General information about Nuwara Eliya

General information about Nuwara Eliya

Нувара Элия, Шри-Ланка The Surroundings Of Nuwara Eliya

Nuwara Eliya (Nuwara Eliya, also "Nursia", the City of Light) – a city in Central Sri Lanka, 160 km from Colombo, 75 kilometers from Kandy (Nuwara Eliya on the map). It is a small town with a population of just over 27 thousand people. Is the highest city and resort in Sri Lanka, located at an altitude 1868-1884 meters above sea level. The surroundings of Nuwara Eliya-the best places in Sri Lanka where they grow the best varieties of tea, the conditions are just perfect: lots of sun and low temperature. It is also a very popular place for rest and tourism – the most popular mountain resort of the island.

Nuwara Eliya appeared only thanks to the British. The first Explorer of these places, in 1819, was a British officer John Davy (John Davy), and founded the city in 1846 sir Samuel white Baker (Samuel White Baker). Being an Explorer and a discoverer, he immediately saw the prospect of a relaxation of British subjects, as the climate here was most similar to the British, and even received the unofficial title of "Little England".

Stay in Nuwara Eliya

Thanks to its elevation above sea level, Nuwara Eliya has become a popular place for tourism. Moreover, its popularity began to grow since colonial times, when the British fled here from the merciless tropical heat. Indeed, in Nuwara Eliya is much cooler than the rest of Sri Lanka, and perhaps this is the only place on the island where you can truly freezing, because the temperature in the winter months here, even have established records, dropping one degree below zero.

The city has a distinct look, as it almost all was originally designed and built by the British. It really looks like England architecture and climate, architecture is one of its attractions. You can come here by yourself for a few days and just stroll around among the old colonial buildings, to make sightseeing tours in the area, maybe even visit other tourist cities of Central Sri Lanka. More often come here as part of organised tours for one or two days from the beach resorts of Sri Lanka. Consider the Nuwara Eliya as a venue for recreation, not worth it.

In addition to the city of Nuwara Eliya and its surroundings, a very interesting attraction is the road itself here on the Central provinces of Sri Lanka. Particularly interesting train ride, which is considered one of the most picturesque in the world.

In our guide to Nuwara Eliya, we have gathered all the necessary information that will allow you to arrange your own trip, learn all about the attractions, hotels, how to reach, transport and other issues for independent travel.

The tourist infrastructure in Nuwara Eliya

Nuwara Eliya was originally created as a place to stay, so tourism infrastructure is well developed, but there are some features.

There are plenty of hotels, but very little budget accommodation, and almost no options for the budget travelers – backpackers. Hotels almost always in abundance, but if you want to save money, it is better to book inexpensive options in advance. Read more about hotels in Nuwara Eliya here...

No problems with food is not there, there are cafes, restaurants, cheap local places to eat. Travel agencies are also available, but booking tours much easier to do through the hotels.

Weather in Nuwara Eliya, seasons, when to go

Погода в Нувара Элия, Шри-Ланка So Nuwara Eliya might look
in the rainy season

Nuwara Eliya is a cool mountain resort, the average temperature during the year is 15 degrees. In the winter months January-March the temperature can even drop below 0, but it is very rare.

If you want to visit Nuwara Eliya as an independent resort for a few days, it is best to go in the period from February to August. At this time, most comfortable weather. But in February, in the evening it happens cool, you need to bring warm clothes. Keep in mind that the hotels here are without heating, so be frostbitten even have in the hotel room.

The most unsuccessful months for a visit are October-November, as this is the season of rain, besides cold. Sometimes the rainy season shifting to December, and increased cloud cover can last until February. And even if the rain is not frequent, constantly cloud-Laden sky, and the mists hide the beauty of the scenery, for which here and ride it.

A large influx of local tourists are observed during the celebration of Sri Lankan new year (April) and in August.

Seasons in Nuwara Eliya months*

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
                       

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

Weather in Nuwara Eliya and forecast

Attractions in Nuwara Eliya

Almost all of the attractions in Nuwara Eliya is a natural formation and beauty, including man-made. But the outstanding historical or architectural sites, temples, there is almost no, because the city was founded by the British in the nineteenth century. In the city you can see colonial architecture, several churches and temples, but nothing particularly interesting there.

But in the area you will be able to see the unspeakable beauty of tea plantations on the hillsides, beautiful parks and Botanical gardens, numerous waterfalls. A special place – Horton plains and "land's end", for which even coming in here specifically. Read more about the attractions and entertainment in Nuwara Eliya here...

How to get to Nuwara Eliya

Nuwara Eliya is located in the centre of the island, 160 kilometres from Colombo and the international airport Bandarnaike, 75 kilometers from Kandy (Nuwara Eliya on the map). To get here from other resorts in the country and from the airport by taxi, bus or train.

