Do I need a license in Thailand for rent and drive a scooter

Мотоциклы на прокат в Тайланде

The question of what are the rights for management of transport in Thailand and some of the intricacies of transport rental services we have already examined in detail in the article "rent a motorcycle and a car in Thailand". In short, to manage transport in Thailand necessarily requires an international driving permit (IDP). Is such a law, made in the form of booklets in several languages that are issued in addition to the regular national rights of the bodies of the traffic police. They act only when presented together with your national (domestic) rights, so don't forget to take with you on a trip. To get an IDP is not required to write any exams, you only need to pay a fee. Order them easiest website public services.of the Russian Federation, the value of discount will be 1120 rubles. You can contact the traffic police or the MFC personally, but then the IDP will cost 1600 rubles (price 2018). To pick up right after their manufacture in the traffic police or in the MFC.

But often tourists, the question arises whether it is necessary and right to control low-powered motorcycle or scooter in Thailand. After all got used that at home (at least in Russia) for moped or scooter with an engine displacement less than 50 cubic centimetres and the maximum constructive speed no more 50 km/h don't need any rights. At least, it was until recently, while in 2014 there was introduced the category of "M".

So do I need a license to drive a scooter in Thailand?

Despite the well-established view that the right to drive a scooter in Thailand is not necessary, in fact there has long been the law, according to which control of any mechanical vehicle, which are equal and low powered mopeds and scooters on public roads in Thailand you must have a driver's license. This follows from the 1979 act "Motor Vehicle Act", article 42:

Section 42

Anyone who wishes to drive a motor vehicle on public roads must possess an appropriate driver's license. The driver must carry the driver's license and a photocopy of the registration book and show them to competent officers upon request. This does not apply for those who are learning to drive a motor vehicle according to the provision of Section 57.

If the driver is an alien who doesn't have an immigrant visa, he may drive a motor vehicle with a driver's license specified in the Section 42-2. In such a case, he must carry documents specified by the treaty between the Thai government and the government which issued such driver's license, and show them to competent officers upon request.

Now as to what's the category for a motorcycle. Here all not so is simple, as in all the laws, but try to understand. The above Thai law sets out to control the motorcycle, regardless of engine size and speed. And no "l" category for mopeds of less than 50 cubic centimeters Thais don't know. But police know very well categories established in the Vienna Convention on road traffic, and that categories A and A1 (for A1 motorcycles with an engine capacity less than 125cc). And we have a valid order, when you can drive a low powered mopeds fall under the category of "M", if there is any open category "A", "b", "C", etc. is also not working.

Summary: in order to operate in Thailand, a motorcycle, a moped or scooter of any size motor on the public roads is fully legal, you need to have a license with an open category "A".

In practice, when taking a rental motorcycle or scooter you almost never one right way. But sometimes police raids and mass check in of tourists, especially on the popular Thai resorts. Also if you break the rules and get stopped out, you throw another fine for driving without a license.

Of course, you can almost always pay off, and it all depends on the ability to bargain. As seasoned travelers tell us, for driving without a license they would only bribe from 300 to 1000 baht (see currency of Thailand and the exchange rate). But still we recommend you to open house category "A" and recover in Thailand, not for problems on the roads, and for other adventures.

