Cellular communication and Internet in Sri Lanka

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

Cellular

На Шри-Ланке распространен украинский язык

Cellular communication and Internet in Sri Lanka is well developed. Using a home SIM card with activated roaming for connection with the house is inappropriate: it is much cheaper to buy a local SIM card and use it for local or international calls home mobile Internet. For example, a call to Russia on cell phone costs about 15 rupees/minute, which is about 6 rubles. We should not be afraid of difficulties with the purchase, registration and activation of SIM-cards: all done in 10 minutes, and even without knowledge of the English language all you can do. How, read on:

Immediately upon arrival at the airport in Colombo, the tourists can purchase SIM cards that include a certain number of internal calls and the number of megabytes of Internet data traffic (unlimited Internet in Sri Lanka is not yet widespread). To purchase this package at the airport is really very comfortable and you after a few minutes the phones and the mobile Internet. But wait, if you want to save a little. The fact that the finished bags at the airport are sold from 1200 rupees (about 450 rubles, refer to the currency of Sri Lanka, the exchange rate), but on city streets a SIM card and a package of refill can be bought at least two times cheaper.

Sri Lanka has several operators, including two of the largest: Dialog and Mobitel. Dialog provides broader coverage and better communication quality, but the prices are a bit higher. Mobitel Dialog and tries to catch up with him a little inferior in quality, but the prices are a little lower.

The connection of the SIM card Dialog

For reference, we offer you a review of the connection of the SIM card Dialog. To find these SIM cards are easy everywhere in the streets and stores, in specialty stores. Prices are the same everywhere.

The SIM card itself is not free, it costs 150 rupees. But after purchase it is completely empty (no money on the balance sheet) and is not activated. Once in a sales position you will be offered to top up and activate. To purchase a SIM card you need a passport.

Sri Lanka to recharge SIM cards are very popular so-called packages. Ie buying a special card package for recruiting and activating it, you get in the package a certain number of outgoing calls, SMS and Internet traffic. There are many variations of such packages, but not all sell to tourists, but only prepaid (prepaid). If bad speak English and don't want to deal with all these complexities can be directly in the cabin when buying to ask for, and do it yourself sellers.

ADVERTISING
  • Internet Connection

    If you need Internet, then you should buy a batch map Dialog (Dialog Internet Card) to replenish. They are of different strengths and at different price from 29 to 699 rupees. Each of these cards includes a certain amount of Internet traffic, some amount of internal SMS and minutes of talking on the phone Dialog. This package has an expiration date. The most convenient options packages are:

    • 299 rupees – 1500Мб Internet, 500 SMS in the phone Dialog, 50 minutes of talking on the phone Dialog, valid for 30 days;
    • 699 rupees – 5000Мб of Internet, valid for 30 days.

    On the batch card there are instructions in English on how to activate it, but if you ask them to do it for you in the cabin, all without problems will make.

    However, these packages do not include calls to numbers of other operators as well as international. You just need to replenish the balance of the SIM card in the salon by cash or buy another card.

  • The voice communication connection

    If you don't need the Internet, or need not only the Internet, you can replenish the balance of your card immediately bought in the cabin and forth as needed. You can also buy a batch of cards.

    Under either option, if you ask at the salon you immediately activate and replenish the card account for a certain amount, and you will only have to insert it into the phone and use.

    After each call receives a message about its value, which is very convenient. Call cost to Russia of about 15 rupees per minute. To get an even cheaper rate for international calls, dial #103# and then 1. To know the remaining balance, dial #456#.

Internet

About mobile Internet is all written above. If you repeat briefly, unlimited tariffs for SIM-card tour is available, but the existing batch of options is more than enough for the most active use of the Internet.

As for Wi-Fi Internet, we offer it for free most of the hotels, cafes and restaurants (look for signs Free Wi-Fi). Free network at the airport in Colombo.

Unfortunately, it is not always the availability of free Wi-Fi in the hotel means that you will have it in the room, and sometimes you have to go to reception or the restaurant to catch the network. Also, the owners of the guesthouses often turn off the router at night, and have to ask them to include.

Yet free public networks in tourist areas, as is done, for example, in Vietnam, but maybe it's a matter of the near future. Wired Internet access (cable connection) in hotels is very rare.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 17 November, 2018

Good suggestion on the course. Can you agree that at the Domodedovo airport to meet in a week and there buy? ...
Kotia December, 12, 2018
Hello! Prompt, please, at the end of December in Trinko very large waves and quite impossible to bathe? Thank you! ...
admin 12 December, 2018

You know, I was not in Sri Lanka at this time, but was in the normal season, almost all the resorts, saw different waves. And I suppose that in the off-season should be powerful waves. I don't think come entering is generally impossible, but to swim out of the question to go. Although it's very lucky, now the climate is changing everywhere,it might be a normal period. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018
In this period of the year to go to the South of Sri Lanka. This Is Galle,Hikkaduwa, Ambalangoda,Balapitiya,Bentota. At this time of the year is a favorable climate for holidays and no storms. ...
Captain Avant Garde 24 December, 2018

