The tricks and scams in Vietnam

Vietnam is a wonderful, interesting and safe country. But, unfortunately, experienced tourists and travelers have long known that the number of wiring and various tattoos with the aim of taking money from tourists here is incredibly high. Perhaps no other country in South-East Asia boasts such a large number of ways to obtain a tourist a few extra dollars for anything. And it's not just about the ingenuity and the number of these methods, but the magnitude of this phenomenon. And the scale of these enormous built in method of doing business: trying to fuck everywhere and always, from state institutions to travel agencies. And those tourists who believe that he had been in Vietnam and no one is fooled, really just don't know that they were deceived.

The truth is to say that, fortunately, wiring in Vietnam are mostly small, not violent. You will be forced to buy something at an inflated price, will be required to pay a couple of dollars for nonexistent services, accidentally charging your credit card twice the amount for dinner and the like. No one, as a rule, not trying to take tourists to the last thread, although it happens. But, whatever it was, the residue from even the most minor wiring remains, especially when you realise that, despite the fact that Vietnam is a very inexpensive country, tourists sometimes have to pay for everything twice, and even thrice.

The main cure conman in Vietnam, in my opinion, the care and audacity. Mindfulness will allow you to recognize that you are trying to get out or already pinned, and his arrogance you can get your money back, and not just humbly give up: "even if, say, they choke my couple of dollars". You should never be afraid to make trouble and demand the return of your money, give up anything to pay if you are right and the situation is not too dangerous. If you see that the situation is too dangerous (and this happens), it is better to silently take his feet. Another tip – always negotiate the price beforehand, make sure that between you and the seller did not have any misconception. To fifteen dollars (fifteen) suddenly grew into a fifty (fifty); it was discussed that you will get for your money and so on. Sometimes you should not be ashamed and agree a price on paper so that everyone can understand: to believe the word Vietnam is not anywhere.

Here's some quite popular scams in Vietnam:

  • The Commission from credit card. When paying with a credit card in a restaurant or travel Agency from the map without further warnings may take a Commission of several percent per transaction (up to 10%). To combat this, before buying check whether there are additional fees.
  • Substitution of bills. When calculating cash instead of 100,000 Dong (see Vietnam currency, exchange rate) you can give 10 000 and 500 000 instead of 20 000. These bills are very similar in color, therefore carefully check the numbers.
  • Double withdrawal from credit card. Your card will be swiped and say: "Sorry, this terminal does not work. Let the friend pay". The money card will not be charged twice. To fight, you need to carefully monitor the status of the account, and even better to connect sms-notification. If you have already removed twice, the problem is quite easily solved by contacting your Bank.
  • Divorce from rocker. One of the classic conman. Makashnits with a yoke stick to the tourists with the offer to take a photo with their arm, and then demand money for it.
  • Toll bridges. For crossing some bridges (supposedly a private, family) may require cost a few dollars. Of course, there are no signs that this is a toll bridge, no. The easiest way to get rid – just pretend that do not understand English, answer in Russian and leave.
  • Factory disabled. To help people with disabilities need, especially if they try and work. But here at Vietnamese factories, where work persons with disabilities and which is usually imported tourists (they do paintings, sculptures, etc.) prices why-that is almost two times higher than for the same products on the market.
  • Expensive toilet. Usually visit a public toilet in Vietnam is 2,000 Dong. But if you give bill a 5 or 10 thousand VND, the change you most likely will not receive. You just say that the price for foreigners is higher, or will pretend to know nothing. The same applies to other services such as Parking for motorcycles or cars: if you don't ask the prices before you take all that you can.
  • Additional charges during excursions. If you buy a tour for $ 50, it does not mean that the guides during the tour will not try to squeeze a dozen or so dollars for tickets, food and so on. Please ask before buying, tours, what does it include and what not to include.
  • Paid Parking. There is Parking where your transport will really look and give the ticket for payment (the average price of 3000 Dong for Parking a motorcycle). But sometimes if you put the bike where there is no official Parking, the nearest vendor will require money from you for Parking. Moreover, the demand will be already when you get back, and unrealistic amounts.
  • High prices in public transport. For local transport you may require two to three times more than the local. It is especially popular on the bus route – da Nang-Hoi an, where instead of 18 000 VND you will be charged up to 50 000. So don't let the conductor of a major bill (not a get) and haggle.
  • Guide services involuntarily. In the temples you can come across young people who are represented by priests and will accompany you. Then for their services they ask for donations for the temple, and referred to a specific amount (say a considerable need for such services). No relation to the temple in fact these crooks have, and donations put it in his pocket. Such assistants can send or drop donations in a special box for donations (Donation Box) in each temple.
  • The false red cross. The streets of Vietnam go the young people who appear to be employees of the red cross and collect money from tourists. They choose their "victim" in not too crowded places and begin the long tedious to tell how they are all bad and show all sorts of lists with amounts, given how much other tourists. There is a big suspicion that they are just beggars and crooks.
  • Students with questionnaires. If you want to apply the Vietnamese and asked to take the survey and complete the questionnaire, you should know that it's just an excuse to get your attention. After filling in the questionnaires will be followed by begging money for the restoration of churches, monuments, or to help poor Vietnamese people in the face of these young people.
  • Wiring in ha long. In Halong Bay, when you approach to a floating village, tour guide will tell you that the boat rides will cost $ 2, and after that will disappear. But when you already sit in the boat (and make it quite difficult, as the boat rocking), you will require not less than $ 5. So agree a price with the boatmen before boarding themselves.
  • A ride to the train. /Railway stations in Vietnam at the entrance to the platform for you to "roll up" officially priotity fake officer who will check your tickets and escort you to the car. Of course, then followed by the requirement to pay a couple of dollars.
  • Pedicabs. For a trip to a few meters trishaw can roll you a bill for the taxi ride across town. Before planting, be sure to check the price. Pedicabs are generally very siliconate and work all bands can just get to a quiet place and demand big money.
  • Klofelinschica. Here even there is nothing to explain, everything is the same as everywhere else: picked up a girl in the morning woke up with no money and pants.
  • Dear girls. Popular all over the world wiring: you pick a girl and she turns you on in a restaurant or café. Then a couple of glasses of beer you will be billed hundreds of dollars, because you didn't look at the prices on the menu.

