Nizhny Novgorod

General information

Вид на Кремль в Нижнем Новгороде View of the Kremlin, photo https://upload.wikimedia.org

Nizhny Novgorod (Nizhny-Novgorod) is a city in Central Russia on the banks of the rivers Volga and Oka, 400 kilometers from Moscow, a popular destination for excursion tourism (Nizhny Novgorod on the map of Russia). The lower is the administrative center of Nizhny Novgorod region and Volga Federal district, which includes as many as 14 subjects. The city is quite large in terms of area (466 square miles) and population (more than 1 million 200 thousand people), the fifth in Russia. From 1932 to 1990 it was called Gorky.

Nizhny Novgorod played one of the most important values in the formation and development of the Russian state. The history of the city began in 1221 with the construction of Prince Yuri Vsevolodovich of wood and earthen fortifications, which over time became the current Kremlin. When the Kremlin to successfully execute its military and defensive function, the Bottom began to develop as an economic and cultural center. Thanks to the favorable location on the trade routes since the 19th century, was moved the large Russian Makariev fair, why Lower gained a historical nickname "the Pocket of Russia". Since then, the city started to develop rapidly, in 1847, there was built a water supply system, opened the first fountain. In addition to trade, began to develop industry.

Holidays in Nizhny Novgorod

Большая Покровская

Nizhny Novgorod attract tourists as an excursion destination. In the historic centre (tourist area) has preserved many architectural monuments, many of which are from the 15th century. The Central attraction is the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin, around which was formed the city, and today there is a historic part of the city. In addition to the architectural and historical monuments, there are a huge number of museums and theaters. But attractions are not confined to the city itself: a lot of attractions scattered throughout the Nizhny Novgorod region.

For those traveling to the Bottom not only for the monuments and museums, the city offers many entertainments: night clubs, bars, a good promenade, in summer you can relax on the beaches. A lot of entertainment for children: several of the zoos, children's museums, children's railway, and even a cable car.

In addition samango Lower, also visit cities and attractions in Nizhny Novgorod region:

Attractions in Nizhny Novgorod

Технический музей в Нижнем Новгороде Technical Museum in Nizhny Novgorod

The main attraction is the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin, where, in addition to the ancient towers and walls, there are several museums, a memorial with an exhibition of military equipment under the open sky, several monuments, a temple. With the Kremlin it is best to start exploring the city.

From the Kremlin originate two historic streets: walking the historic Bolshaya Pokrovskaya and Rozhdestvenskaya street. Both are interesting architecture and atmosphere, but most of the time tourists spend on the pedestrian Bolshaya Pokrovskaya street, which is the perfect place for an evening stroll. There is always something going on: the street performers, festive shows and promotions, and even rallies.

When you filled in the architectural beauty of the Bottom, you can go to one of over thirty museums. A must to visit at least one of three museums dedicated to Maxim Gorky, is a Museum-the Rukavishnikov estate, art Museum, technical Museum, Museum of Russian photography, etc.. With kids should definitely go to one of the two technical museums: the "Quarks" or "Einsteinium". And certainly children should go to a local modern landmark is the cable car across the Volga. Cm. read more about all of the attractions in Nizhny Novgorod.

Infrastructure in Nizhny Novgorod

Комната отеля, Нижний Новгород

In Nizhny Novgorod there is a developed infrastructure for a tourist stay. You can stay at one of the more than five hundred hotels, offers a lot of accommodation to rent short term (see more about hotels and accommodation in Nizhny Novgorod). In the tourist district, lots of cafes, restaurants, canteens. There are several international restaurants Mcdonalds, KFC, Burger King.

As before, today the city is the trading center, so shopping here won't be a problem. There are several giant shopping centers, in the pedestrian street Bolshaya Pokrovskaya are many tourist shops with Souvenirs, boutiques, branded stores.

Urban transport is well developed, the whole city can be viewed without the use of a personal vehicle or taxi (see transport Nizhny Novgorod, than to move on).

Weather, tourist seasons in Nizhny Novgorod

The best time to visit Nizhny Novgorod – summer, from June to August. It was on the summer accounts for the high tourist season and a big part of celebrations such as city day (June 12), music and theatre festivals, exhibitions.

