Or Dombay, Arkhyz, where better to go

This page is automatically created by the automated computer text translator, and originally written in Russian (Переведено сервисом «Яндекс.Переводчик»). The original version of this page in Russian is located here. We are apologize for any possible inaccurate and incorrect translation of certain phrases and expressions below.

Dombai and Arkhyz are very similar resorts, but the conditions of stay in them is very much different. To advise one or the other, to highlight the best, we will not, as a matter of purely individual. But you do not wrong choice the first time you travel to these places, we have made possible an objective comparison between these resorts:

Infrastructure

Infrastructure in Dombai more developed, and the feelings the resort looks more civilized and organized. Generally, it gives the impression of the resort, which was originally developed as a resort, but Arkhyz like a village that just went Hiking.

In Dombai there is a Bank and ATM, a lot of cafes and restaurants with a predominantly Caucasian cuisine, but there are places with European and Russian tourist flea market, lots of shops. To pay by plastic card, unfortunately, almost nowhere to be, only cash, usually without checks. The nearest petrol station is 25 kilometres in Teberda. Accommodation options are many and their variety is great about budget private rooms to hotels of 3 stars. And, perhaps, the main plus of the Dabie – what is compact. Anywhere, including the ski lifts, easily reached on foot from any village.

In Arkhyz there is no ATM and Bank cards, also never take. Restaurants are almost there, only a cafe where you can eat simple, but the price of food below. Shops and a market too, but not as "civilized" as in Dombai. The nearest gas station is 50 miles away in Zelenchukskaya. But the village and the resort is developing and being built, that now creates a big inconvenience, but maybe in the future the situation will change.

With accommodation at hotels in Arkhyz, the situation is interesting: on the one hand, there is even a five-star hotel equivalent to a four star, but they are not in the village and the ski resort Arkhyz in the village, Romantic, and very expensive. But on the other hand, in the Arkhyz village there are basically only simple accommodation in guest houses, recreation centers, private homes.

Attractions and entertainment

Both resorts are attractive for its natural attractions that are available mainly in the summer. Mountains, waterfalls, mountain lakes, caves, glaciers. They can be seen during excursions or independently on a one-day or multi-day Hiking routes in the surrounding area. And it is very difficult to identify where better. But in our subjective opinion, to visit tourist routes in Dombai easier and more interesting, and the mountains, glaciers, waterfalls and lakes are more and more diverse.

As for other types of attractions, from Dombay independently by car or tour you can visit the zoo of the Teberdinsky nature reserve, Sentinsky and Shoininski temples. Of Arkhyz visit the Museum under the open sky Alanian settlement, miraculous image of Christ on a rock Zelenchukskaya Observatory. Both resorts offers horse riding, Quad Biking, rafting, guided hikes or trips to the mountains.

Read more:

Ski holidays

Winter ski holidays in Dombai and Arkhyz is rest on entirely different resorts than in the summer. Their appearance, atmosphere, prices, infrastructure in winter, changing and not always for the better. At both resorts there are many problems, ranging from toilets and ending with the performance of the ski lifts. Not a few claims to the equipment tracks in terms of security, organization resorts, Parking. But the differences between the two resorts there:

In Dombai the three phases of the lifts to a height of more than 3 thousand meters, and there are trails everywhere. In Arkhyz lifts easier, only from the same queue.

In Dombai ski lifts are right in the village, and in Arkhyz they are located 10 kilometers from the village of Arkhyz in the ski resort Arkhyz, formed by the settlement of Romantic and Moonglade. This means that every time you have to get to them by taxi, bus (runs several times a day), or private transport. Moreover, there is a big problem with Parking. In the design did not take into account the need for them, and on weekends and holidays this leads to the fact that at the entrance to the ski resort Arkhyz (not in the village), the formation of traffic jams. All aggravated by active construction, renovations, and terrible organization of the administration of the resort. For example, at the beginning of the 2019 part of the lifts was not working but no warning of this was not on the website or at the box office selling tickets, and the cost of the SkiPass is not even lowered.