Given the ingenuity of Vietnamese, this list can be extended indefinitely. If you have something to add and something to share in this question, write on the forum.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
remark1973 01 Nov 2014, 18:40
All known modern history of Vietnam. Many years of war badly affected the financial possibilities of the population It is a poor country so the Vietnamese have adapted to all kinds of petty cheating. They are not trustworthy. ...
Foxa 01 Feb 2015, 09:55
Of course, in all countries and in Vietnam it is necessary to look at both! In Saigon we caught at once for a divorce with coconut. :) Heat, thirsty. Then, just across the Vietnamese coconuts to us - say, won't you? Of course, we stretched grab a coconut with a straw, and then ask: How much? The answer discouraged a bit - $ 10! Gave what to do. But I realized that first you need to ask them - how much? And then pull your hands for something.
By the way, the price of coconut is $ 1, then it is so much for them already and paid. :) ...
Igor' 02 Feb 2015, 07:56
About the taxi could not agree more. Also came across in Vietnam! :) Actually had not planned to take a taxi, but lost a little bit in Ho Chi Minh city. Had to take a taxi. And counters they are cunning, also a bunch of zeros, and we are in the course of the money transfer is still not properly penetrated. And the taxi driver, seeing that we are still beginners and don't fumble well we heated... :) Called the amount of one more zero! So, be careful. ...
Leona 12 Feb 2015, 07:10
About the fraud clear. It's everywhere like that.
How about physical security? Told about the strange rules of the road. All go as they want. How to protect yourself from raids of scooters. ...
admin 12 Feb 2015, 13:39
Go quiet and slowly across the road and all. It is important not to twitch and not to rush, and you will travel safely. Here is a video of crossing the road
9y3jOMMA91c ...
Mila 12 Oct 2015, 15:43
And we in Vietnam are faced with the following type of fraud:
1) rented a motorbike in MUI ne. In the evening the husband went for cigarettes at the entrance to the store on the turn it entered the young Vietnamese on a motorbike, although he could easily him (husband) to go round to the left. Just in Vietnam a foreigner driving a bike is wrong by definition, because they have international law do not apply, and any accident is a criminal offense. Immediately, out of nowhere, there was a bunch of Vietnamese and began the blackmail on the topic, saying you owe us $ 500, or "I'm calling the police". Had to negotiate on the spot with these n*dorami for less money, to avoid contact with corrupt police. Although honestly, this bastard still we had to give money for treatment (the husband severely injured his leg). We were warned that MUI ne is considered a crime area, but on vacation do not want to believe it at all. Beware.
2) In Saigon in the evening took a taxi to the airport. In advance before boarding stipulated amount 200,000 VND. When we arrived at the airport, the husband handed the cabbie the bill a piece of paper 200 000, and turns toward the door to open it. So the taxi driver puts the money into the pocket of his pants, and out of the pocket of his jacket pulls the banknote of 20 000 Dong and shows it to the husband, saying "you're not that gave." These idiots I have ever seen - this despite the fact that I'm sitting in the back seat and everyone can see it, besides bills 200 000 and 20 000 completely different color. Husband barely restrained so as not to "remove" this p*Dora "with elbow" and had to next time nepovadno was. Apparently, the taxi drivers - it's kind of a special caste of crooks. ...
Dasha0505 11 Mar 2016, 06:26
I.e. as I understand it, everyone in Vietnam wants to make money? Only now was going to go there, sorry of course. A lot have already read and found out about him. And here came across on this topic. Is still to go? ...
by admin on 11 Mar 2016, 08:11
Of course you should! Money everywhere you want to heat, and tourists, so don't worry about it much. Just be careful and attentive, read as much information about the divorce in Vietnam, and everything will be OK. My first time in Vietnam several times caught on divorce in detail, but in the second and later one I have never pinned. ...
hdpanov 11 Mar 2016, 18:49
You should go! Vietnam is a wonderful country, and swindlers and thieves, they abound everywhere!! You can go down into the subway and not notice how you've lost your phone or tablet! You just have to be careful and nothing happen! ...
Dasha0505 13 Mar 2016, 10:38
Thanks for the tips! I really want to go there, because is very beautiful. But you have to be alert always) ...

