How to get to Kandy, transportation

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

Most often, Kandy visit group tours. These tours are one-day, when the group are imported into the city for one day, familiar with the Temple of the tooth relic and the Royal Botanical gardens, Peradeniya. Also there are tours with an overnight stay and then tour free time for exploring the city. To purchase these trips at any resort of Sri Lanka.

But if you want to visit the city for a longer period, or just to go here one day overnight, are no trouble to get to Kandy from any point of Sri Lanka were not working. You can get there by train, bus, taxi and even by plane. Here are brief instructions:

  • Airport – Kandy. From the airport can be reached directly on the local bus, or bus and train via Colombo. If finances allow, you can for 30 minutes and $ 150 to fly on the plane.
  • Colombo – Kandy. From Colombo there are a lot of buses and trains. The cost of the trip from 159 rupees (from 62 rubles).
  • Negombo – Kandy. From Negombo every 20-60 minutes bus No. 245/1. In 4 hours.
  • Sigiriya – Kandy. No direct buses, you need to go with a change in Polonnaruwa. To Polonnaruwa bus goes 3 and a half hours, from 180 rupees.
  • Nuwara Eliya. Bus 2 hours, from 120 rupees, or train to NANU OYA (Nanu Oya).
  • Dambulla. There are direct buses
  • Hikkaduwa. You need to go with a change of bus or train to Colombo.
  • Anuradhapura. There are direct buses, or transfer to Colombo by train.

Below on this page describes in detail all the ways how to get to Kandy. If you do not want to go into the complexity of public transport, the tourist can order the transfer to Kandy, what can be done using the search form below. In this case, the driver of a private vehicle will meet you at the airport arrivals with a sign. Payment is made online, Russian support is present. Payment is per car, not per person:

How does a transfer bookingDetails >
Поиск трансфераFind the right route
Бронирование онлайнBooking a transfer online
Встреча водителемThe driver meets you at the airport or at the station

On the plane

Near Kandy is a small airport, where flights on small propeller planes. Flights are on small propeller planes are very expensive, from $ 150 one way. Flights from international airport Colombo, Bandaranaike company Cinnamon Air twice a day, and the company SriLankan Airlines. The flight takes 30 minutes. From the place of landing of the aircraft on the river or landing strip to the centre of Kandy can be reached only by taxi.

Find and book tickets to the main Colombo airport in Sri Lanka, you can through the search form. Search is very flexible, and allows you to search for flights on different dates, with or without transfers, in both directions or one, etc.:

The price of flights from Moscow to Colombo:

FIND TICKETTRANSPLANTThe AIRLINEDATE OF DEPARTURERETURN DATE
TO FIND 50041 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 30.04.2020 24.05.2020
TO FIND 29823 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 13.05.2020 28.05.2020
TO FIND 29823 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 01.06.2020 14.06.2020
TO FIND 30561 ₽ 2 transplant Лого авиакомпании 01.07.2020 12.07.2020
FIND FROM 34922 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 29.08.2020 09.09.2020
TO FIND 30486 ₽ 2 transplant Лого авиакомпании 14.09.2020 15.10.2020
FIND FROM 30562 ₽ 2 transplant Лого авиакомпании 28.10.2020 11.11.2020
TO FIND 30486 ₽ 2 transplant Лого авиакомпании 08.11.2020 22.11.2020
FIND FROM 33570 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 09.12.2020 27.01.2021
TO FIND 33218 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 15.01.2021 18.01.2021
FIND FROM 33217 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 03.02.2021 13.02.2021
FIND FROM 33652 ₽ 1 transplant Лого авиакомпании 07.03.2021 20.03.2021

Minimum prices on flights from Russia to Colombo:

ROUTETRANSPLANTFIND TICKET
Moscow ⇄ Colombo 1 TO FIND 29962 ₽
Saint Petersburg ⇄ Colombo 1 TO FIND 36290 ₽
Kazan ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 41731 ₽
Ufa ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 43777 ₽
Krasnodar ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 44508 ₽
Ekaterinburg ⇄ Colombo 1 TO FIND 45649 ₽
Krasnoyarsk ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 46582 ₽
Chelyabinsk ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 48258 ₽
Perm ⇄ Colombo 1 TO FIND 48506 ₽
Mineral Water ⇄ Colombo 2 TO FIND 49685 ₽
Novosibirsk ⇄ Colombo 1 FIND FROM 52402 FOR YOU!

