The sacred Bodhi tree or Mahabodhi (Sri Maha Bodhi), Anuradhapura

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.
Священное дерево Бодхи, Анурадхапура

The sacred Bodhi tree or Mahabodhi (Sri Maha Bodhi) is the most revered place of pilgrimage in Anuradhapura. There is always a lot of people, and not only during religious holidays. It is considered the oldest tree planted by man, having a documented history and all planted later and growing now in Sri Lanka, the Bodhi tree (or Bo) are its branches (even his ancestor from India (the city of Bodh Gaya) died, and in its place put the process of Inury). In its essence the same, the Mahabodhi Tree is one of the varieties of ficus.

The Appendix of this wood taken from the trunk of the Bo Tree, under which he attains enlightenment, the Buddha, and brought the nun Sanghamitta (Sanghamitta, daughter of Indian Emperor Asoka (Ashoka) in the third century BC from India. Put him king Devanampiya Tissa (Devanampiya Tissa, St. 307-267 BC) in 249 BC.

The tree itself grows on the pedestal 6.5 m high and surrounded by a gilded railing, some leaning branches are supported by props. On the outer perimeter of he planted trees to protect it from animals and the elements, then another wall with railings. Unfortunately, up close to him is impossible, the entrances are closed and there is security. Near the Tree there is a small Buddhist temple.

In 1929, at the Bodhi tree was made the crazy attack, in which one barrel had been cut down, but still second. And in 1985, a terrorist organization, the liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) had indiscriminately shot people, killed dozens of people. For this reason, today in front of the territory organized inspection of things (separate for men and women), here you need to leave the shoes.

In December and June, there were the days of poya (Poya) - the most important religious holidays associated with the birth of Buddhism in Sri Lanka. All the arriving pilgrims dressed, usually in white robes.

In 140 metres East of the entrance there is an organized Parking (surcharge).

💵 Entrance fee / ticket price: 200 rupees (cm currency of Sri Lanka, the exchange rate).

🚶 How to get: the Bodhi Tree on the interactive map of Anuradhapura

Find tours online (with reviews)

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 30 November, 2017
The site presents guides to Central cities and sites of Sri Lanka:
The cultural triangle
Anuradhapura
Mikindani
Polonnaruwa
Kandy
Sigiriya
Pidurangala
Dambulla
Adam's Peak
Badulla
Pineville
Forest Sinharaja
Mulkirigala
Kandy
Nuwara Eliya
Haputale
Bandarawela
The guides will be supplemented.
In this topic you can ask questions and discuss travelling to these places. Changes to the guides are appreciated :SUPER ...
Competent 5 January, 2018
Correct though Pinnawella at Pinnawala. In English, too. ...
admin 5 January, 2018

Thanks for noticing. As it turns out, the first time for you to remember and pronounce then. It was also with Polonnaruwa-Polonnaruwa for a long time myself retrained. ...
AMN Oct 10, 2018
Assalamu Alaikum.
I would like to ask. can I find in Sri Lanka Halal food
thank you.
and sorry for the mistakes ...
admin October, 10, 2018

Hello! Yes, I can, but this kitchen is not very widespread. Looking for Muslim hotels, if they operate such restaurants. ...
Павел112244466 11 November, 2018
Here you write "you can still get from Matara to Bandarawela" what kind of bus? What's the number? As he goes ?? If you write a guide, write all the information or just certain. ...
helka November 19, 2018
Good day, tell me whether in Polonnaruwa storage or where to leave bags if you arrive there in the morning, walk around the Ancient city, and then go by bus to Kandy. ...
admin 19 November, 2018

Not sure what injury is there. Rather rather sure that they are not, because there is the entrance and ticket control on-street storage no. Maybe there is something in the office selling tickets, but it is unlikely that the Sri Lankans before this would have thought of. If you really look for a place where to leave things, it is best to railway station so should be storage, as on all other stations. Well, in case you can try to negotiate for a nominal amount of staff offices for the sale of tickets or to go into the first hotel and the clerk to negotiate. The last version working and tested 100%.
And generally I on your place would think if you can master this route without lodging. I can understand if it's a tour or car with driver. But to come in a new strange city, to find a place where to leave your Luggage, find the cashier, to get to the entrance, navigate through the vast territory... besides, you need something to get around distances. Will have to find a tuk-tuk for the whole day. IMHO, knowing how difficult travel in hot countries, I would come in the evening, slept, and bright and early the next day I began to explore the Park. ...
helka December 2, 2018
Thank you very much for the reply. The fact that we were coming and so in the morning, so will spend the night in Dambulla, and was planning to rent a tuk tuk for the whole day.
About things have already booked a cheap guest house, where they leave it at that. )) And I hope the night will be in Kandy, because if you come to Polonnaruwa in 10 hours then to 16 hours the time I think that would be enough to see the most important thing, especially on a tuk tuk. ...
admin December 2, 2018

Well, in principle Yes, 6 hours on a tuk-tuk. Determine for yourself the most important thing to look at. I hope our guide to Polonnaruwa read. ...

Священное дерево Бодхи или Махабодхи (Sri Maha Bodhi), Анурадхапура

Священное дерево Бодхи, Анурадхапура

Священное дерево Бодхи или Махабодхи (Sri Maha Bodhi) - самое почитаемое место паломничества в Анурадхапуре. Здесь всегда много людей, и не только в период религиозных праздников. Оно считается самым старым деревом, посаженным человеком, имеющим документально зафиксированную историю, и все посаженные позже и растущие ныне на Шри Ланке деревья Бодхи (или Бо) являются его отростками (даже его предок из Индии (г. Бодх-Гая) погиб, а на его место посадили отросток из Ануры). По своей же сути Дерево Махабодхи относится к одной из разновидности фикуса.