🕒 October 16, 2018

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
traveller Oct 11, 2017
In October 2017 20 popular beaches of Thailand for an experiment, and it will be a complete ban on Smoking on the beaches. The need has arisen due to the fact that the sand on the beaches began to find a huge number of cigarette "bulls". On the one hand it is good, but for Smoking on the beaches impose enormous fines of 100,000 baht or one year in prison! For Smoking!!! The ban will be marked with signs, so watch carefully if you don't know where it is entered. But information about the beaches, where there will be a ban. zapret.jpg As you can see, under the ban hit the beaches in Pattaya, Cha-am, Patong in Phuket, the beaches in Krabi. ...
antoch of 18 October, 2017
Hi all. Somewhere seen information that tiende banned electronic cigarettes. Anyone on this site heard? Really? ...
admin October 18, 2017
All right, prohibited, and a violation is punishable by a fine. ...
Марина1975 16 February, 2018
Hello. Whether in Thailand to share our new two-thousand bills?)) ...
admin 16 February, 2018
I don't know about the two thousandth, but to change our money in Thailand is not worth it. The course is very disadvantageous. ...
team 6 March, 2018
Hello. Prompt how better to go to Thailand, savage, or through a travel Agency? If a savage, then of course we will save money,but is it safe? The experience of the trip through a travel Agency you already have. ...
admin March 6, 2018
Hello! Rather, the question is not for this topic, the issue of the independent or with a travel Agency is discussed here - https://nashaplaneta.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=4676. And the answer is ambiguous. Specifically to Thailand, here is my answer: self is not dangerous, and much more interesting. But what about the fact that will save, not everything is clear. If you go also, just as in a standard tour for 10-14 days in one place the type of hotel, beach, it is likely not save, and Vice versa. If you go on a period of several weeks, and even with the move, visiting some of the resorts/cities, then of course it will be cheaper. ...
sergei 30 July, 2018
I can't understand when I change my dollars to date me to watch the course of buy or sale ? ...
admin 12 August, 2018
Sorry for the delay, was traveling and missed your "Goethe" message. Buy - buy dollars on such a course, sale - sell dollars at a certain rate. Ie, you need to look for the course "buy" ...
21 August, 2018
To the question about electronic cigarettes - Yes! They are banned in Thailand. For the import, use - you find yourself in the police, what the enemy does not want. ...

Rate the article:
(6 votes, score: 4.8 out of 5)

Нужны ли права в Тайланде для аренды и управления скутером

Мотоциклы на прокат в Тайланде

Вопрос о том, какие нужны права для управления транспортом в Тайланде и некоторых тонкостях аренды транспорта мы уже подробно рассмотрели в статье «Аренда мотоцикла и автомобиля в Тайланде». Если вкратце, то для управления транспортом в Тайланде в обязательном порядке требуется международное водительское удостоверение (МВУ). Это такие права, выполненные в виде книжечки на нескольких языках, которые выдаются в дополнение к обычным национальным правам органами ГИБДД. Они действую только при предъявлении совместно с вашими национальными (домашними) правами, так что не забудьте их также взять с собой в поездку. Для получения МВУ не требуется сдавать никаких экзаменов, нужно только оплатить пошлину. Заказать их проще всего на сайте госуслуги.рф, стоимость со скидкой составит 1120 рублей. Можно обратиться в ГИБДД или МФЦ лично, но тогда МВУ обойдется в 1600 рублей (цена 2018 года). Забрать права после их изготовления можно в ГИБДД или в МФЦ.

Но часто у туристов возникает вопрос о том, а нужны ли вообще права для управления маломощным мотоциклом или скутером в Тайланде. Ведь все привыкли, что у нас дома (по крайней мере в РФ) для управления мопедом или скутером с объемом двигателя менее 50 кубических сантиметров и максимальной конструктивной скоростью не более 50 км/час не нужно никаких прав. По крайней мере, так было до недавних пор, пока в 2014 году не была введена категория «M».

Так нужны ли права для управления скутером в Тайланде?

Несмотря на устоявшееся мнение, что права для управления скутером в Тайланде не нужны, на самом деле здесь уже давно действует закон, согласно которому для управления любым механическим транспортным средством, к которым приравниваются и маломощные мопеды и скутеры, на дорогах общественного пользования в Тайланде необходимо наличие водительского удостоверения. Это следует из закона 1979 года «Motor Vehicle Act», статья 42:

Section 42

Anyone who wishes to drive a motor vehicle on public roads must possess an appropriate driver's license. The driver must carry the driver's license and a photocopy of the registration book and show them to competent officers upon request. This does not apply for those who are learning to drive a motor vehicle according to the provision of Section 57.

If the driver is an alien who doesn't have an immigrant visa, he may drive a motor vehicle with a driver's license specified in the Section 42-2. In such a case, he must carry documents specified by the treaty between the Thai government and the government which issued such driver's license, and show them to competent officers upon request.

Теперь что касается того, какая же нужна категория для управления мотоциклом. Здесь все не так просто, как и в любых законах, но попробуем разобраться. Вышеуказанный тайский закон устанавливает для управления мотоциклами отдельную категорию, причем независимо от объема двигателя и скорости. И никакой категории «M» для мопедов объемом менее 50 кубических сантиметров тайцы не знают. Зато полицейские прекрасно знают про категории, установленные Венской конвенцией о дорожном движении, а это категории A и A1 (А1 для мотоциклов с объемом двигателя менее 125 кубических сантиметров). И действующий у нас порядок, когда вы можете управлять маломощными мопедами, попадающими под категорию «М», при наличии любой открытой категории «А», «В», «С» и т.д. здесь тоже не работает.