The route by train to Nuwara Eliya is considered to be one of the most picturesque in the world. It passes through the beautiful hills and mountains, covered tea plantations. Especially for tourists in the first class cars have the observation deck at the top (Observation Deck), we recommend you to go there. The most beautiful part of the route starts after Kandy. But lookout is not available on all trains, please ask before buying. Read more about all the ways to get to Nuwara Eliya here...

Useful tips

  • Hotels in Nuwara Eliya. Upon arrival at the bus/railway station you are attacking "helpers" that offers hotels and tours in town. Under all sorts of fraudulent pretexts, they will try to lure in hotels, where they will receive a Commission. Don't believe their word that the hotel in which they you're lucky, you'll be near the center, most often just the opposite. The best time to visit Nuwara Eliya with already pre booked hotel.
  • More about the hotels. Cheap hotels it is better to book in advance, they are not enough. And in April and August, better than any hotel to book a couple of months, as prices increase significantly.
  • Tea factories. If you do not burn with the desire by all means to bring tea from the heart of Sri Lankan tea factory, can refrain from buying the tea factories tea during the tour. The prices are too high, and the tea is the same as sold in other stores in the resorts.
  • Warm to wear. Even in the warmest time of year in Nuwara Eliya in the evening can be cool, bring warm clothes. The short winter it can snow.

🕒 October 16, 2018

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 30 November, 2017
The site presents guides to Central cities and sites of Sri Lanka: the Cultural triangle of Anuradhapura, Mihintale, Polonnaruwa, Kandy, Sigiriya, Dambulla, Pidurangala Adam's Peak Badulla pinnawella the Forest Sinharaja Mulkirigala Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Haputale Bandarawela Guides will be supplemented. In this topic you can ask questions and discuss travelling to these places. Changes to the guides are appreciated :SUPER ...
Competent 5 January, 2018
Correct though Pinnawella at Pinnawala. In English, too. ...
admin 5 January, 2018
Thanks for noticing. As it turns out, the first time for you to remember and pronounce then. It was also with Polonnaruwa-Polonnaruwa for a long time myself retrained. ...
AMN Oct 10, 2018
Assalamu Alaikum. I would like to ask. can I find in Sri Lanka Halal food thanks. and sorry for the mistakes ...
admin October, 10, 2018
Hello! Yes, I can, but this kitchen is not very widespread. Looking for Muslim hotels, if they operate such restaurants. ...
Павел112244466 11 November, 2018
Here you write "you can still get from Matara to Bandarawela" what kind of bus? What's the number? As he goes ?? If you write a guide, write all the information or just certain. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Общая информация о Нувара Элия

Общая информация о Нувара Элия

Нувара Элия, Шри-Ланка Окрестности Нувара Элия

Нувара Элия (Nuwara Eliya, также «Нурэлия», Город Света) – город в центре Шри-Ланки в 160 километрах от Коломбо, в 75 километрах от Канди (Нувара Элия на карте). Это небольшой город с населением чуть больше 27 тысяч человек. Является самым высокогорным городом и курортом Шри-Ланки, находится на высоте 1868-1884 метров над уровнем моря. Окрестности Нувара-Элии – лучшие места на Шри-Ланке, где выращиваются лучшие сорта чая, условия здесь просто идеальны: очень много солнца и невысокая температура. Также это очень популярное место для отдыха и туризма – самый популярный высокогорный курорт острова.

Нувара-Элия появилась исключительно благодаря британцам. Первым исследователем этих мест в 1819 году был британский офицер Джон Дейви (John Davy), а основал город в 1846 году сэр Самуэль Уайт Бэйкер (Samuel White Baker). Будучи исследователем и первооткрывателем, он сразу увидел здесь перспективу для отдыха британских подданных, поскольку климат здесь был наиболее похож на британский, и место даже получило неофициальное названии «Маленькая Англия».

Отдых в Нувара Элии

Благодаря большой высоте над уровнем моря Нувара-Элия стала популярным местом для туризма. Причем, популярность ее начала расти с колониальных времен, когда британцы спасались здесь от нещадного тропического зноя. Действительно, в Нувара-Элии намного прохладней, чем на остальной части Шри-Ланки, и возможно, это единственное место на острове, где вы сможете по-настоящему замерзнуть, ведь температура в зимние месяцы здесь даже устанавливала рекорды, опускаясь на один градус ниже нуля.

Город имеет особый облик, поскольку он практически весь изначально был спроектирован и построен англичанами. Он действительно напоминает Англию по архитектуре и климату, и архитектура является одной из его достопримечательностей. Сюда можно приехать самостоятельно на несколько дней, и просто гулять по городу среди старинных колониальных зданий, совершить экскурсионные маршруты по окрестностям, может быть даже посетить другие туристические города центральной Шри-Ланки. Чаще же сюда приезжают в составе организованных экскурсионных туров на один-два дня с пляжных курортов Шри-Ланки. Рассматривать же Нувара-Элию, как место для проведения полноценного отдыха, не стоит.