Better at this time of the year to go South of Sri Lanka. In Sri Lanka there are two periods. The Northern and Eastern part it is better to go from April to October. And in South and South-West from November to April. ...
vitsa Feb 10, 2019
Julianna wrote(a):
> Good day!
> Please tell me, and the hotel it is advisable to book in advance or on
> place..In the Hikkaduwa hotel Hikkaduwa beach? ...
admin 10 February, 2019

But who knows, there will be room when you arrive, or not THINK ,it is necessary to be a fortuneteller to answer. ...
stasya 27 March, 2019
We're flying in June, Mr. Trincomalee , now our friends are there, send a video, the beaches are so kick some dirty ...
Karina T. 8 April, 2019
Took a bike in Negombo Lewis Place, 152. Guy speaks in Russian. Gasoline in March 2019 were 132 rupees per 1 liter. ...
admin April 24, 2019
Friends, if you are going in the near future to Sri Lanka, here's the latest information about the situation in the country following the recent terrorist attacks: In General no problem and restriction is not observed with the exception of input in the evening and night curfews in major cities, but they likely soon will be cancelled. Police and military everywhere lot, security measures are strengthened, but tourists are not affected. Transport operates in the normal mode without any restrictions and on schedule. The sights also work normally with the exception of some measures in Colombo. Yesterday was a day of mourning, everywhere lit candles, hung white mourning flags with the cross, because the attacks were directed against the Christian minority population. ...

Rate the article:
(While estimates no)

Сотовая связь и Интернет на Шри-Ланке

Сотовая связь

На Шри-Ланке распространен украинский язык

Сотовая связь и Интернет на Шри-Ланке развита хорошо, цены низкие. Использование домашней сим-карты с подключенным роумингом для связи с домом нецелесообразно: гораздо выгоднее купить местную сим-карту и ее использовать для местных или международных звонков домой, мобильного Интернета. Например, звонок в Россию на сотовый телефон стоит около 15 рупий/минута, что примерно 6 рублей. При этом не стоит бояться сложностей с покупкой, оформлением и активацией сим-карты: все делается за 10 минут, и даже без знания английского языка все можно сделать. Как, читайте далее:

Сразу по прилету в аэропорту Коломбо туристам предлагается приобрести пакеты сим-карт, которые включают в себя определенное количество внутренних звонков и количество мегабайт трафика Интернета (безлимитный Интернет на Шри-Ланке пока не распространен). Приобрести такой пакет в аэропорту действительно очень удобно, и у вас уже через несколько минут будет связь и мобильный Интернет. Однако не стоит торопиться, если вы хотите немного сэкономить. Дело в том, что готовые пакеты в аэропорту продаются от 1200 рупий (это около 450 рублей, см. валюта Шри-Ланки, курс обмена), но на улицах городов сим-карту и пакет пополнения можно приобрести минимум в два раза дешевле.

На Шри-Ланке работает несколько операторов, среди которых два самых крупных: Dialog и Mobitel. Dialog предоставляет более широкую зону покрытия и лучшее качество связи, но цены немного повыше. Mobitel постоянно догоняет Dialog и немного ему уступает по качеству, зато цены немного пониже.

Туристические сим-карты Goodline

Сим-карта ГудЛайн
  • Скидка при покупке по промо коду nashaplaneta - 10%!
  • сим-карта, которая вставляется в ваш мобильный телефон на время поездки за границу
  • входящие звонки в 147 странах — БЕСПЛАТНО!
  • исходящие звонки в Россию — от 0,05$
  • зона обслуживания — 193 СТРАНЫ МИРА
  • срок действия — НЕОГРАНИЧЕН
  • БЕЗ АБОНЕНТСКОЙ ПЛАТЫ!
  • Мобильный интернет за границей – от 1 $ в сутки
  • еженедельные акции со скидками
Введите при покупке туристической карты ГудЛайн промо код nashaplaneta и получите дополнительную скидку 10% от стоимости карты

Подключение сим-карты Dialog

Для ориентира, предлагаем вам обзор подключения сим-карты Dialog. Найти такие сим-карты можно повсеместно на улицах и магазинах, в специализированных салонах. Цены везде одинаковые.

Сама сим-карта не бесплатная, стоит 150 рупий. Но после покупки она совершенно пустая (нет денег на балансе) и не активирована. Сразу в месте продажи вам предложат ее пополнить и активировать. Для покупки сим-карты требуется паспорт.