By train

Поезд, Шри-Ланка

It is not the fastest, but the most exciting way to travel to Kandy. The route passes through beautiful hills covered with tea plantations, the views are simply stunning. Moreover, in the first class there are special carriages with observation deck upstairs. Tickets cost is not very expensive, and if you have no goal to drive as economically as possible, we recommend you to get to the observation deck at least once during a trip in Sri Lanka. But keep in mind that if you plan to travel by train from Kandy continue towards Nuwara Eliya and Badulla, where the views are even better.

Direct trains to Kandy can be reached from Colombo, Matale, Hatton (to get to Adam's Peak), NANU OYA (Nanu Oya near Nuwara Eliya), Ella, Badulla. With a stopover in Colombo can be reached from any other city of Sri Lanka where there is a railway.

Time the drive from Colombo takes just under 3 hours. Trains depart at least 9 times a day. Schedule from Colombo and other cities can learn here https://www.eservices.railway.gov.lk.

The third class ticket costs 105 RS (from 58.49 RUB), the second – 190, first comes to 500. Tickets for the second and third class are purchased immediately before departure, first class is better to book in advance.

To get on the train directly from the international airport Colombo, Bandaranaike, first on a taxi or bus to reach the railway station in Colombo – Colombo Fort. How to do this in detail here – how to get to Colombo.

Railway station in Kandy is located in the city center (railway station on the map). With light backpacks from here to the city centre can be reached on foot or by tuk-tuk for RS 100 (from 38.99 RUB).

See more about travel by train in Sri Lanka...

And here is the schedule of trains and buses in Kandy, is available for online booking:

By bus

Автовокзал в Канди, Шри-Ланка The bus station in Kandy

The bus is the cheapest option to get to Kandy. Arrive in Kandy direct links from almost any city, including to and from the airport. In rare cases, you will need a transplant in Colombo. The long distance buses are large, air-conditioned, and have simple and regular. The latter is much cheaper.

In Kandy there are several bus stations, so only the most important:

  • The main bus station Goods Shed Bus Station (the station on the map). A huge bus terminal where all buses arrive from the distant areas. From downtown/lake to slightly more than a kilometer.
  • Stop near the clock tower Clock Tower (stop on the map). This is a stop where stops most buses not far, and buses in the Peradeniya, Matale, Kegalle.
  • Station commercial bus (station on the map). Comfort buses in Colombo, Negombo and other cities depart from their bus station on Station Road.
Башня с часами в Канди, Шри-Ланка Clock tower

If you get stuck with the stations, it is easier to do so: when you arrive, you will find yourself at one of these stations, and they are close and near the center, so to get to the hotel or lake can walk or tuk tuk for about 100 rupees (from 38.99 RUB). If you need to go to the Botanical gardens, Pinnawela elephant orphanage or other attractions in the area, go to the clock tower. If you need to go to Colombo and other cities, go to the main Station or on the Road, and ask locals.

Flights a lot, and go often. Kandy is a very important city, so from anywhere in the country can be reached directly or with a stopover in Colombo and other cities. Schedule study makes no sense, since buses are everywhere we go often, every 15-60 minutes.

  • On the bus from the airport

    From the bus station Everyware, located two kilometers from the airport (bus station Everyware on the map) direct buses №245 in Kandy. They ply only in daytime, go on filling, about 1-2 times a Sanchez. In 3 hours, cost 140 rupees. To reach Everyware on a tuk-tuk for 50-100 rupees (negotiable), walk for 20-30 minutes (go 2 km).

    Another way is to get first to the bus station in Colombo and then in Kandy, but neither the time nor the money benefits will not work, rather the contrary.

  • By bus from Colombo

    From the bus station in Colombo (the Colombo station on the map) to Kandy sent a lot of buses. There is directly to Kandy (route No. 1), and there is travel to other cities. Depart every 15-20 minutes. To find the correct bus, ask the local drivers, they will specify which will suit you. The journey time is 3 hours and a half, the cost of 150 rupees.

Transport to move around the city

Тук-тук в Канди, Шри-Ланка Tuk-tuk

Kandy city centre, where attractions are located, is very small, to get around on foot. To get to the train/railway station or bus station you can also walk (a little more than a kilometer from the lake), or take tuk tuk for 100 rupees.

To see the sights in the area, it is cheaper to use the buses. Many routes, you can get for pennies. To find the right bus, it's best to come to the ring to the clock tower, and call local or drivers the place you need. Also in our list of attractions in Kandy we pointed out ways on how to get to each of them. Peak hours when buses are overcrowded: from 06:00 to 09:00 and 16:00 to 19:00.

