Angkor Thom: Terrace Of The Leper King

General information, history

Терраса Прокаженного Короля: общий вид

Terrace of the Leper King (Terrace of the Leper King) is located in the Central part of Angkor Thom, just North of the terrace of Elephants.

The name of the Terrace of the Leper King is directly related to conditions found during the clearing of this place Buddha statues. At the same time put forward several versions of the origin of the name: the first is that the statue was covered with lichen, in appearance resembling a skin disease; second, that the king (Jayavarman VII) was sick with leprosy. The third is that it was a statue of king Yama, the Lord of death and justice, which has ruled the destinies of people after death: where would they go to hell or heaven. The latest version, according to scientists, more true. Therefore, the main purpose of the Terraces was to provide her justice. But there is another feature of the Terraces is the Royal cremation of deceased persons (according to some here and in our days).

Статуя Будды на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

Presented to our view on the Terrace of the statue is a copy. The original is in the National Museum Phnom Penh.

Dedicated to Buddhism style Bayon.

Built in the late XII century, during the reign of Jayavarman VII (Jayavarman VII who ruled from 1181 1220). Clearing of land started in the beginning of XX century, and restoration work in the 60-70-ies of XX century

Interest located on the upper platform of the statue of the Buddha, and numerous bas-reliefs on the walls of the outer and inner galleries are worth going to see.

Orientation, tips for inspection

Барельефы на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

Is on a line with the Terrace of the Elephants, but is a freestanding building (see the Terrace of the Leper King of Angkor on the map). Her visit is carried out jointly with the inspection of the Terrace of the Elephants (if going South) or after the TEP Pranam (if to move from the North).

Terrace of the Leper King is a monolithic structure of cylindrical shape with a diameter of 25m and a height of 6m. It has two galleries of bas-reliefs: external and internal. The internal gallery, in contrast to the external, hidden from the eyes and situated a few meters beyond the outer wall, the entrance to it is from the South, slightly to the right of the ascent to the upper platform of the Terrace. Climb up to the Buddha statue can be South or North sides.

North-West of the Terrace is the pool, facing it on the West side retained a few of the images on the marine theme.

Time required it is necessary to allocate about a quarter of an hour.

The best time for photo – morning, when the sun is not too high.

Design, architecture

Барельефы на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

The external gallery Terraces of the Leper King contains bas-reliefs with figures of armed men, apsaras, demons, and other, which are seated in a row very close to each other. Image placed in seven rows horizontally, the top one – seventh the number is almost preserved. All the panels are very well preserved and quite interesting, however, especially if you don't look closely, the impression of monotony and monotony.

An internal gallery was built much earlier than the external, but the external wall it was covered with earth and is cleaned only during restoration work, but because it is in much better preservation than the outer wall. Inconspicuous entrance to the gallery is on the South side, and leads through a narrow passage to the North exit on the upper platform of the Terrace. Here the bas-reliefs are divided into four horizontal rows and represent the variety of shapes of marine life (fish, crocodiles), animals (elephants), unchanged apsaras and Garhoud, people, warriors and others. Angles gallery in some places, decorated with bas-reliefs of Nagas (snakes) and Garuda (bird).

Also should pay attention to the Northern wall of the external gallery, where there are images of the Palace scenes.

Туры - 728*90
Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 17 Mar 2013, 11:00
The site provides information and guide to the subject of Angkor:
Angkor: General information, history
Angkor: entrance fees, time, transportation and other helpful information
Angkor: temples and routes inspection
Detailed information on individual churches:
Angkor Wat
Angkor Thom
TA Prohm
Banteay Kdey