I hope this brief overview will help you choose where to go, or in Dombay, Arkhyz. But if possible, we recommend you to visit both resorts, yet each of them you will find something interesting and unique.

,
Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
admin 20 August, 2019
The site is open section-guide to recreation in the Republic of Karachay-Cherkessia, Dombai, Arkhyz, Teberda:
Guide to Dombay
Attractions Dombai, what to see
How to get to Dombay
Guide to Teberda
Guide to Arisu
etc.
In discussing this topic and ask questions about travel and recreation in the Republic. ...
, Ellen 31 January, 2020
Good day! Prompt, please, in what month in Arkhyz particularly active insects or in this plan everything is always relatively quiet and walking they don't bother? And another question: where to settle, to make individual Hiking day-trips (for a day)? Where the closest thing to such routes? ...
admin 31 January, 2020

Hello Helen!
About what insects are you? I don't think any of the local insects will interfere with the walks.
About where to live - important to settle in the village and in the village Romance, and all. The village is small, and if you are ready to walk for the whole day, the village from end to end no problem to pass. Well, or see our map https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/karachaevo-cherkessiya-arkhyz-karta there's all sort of marked what you need, it will be easier to choose the hotel. ...
, Ellen 1 Feb, 2020
Thank you very much for the answer!
I'm not quite correctly formulated the question, let corrected.
1) input the following: are you going to come in Arkhyz in the spring and summer. Purpose: day Hiking (full day) in beautiful places. It is obvious that in order to make different trips (to different locations from different angles), you need a car. How You consider, whether really to agree with any of the locals to the morning, for example, somewhere to ride, and in the evening at the scheduled estimated time met in the same place?
2) Question about insects were specified, based on the fact that we are from St. Petersburg, which, alas, surrounded by swamps, and numerous attempts long country walks showed that in June, the insects just darkness (especially the many different species of flies) and it significantly reduces the pleasure of walking. In the remaining months all much nicer so I wanted to know in this respect about the district of Arkhyz. But apparently, luckily, it is only our Northern problem. :) ...
admin February 1, 2020

Hello. Nothing has changed from the input data. If you are planning a Hiking only Arkhyz, without a visit to Dombai, for example, that transport is not required at all. I came in Arkhyz on the machine, put it on a camp site where we stayed, and not once it did not go. And the child was 9 years old, he also overcame all the routes. Walk across the plain from anywhere in the village to the starting point of the route a kilometer or two if you have to go the route of 5-6 miles and more in height, depending on the route, should not be a problem.
Transport may be required only at the Sofia lake, there is still far away, or on foot in two days trip. No problems on this score agree, there all the local people only it works, it's a tourist village.
About insects understood. Been not specifically in Arkhyz in different regions of the Caucasus mountains at different times, never experienced problems with insects. Ie, they probably have, but that was because them problems, never. Even the mosquitoes don't remember. ...
, Ellen 5 Feb, 2020
Good day!
Thank You so much for the detailed answer!
One more point You have to clarify: if you believe the maps, the tracks on which you can walk to natural attractions Arkhyz, not so much (relatively: to each attraction on one track). Not a lot of people there in the summer (I would not want to go toe-to-toe for the tour groups)? Do not interfere with the SUV passing by, if you go on foot?
Also, if I may, I would like to know Your opinion about the routes in Krasnaya Polyana? Not very crowded there (on the trails)? It's a good place, from Your point of view, for a day of Hiking?
Thank You in advance! ...
admin February 5, 2020