In winter it is cold, even a little colder than in Moscow. But this does not mean that, except in the summer, to come here not worth it. Almost all tourist attractions and all the infrastructure work year-round flow of tourists never stops. A great time to travel in the winter holidays November 4 new year holidays on 1 and 9 January, 23 February, March 8, may holidays.

Seasons in Nizhny Novgorod months, when is the best time to go

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
                       

* best time to visit;
appropriate time to visit;
not a recommended time to visit

Weather Nizhny Novgorod and forecast

Useful tips about Nizhny Novgorod

  • Parking. If you come to Nizhny Novgorod on your car before ordering rooms/reservations please check the availability of Parking nearby.
  • Supermarkets. Along the Bolshaya Pokrovskaya street is full of canteens, cafes, restaurants, but almost no shopping.
  • Shopping. In a tourist area developed tourist shopping (Souvenirs, local speciality products) in small shops. If you need major shopping centers and markets, you will have to go to another area of the city.
  • The day of the city. The city day in Bottom coincides with the day of Russia – June 12. It is a big celebration in town and a great time for a tourist trip.
  • Time. In the Lower time coincides with Moscow time. The time difference with some of the towns: Samara +1; Ekaterinburg +2; Novosibirsk +3; Vladivostok +7
Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
pampushka 18 Dec 2016, 14:54
Thanks for the info, very convenient to everything you painted. Only tell me, should I go to the Bottom for the new year. Food with the kids, so you need to have something to look at, and the children were interesting. Two children, 5 and 7 years. ...
admin 19 Dec 2016, 18:58
Hello! Only a month ago was at the Bottom with two children 5 and 7 years . If there is interest, then why not take a trip. In the new year at the bottom was not, but I'm sure there will be the most fun and will do. Children certainly will not be bored, if they led to different places. Museum of technology and one of the science museums just visit, they are to leave does not want. And of course the zoo is reduced, if not in Limpopo, at least one of the contact zoos. But for myself here's our list of sights to see beginning - https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/ ... lnosti.phpand define what you're wondering. There will be more specific questions, ask. ...
Matthew 22 Mar 2017, 07:30
Good day! Went with a friend in Nizhny Novgorod, I liked everything: the Waterfront, the temples are very beautiful, the architecture in General is awesome, lots of museums and have a place to rest the youth.
Pedestrian street Bolshaya Pokrovskaya is very much interesting always happens there, staying in a hostel "European Night" in the center. We have a lot of impressions from Nizhny Novgorod, from the girls even had an offer to move from Tula)) ...
35eg35 22 Mar 2017, 13:51
Wrote "Fortress of faith". It's about the Nizhny Novgorod region, her little-known history.
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=3552
Maybe someone will be interested...
(Report is an excerpt from my book, which first saw the light in the last days of 2016.) ...
admin 22 Mar 2017, 18:57
Books????? ...
35eg35 23 Mar 2017, 09:13
Yes, why not?
500 pages, 300 pictures and only two years of work...

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/114758/137528123.37/0_1994eb_2766fd88_L.jpg

Of course there is not only about the history of health care. The topic of Patriarch Nikon I could not get around because he was born in our district. As, however, and the topic Panskogo slaughter, as little-known pages of history of our country. ...
admin 24 Mar 2017, 06:15
In both ! I suspect that you are not simple reports to write, painfully, you have the writing style is foldable, do as articles or books. ...
BorisVoronin 09 Jun 2017, 12:00
In this city I haven't been once - only read interesting information on the Internet and in Newspapers. And my girl was in Nizhny Novgorod when she was 15 years old, during a tour of the school. Don't know, here's something interesting in this city. I think at the end of July to take a tour to Nizhny Novgorod and to go there with a girl, she showed me this place:
http://savepic.ru/14300849m.png ...
35eg35 10 Jun 2017, 09:32
Nizhny Novgorod
... today is very diverse. Of course, old town attracts tourists. Finally, the Conception of the restored tower of the Kremlin.
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/29815/137528123.36/0_188ca3_1f62e5ed_L.jpg
A kind of unfinished since Soviet times. Today, this place looks attractive, very presentable .
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/64326/137528123.36/0_16ccab_7750df24_L.jpg
Date.
The Kremlin remains the main attraction of the city and not only because he is handsome. In my opinion it is much prettier Kazan (be not offended at me the Tartars, nothing personal)
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/118251/137528123.36/0_1876a1_131105bc_L.jpg