It is not yet all work on the guide is ongoing and will be updated.
Here you can ask questions and discuss the issue on Angkor.
Any help in the work on the guide is welcomed. ...
Svetlanas 13 Sep 2014, 13:06
Thank you for your article, everything in detail. But not about all the churches, will be continued? ...
admin 13 Sep 2014, 13:49
A continuation of course. But all the temples of Angkor to describe almost impossible, this requires a separate site. ...
Anna Reutin 22 Nov 2014, 04:24
Add about routes. If you have a limited amount of time (1-2 days), you will have time to watch only so-called "small ring" of Church buildings. If you are willing to stay on a little longer - feel free to plan a "big ring". Although after a couple of days all of these facilities are already stale ( ...
Igor Ognev 01 May 2017, 12:24
Prices are not the same. One-day ticket not 20, and November 2016 is 37 USD ...
Levontiy.CHyanov 28 May 2017, 14:13
"At the entrance to the Bayon and Baphuon is the input control, in other temples he is missing."
tickets to Angkor Tom are sold separately from ankorwat or not ? control in these two temples and at the entrance to the gate not ? Bike and stutered you can go inside both complexes, is that right ? There's also stairs for the bridges, as the scooter in drag, and is it possible ? ...
admin 28 may 2017, 15:10
The separate tickets to Angkor Thom no, his visit is included in the cost of the ticket to the Angkor complex. Control not only in these temples, but what does it matter: buy tickets and view whatever you want, where you ask, submit a ticket.
Where did you get the information that bikes and scooters can ride inside the temples? Between them, and to the historical and religious object to move did not hear that. By the way, scooter rental in Siem reap was banned, if something is not changed. ...
Levontiy.CHyanov 31 Oct 2017, 08:23
...

Ангкор Том: Терраса Прокаженного Короля

РЕКЛАМА: ВЫГОДНЫЕ ТУРЫ 

Общая информация, история

Терраса Прокаженного Короля: общий вид

Терраса Прокаженного Короля (Terrace of the Leper King) находится в центральной части Ангкор Тома, к северу от Террасы Слонов.

Название Террасы Прокаженного Короля непосредственно связано с найденной при расчистке на этом месте статуи Будды. При этом выдвигается несколько версий происхождения названия: первая – то, что найденная статуя была покрыта лишайником, по внешнему виду напоминающему кожное заболевание; вторая – то, что сам король (Джаяварман VII) был болен проказой. Третья же состоит в том, что это была статуя царя Ямы, повелителя смерти и справедливости, который вершил судьбы людей после их смерти: куда им идти в ад или рай. Последняя версия, по мнению ученых, более истинная. В связи с чем, главным назначением Террасы было осуществление с нее правосудия. Но есть и еще одна функция Террасы – это кремация почивших королевских персон (по некоторым данным происходит здесь и в наши дни).

Статуя Будды на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

Представленная нашему взору на Террасе статуя – это копия. Оригинал находится в Национальном Музее г. Пномпень.

Посвящена буддизму, стиль Байон.

Построена в конце XII в., в период правления Джаявармана VII (Jayavarman VII, правил с 1181 по 1220 гг.). Расчистка территории начата в начале XX в., а восстановительные работы в 60-70-х гг. XX в.

Интерес представляют находящаяся на верней платформе статуя Будды, а также многочисленные барельефы на стенах внешней и внутренней галерей, которые обязательно стоит посмотреть.

Ориентация, советы для осмотра

Барельефы на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

Располагается на одной линии с Террасой Слонов, но является отдельно стоящим сооружением (см. Террасу Прокаженного Короля на карте Ангкора). Ее посещение осуществляют совместно с осмотром Террасы Слонов (если идти с юга), либо после Теп Пранама (если двигаться с севера).

Терраса Прокаженного Короля представляет собой монолитное сооружение цилиндрической формы с диаметром 25м и высотой стен 6м. Она имеет две галереи с барельефами: внешнюю и внутреннюю. Внутренняя галерея, в отличии от внешней, скрыта от глаз и находится в паре метров за внешней стеной, вход в нее располагается с юга, немного правее подъема на верхнюю платформу Террасы. Подняться наверх к статуе Будды можно с южной или северной сторон.