Hello! To the Barrit waterfall and the Lake of love, one narrow path, in the Cossack and sleeping waterfall lake there's a road, not even two, but there's only horses. At the Sofia lakes and waterfalls also is a road for cars, and then the trail. So there were a lot of people wouldn't. At least much less than in Dombai, for example. In General, even in peak season in August, any discomfort I experienced.
What about trails in Krasnaya Polyana in the summer I can't say there was no summer experience, only at the end of September there went, people almost was not then (this was three years ago). ...
Andrew 2 16 Feb, 2020
Hello! Last year was passing through Teberda and Dombai. Loved it. This year I want more to see the beauty of the Teberdinsky nature reserve. Planiruyu with his family - a wife, a child 13 years of age to stay in the Teberda for a week. Tell me what places you can attend a one-day routes. We will be on the car. Should I get a border pass? ...
admin 16 Feb, 2020

Hi Andrew!
Basically all it says right here about the routes - https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/karachaevo-cherkessiya-teberda-dostoprimechatelnosti if there answer will be the same and write. Routes need to make the border crossing from Teberda no,only those routes in Dombai. If you're in Dombay, they are issued at the entrance to the route, all well organized. ...

Домбай или Архыз, куда лучше поехать

Домбай и Архыз – очень похожие курорты, но условия отдыха на них очень сильно отличаются. Советовать тот или иной, выделять лучший мы не станем, поскольку это дело сугубо индивидуальное. Но чтобы вы не ошиблись с выбором во время первого путешествия в эти места, мы сделали по возможности объективное сравнение этих курортов:

Инфраструктура

Инфраструктура в Домбае более развитая, да и по ощущениям курорт выглядит более цивилизованным и обустроенным. Вообще, он производит впечатление курорта, который изначально развивался как курорт, а вот Архыз напоминает деревню, в которую только-только пришел туризм.

В Домбае есть отделение Сбербанка и банкомат, много кафе и ресторанов с преимущественно Кавказской кухней, но есть заведения с европейской и русской, вещевой туристический рынок, много магазинов. Расплатиться пластиковой картой, к сожалению, почти нигде нельзя, только наличные, причем обычно без чеков. Ближайшая АЗС находится в 25 километрах в Теберде. Вариантов размещения много и их разнообразие большое об бюджетных частных комнат, до отелей 3 звезды. И, пожалуй, главный плюс Домбая – то, что все расположено компактно. Куда угодно, в том числе и до подъемников, легко добраться пешком из любого поселка.

В Архызе нет банкомата и банка, пластиковые карты также нигде не принимают. Ресторанов практически нет, только кафе, где можно перекусить по простому, зато цены на еду ниже. Магазины и рынок тоже есть, но не такие «цивилизованные», как в Домбае. Ближайшая автозаправка находится в 50 километрах в Зеленчукской. Но поселок и курорт развивается и активно строится, что сейчас создает большие неудобства, но возможно в будущем ситуация изменится.

С размещением в отелях в Архызе ситуация интересная: с одной стороны, здесь есть даже пятизвездочный отель и приравненный к четырехзвездочному, но они находятся не в поселке, а на горнолыжном курорте Архыз в поселке Романтик, и очень дорогие. А с другой стороны, в поселке Архыз в основном есть только простое размещение в гостевых домах, базах отдыха, частных домах.

Достопримечательности и развлечения

Оба курорты привлекательны своими природными достопримечательностями, которые доступны преимущественно летом. Это горы, водопады, горные озера, пещеры, ледники. Увидеть их можно во время экскурсий или самостоятельно на однодневных или многодневных туристических маршрутах по окрестностям. И тут очень сложно выделить, где лучше. Но по нашему субъективному мнению, посещать туристические маршруты в Домбае проще и интересней, а горы, ледники, водопады и озера здесь красивее и более разнообразней.

Что касается других видов достопримечательностей, то из Домбая самостоятельно на машине или с экскурсией можно посетить зоопарк Тебердинского заповедника, Сентинский и Шоанинский храмы. Из Архыза посещают музей под открытым небом Аланское городище, нерукотворный образ Христа на скале, зеленчукскую обсерваторию. На обоих курортах предлагаются катание на лошадях, квадроциклах, рафтинг, организованные походы или поездки в горы.