Разводки и мошенничества во Вьетнаме

Вьетнам – замечательная, интересная и безопасная страна. Но, к сожалению, опытные туристы и путешественники уже давно знают, что количество разводок и всевозможных наколок с целью отъема денег у туристов здесь невероятно велико. Возможно, ни одна другая страна Юго-Восточной Азии не может «похвастаться» таким большим количеством способов получить с туриста несколько лишних долларов ни за что. И речь идет не только об изобретательности и количестве этих способов, но и о масштабах этого явления. А масштабы эти просто громадные, возведенные в метод ведения бизнеса: наколоть пытаются везде и всегда, начиная от государственных учреждений и заканчивая туристическими агентствами. А те туристы, которые считают, что побывали во Вьетнаме и их никто не обманул, на самом деле просто не знают, что их обманули.

Правда стоит сказать, что, к счастью, разводки во Вьетнаме в основном носят мелкий, не насильственный характер. Вас заставят купить что-то по завышенной цене, потребуют заплатить пару долларов за несуществующую услугу, случайно снимут с вашей кредитной карты два раза сумму за ужин и тому подобное. Никто, как правило, не пытается забрать у туристов все до последней нитки, хотя и такое случается. Но, как бы там ни было, осадок даже от самых мелких разводок остается, особенно когда понимаешь, что, несмотря на то, что Вьетнам считается очень недорогой страной, туристу порой приходиться платить за все дважды, а то и трижды.

Главное лекарство от разводок во Вьетнаме, по моему мнению – внимательность и наглость. Внимательность позволит вам вовремя распознать, что вас пытаются наколоть или уже накололи, а своей наглостью вы сможете вернуть свои деньги, а не просто скромно махнуть рукой: «Пускай, мол, они подавятся моей парой долларов». Не нужно боятся скандалить и требовать вернуть ваши деньги, отказываться за что-либо платить, если вы правы и ситуация не слишком опасна. Если же вы видите, что обстановка слишком опасная (и такое случается), то лучше молча уносить ноги. Еще один совет – всегда обговаривайте цену заранее, убеждайтесь, что между вами и продавцом не осталось никаких «непоняток». Чтобы пятнадцать долларов (fifteen) неожиданно не переросли в пятьдесят (fifty); чтобы было обговорено, что вы получите за свои деньги и так далее. Порой не стоит постесняться и согласовать цену на бумаге, чтобы всем все было понятно: верить словам во Вьетнаме не стоит нигде.

Вот вам некоторые довольно популярные мошенничества во Вьетнаме:

