The Temple Of Gangaramaya / Gangaramaya Temple

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

The Gangaramaya temple (Gangaramaya Temple), Colombo is the most rich and famous in Sri Lanka. It was built just over 120 years ago and is dedicated to Buddhism. Among tourists, it is quite a popular place. It is a small religious complex with several buildings among which the Church, library, Museum, classrooms. In the Eastern part of the small lake Biera are two pavilions for meditation (Seema Malakaya) related also to the Gangaramaya. In one of the perimeter of a bronze Buddha statue, the other at the centre is the bodhi tree (bodhi) and the four faces of the Brahmans. In the evenings, the pavilions are lit up with lights. In the temple of Gangaramaya still have Sri Ganesha Hindu temple dedicated to the God Skanda.

Храм Гангарамайя, Коломбо, Шри-Ланка

The interior of the temple of Gangaramaya very bright and intense, contains many Buddha images and members of the Buddhist Pantheon, and statues of Buddha. One of the interesting places is a multi-tiered wall, in the steps which has numerous statues of Buddha. Noteworthy are a large library with valuable and ancient manuscripts, a Museum with many exhibits showing the history of the country. Temple square is growing the old tree brought from Anuradhapura. There is also the elephant lives annually participating in the marches organized in celebration of the navam Perahera (Navam Perahera), which is celebrated in February on the day of the full moon.

The leadership of the Church takes an active part in the cultural and religious life of the city. It hosts various events, lectures, exhibitions, the temple servants were assisting in the solution of some social problems by organizing free training and technical specialties to everyone, render other assistance.

The site of the temple www.gangaramaya.com

🕐 Working time: daily, 6.00-18.00

💵 Entrance fee / ticket price: entrance to the temple is free, but very actively accepts donations. The entrance to the Museum is RS 100 (40.45 RUB, refer to the currency of Sri Lanka and the exchange rate).

🚶 How to get there: Colombo 2 (Slave Island district), St. Sri Jinaratna Road, 62 (temple Colombo on the map).

To get acquainted with the sights of Colombo, you can choose group or individual tour with him on one of the sites from the list below or choose one of the most popular:

Find tours online (with reviews)

Photo of Gangaramaya temple

Panorama of the Gangaramaya temple in Colombo

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
vitalka787 December 9, 2016
Thank You So Much)) ...
Alexa 13 January, 2017
Good day! how are the flights in connection with the repair of the Colombo airport? There is a delay? Queue? Thank you. ...
Chita Vyacheslav 12 November, 2017
Hello, pliz tell me where to look for the bus with номер187 . Everywhere is different information , some people write after leaving the airport, turn left , turn right others write . How to look for bass . Thank you! ...
admin 12 November, 2017

Hello Sheri! All information is different, because at various times he apparently was sent from different places or simply different tourists caught it on the way. Three years ago he was left at the site, ogorojennaja fence from stacks, netting, car Park. If the situation has not changed, look for it there. But for reliability it is better to ask on the spot, not on the street, the taxi drivers, they immediately say that there is nothing, and inside the airport at the employees at the front Desk and tourist information for example. Make sure you double check/ask again information from several people. ...
ZNAdejda January 14, 2019
Input Board obsolete. Now many churches have tickets (they cost 300-400 rupees per person) plus the cost of photo/video shooting and helpers remuneration for additional services. And donations for the development of the temple a separate issue to the discretion of the individual, and for this purpose there are special boxes. ...
admin 15 January, 2019

Hello! Thanks for the info, we at the Colombo detour last time I did about four years ago. So if you have specific information at a cost to the temples, will share it here. ...
mirobell 18 October, 2019
Please tell me, as at Colombo airport is the situation with queues at the inspection and registration of PI flight?
The memories of Goa covers the horror of possible traffic jams and the need to arrive 5 hours to do everything ...
admin October 18, 2019

Everything is absolutely fine with it. This year I flew immediately after the attacks, while strong security measures are stepped up, a lot of the checks was starting in the street in front of the terminal. But all passed in a matter of minutes. The bigger issue was that due to inspections are not passed to the terminal of the machine, carefully inspect them, so there were huge traffic jams. In the end, simply let go of the taxi and walked the last half kilometer on foot. so quickly turned. But I think now everything has calmed down. ...
Ana 27 October, 2019
Tell me, please, how much time is spent on passing inspection on arrival?
What to take plenty of time from arrival to ordering a taxi? ...
admin October 31, 2019

Hello! Sorry for the delay in response, myself on the trip, do not always have time to answer. All very quickly, I always passed for about 15-20 minutes and in this time have Luggage on the ribbon, was waiting. But I on e-visa drove always, and now you can get free visa on arrival. So add another 30 minutes for a visa if suddenly the queue will be, and to change money, buy SIM card. I would 40 minutes in the end all planned. ...

Храм Гангарамая / Gangaramaya Temple

Храм Гангарамая (Gangaramaya Temple) в Коломбо считается самым богатым и известным на Шри Ланке. Он был построен немногим более 120 лет назад и посвящен буддизму. Среди туристов это достаточно популярное место. Он представляет собой небольшой религиозный комплекс, включающий несколько сооружений, среди которых сам храм, библиотека, музей, учебные классы. В восточной части малого озера Biera находятся два павильона для медитаций (Seema Malakaya), относящиеся также к Гангарамайя. В одном по периметру установлены бронзовые статуи Будды, в другом по центру расположено дерево Бодхи (bodhi) и четыре образа брахманов. По вечерам павильоны освещаются огнями. На территории храма Гангарамая есть еще индуистский храм Ганеши, посвященный богу Сканде.