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/4707/137528123.34/0_14c273_42118780_L.jpg
First drew attention to the location of the building. The banks of the Volga made him a symbol of the city and a favorite place of Nizhny Novgorod. I can not believe that the Soviet government had intended to demolish it.
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/60015/137528123.36/0_182edb_6173d58b_L.jpg
Volga
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/15576/137528123.33/0_13a362_d24edb6a_-1-L.jpg
The Kremlin
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6606/137528123.13/0_763b6_f249c41d_L.jpg
The Kremlin is beautiful in any season and at any time of the day.
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/15545/137528123.31/0_123c46_7d31533e_-1-L.jpg
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6214/137528123.33/0_1 ...
Walker 13 May 2017, 21:31
Lower a very different city in terms of architecture. Here, white-haired old man still not everywhere broken, and Stalin's houses enough, well, forty to sixty without comment, but a young architecture from the local "nuggets" are very curious sometimes. In the Lower architectural University and one of the most famous of its alumni.
The city had seven or eight times and not only on the notorious Pokrovka. There is something to see. ...

Нижний Новгород

Общая информация

Вид на Кремль в Нижнем Новгороде Вид на Кремль, фото https://upload.wikimedia.org

Нижний Новгород (Nizhny-Novgorod) – город в центральной России на берегу рек Волга и Ока, в 400 километрах от Москвы, популярное место для экскурсионного туризма (Нижний Новгород на карте России). Нижний является административным центром Нижегородской области и Приволжского Федерального округа, куда входит целых 14 субъектов. Город является довольно крупным как по площади (466 квадратных километров) так и по численности населения (более 1 миллиона 200 тысяч человек), пятый в России. С 1932 по 1990 год носил название Горький.

Нижний Новгород сыграл одно из важнейших значений в становлении и развитии русского государства. История города началась в 1221 году с постройки князем Юрием Всеволодовичем деревянно-земляных оборонительных укреплений, которые с течением времени стали нынешним кремлем. Когда кремль успешно исполнил свою военную и оборонительную функцию, Нижний стал развиваться как экономический и культурный центр. Благодаря удачному расположению на торговых путях, начиная с 19 века сюда перенесли самую крупную российскую Макарьевскую ярмарку, отчего Нижний получил исторической прозвище «Карман России». С того момента город стал стремительно развиваться, уже в 1847 году здесь был построен водопровод, открыт первый фонтан. Помимо торговли, начала развиваться промышленность.

Отдых в Нижнем Новгород

Большая Покровская

Нижний Новгород интересен туристам как экскурсионное направление. В историческом центре (туристический район) сохранилось множество памятников архитектуры, многие из которых датированы 15-м веком. Центральной достопримечательностью является нижегородский кремль, вокруг которого формировался город, а сегодня здесь историческая часть города. Помимо архитектурных и исторических памятников, здесь огромное количество музеев и театров. Но интересные места не ограничиваются только самим городом: немало достопримечательностей раскидано и по всей Нижегородской области.

Для тех, кто едет в Нижний не только для осмотра памятников и музеев, в городе предлагается немало развлечений: есть ночные клубы, бары, неплохая прогулочная набережная, а летом даже можно отдохнуть на пляжах. Очень много развлечений для детей: несколько зоопарков, детские развлекательные музеи, детская железная дорога, и даже канатная дорога.

Помимо самого Нижнего, посещают также города и достопримечательности Нижегородской области:

Достопримечательности в Нижнем Новгороде

Технический музей в Нижнем Новгороде Технический музей в Нижнем Новгороде

Главной достопримечательностью является нижегородский кремль, в котором, помимо старинных башен и стен, есть несколько музеев, мемориал с выставкой военной техники под открытым небом, несколько памятников, храм. Именно с кремля лучше всего начинать знакомство с городом.