  • Комиссия с пластиковой карты. При оплате пластиковой картой в ресторане или турагентстве с карты дополнительно без предупреждения могут снять комиссию в несколько процентов за транзакцию (вплоть до 10%). Чтобы бороться с этим, перед покупкой уточняйте, нет ли дополнительных комиссий.
  • Подмена купюр. При расчете наличными деньгами вместо 100 000 донгов (см. валюта Вьетнама, курс обмена) вам могут дать 10 000, а вместо 500 000 даже 20 000. Эти купюры по цвету очень похожи, потому внимательно проверяйте цифры.
  • Двойное снятие с пластиковой карты. Вашу карту прокатывают и говорят: "Извините, этот терминал не работает. Давайте на другом оплатим". При этом деньги с карты списываются дважды. Чтобы бороться, нужно внимательно следить за состоянием счета, а еще лучше подключить sms-оповещение. Если уже сняли дважды, проблема довольно легко решается обращением в свой банк.
  • Развод с коромыслом. Одна из самых классических разводок. Макашницы с коромыслом пристают к туристам с предложением сфотографироваться с их коромыслом, а потом требуют за это деньги.
  • Платные мосты. За проход по некоторым мостам (якобы частным, семейным) могут потребовать плату несколько долларов. Разумеется, никаких табличек о том, что это платный мост, нет. Самый простой способ отвязаться – просто сделать вид, что ничего не понимаете на английском, отвечайте на русском и уходите.
  • Фабрики инвалидов. Помогать инвалидам нужно, тем более если они стараются и работают. Но вот на вьетнамских фабриках, где работают инвалиды и куда обычно завозят туристов (там делают картины, скульптуры и т.п.) цены почему-то почти в два раза выше, чем за ту же самую продукцию на рынке.
  • Дорогой туалет. Обычно посещение общественного туалета во Вьетнаме стоит 2 000 донгов. Но если вы дадите купюру в 5 или 10 тысяч донгов, сдачу вы скорее всего не получите. Вам просто скажут, что цена для иностранцев выше, или будут делать вид, что ничего не понимают. Это же касается и других услуг вроде парковок для мотоциклов или автомобилей: если не спросите цены заранее, с вас возьмут все, что только смогут.
  • Дополнительные платы во время экскурсий. Если вы купите экскурсию долларов за 50, это вовсе не значит, что гиды во время тура не попытаются выжать еще десяток-другой долларов за входные билеты, питание и прочее. Уточняйте перед покупкой экскурсии, что в нее входит, а что не входит.
  • Платные парковки. Есть парковки, где за вашим транспортом действительно будут присматривать и выдадут билетик за оплату (средняя цена 3000 донгов за паркинг мотоцикла). Но иногда если вы поставите мотоцикл там где нет официальной парковки, ближайшая торговка потребует с вас деньги за парковку. Причем, требовать будет уже когда вы вернетесь, и нереальные суммы.
  • Завышенные цены в общественном транспорте. За проезд в местном транспорте с вас могут потребовать в два-три раза больше, чем с местных. Особенно это популярно на маршруте автобуса – Дананг-Хойан, где вместо 18 000 донгов с вас возьмут вплоть до 50 000. Поэтому не давайте кондуктору крупные купюры (сдачу не получите) и торгуйтесь.
  • Услуги гида поневоле. В храмах можно наткнуться на молодых людей, которые представляются служителями храма и будут сопровождать вас. Потом за свои услуги они попросят пожертвования для храма, причем назовут конкретную сумму (нужно сказать немалую за такие услуги). Никакого отношения к храму на самом деле эти жулики не имеют, а пожертвования кладут себе в карман. Можете таких помощников послать или бросить пожертвования в специальный ящик для пожертвований (Donation Box), какие есть в каждом храме.
  • Лже-красный крест. По улицам Вьетнама ходят молодые люди, которые представляются сотрудниками красного креста и собирают с туристов деньги. Они подбирают себе «жертву» в не слишком людных местах и начинают долго нудно рассказывать, как у них все плохо и показывать всякие списки с суммами, сколько дали другие туристы. Есть большое подозрение, что они просто попрошайки и жулики.
  • Студенты с анкетами. Если на улице к вам подходят вьетнамцы и предлагают пройти опрос и заполнить анкету, то знайте, что это всего лишь повод привлечь ваше внимание. После заполнения анкет последует попрошайничество денег на восстановление храмов, памятников или для помощи бедному вьетнамскому народу в лице этих молодых людей.
  • Разводка в Халонге. В бухте Халонг, когда вы причалите к плавучей деревне, гид скажет вам, что покататься на лодке будет стоить 2 доллара, и после этого исчезнет. Но когда вы уже сядете в лодку (а сделать это довольно сложно, поскольку лодки сильно качает), с вас потребуют не менее 5 долларов. Поэтому согласовывайте цену с лодочниками перед посадкой сами.
  • Подвести до поезда. На ж/д вокзалах Вьетнама при входе на перрон к вам «подкатит» официально приодетый лже-служащий, который проверит ваши билеты и проводит до вагона. Разумеется, потом последует требование заплатить пару долларов.
  • Велорикши. За поездку в несколько метров велорикша может выкатить вам счет как за поездку на такси через весь город. Перед посадкой обязательно согласуйте цену. Велорикши вообще очень жиликоватые и работают целыми бандами, могут просто завести в тихое место и требовать бешеные деньги.
  • Клофелинщицы. Тут даже пояснять нечего, все так же, как и везде: подцепил девочку, на утро проснулся без денег и штанов.
  • Дорогие девочки. Популярная во всем мире разводка: вы подцепляете девочку и она вас заводит в ресторан или кафе. Потом за пару стаканов пива вам выставляют счет в сотню долларов, ведь вы же не посмотрели на цены в меню.

