The legend of Mahsuri and the curse of Langkawi island

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.
Потомки Махсури The descendants of Mahsuri, photos from the Museum

On Langkawi island there is very beautiful and sad legend about beautiful girl Mahsuri (Mahsuri). There was a story in the 19th century, and locals believe that Mahsuri was a real person, and there are even the descendants of her family. Some versions of the legends talk about Princess Mahsuri, but actually it's not, and she was a simple girl, daughter of immigrants from the island of Phuket in Siam (today Thailand). She was the most beautiful girl on the island, and was married to a warrior van Darosa (Wan Darus), brother of the head of the village, Padang Matsirat, the then capital of the island.

One day her husband went to war with the Siamese (Thais). While he was away, Mahsuri befriended a traveler who arrived on the island, but their relationship was pure. But all women on the island was very jealous of her beauty, and was especially jealous of her sister-in-law, who was the wife of the head of the village. She began to spread rumors that Mahsuri was unfaithful to her husband, and that at the time was a great crime, which was punished by death. Despite the excuses of innocence, the villagers sentenced her to death.

Кинжал "Крис"

The execution was brutal. Girl tied to a pole and began to deprive of life through traditional dagger "Chris". But as they did not try to kill her, she didn't die, but suffered greatly. Then she prayed and said to the executioners, that only her ancestral dagger could kill her. When the executioners used a generic dagger, she finally stopped torturing himself, and died, and her wounds began to leak white blood as a sign of innocence. The villagers in horror realized that executing the innocent, but it was too late. With the last sighs Mahsuri whispered, cursed the island and all its inhabitants, and misery will crumble on them for seven generations.

The locals truly believe in the legend and believe that the curse is finally over at the end of the last century. They argue that since the island began to live in peace, it ceased to happen the troubles and tragedy, and began to develop tourism.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin January 25, 2012
Information about the Langkawi island attractions on the website
Here to discuss sights, what to see and do in Langkawi ...
4va3dcc 25 January, 2012
The lake Dayang Bunting really has magical powers ("lake of the pregnant maiden") ))) was there in the spring of 2011. The beauty of the unforgettable ... Now waiting for the birth of our son! ...
I 25 January, 2012

I congratulate you! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) ...
ender 26 January, 2012

Congratulations, probably not the only lake affected, but also emotions from a romantic getaway. ;) ...
5 February, 2012
About the "cable car" from 17:00 to 19:00 there is a special price for adults is RM15, RM10 for children.
There is no such!!! Came and had to pay 30RM. ...
I 5 February, 2012

Sorry, but were. We bought tickets for that time in the hotel, changed place on the cards. Maybe that's why it was so. ...
admin February 6, 2012

Also sorry that happened :( . This is not due to the fact that the property bought, and the price was officially published. Unfortunately for all will not follow, and even information from their official website http://www.panoramalangkawi.com/visitor-info/maintenance-schedule sometimes brings. Changes to the site made, thank you. ...
anonimous1 11 October, 2012
Hello! And tell me the sights that are worth visiting. The rating sites, so to speak, where to go and where not. Thank you. ...
admin 11 October, 2012

Almost all of the major attractions of Langkawi I described here. Here you rating. Read, then discuss and answer the questions. ...

Rate the article:
(1 votes, rating: 3 out of 5)

Легенда о Махсури и проклятие острова Лангкави

Потомки Махсури Потомки Махсури, фото из музея

На острове Лангкави существует очень красивая и печальная легенда о прекрасной девушке Махсури (Mahsuri). Произошла эта история в 19-м веке, и местные верят, что Махсури была реальным человеком, и существуют даже потомки ее семьи. Некоторые версии легенды рассказывают о принцессе Махсури, но на самом деле это не так, и она была простой девушкой, дочерью выходцев с острова Пхукет в Сиаме (сегодня Тайланд). Она была самой красивой девушкой на острове, и была замужем за воином Ван Дарусом (Wan Darus), братом главы деревни Padang Matsirat, тогдашней столицы острова.

Однажды ее муж отправился на войну с сиамцами (тайцами). Пока он отсутствовал, Махсури подружилась с путешественником, прибывшим на остров, но их отношения были чистыми. Но все женщины на острове очень сильно завидовали ее красоте, а особенно завидовала ее золовка, которая была женой главы деревни. Она начала распускать слухи о том, что Махсури изменяет мужу, а это в то время было большое преступление, которое каралось казнью. Несмотря на оправдания в невиновности, жители деревни приговорили ее к смерти.

Кинжал "Крис"

Казнь была жестокой. Девушку привязали к столбу и стали лишать жизни с помощью традиционного кинжала «Крис». Но сколько они не пытались убить ее, она не умирала, хотя и очень сильно мучилась. Тогда она взмолилась и сказала палачам, что только ее родовой кинжал может убить ее. Когда палачи использовали родовой кинжал, она наконец-то перестала мучится и умерла, а из ее ран стала вытекать белая кровь – знак невиновности. Жители деревни в ужасе поняли, что казнили невиновную, но было уже слишком поздно. С последними вздохами Махсури прошептала, что проклинает остров и всех его жителей, и беды будут сыпаться на них целых семь поколений.

Местные жители искренне верят в легенду и считают, что проклятие наконец-то закончилось в конце прошлого века. Они утверждают, что с тех пор остров стал жить мирно, на нем перестали происходить беды и трагедии, и стал развиваться туризм.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 25 Jan 2012, 08:54
Информация о достопримечательностях острова Лангкави на сайте Здесь обсуждаем достопримечательности, что посмотреть и чем заняться на Лангкави ...
4va3dcc 25 Jan 2012, 08:54
Озеро Dayang Bunting действительно обладает чудодейственной силой ("Озеро беременной девы") ))) Были там весной 2011. Красота незабываемая ... Сейчас ждем рождения нашего сыночка! ...
svetka 25 Jan 2012, 15:13
Поздравляю вас! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) ...
ender 26 Jan 2012, 12:27
Поздравляю, наверное не только озеро повлияло, но и эмоции от романтического отдыха. ;) ...
05 Feb 2012, 15:24
По поводу "Канатная дорога" с 17:00 до 19:00 действует специальная цена для взрослых – RM15, для детей RM10. Нет такого!!! Специально приехали и пришлось платить по 30RM. ...
svetka 05 Feb 2012, 18:07
Жаль, а была. Мы покупали билеты на это время в отеле, и меняли на месте уже на карточки. Может поэтому было так. ...
admin 06 Feb 2012, 05:05
Тоже сожалею, что так получилось :( . Это не из-за того, что в отеле покупали, а такая цена была официально опубликована. К сожалению за всем не уследишь, и даже информация с офиц сайта http://www.panoramalangkawi.com/visitor-info/maintenance-schedule иногда подводит. Изменения на сайт внесены, спасибо. ...
anonimous1 11 Oct 2012, 06:07
Здравствуйте! А подскажите достопримечательности, которые стоит посетить. Рейтинг достопримечательностей, так сказать, куда стоит поехать а куда нет. Спасибо. ...
admin 11 Oct 2012, 16:23
Практически все основные достопримечательности Лангкави я описал здесь. Вот вам в принципе и рейтинг. Прочитайте, потом можем пообсуждать и отвечать на вопросы. ...