От кремля берут начало две исторические улицы: пешеходная Большая Покровская и историческая ул. Рождественская. Обе по-своему интересны архитектурой и атмосферой, но большую часть времени туристы проводят на пешеходной улице Большая Покровская, которая является идеальным место для вечерних прогулок. На ней всегда что-то происходит: выступления уличных артистов, праздничные шоу и рекламные акции, и даже митинги.

Когда вы насытитесь архитектурными красотами Нижнего, можно отправиться в один из более чем тридцати музеев. Просто обязателен к посещению по крайней мере один из трех музеев, посвященных Максиму Горькому, стоит посмотреть музей-усадьбу Рукавишниковых, художественный музей, технический музей, музей русской фотографии и т.д.. С детьми обязательно стоит сходить в один из двух технических музеев: «Кварки» или «Эйнштейниум». Ну и просто непременно с детьми стоит сходить на местную современную достопримечательность – канатную дорогу через Волгу. См. подробнее обо всех достопримечательностях Нижнего Новгорода.

Инфраструктура в Нижнем Новгороде

Комната отеля, Нижний Новгород

В Нижнем Новгороде имеется развитая инфраструктура для туристического пребывания. Остановиться можно одном из более чем пятисот отелей, предлагается много жилья в аренду на короткий срок (см. подробнее про отели и жилье в Нижнем Новгороде). В туристическом районе множество кафе ресторанов, столовых. Есть несколько международных ресторанов Mcdonalds, KFC, Burger King.

Также как и раньше, сегодня город является центром торговли, поэтому с шопингом здесь проблем не возникнет. Есть несколько гигантских торговых центров, на пешеходной улице Большая Покровская множество туристических лавок с сувенирами, бутиков, фирменных магазинов.

Городской транспорт развит отлично, весь город можно посмотреть без использования личного транспорта или такси (см. транспорт Нижнего Новгорода, на чем перемещаться).

Погода, туристические сезоны в Нижнем Новгороде

Самое лучшее время для поездки в Нижний Новгород – лето, с июня по август. Именно на летнее время приходится высокий туристический сезон и большая часть праздничных мероприятий, таких как день города (12 июня), музыкальные и театральные фестивали, выставки.

Зимой здесь холодно, даже немного холодней, чем в Москве. Но это вовсе не значит, что кроме как летом, сюда ехать не стоит. Почти все туристические достопримечательности и вся инфраструктура работают круглый год, поток туристов не прекращается. Отличное время для поездки зимой – праздники 4 ноября, новогодние каникулы с 1 по 9 января, 23 февраля, 8 марта, майские праздники.

Сезоны в Нижнем Новгороде по месяцам, когда лучше поехать

Янв Фев Март Апр Май Июнь Июль Авг Сент Окт Ноя Дек
                       

* лучшее время для посещения;
приемлемое время для посещения;
не рекомендуемое время для посещения