Учитывая изобретательность вьетнамцев, этот список можно продлевать до бесконечности. Если у вас есть что добавить и чем поделиться в этом вопросе, пишите на форуме.

Последние сообщения по теме на форуме / задать вопрос Вы не авторизированны на форуме и сайте. Вы можете оставить сообщение как гость, а можете Зарегистрироваться или Войти

Dasha0505 13 Mar 2016, 10:38
Спасибо за советы! Я очень хочу поехать туда, потому что очень уж там красиво. Но надо быть настороже всегда) ...

hdpanov 11 Mar 2016, 18:49
Стоит ехать! Вьетнам чудесная страна, а мошенников и воров, их везде предостаточно!! Можно спуститься в метро и не заметить как у тебя пропадет телефон и планшет! Надо просто быть во всем внимательными и ничего с Вами не случиться! ...

admin 11 Mar 2016, 08:11
Конечно стоит! На деньги везде хотят нагреть, на то и туристы, поэтому не стоит переживать на этот счет сильно. Просто будьте осторожны и внимательны, почитайте побольше информации про разводы во Вьетнаме, и все будет ОК. Я первый раз во Вьетнаме несколько раз попадался на разводы по мелочи, но во второй и позже уже никто ни разу меня не наколол. ...

Dasha0505 11 Mar 2016, 06:26
Т.е. как я понял, все во Вьетнаме хотят нагреть на деньги? Только вот собиралась туда ехать, жаль конечно. Очень много уже прочитала и выяснила про него. И вот наткнулась на эту тему. Стоит все равно ехать? ...

Мила 12 Dec 2015, 15:43
А мы во Вьетнаме столкнулись со следующим видом мошенничества:
1) Брали в аренду мотик в Муйне. Муж вечером поехал за сигаретами, при подъезде к магазину на развороте в него въехал молодой вьетнамец на мотике, хотя мог спокойно его (мужа) объехать слева. Просто во Вьетнаме иностранец за рулем мотика не прав по определению, потому как у них международные права не действуют, а любое ДТП считается уголовным преступлением. Сразу же, откуда ни возьмись, появилась куча вьетнамцев и начался шантаж на тему, мол ты нам должен 500 баксов, или "я звоню в полицию". Пришлось договариваться на месте с этими п*дорами на меньшие деньги, чтобы избежать общения с коррумпированной полицией. Хотя по совест ...

admin 12 Feb 2015, 13:39
Идете спокойное и медленно через дорогу, и все. Главное, не дергаться и не метаться, и вас все объедут спокойно. Вот видео перехода дороги



...

Leona 12 Feb 2015, 07:10
Про развод туристов понятно. Это везде есть подобное.
Как на счет физической безопасности? Рассказывали про непонятные правила дорожного движения. Все едут как хотят. Как обезопасить себя от наездов мотороллеров. ...

Igor' 02 Feb 2015, 07:56
Про такси не могу не согласиться. Тоже попадались во Вьетнаме! :) Вообще-то не планировали брать такси, но немножко заблудились в Хошимине. Пришлось взять такси. А счетчики у них такие хитрые, еще и куча нулей, а мы в этот курс перевода денег еще как следует не вникли. И таксист, видя, что мы еще новички и ничего в этом не шарим хорошо нас нагрел... :) Назвал сумму на один нолик больше! Так что, будьте внимательны. ...

Foxa 01 Feb 2015, 09:55
Конечно, в любых странах и во Вьетнаме надо смотреть в оба! Мы в Сайгоне попались как-то сразу на развод с кокосом. :) Жара, пить хочется. Тут, как раз попадается вьетнамец с кокосами и к нам - мол, не желаете ли? Мы конечно, хватаем протянутый кокос с трубочкой, а потом спрашиваем: Хау мач? Ответ обескуражил слегка - 10 долларов! Отдали, что делать. Но поняли, что надо сначала спрашивать у них - хау мач? А потом уже тянуть руки за чем-то.
Кстати, цена на кокос - 1 доллар, потом именно столько уже за них и платили. :) ...

remark1973 01 Nov 2014, 18:40
Всем известна современная история Вьетнама. Много лет войны плохо сказались на материальных возможностях населения Это бедная страна и поэтому Вьетнамцы приспособились ко всякого рода мелкому жульничеству. Им не можно доверять. ...
0.0017259120941162 сек.