Северо-западнее от Террасы находится бассейн, облицовка его с западной стороны сохранила несколько изображений на морскую тему.

Время на осмотр стоит выделить примерно четверть часа.

Лучше время для фото – первая половина дня, когда солнце еще не слишком высоко.

Конструкция, архитектура

Барельефы на Террасе Прокаженного Короля

Внешняя галерея Террасы Прокаженного Короля содержит барельефы с фигурами вооруженных людей, апсар, демонов и прочие, которые усажены в ряд очень близко друг к другу. Изображения размещены в семь рядов по горизонтали, самый верхний – седьмой ряд почти не сохранился. Все панно очень хорошо сохранились и достаточно интересны, однако, если особо не вглядываться, производят впечатление однообразности и монотонности.

Внутренняя галерея построена намного раньше внешней, но при строительстве внешней стены она была засыпана землей и очищена лишь во время восстановительных работ, а потому она находится в гораздо лучшей сохранности, чем внешняя стена. Неприметный вход в галерею находится с южной стороны, и ведет по узкому проходу к северному выходу на верхнюю платформу Террасы. Здесь барельефы поделены на четыре горизонтальных ряда и представляют множество фигур морских обитателей (рыбы, крокодилы), животных (слоны), неизменных апсар и гаруд, людей, воинов и прочих. Углы галереи в некоторых местах оформлены барельефами нагов (змеи) и гаруд (птицы).

Также стоит уделить внимание северной стене внешней галереи, где есть изображения дворцовых сцен.

Найти экскурсии онлайн (с отзывами)

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
admin 13 Сентябрь, 2014

Продолжение конечно же будет. Но все храмы Ангкора описать практически нереально, для этого нужен целый отдельный сайт. ...
Анна Реутина 22 Ноябрь, 2014
Добавлю про маршруты. Если вы располагаете ограниченным количеством времени (1-2 дня), то успеете посмотреть только так называемое "малое кольцо" храмовых сооружений. Если готовы задержаться на подольше - смело планируйте "большое кольцо". Хотя спустя пару дней все эти сооружения уже приедаются ( ...
Игорь Огнев 1 Май, 2017
Цены уже не те. Однодневный билет не 20, а с ноября 2016 - 37 USD ...
Levontiy.CHyanov 28 Октябрь, 2017
«При входе в Байон и Бапуон осуществляется входной контроль, в остальные храмы он отсутствует»
билеты в анкор том продаются отдельно от анкорвата или нет ? контроль только в этих двух храмах, а при входе, в воротах его нет ? На велосипедах и стутерах можно ездить внутри обеих комплексов, это точно ? Там же ступеньки за мостами, как скутер втащить, да и можно ли ? ...
admin 28 Октябрь, 2017

Билетов отдельно в Ангкор Том нет, его посещение входит в стоимость билета в комплекс Ангкор. Контроль не только в этих храмах, но какое это имеет значение: покупаете билеты и осматриваете все что хотите, где попросят, предъявляете билет.
Откуда у вас информация, что на велосипедах и скутерах можно ездить внутри храмов? Между ними можно, а чтобы на территорию исторического и культового объекта въехать - не слышал такого. Кстати, прокат скутеров в Сиемреапе был запрещен, если что-то не изменилось. ...
Levontiy.CHyanov 31 Октябрь, 2017
...
Katerina1 20 Январь, 2018
Как много мест мне стоит посетитить то..) ...
Akropesgreox 4 Март, 2018
Посоветуйте правильный путеводитель по храмам Ангкор Вата. Хотим заехать в Сим Рип на несколько дней и посмотреть хорошо Ангкор. ...
admin 4 Март, 2018

Начните с нашего - https://nashaplaneta.net/asia/cambo/angkor ...
Katerina1 25 Июль, 2018
вы самостоятельно или с тур оператором но посмотреть храмы хотите сами? ...