Храм Гангарамайя, Коломбо, Шри-Ланка

Внутренняя обстановка храма Гангарамая очень яркая и насыщенная, содержит множество изображений Будды и представителей буддийского пантеона, а также статуй Будды. Одним из интересных мест является многоярусная стена, на ступенях которой размещены многочисленные изваяния Будды. Внимания заслуживают большая библиотека с ценными и старинными рукописями, музей с множеством экспонатов, демонстрирующих историю страны. На храмовой площади растет старое дерево, привезенное из Анурадхапуры. Здесь также живет слон, ежегодно участвующий в шествиях, организуемых в праздник Навам Перахера (Navam Perahera), который отмечают в феврале в день полнолуния.

Руководство храма принимает активное участие в культурной и религиозной жизни города. Здесь проводятся различные мероприятия, лекции, выставки, служители храма оказывают содействие в решении некоторых социальных проблем, организуя бесплатное обучение и получение технических специальностей всем желающим, оказывают иную помощь.

Сайт храма www.gangaramaya.com

🕐  Время работы: ежедневно, 6.00-18.00

💵  Входная плата / стоимость билетов: вход в храм бесплатный, но очень активно принимаются пожертвования. Вход в музей 100 рупий (40.74 руб., см. валюта Шри-Ланки и курс обмена).

🚶  Как добраться: Коломбо 2 (район Slave Island), ул. Sri Jinaratna Road, 62 (храм на карте Коломбо).

Чтобы знакомиться с достопримечательностями Коломбо, можете подобрать групповые или индивидуальные экскурсии с гиом на одном из сайтов из списка ниже, или выбрать одну из самых популярных:

Найти экскурсии онлайн (с отзывами)

Фото храма Гангарамая

Панорама храма Гангарамайя в Коломбо

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
vitalka787 9 Декабрь, 2016
Огромное Спасибо)) ...
Алексей_ 13 Январь, 2017
Добрый день! как сейчас проходят прилеты-вылеты в связи с ремонтом аэропорта Коломбо? Задержки есть? Очереди? Спасибо. ...
Вячеслав Чита 12 Ноябрь, 2017
Здравствуйте, подскажите плиз где искать тот самый автобус с номер187 . Везде разная информация , одни пишут после выхода из аэропорта поверните налево , другие пишут поверните направо . Как правильно искать бас . Спасибо! ...
admin 12 Ноябрь, 2017

Здравствуйте Вячеслав! Везде информация разная, потому что в разное время он видимо отправлялся из разных мест, или просто разные туристы ловили его по пути. Три года назад он был слева от выхода на площадке, огороженой забором из стеки-рабицы, как парковка. Если ситуация не изменилась, ищите его там же. Но для надежности лучше спросите на месте, только не на улице у таксистов, те сразу скажут, что нет ничего, а внутри аэропорта у служащих, на стойке туринформации например. И перепроверьте/переспросите информацию у нескольких человек. ...
ZNAdejda 14 Январь, 2019
Информация о входной плате устаревшая. Сейчас уже во многие храмы есть билеты (их стоимость 300-400 рупий с человека), плюс стоимость фото/видео съемки и вознаграждение помогалам за доп. услуги. А пожертвования на развитие храма отдельная тема на усмотрение самого человека и для этих целей есть специальные ящики. ...
admin 15 Январь, 2019

Здравствуйте! Спасибо за информацию, мы по Коломбо объезд последний раз делали примерно четыре года назад. Поэтому если у вас есть конкретная информация по стоимости в храмы, поделитесь здесь. ...
mirobell 18 Октябрь, 2019
Подскажите пожалуйста, а как в аэропорту Коломбо обстоят дела с очередями на досмотре и регистрации пи вылете?
По воспоминаниям из Гоа охватывает ужас о возможных пробках и необходимости приезжать за 5 часов, чтобы все успеть ...
admin 18 Октябрь, 2019

Абсолютно нормально все с этим. Я в этом году улетал сразу после терактов, тогда сильно меры безопасности усилили, много досмотров было начиная с улицы перед терминалом. Но без проблем все прошел за считанные минуты. Больше проблема была в том, что из-за досмотров не пропускали к терминалу машины, тщательно их досматривали, поэтому были огромные пробки. В итоге просто отпусти такси и прошел последние пол километра пешком. так быстрее оказалось. Но думаю, сейчас все успокоилось. ...
Ана 27 Октябрь, 2019
Подскажите, пожалуйста, сколько времени тратиться на проход контроля по прилету?
Какой брать запас по времени от прибытия до заказа такси? ...
admin 31 Октябрь, 2019

Здравствуйте! Простите за задержку с ответом, сам в поездке, не всегда успеваю отвечать. Все очень быстро, я всегда проходил за минут 15-20 и в это время уже багаж на ленте ждал. Но я по электронной визе въезжал всегда, а сейчас можно бесплатно получать визу по прилету. Поэтому добавляйте ещё минут 30 на визу если вдруг очереди будут, и чтобы поменять деньги, купить симку. Я бы минут 40 в итоге на все запланировал. ...