        

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Лучшие места на Шри-Ланке для серфинга

Хиккадува, Шри-Ланка На волне Хиккадувы

Ветры, дующие с разных сторон в летний и зимний сезоны, гарантируют круглогодичный серфинг как для начинающих, так и для спортсменов высокого уровня. Любители серфинга чаще всего выбирают пляжи Хиккадува, Аругам Бей, Мирисса, Велигама.

Наиболее известный спот – курорт Хиккадува. Для серферов здесь идеальные условия в зимний сезон. Инфраструктура на курорте хорошо развита, это вообще один из самых молодежных курортов. Условно его можно разделить на две части – песчаный и рифовый. Обучение начинают на песке, в пенке. На рифе, где волны высокие, серфят те, кто имеет достаточный опыт, а также новички, обучающиеся под руководством тренеров. Доску можно взять напрокат прямо на пляже, час аренды стоит 400 рупий (см. валюта Шри-Ланки, курс обмена), брать на больший срок гораздо выгоднее. Если нанять инструктора, он дает широкую, устойчивую доску, которую вряд ли найдешь в прокате. Для проживания можно арендовать один из мини-отелей с ресторанчиком, которые расположены прямо на берегу.

На южном побережье острова, в 40 км от Хиккадувы, находится пляж Мирисса – один из красивейших на Шри-Ланке. Его длина всего около 1,5 км, но если рассматривать вместе с соседними пляжами, то получается довольно протяженная линия. Большие волны бывают практически постоянно, поэтому тут одно из лучших мест для серфинга. Дно на Мериссе каменное, что не очень хорошо для новичков. В конце пляжа находится большая скала с названием «Попугай», откуда открываются прекрасные виды на окрестности и можно любоваться закатом.

Русских на Мириссе очень мало. Атмосфера спокойная и романтичная. Отелей всего два, условия для проживания комфортные. Сдаются в аренду также уютные частные дома. Здесь цены намного дешевле, чем в Хиккадуве. Так, полноценный завтрак в отеле на двоих обойдется примерно в 5–6$, а на пляже в закусочных еще дешевле.

В 5,5 км от Мириссы в бухте расположен небольшой уютный городок Велигама. Восточную часть этой бухты давно облюбовали серфингисты. Место привлекательно не только для профессионалов, но и для новичков, которые могут освоить навыки катания в школах серфинга. Велигама – лучшее место для начинающих серфингистов на Шри-Ланке. Здесь есть школа серфинга с русскими инструкторами. Пологие волны и песчаное дно способствуют обучению. Можно научиться поворачивать и легко скользить вдоль стенки волны. Спот работает с октября до марта.

Школы серфинга на Шри-Ланке

На Шри-Ланке много школ серфинга, в том числе и русских школ. Также работает много частных инструкторов, которые предлагают свои услуги по обучению серфингу на месте или через социальные сети за меньшую, чем в школах плату. Но проявляйте осторожность, и старайтесь не отдавать деньги частникам вперед.

Самая известная русская школа серфинга Surflanka.me находится в Хиккадуве. Обучение проводится с ноября по апрель. Инструктор одновременно ведет занятия с 3–4 новичками. Кроме практических уроков проводятся лекции и семинары. Один урок стоит 60$, пять занятий –275$, 10 – 395$, индивидуальное занятие – 130$. В стоимость входит одежда для серфинга и доска.

Еще одна школа серфинга была замечена нами на пляже Далавелла (Dalawella) рядом с Унаватуной и на курорте Когалла.

На Велигаме также есть русскоязычная школа SurfDiscovery. Пробное занятие для тех, кто хочет понять, сможет ли он освоить серфинг, стоит 50$. Цена четырех занятий – 180$. В стоимость включен прокат доски с мягким покрытием. Проживание возможно в отеле Джагабей, расположенном в тропическом лесу. Номер для двоих, включая завтрак, стоит 45–55$ в день, бунгало на пляже можно снять за 60–90$.

Ежегодно в первой половине июля на пляже Аругам-Бей проводятся соревнования по серфингу.

🕒 23 Ноября, 2018

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну у вас и планы, аж на следующий год. Я на октябрь никак не могу определиться как и куда поехать, а у вас уже 2019 :shock: ...
nausla 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну это нормально. :) Я тоже уже во всю планирую поездки следующего года. :THINK ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
З ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Первый раз едем на Шри-Ланку. На разведку))). Планируем в ноябре-декабре на две недели. Хотелось бы снять жильё на побережье (желательно прямо на пляже). Но не в отеле, а именно частный домик/бунгало/и т.п. Очень желательно с кухней. И хотим искать жильё уже на месте. То есть приехать, снять что-нить на сутки, что бы вещи оставить и в путь на поиски местечка у океана. Это реально? Есть ли на Ланке пляжи с "частным сектором" на первой линии? ...
admin 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Конечно есть бунгало. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Спасибо! Уже обнадёживает :). А на какой пляж лучше ехать в поисках подобного жилья? Что бы был большой выбор жилья и при этом достаточно тихий, спокойный пляж. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Даже более конкретно спрошу. Можно ли снять домик на первой линии на пляже Мириса? Он по описаниям больше всех понравился. ...
admin 25 Сентябрь, 2018
Да, в Мириссе можно. Вы же сами можете посмотреть варианты на Airbnb или Booking ...
Rupii 17 Ноябрь, 2018
Продам 10 000 шриланкийских рупий за 3000 рублей в Москве. 8 девятьсот двадцать шесть ноль 467888 ...
admin 17 Ноябрь, 2018
Хорошее предложение по курсу. Можно будет с вами договориться, чтобы в аэропорту домодедово встретиться через неделю и там купить? ...

Оцените статью:
(Пока оценок нет)