На Шри-Ланке для пополнения сим-карт очень популярны так называемые пакеты. Т.е. купив специальную карту-пакет для пополнения и активировав ее, вы получаете в пакете определенное количество исходящих звонков, SMS-сообщений и Интернет трафик. Существует множество вариантов таких пакетов, но не все продают туристам, а только предоплатные (prepaid). Если плохо владеете английским и не хотите разбираться со всеми этими сложностями, можете прямо в салоне при покупке попросить, и все сделают сами продавцы.

  • Подключение Интернета

    Если вам нужен Интернет, то следует приобрести пакетную карту Dialog (Dialog Internet Card) для пополнения. Они существуют разного достоинства и по разной цене от 29 до 699 рупий. Каждая из таких карт включает определенный объем Интернет трафика, какое-то количество внутренних SMS и минут разговора только на телефоны Dialog. При этом у пакета есть срок действия. Самыми удобными вариантами пакетов являются:

    • 299 рупий – 1500Мб Интернета, 500 СМС на телефоны Dialog, 50 минут разговоров на телефоны Dialog, действует 30 дней;
    • 699 рупий – 5000Мб Интернета, действует 30 дней.

    На пакетной карте есть инструкция на английском языке, как ее активировать, но если вы попросите сделать это для вас в салоне, все без проблем сделают.

    Однако данные пакеты не включают в себя звонки на телефоны других операторов, а также международные. Для этого необходимо пополнить баланс сим-карты в салоне наличными или с помощью покупки другой карты.

  • Подключение голосовой связи

    Если же вам не нужен Интернет, или нужен не только Интернет, то вы можете пополнить баланс купленной карты сразу в салоне и далее по необходимости. Можно также покупать пакетные карточки.

    При любом варианте, если вы попросите, в салоне вам сразу активируют и пополнят счет карты на нужную сумму, и вам останется только вставить ее в телефон и использовать.

    После каждого звонка приходит сообщение о его стоимости, что очень удобно. Стоимость звонка в Россию около 15 рупий за минуту. Чтобы получить еще более дешевый тариф на международные звонки, следует набрать #103# и далее 1. Чтобы узнать остаток на балансе, нужно набрать #456#.

Интернет

Про мобильный Интернет уже все написано выше. Если повторить вкратце, то безлимитных тарифов на сим-картах туристам пока не предлагается, но и имеющихся пакетных вариантов с лихвой достаточно для самого активного использования Интернета.

Что касается Wi-Fi Интернета, то его бесплатно предлагают большинство отелей, кафе и ресторанов (ищите таблички Free Wi-Fi). Бесплатные сети есть в аэропорту Коломбо.

К сожалению, не всегда наличие бесплатного Wi-Fi в описании отеля означает, что он будет у вас в комнате, и иногда приходиться идти на ресепшен или в ресторан отеля, чтобы поймать сеть. Также хозяева гестхаузов частенько выключают маршрутизаторы на ночь, и приходиться просить их включить.

Пока нет бесплатных городских сетей в туристических районах, как это сделано, например, во Вьетнаме, но, возможно, это дело скорого будущего. Проводной Интернет (подключение кабелем) в отелях встречается очень редко.

🕒 16 Октября, 2018

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 16 Сентябрь, 2018
Оформляйте ETA, никаких проблем не будет. ...
Ludmilapl 21 Сентябрь, 2018
друзья кто двигает в Шри-Ланку в начале июня? 1-10 туда улетаю. Ветер отличный, катнем норм ...
admin 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну у вас и планы, аж на следующий год. Я на октябрь никак не могу определиться как и куда поехать, а у вас уже 2019 :shock: ...
nausla 21 Сентябрь, 2018
Ну это нормально. :) Я тоже уже во всю планирую поездки следующего года. :THINK ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
З ...
Виола 23 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Первый раз едем на Шри-Ланку. На разведку))). Планируем в ноябре-декабре на две недели. Хотелось бы снять жильё на побережье (желательно прямо на пляже). Но не в отеле, а именно частный домик/бунгало/и т.п. Очень желательно с кухней. И хотим искать жильё уже на месте. То есть приехать, снять что-нить на сутки, что бы вещи оставить и в путь на поиски местечка у океана. Это реально? Есть ли на Ланке пляжи с "частным сектором" на первой линии? ...
admin 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Здравствуйте! Конечно есть бунгало. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Спасибо! Уже обнадёживает :). А на какой пляж лучше ехать в поисках подобного жилья? Что бы был большой выбор жилья и при этом достаточно тихий, спокойный пляж. ...
Виола 24 Сентябрь, 2018
Даже более конкретно спрошу. Можно ли снять домик на первой линии на пляже Мириса? Он по описаниям больше всех понравился. ...
admin 25 Сентябрь, 2018
Да, в Мириссе можно. Вы же сами можете посмотреть варианты на Airbnb или Booking ...

Оцените статью:
(Пока оценок нет)