Vehicle rental in Kandy is not developed, hire a motorbike for us (the authors) here find failed. But in recent years a new option - rent a tuk-tuk. You can find and hire a tuk tuk directly from the owners, and you can do so via the website - https://tuktukrental.com/. Rental prices are $ 25 per day, discounts for long term.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 30 November, 2017
The site presents guides to Central cities and sites of Sri Lanka:
The cultural triangle
Anuradhapura
Mikindani
Polonnaruwa
Kandy
Sigiriya
Pidurangala
Dambulla
Adam's Peak
Badulla
Pineville
Forest Sinharaja
Mulkirigala
Kandy
Nuwara Eliya
Haputale
Bandarawela
The guides will be supplemented.
In this topic you can ask questions and discuss travelling to these places. Changes to the guides are appreciated :SUPER ...
Competent 5 January, 2018
Correct though Pinnawella at Pinnawala. In English, too. ...
admin 5 January, 2018

Thanks for noticing. As it turns out, the first time for you to remember and pronounce then. It was also with Polonnaruwa-Polonnaruwa for a long time myself retrained. ...
AMN Oct 10, 2018
Assalamu Alaikum.
I would like to ask. can I find in Sri Lanka Halal food
thank you.
and sorry for the mistakes ...
admin October, 10, 2018

Hello! Yes, I can, but this kitchen is not very widespread. Looking for Muslim hotels, if they operate such restaurants. ...
Павел112244466 11 November, 2018
Here you write "you can still get from Matara to Bandarawela" what kind of bus? What's the number? As he goes ?? If you write a guide, write all the information or just certain. ...
helka November 19, 2018
Good day, tell me whether in Polonnaruwa storage or where to leave bags if you arrive there in the morning, walk around the Ancient city, and then go by bus to Kandy. ...
admin 19 November, 2018

Not sure what injury is there. Rather rather sure that they are not, because there is the entrance and ticket control on-street storage no. Maybe there is something in the office selling tickets, but it is unlikely that the Sri Lankans before this would have thought of. If you really look for a place where to leave things, it is best to railway station so should be storage, as on all other stations. Well, in case you can try to negotiate for a nominal amount of staff offices for the sale of tickets or to go into the first hotel and the clerk to negotiate. The last version working and tested 100%.
And generally I on your place would think if you can master this route without lodging. I can understand if it's a tour or car with driver. But to come in a new strange city, to find a place where to leave your Luggage, find the cashier, to get to the entrance, navigate through the vast territory... besides, you need something to get around distances. Will have to find a tuk-tuk for the whole day. IMHO, knowing how difficult travel in hot countries, I would come in the evening, slept, and bright and early the next day I began to explore the Park. ...
helka December 2, 2018
Thank you very much for the reply. The fact that we were coming and so in the morning, so will spend the night in Dambulla, and was planning to rent a tuk tuk for the whole day.
About things have already booked a cheap guest house, where they leave it at that. )) And I hope the night will be in Kandy, because if you come to Polonnaruwa in 10 hours then to 16 hours the time I think that would be enough to see the most important thing, especially on a tuk tuk. ...
admin December 2, 2018

Well, in principle Yes, 6 hours on a tuk-tuk. Determine for yourself the most important thing to look at. I hope our guide to Polonnaruwa read. ...

Как добраться в Канди, транспорт

Чаще всего Канди посещают в составе групповых экскурсионных туров. Такие туры бывают однодневные, когда группу завозят в город на один день, знакомят с Храмом зуба Будды и королевским ботаническим садом Перадения. Также бывают туры с ночевкой, и тогда туристам предоставляется свободное время для прогулок по городу. Приобрести такие экскурсии можно на любом курорте Шри-Ланки.

Но если вы захотите посетить город на более долгий срок, или просто съездить сюда на один день с ночевкой, никаких трудностей с тем, чтобы добраться в Канди из любой точки Шри-Ланки труда не составит. Добраться можно на поезде, автобусе, такси, и даже прилететь на самолете:

  • Аэропорт – Канди. Из аэропорта можно добраться напрямую на местном автобусе, или на автобусе и поезде через Коломбо. Стоимость поездки 140 рупий. Если позволяют финансы, можете за 30 минут и 150 долларов перелететь на самолете.
  • Коломбо – Канди. Из Коломбо ходит много автобусов и поездов. Стоимость поездки от 150 рупий.
  • Негомбо – Канди. Из Негомбо каждые 20-60 минут отправляется автобус №245/1. В пути 4 часа.
  • Сигирия – Канди. Прямых автобусов нет, ехать нужно с пересадкой в Полоннаруве. До Полоннарувы автобус идет 3 с половиной часа, от 180 рупий.
  • Нувара-Элия. Автобус 2 часа, от 120 рупий, или поезд до Нану-Оя (Nanu Oya).
  • Дамбулла. Есть прямые автобусы
  • Хиккадува. Нужно ехать со сменой автобуса или поезда в Коломбо.
  • Анурадхапура. Есть прямые автобусы, или с пересадкой в Коломбо на поезде.