Итог: для того, чтобы управлять в Тайланде мотоциклом, мопедом или скутером с любым объемом двигателя на дорогах общественного пользования полностью легально, вам необходимо иметь права с открытой категорией «А».

На практике, при взятии в аренду мотоцикла или скутера у вас почти никогда никто права не попросит. Но вот полицейские иногда устраивают рейды и массово проверяют наличие в/у у туристов, особенно на популярных тайских курортах. Также если вы нарушите правила и будете остановлены, вам накинут еще и штраф за езду без прав.

Конечно, почти всегда можно откупиться, и тут все зависит от умения торговаться. Как рассказывают бывалые туристы, за езду без прав они отделывались взяткой от 300 до 1000 бат (см. валюта Тайланда и курс обмена). Но все же мы рекомендуем вам открыть дома категорию «А» и оправляться в Тайланд не за проблемами на дорогах, а совсем за другими приключениями.

🕒 16 Октября, 2018

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
traveller 11 Октябрь, 2017
В октябре 2017 года на 20 популярных пляжах Тайланда будет проведен эксперимент, а именно, будет введен полный запрет на курение на данных пляжах. Такая необходимость возникла из-за того, что в песке на пляжах стали находить огромное количество сигаретных "бычков". С одной стороны это хорошо, но с другой, за курение на пляжах вводят огромные штрафы - 100 000 бат или один год тюрьмы! За курение!!! Запрет будет обозначен знаками, так что внимательно следите, если не знаете, где он введен. А вот информация о пляжах, где будет введен запрет. zapret.jpg Как видите, под запрет попали пляжи в Паттаей, в Ча-аме, Патонг на Пхукете, пляжи в Краби. ...
Антох 18 Октябрь, 2017
Привет всем. Где-то встречал информацию, что в тиланде запретили электронные сигареты. Кто что на этот счет слышал? Правда? ...
admin 18 Октябрь, 2017
Все верно, запрещены, нарушение наказывается штрафом. ...
Марина1975 16 Февраль, 2018
Здравствуйте. Принимают ли в Тайланде к обмену наши новые двухтысячные купюры?)) ...
admin 16 Февраль, 2018
Не знаю насчет двухтысячных, но менять наши деньги в тае не стоит. Курс очень невыгодный. ...
Манарбек 6 Март, 2018
Здравствуйте. Подскажите, как лучше поехать в тайланд, дикарем или же через турфирму? Если дикарем, то мы конечно сэкономим деньги,но не опасно ли это? Опыт поездки через турфирму уже имеется. ...
admin 6 Март, 2018
Здравствуйте! Вопрос скорее не для этой темы, отдельно вопрос самостоятельное или с турфирмой обсуждается здесь - https://nashaplaneta.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=4676. И ответ неоднозначный. Если конкретно по Тайланду, вот мой ответ: самостоятельно неопасно, и гораздо интереснее. Но вот насчет того, что сэкономите, не все однозначно. Если поедете также как ив стандартный тур на 10-14 дней в одно место для отдыха по типу отель-пляж, то скорее всего не сэкономите, а наоборот. Если же поедете на срок от нескольких недель, да еще и с переездами, посещением нескольких курортов/городов, то тогда конечно выйдет дешевле. ...
sergei 30 Июль, 2018
Я не могу понять , когда я меняю доллары на даты мне смотреть курс buy или sale ? ...
admin 12 Август, 2018
Простите за задержку, был в поездке и пропустил ваше "госетвое" сообщение. Buy - покупаем доллары по такому-то курсу, sale - продаем доллары по такому-то курсу. Т.е. смотреть нужно на курс "buy" ...
21 Август, 2018
К вопросу про электронные сигареты - да! Они под запретом в Таиланде. За ввоз, употребление - вы окажитесь в полиции, чего врагу не пожелаешь. ...

Оцените статью:
(6 голосов, оценка: 4.8 из 5)