Погода в Нижнем Новгороде и прогноз

Полезные советы о Нижнем Новгороде

  • Парковка. Если вы приезжаете в Нижний Новгород на своем автомобиле, обязательно перед заказом номера/бронированием квартиры уточняйте вопрос наличия парковки поблизости.
  • Супермаркеты. Вдоль Большой Покровской улицы полно столовых, кафе, ресторанов, но практически нет супермаркетов.
  • Шоппинг. В туристическом районе развит туристический шопинг (сувениры, местная фирменная продукция) в небольших магазинах. Если вам нужны крупные торговые центры и рынки, то придется съездить в другой район города.
  • День города. День города в Нижнем совпадает с днем России – 12 июня. Это большой праздник в городе и отличное время для туристической поездки.
  • Время. Время в Нижнем совпадает с московским временем. Разница во времени с некоторыми городами: Самара +1; Екатеринбург +2; Новосибирск +3; Владивосток +7
Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
Матвей 22 Mar 2017, 07:30
Добрый день! Ездил с подругой в Нижний Новгород, все очень понравилось: Набережная, храмы-очень красивые, архитектура в целом обалденная, много музеев и есть где отдохнуть молодежи. Пешеходная улица Большая Покровская очень много интересного там всегда происходит, остановились в хостеле "Европейский Ночлег" в центе. У нас море впечатлений от Нижнего Новгорода, от девушки даже было предложение переехать из Тулы)) ...
35eg35 22 Mar 2017, 13:51
Написал "Крепость веры". Это о Нижегородской области, её малоизвестной истории. https://nashaplaneta.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=3552 Может кому-то будет интересно... (Репортаж является выдержками из моей книги, которая впервые увидела свет в последние дни 2016 года.) ...
admin 22 Mar 2017, 18:57
Книги????? ...
35eg35 23 Mar 2017, 09:13
Да, а почему бы нет? :) 500 страниц, 300 фотографий и всего два года работы... :THINK Конечно там не только об истории здравоохранения. Тему Патриарха Никона я не мог обойти, ибо он родился у нас в районе. Как, впрочем, и тему Пьянского побоища, как малоизвестной страницы истории нашей страны. ...
admin 24 Mar 2017, 06:15
Во как :) ! Я подозревал, что вы не простые отчеты пишете, уж больно у вас стиль изложения складный, действительно как статьи или книги. ...
BorisVoronin 09 Jun 2017, 12:00
В этом городе я еще не был ни разу, - только читал интересную информацию: в интернете и в газетах. А девушка моя была в Нижнем Новгороде, когда ей было 15 лет, во время экскурсии из школы. Не знаю, вот что-то заинтересовало в этом городе. Думаю в конце июля взять тур в Нижний Новгород и отправиться туда с девушкой, чтобы она мне показала это место: http://savepic.ru/14300849m.png ...
35eg35 10 Jun 2017, 09:32
Нижний Новгород ... сегодня очень разнообразен. Безусловно, его историческая часть привлекает туристов. Наконец-то восстановлена Зачатьевская башня кремля. https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/29815/137528123.36/0_188ca3_1f62e5ed_L.jpg Своеобразный долгострой с советских времён. Сегодня это место выглядит по туристически очень презентабельно :D . https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/64326/137528123.36/0_16ccab_7750df24_L.jpg Свидание. Кремль остаётся главной достопримечательностью города и не только потому, что он красив. На мой взгляд он намного красивее казанского (пусть не обижаются на меня татары, ничего личного) https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/118251/137528123.36/0_1876a1_131105bc_L.jpg https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/4707/137528123.34/0_14c273_42118780_L.jpg В первую очередь обращает внимание расположение этого сооружения. Волжские берега сделали его символом города и любимым местом нижегородцев. Даже не верится, что когда-то советская власть намеревалась его снести. https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/60015/137528123.36/0_182edb_6173d58b_L.jpg Волга https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/15576/137528123.33/0_13a362_d24edb6a_-1-L.jpg Кремль https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6606/137528123.13/0_763b6_f249c41d_L.jpg Кремль красив в любое время года и в любое время суток. https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/15545/137528123.31/0_123c46_7d31533e_-1-L.jpg https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6214/137528123.33/0_139e54_7326970_-1-L.jpg С кремлёвских откосов открываются красивые виды на город и его достопримечательности. https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/135076/137528123.36/0_182ed8_2ddd391_L.jpg Вид на Волгу ...
Ходок 13 Oct 2017, 21:31
Нижний очень разный город в плане архитектуры. Здесь и седая старина ещё не везде сломана, и сталинских домов хватает, ну хрущобы без комментариев, но и молодая архитектура от здешних "самородков" очень любопытна порой. В Нижнем же архитектурный университет и один из самых известных своими выпускниками. В городе был раз семь-восемь и не только на пресловутой Покровке. Там есть что посмотреть. ...
nausla 29 May 2018, 20:40
Добавил в закладки. ...
Viktor1305 09 Jul 2018, 06:16
Как добраться: озеро Светлояр находится в 130 километрах к югу от Нижнего Новгорода рядом с селом Владимирское (озеро Светлояр на карте области). Вы давно на карту смотрели? ...

Оцените статью:
(2 голосов, оценка: 4.5 из 5)