Читайте подробнее:

Горнолыжный отдых

Зимний горнолыжный отдых в Домбае и Архызе – это отдых на совершенно других курортах, нежели летом. Их облик, атмосфера, цены, инфраструктура зимой меняются, причем, не всегда в лучшую сторону. На обоих курортах есть много проблем, начиная от туалетов и заканчивая работоспособностью горнолыжных подъемников. Не мало претензий и к оборудованию трасс в плане безопасности, организации работы курортов, парковкам. Но различия между двумя курортами есть:

В Домбае три очереди подъемников, ведущих на высоту более 3 тысячи метров, и везде есть трассы. В Архызе подъемники проще, только из одной очереди.

В Домбае подъемники находятся прямо в поселке, а в Архызе они располагаются в 10 километрах от поселка Архыз в горнолыжном курорте Архыз, образованном поселком Романтик и Лунная поляна. А это значит, что каждый раз вам придется добираться до них на такси, автобусе (ходит несколько раз в день), или личном транспорте. Причем, есть большая проблема с парковками. При проектировании не учли их необходимость, и в выходные дни и праздники это приводит к тому, что еще на въезде на горнолыжный курорт Архыз (не в поселок) образуются многочасовые пробки. Все усугубляется активным строительством, ремонтными работами, и ужасной организацией администрации курорта. Так, например, в начале 2019 года часть подъемников не работала, но никаких предупреждении об этом не было ни на сайте, ни у касс по продаже билетов, причем стоимость SkiPass даже не снизили.


Надеемся, этот краткий обзор поможет вам правильно выбрать, куда лучше поехать, в Домбай или Архыз. Но если получится, рекомендуем посетить сразу оба курорта, ведь в каждом из них вы найдете что-то интересное и уникальное.

Комментарии / последние сообщения по теме на форуме
Элен 31 Январь, 2020
Добрый день! Подскажите, пожалуйста, в каком месяце в Архызе особенно активны насекомые или в этом плане все всегда относительно спокойно и пешим прогулкам они не мешают? И еще один вопрос: где лучше селиться, чтобы совершать индивидуальные пешие однодневные прогулки (на целый день)? Где ближе всего к таким маршрутам? ...
admin 31 Январь, 2020

Здравствуйте Элен!
Насчет каких насекомых вы? Не думаю, что хоть какие-то местные насекомые помешают прогулкам.
Насчет где поселиться - главное селиться в поселке, а не в поселке Романтика, и все. Поселок небольшой, и уж если вы готовы к прогулкам на целый день, то поселок из конца в конец вообще не проблема пройти. Ну или нашу карту смотрите https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/karachaevo-cherkessiya-arkhyz-karta, там все вроде отмечено что нужно, проще будет отель подобрать. ...
Элен 1 Февраль, 2020
Спасибо большое за ответ!
Я не совсем правильно сформулировала вопросы, позвольте исправлюсь.
1) Вводные данные следующие: собираемся приехать в Архыз весной-летом. Цель: однодневные пешие прогулки (на целый день) по красивым местам. Очевидно, что для того, чтобы совершить разные прогулки (в разные места из разных точек), нужна машина. Как Вы считаете, будет ли реально договориться с кем-нибудь из местных жителей, чтобы с утра, например, куда-то подвозили, а вечером в назначенное ориентировочное время встречали в том же месте?
2) Вопрос про насекомых был задан, исходя из того, что мы из Санкт-Петербурга, который, увы, окружен болотами, и многочисленные попытки длительных загородных прогулок показали, что в июне насекомых просто тьма (особенно много разного вида слепней) и это существенно снижает удовольствие от прогулок. В остальные месяцы все куда приятнее, поэтому хотела узнать в этом отношении про район Архыза. Но, видимо, к счастью это только наша северная проблема. :) ...
admin 1 Февраль, 2020

