Sightseeing Negombo (Sri Lanka): The Munneswaram Temple (Munneswaram Devasthanam)

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.
Туры
Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка The Munneswaram Temple, Sri Lanka

The Munneswaram temple (Munneswaram Devasthanam) is located in a small village near Chilaw in the North from Negombo. It is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is considered one of the oldest temples in Sri Lanka, although originally founded in the year 1000 of the temple, nothing was to be preserved. Largely due to the Portuguese who destroyed it twice (in 1578 and 1600), and the stubbornness of the locals who restored it again and again, today it looks impressive. Is a complex of several temples, including the main Shrine to Shiva (center), in the South-East and South-West – Shrine to Ganesha, in the North-East corner is a Buddhist Shrine for Ayyanayake. According to some, part of the walls of the main altar to Shiva dated back to the late XVI - early XVII centuries look Very impressive bas-reliefs of Hindu deities along the outer wall of the chariot for religious ceremonies and festivals. In the Eastern part of the entrance grows a Bodhi tree, and behind him the sacred pond.

Overall - a worthwhile place. Very often visit the temple during a trip from Negombo to Anuradhapura or resorts in the Northern Sri Lanka.

🚶 How to get there: located at the intersection from at Chilaw Wariyapola Rd. 2.5 km to the East (the temple on the interactive map of Negombo). To get here you have to drive about 45 miles along the coast to the town of Chilaw where at the main roundabout (circle), turn right and drive for another 2.5 km

🕐 Working time: daytime

💵 Entrance fee / ticket price: free

Find tours online (with reviews)

Photo of Munneswaram temple

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin January 26, 2014
Before asking questions, read the collected information about Negombo on the website:
General tourist information about Negombo, weather and seasons, helpful information
Hotels Negombo
How to get to Negombo
Negombo attractions, what to see and do
Attractions near Negombo
Photo Of Negombo
Map Of Negombo
Perhaps the answer to your question is already there. If not, ask here any questions on Negombo ...
Anatoly Sholokhov 31 January, 2014
Loved the journey, it was just incredible emotions. So many exotics in one place, I think something to go with the kids there. ...
Antonina 31 January, 2014
Left in awe of the journey, so many exotics in one place, emotions just going wild,hoping that something happen to get to this wonderful Paradise. ...
admin February 1, 2014

You subject is not confused by chance? This is the theme of Negombo. Where you there is a Paradise and the exotic found? I'm not kidding, just wondering. ...

Достопримечательности Негомбо (Шри-Ланка): Храм Муннесварам (Munneswaram Devasthanam)

Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка Храм Муннесварам, Шри-Ланка

Храм Муннесварам (Munneswaram Devasthanam) расположен в небольшой деревне недалеко от г. Chilaw на севере от Негомбо. Он посвящен богу Шиве и считается одним из старейших храмов в Шри-Ланке, хотя от изначально основанного в 1000 году храма ничего на сохранилось. Во многом «благодаря» португальцам, разрушавшим его дважды (в 1578 и 1600 г.), и упрямству местных жителей, восстанавливавшим его снова и снова, сегодня он выглядит впечатляюще. Представляет собой комплекс из нескольких храмов, включающих основной алтарь для Шивы (в центре), в юго-востоку и юго-западу – святыня для Ганеши, в северо-восточном углу – буддийская святыня для Ayyanayake. По некоторым данным, часть стен главного алтаря для Шивы датирована концом XVI - началом XVII вв. Очень эффектно смотрятся барельефы индуистских божеств вдоль внешней стены, колесницы для религиозных обрядов и фестивалей. В восточной части от входа растет дерево бодхи, а за ним священный пруд.

В целом - заслуживающее внимания место. Очень часто храм посещают во время поездки из Негомбо в Анурадхапуру или на северные курорты Шри-Ланки.

Как добраться: расположен на перекрестке от Chilaw по Wariyapola Rd. в 2,5 км к востоку (храм на интерактивной карте Негомбо). Чтобы добраться сюда, нужно проехать примерно 45 километров вдоль побережья до городка Chilaw, где на главном перекрестке (кольцо) свернуть направо и проехать еще 2,5 километра

Время работы: в дневное время

Входная плата / Цена билетов: бесплатно

Найти экскурсии онлайн

Фото храма Муннесварам

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 26 Январь, 2014
Прежде чем задавать вопросы, прочитайте собранную информацию о Негомбо на сайте: Общая туристическая информация о Негомбо, погода и сезоны, полезная информация Отели Негомбо Как добраться в Негомбо Достопримечательности Негомбо, что посмотреть и чем заняться Достопримечательности рядом с Негомбо Фото Негомбо Карта Негомбо Возможно ответ на ваш вопрос там уже есть. Если нет, задавайте здесь любые вопросы по Негомбо ...
Анатолий Шолохов 31 Январь, 2014
Очень понравилось путешествие, это были просто невероятные эмоции. Столько экзотики собрано в одном месте, думаю еще как-нибудь отправиться с детишками туда. ...
Антонина 31 Январь, 2014
Осталась в восторге от путешествия, столько экзотики собрано в одном месте, эмоции просто зашкаливают,надеюсь что еще как-нибудь получиться выбраться в этот чудесный рай. ...
admin 1 Февраль, 2014
Вы тему не перепутали случайно? Это тема о Негомбо. Где вы там чудесный рай и экзотику нашли? Я не издеваюсь, просто интересно. ...

Оцените статью:
(1 голосов, оценка: 4 из 5)