Ниже на данной странице подробно описано обо всех способах, как добраться в Канди. Если же вы не желаете вдаваться в сложности общественного транспорта, можете заказать туристический трансфер до Канди, что можно сделать через форму поиска ниже. В таком случае водитель персонального автомобиля будет встречать вас в аэропорту прилета с табличкой. Оплата производится он-лайн, русскоязычная поддержка присутствует. Оплата производится за автомобиль, а не за каждого человека:

Как работает заказ трансфераПодробнее >
Поиск трансфераНаходите нужный маршрут
Бронирование онлайнБронируете трансфер он-лайн
Встреча водителемВодитель встречает вас в аэропорту или на вокзале

На самолете

Рядом с Канди находится небольшой аэропорт, куда выполняются рейсы на небольших винтовых самолетах. Рейсы выполняются на небольших винтовых самолетах, стоят очень дорого, от 150 долларов в одну сторону. Рейсы выполняются из международного аэропорта Коломбо Бандаранаике компанией Cinnamon Air два раза в день, и компанией Sri Lanka Airlines. Перелет занимает 30 минут. От места приземления самолета на реке или посадочной полосе до центра Канди можно добраться только на такси.

Самые дешевые перелеты из РФ в Коломбо:

ДАТА ВЫЛЕТАДАТА ВОЗВРАЩЕНИЯАВИАКОМПАНИЯПЕРЕСАДКИНАЙТИ БИЛЕТ
18.12.2017 29.12.2017 Лого авиакомпании Без пересадок НАЙТИ ОТ 21570 ₽
31.01.2018 09.02.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28481 ₽
18.02.2018 15.03.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28501 ₽
13.03.2018 17.03.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 27920 ₽
02.04.2018 18.04.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28513 ₽
09.05.2018 23.05.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28513 ₽
04.06.2018 09.06.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28927 ₽
16.07.2018 28.07.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28513 ₽
01.08.2018 08.08.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28927 ₽
03.09.2018 22.09.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28126 ₽
01.10.2018 18.10.2018 Лого авиакомпании 1 пересадка НАЙТИ ОТ 28513 ₽
04.11.2018 11.11.2018 Лого авиакомпании 2 пересадки НАЙТИ ОТ 32108 ₽

Найти и забронировать авиабилеты в главный аэропорт Коломбо на Шри-Ланке вы можете через форму поиска. Поиск очень гибкий, и позволяет найти рейсы на разные даты, с пересадками или без, в обе стороны или одну и т.д.:

На поезде

Поезд, Шри-Ланка

Это не самый быстрый, но самый захватывающий вариант поездки в Канди. Маршрут проходит через живописные холмы, укрытые чайными плантациями, виды завораживают. Причем, в первом классе есть специальные вагоны с обзорной площадкой наверху. Стоят билеты не очень дорого, и если у вас нет цели доехать предельно экономно, мы рекомендуем попасть на обзорную площадку хотя бы раз во время путешествия по Шри-Ланке. Но имейте в виду, что если вы планируете ехать на поезде из Канди дальше в сторону Нувара-Элии и Бадуллы, там виды будут еще лучше.

На прямом поезде в Канди можно добраться из Коломбо, Матале, Хаттона (чтобы попасть на Пик Адама), Нану-Оя (Nanu Oya, рядом с Нувара Элия), Эллы, Бадуллы. С пересадкой в Коломбо можно добраться из любого другого города Шри-Ланки, где есть железная дорога.

По времени поездка из Коломбо занимает чуть меньше 3-х часов. Поезда отправляются по крайней мере 9 раз в день. Расписание из Колобмо и других городов можете узнать здесь - https://www.eservices.railway.gov.lk.

Билет третьего класса стоит 105 рупий, второй – 190, первый доходит до 500. Билеты на второй и третий класс приобретаются непосредственно перед отправлением, первый класс лучше бронировать заранее.

Чтобы добраться на поезде сразу из международного аэропорта Коломбо Бандаранаике, нужно сначала на такси или автобусе доехать до железнодорожной станции в Коломбо – Colombo Fort. Как это сделать, подробно написано здесь – как добраться в Коломбо.

Ж/д станция в Канди находится в километре от центра (ж/д станция на карте). С легкими рюкзаками отсюда до центра города можно дойти пешком или доехать на тук-туке за 100 рупий.