Отросток этого дерева взят от ствола Дерева Бо, под которым обрел просветление Будда, и привезен сюда монахиней Сангамиттой (Sanghamitta, дочерью индийского императора Ашока (Ashoka) в III в. до н.э. из Индии. Посадил его король Деванампия Тисса (Devanampiya Tissa, пр. 307-267 до н.э.) в 249 до н.э.

Само дерево растет на постаменте в 6,5 м высотой и окружено позолоченными перилами, некоторые склонившиеся ветки поддерживаются подпорками. По внешнему периметру от него посажены деревья, чтобы защитить его от животных и стихий, далее еще стена с ограждениями. К сожалению, подняться вплотную к нему нельзя, входы закрыты и стоит охрана. Поблизости от Дерева есть небольшой буддийский храм.

В 1929 году на дерево Бодхи совершилось нападение сумасшедшего, в результате которого один ствол был вырублен, но сохранился второй. А в 1985 г. террористическая организация Тигры освобождения Тамил Илама (ТОТИ) устроили здесь беспорядочный расстрел людей, погибли десятки человек. По этой причине сегодня перед входом на территорию организован досмотр вещей (отдельно для мужчин и женщин), здесь же нужно оставлять обувь.

В декабре и июне здесь отмечаются дни Пойя (Poya) - самые важные религиозные праздники, связанные с зарождением буддизма на Шри Ланке. Все прибывающие паломники одеты, как правило, в белые одежды.

В 140 м. к востоку от входа есть организованная парковка (платная).

💵  Входная плата / стоимость билетов: 200 рупий (см валюта Шри-Ланки, курс обмена).

🚶  Как добраться: Дерево Бодхи на интерактивной карте Анурадхапуры

Найти экскурсии онлайн (с отзывами)
Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 30 Ноябрь, 2017
На сайте представлены путеводители по центральным городам и достопримечательностям Шри-Ланки:
Культурный треугольник
Анурадхапура
Михинтале
Полоннарува
Канди
Сигирия
Пидурангала
Дамбулла
Пик Адама
Бадулла
Пинавелла
Лес Синхаражда
Мулкиригала
Канди
Нувара-Элия
Хапутале
Бандаравела
Путеводители будут дополняться.
В это теме можете задавать вопросы и обсуждать путешествия по этим местам. Правки в путеводители приветствуются :SUPER ...
Грамотная 5 Январь, 2018
Исправьте хоть Пинавелла на Пиннавела. На английском тоже. ...
admin 5 Январь, 2018

Спасибо что заметили. Так уж получается, первый раз как запомниться, так и произносишь потом. Также было с Полоннарувой-Поллонарувой, долго себя переучивал. ...
Амна 10 Октябрь, 2018
Ассаламу Алейкум.
хотела бы спрасить. могу ли я найти в шриланке халал еду
спасибо.
и извените за ошибки ...
admin 10 Октябрь, 2018

Здравствуйте! Да, сможете, но эта кухня не очень широко распространена. Ищите мусульманские отели, при них работают такие рестораны. ...
Павел112244466 11 Ноябрь, 2018
Вот вы пишите «ещё можно добраться из Матары до Бандаравеллы» а каким автобусом? Какой номер? Как он ходит ?? Если уж пишите путеводитель, так пишите всю информацию, либо ограничивайтесь точно известной. ...
helka 19 Ноябрь, 2018
Добрый день, подскажите есть ли в Полоннаруве камеры хранения или где можно оставить чемоданы, если приехать туда утром, погулять по Древнему городу, а потом уехать на автобусе в Канди. ...
admin 19 Ноябрь, 2018

Не уверен, что камеры ранения там есть. Вернее, скорее уверен что их нет, т.к. там вход и контроль билетов прямо на улице, помещения для хранения нет. Может что-то есть в офисе по продаже билетов, но вряд ли ланкийцы до такого бы додумались. Если реально искать место, где оставить вещи, то лучше всего на ж/д станции, так должны быть камеры хранения, как и на всех других станциях. Ну на крайний случай можно попробовать договариваться за символическую сумму с персоналом кассы по продаже билетов или зайти в первый попавшийся отель и на ресепшене договориться. Последний вариант рабочий и проверенный 100%.
А вообще я бы на вашем месте хорошенько подумал, сможете ли вы осилить такой маршрут без ночевки. Я еще понимаю если это с экскурсией или на машине с водителем. Но самим приехать в новый незнакомый город, найти место где оставить багаж, найти кассы, добраться до вход, перемещаться по огромной территории... К тому же нужно на чем-то перемещаться по городу, расстояния большие. Придется найти тук-тук на целый день. ИМХО, зная как тяжело даются путешествия в жарких странах, я бы приехал вечером, выспался, а с утра пораньше на следующий день начал осматривать парк. ...
helka 2 Декабрь, 2018
Спасибо большое за ответ. Дело в том что мы приедем и так с утра, так как будем ночевать в Дамбулле, и планировали снять тук-тук на целый день.
По поводу вещей уже забронировали дешевый гест хаус, там их и оставим. )) А ночевать надеюсь будем уже в Канди, ведь если приехать в Полоннаруву часов в 10 то до часов 16 время думаю хватит что бы осмотреть самое главное, тем более на тук туке. ...
admin 2 Декабрь, 2018

Ну в принципе да, за 6 часов можно на тук-туке. Определите для себя самое главное что посмотреть. Надеюсь, наш путеводитель по Полоннаруве прочитали. ...