Здравствуйте. Ничего не меняется от вводных данных. Если вы планируете совершать хайкинг только из Архыза, без выезда в Домбай, например, то транспорт не понадобится вообще. Я сам приезжал в Архыз на машине, ставил ее на турбазе где останавливался, и ни разу на ней не ездил. Причем был с ребенком 9 лет, он без проблем тоже преодолел все маршруты. Дойти пешком по равнине из любого места поселка до точки старта на маршрут километр-другой, если вам предстоит пройти по маршруту 5-6 километров и еще по высоте в зависимости от маршрута, не должно составить проблем.
Транспорт может понадобиться только на Софийские озера, туда все таки далеко, или пешком в двухдневный поход. Без проблем на этот счет договоритесь, там все местное население только на это и работает, ведь это туристический поселок.
Насчет насекомых понял. Бывал не конкретно в Архызе в разных регионах Кавказских гор в разное время, ни разу не ощущал проблем с насекомыми. Т.е. они наверняка есть, но так чтобы были из-за них проблемы, не было такого. Даже комаров не припоминаю. ...
Элен 5 Февраль, 2020
Добрый день!
Большое Вам спасибо за подробный ответ!
Можно еще один момент у Вас уточнить: если верить картам, то троп, по которым можно дойти до природных достопримечательностей Архыза, не так много (условно: к каждой достопримечательности по одной тропе). Не много ли там народу летом (не хотелось бы идти нога в ногу за туристическими группами)? Не мешают ли внедорожники, проезжающие мимо, если идешь пешком?
Также, если можно, хотелось бы узнать Ваше мнение по поводу маршрутов в районе Красной поляны? Не очень ли там людно (на тропах)? Хорошее ли это место, с Вашей точки зрения, для однодневных походов?
Заранее благодарю Вас! ...
admin 5 Февраль, 2020

Здравствуйте! На Баритовый водопад и Озеро любви одна узкая тропа, на Казачий водопад и спящее озеро там целая дорога, даже две, но там только лошади. На Софийские озера и водопады тоже ведет дорога для авто, а потом уже тропы. Чтобы там много было людей, не сказал бы. По крайней мере намного меньше, чем в Домбае, например. В общем, даже в пик сезона в августе каких-то неудобств из-за этого я не испытывал.
Насчет троп в Красной поляне летом не могу сказать, не было там опыта летом, только в конце сентябре там ходил, людей почти не было тогда (это было три года назад). ...
Андрей 2 16 Февраль, 2020
Здравствуйте! В прошлом году были проездом в Теберде и Домбае. Очень понравилось. В этом году хочу основательнее посмотреть красоту Тебердинского заповедника. Плвнирую с семьей - жена, ребенок 13 лет остановиться в Теберде на неделю. Подскажите какие места можно посетить однодневными маршрутами. Будем на автомобиле. Нужно ли оформлять пограничный пропуск? ...
admin 16 Февраль, 2020

Здравствуйте Андрей!
В принципе все здесь ведь написано про маршруты- https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/karachaevo-cherkessiya-teberda-dostoprimechatelnosti, если тут отвечать буду, то же самое и напишу. Маршрутов с необходимость оформления приграничного пропуска из Теберды нет,такие маршруты только в Домбае. Если будете в Домбае, то там они оформляются при входе на маршрут, все хорошо организовано. ...
Евгения Евд 25 Июнь, 2020
Здравствуйте. Автономный поход на 7 дней откуда лучше планировать: Домбай, Архыз?
Готовы в день идти по 15 км. ...
admin 26 Июнь, 2020

Здравствуйте Евгения! У меня конкретно многодневного опыта не было там, пока складывались только однодневные радиальные маршруты, но теоретически прорабатывал по карте маршрут из Теберды через Мухинское ущелье через лагерь Эдельвейс с выходом в Архыз через Софийские водопады. Присмотритесь к нему, а вот про Мухинское немного - https://nashaplaneta.net/europe/russia/karachaevo-cherkessiya-teberda-dostoprimechatelnosti-muhinskoe-usheliye ...