На автобусе

Автобус в Канди, Шри-Ланка Автобус в Канди

Автобус – самый дешевый вариант попасть в Канди. Приехать в Канди без пересадок можно почти из любого города, в том числе и из аэропорта. В редких случаях понадобиться пересадка в Коломбо. Автобусы бывают большие междугородные кондиционированные, а есть и простые рейсовые. Последние намного дешевле.

В Канди есть сразу несколько автобусных станции, вот только самые главные:

  • Главная автостанция Goods Shed Bus Station (станция на карте). Огромный автовокзал, куда прибывают все автобусы с дальних направлений. От центра/озера до нее чуть больше километра.
  • Остановка возле башни с часами Clock Tower (остановка на карте). Это остановка, где делает остановку большинство автобусов дальних направлений, и автобусы в Перадению, Матале, Кегале.
  • Станция коммерческих автобусов (станция на карте). Автобусы повышенной комфортности в Коломбо, Негомбо и другие города отправляются со своей автобусной станции на Station Road.
Башня с часами в Канди, Шри-Ланка Башня с часами

Если запутаетесь со станциями, то проще поступать так: когда приедете, вы окажетесь на одной из этих станций, а они все рядом и недалеко от центра, так что добраться до отеля или озера сможете пешком или на тук-туке примерно за 100 рупий. Если понадобиться съездить в ботанический сад, слоновий питомник или другие достопримечательности в округе, идите в башне с часами. Если же нужно уехать в Коломбо и другие города, идите на главную или на Station Road, и спрашивайте у местных.

Рейсов много, ходят часто. Канди – очень важный город, поэтому из любого места страны можно доехать напрямую или с пересадкой в Коломбо и других городах. Расписание изучать нет смысла, так как автобусы везде ходят часто, каждые 15-60 минут.

  • На автобусе из аэропорта

    С автобусной станции Авериввата, находящейся в двух километрах от аэропорта (автобусная станция Авериввата на карте) отправляются прямые автобусы №245 в Канди. Они курсируют только в дневное время, отправляются по наполнению, примерно 1-2 раза в чес. В пути 3 часа, стоят 140 рупий. Доехать до Авериввата можно на тук-туке за 50-100 рупий (торг), пешком за 20-30 минут (идти 2 километра).

    Другой способ – доехать сначала на автобусную станцию в Коломбо, а уже оттуда в Канди, но ни по времени ни по деньгам выгоды не получиться, скорее наоборот.

  • На автобусе из Коломбо

    С автобусной станции в Коломбо (станция Коломбо на карте) до Канди отправляется много автобусов. Есть непосредственно до Канди (маршрут №1), а есть и проездом до других городов. Отправляются каждые 15-20 минут. Чтобы найти нужный автобус, спрашивайте у местных и у водителей, они укажут, какой вам подойдет. Время в пути 3 с половиной часа, стоимость от 150 рупий.

Транспорт, на чем перемещаться по городу

Тук-тук в Канди, Шри-Ланка Тук-тук

Центр Канди, где расположены достопримечательности, очень небольшой, обойти все можно пешком. Добраться до ж/д станции или автобусной станции также можно пешком (чуть больше километра от озера), или доехать на тук-туке за 100 рупий.

Чтобы посмотреть достопримечательности в окрестностях, дешевле всего воспользоваться автобусами. Маршрутов очень много, добраться можно за копейки. Чтобы найти нужный автобус, удобнее всего прийти на кольцо к башне с часами, и назвать местным или водителям место, куда вам нужно. Также в начем списке достопримечательностей Канди мы по возможности указали способы, как добраться до каждой из них. Часы пик когда автобусы очень переполнены: с 06:00 до 09:00 и с 16:00 до 19:00.

Аренда транспорта в Канди не развита, проката мотобайков здесь нет. Но в последнеи годы появилась новая опция - прокат тук-туков. Можно найти и арендовать тук-тук непосредственно у владельцев, а можно сделать это через сайт - https://tuktukrental.com/. Цены на аренду 25 долларов в день, скидки за длительный срок.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 30 Nov 2017, 08:48
На сайте представлены путеводители по центральным городам и достопримечательностям Шри-Ланки:
Культурный треугольник
Анурадхапура
Михинтале
Полоннарува
Канди
Сигирия
Пидурангала
Дамбулла
Пик Адама
Бадулла
Пинавелла
Лес Синхаражда
Мулкиригала
Канди
Нувара-Элия
Хапутале
Бандаравела

Путеводители будут дополняться.
В это теме можете задавать вопросы и обсуждать путешествия по этим местам. Правки в путеводители приветствуются ...