Помимо самого города Нувара Элия и его окрестностей, очень интересным развлечением является и сама дорога сюда по центральным провинциям Шри-Ланки. Особенно интересна поездка на поезде, которая считается одной из самых живописных в мире.

В нашем путеводителе по Нувара Элия мы собрали всю необходимую информацию, которая позволит вам самостоятельно организовать путешествие, узнать все о достопримечательностях, отелях, способах добраться, транспорте и других вопросах для самостоятельного путешествия.

Туристическая инфраструктура в Нувара Элии

Нувара-Элия изначально создавалась как место для отдыха, поэтому туристическая инфраструктура здесь хорошо развита, но есть и некоторые особенности.

Здесь много отелей, но очень мало бюджетного размещения, и почти нет вариантов для самых бюджетных путешественников – бэкпекеров. Отели почти всегда в достатке, но если вы хотите сэкономить, лучше бронировать недорогие варианты заранее. Подробнее про отели в Нувара-Элии здесь...

С питанием проблем здесь не возникнет, есть кафе, рестораны, недорогие местные заведения. Туристические агентства также имеются, но заказ экскурсий гораздо проще делать через отели.

Погода в Нувара Элии, сезоны, когда поехать

Погода в Нувара Элия, Шри-Ланка Вот так Нувара Элия может выглядеть
в сезон дождей

Нувара Элия – прохладный высокогорный курорт, средняя температура в течение года – 15 градусов. В зимние месяцы январь-март температура может даже опускаться ниже 0, но это большая редкость.

Если вы собираетесь посетить Нувара-Элию как самостоятельный курорт на несколько дней, то лучше всего ехать в период с февраля по август. В это время наиболее комфортная погода. Но в феврале по вечерами все же бывает прохладно, нужно брать с собой теплые вещи. Имейте в виду, что отели здесь без отопления, так что померзнуть придется даже в номере отеля.

Самыми неудачными месяцами для поездки являются октябрь-ноябрь, так как это сезон дожей, к тому же холодно. Иногда сезон дождей он переходит на декабрь, а повышенная облачность может длиться вплоть до февраля. И даже если дожди в это вемя не частые, постоянно затянутое тучами небо и туманы скрывают красоты пейзажей, ради которых сюда и едут.

Большой наплыв местных туристов здесь наблюдается в период празднования шри-ланкийского нового года (в апреле), и в августе.

Сезоны в Нувара Элия по месяцам*

Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
                       

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Погода Нувара Элия и прогноз

Достопримечательности и развлечения в Нувара Элия

Почти все достопримечательности Нувара Элии – это природные образования и красоты, в том числе и рукотворные. А вот выдающихся исторических иил архитектурных достопримечательностей, храмов, здесь практически нет, поскольку город был основан англичанами в XIX веке. В самом городе можно посмотреть колониальную архитектуру, несколько церквей и храмов, но ничего особенно интересного нет.

Зато в окрестностях вы сможете увидеть непередаваемые словами красоты чайных плантаций на склонах холмов, красивейшие парки и ботанические сады, множество водопадов. Особое место – плато Хортон и «Край земли», ради которого сюда даже едут специально. Подробнее про достопримечательности и развлечения Нувара Элии здесь...

Как добраться в Нувара Элия

Нувара Элия находится в центре острова в 160 километрах от Коломбо и международного аэропорта Бандараике, в 75 километрах от Канди (Нувара Элия на карте). Добраться сюда из других курортов страны и из аэропорта можно на такси, автобусе или поезде.

Маршрут на поезде до Нувара-Элии считается одним из самых живописных в мире. Он проходит по красивым холмам и горам, укрытым чайными плантациями. Специально для туристов в первом классе есть вагоны с обзорной площадкой наверху (Observation Deck), рекомендуем ехать именно там. Наиболее красивый участок маршрута начинается после Канди. Но обзорная площадка имеется не на всех поездах, уточняйте перед покупкой. Подробнее про все способы добраться в Нувара Элию здесь...

Полезные советы

  • Отели в Нувара Элии. По прибытии на автобусную или ж/д станцию вас атакую «помогалы», предлагающие отели и туры в городе. Под всяческими обманными предлогами они постараются вас заманить в отели, где они получат за вас комиссию. Не верьте им на слово, что отель, в который они вас повезут, находится рядом с центром, чаще всего как раз наоборот. Лучше всего приезжать в Нувара Элия с уже заранее забронированным отелем.
  • Еще про отели. Недорогие отели лучше бронировать заранее, их здесь мало. А в апреле и августе лучше любой отель бронировать за пару месяцев, так как цены вырастают в разы.
  • Чайные фабрики. Если вы не горите желанием непременно привезти чай из самого сердца Шри-Ланки с чайной фабрики, можете воздержаться от покупки чая на фабриках чая во время экскурсий. Цены там завышены, а чай такой же, как продается в других магазинах на курортах.
  • Теплая одежда. Даже в самое теплое время года в Нувара-Элии по вечерам может быть прохладно, берите с собой теплую одежду. Зимой кратковременно может выпадать снег.