Safety, tradition

Traditions of behavior

India is a unique country, where a high level is adhered to the traditions and rules of conduct. Although tourists are usually seen as the honorable guests of the country and ignorance of their traditions are treated with understanding, knowledge of the basic rules will help avoid trouble in some cases, and will make your stay in India more interesting and relaxing.

Tips for respecting local traditions, to avoid trouble:

  • The majority of Hindus strictly adhere to the religious requirements in terms of clothing, dwellings, temples, Holy men, communication between the sexes. So don't wear too revealing clothes. Hands women should be covered up to the elbow. Eliminate from your wardrobe of mini-skirts, shorts, thin tight pants. Fashionistas in General is a bit pribavit dust, and dress toconservative not to wear tight clothes. In any case, do not sunbathe Topless.
  • When visiting temples and dwellings always remove shoes. Often must remove their shoes even when entering a restaurant or shop.
  • Go around the temples, stupas, lingams and other religious structures in a clockwise direction only.
  • .
  • Not every temple is available to visiting foreigners. Before entering the temple in which you do not see other tourists, ask if you to enter into it.
  • The legs of the Hindus are considered impure because it is absolutely unacceptable to point out someone or something with your foot, touch anything or anyone with it.
  • The left hand is considered unclean (guess what it is used in the absence of toilet paper), and because you can use it only when absolutely necessary. We can not apply the left hand in greeting, show it to someone, to take food or to transfer items.
  • Do not be surprised that you may be unfamiliar with a resident of India may offer some moments of your life that are considered too personal in our society. Hindus traditionally there is no concept of personal space, and besides, they are very curious. Moreover, interest in the Affairs of another person is considered polite. Don't be shy to ask similar questions, the other person will be flattered manifested interest.
  • Do not touch the locals don't clap them on the shoulder and don't hug. Invasion of physical space will be perceived as an insult. The same applies to Indian children.
  • Do not give children money. If you give them money once, they will chase you, holding hands, everywhere. They will wait for you at the exit of the hotel and follow you until you leave this place.

Crime, crime and General security

In India, as in most Asian countries, low level of violent crime. The chance of becoming a victim of such crimes as murder, burglary, robbery are very low. In many large cities and tourist places of India there is a special tourist police. Although the police is no better than the rest, first and foremost, you need to contact the tourist police if only because of the language barrier.

However, India also has the reputation of the country in which it is very easily fall victim to petty theft, fraud, sexual harassment (mostly for women). But fortunately most of the possible problems can be avoided, if not disregarded common sense, be careful and attentive, to respect local traditions and customs.

It should also be borne in mind that in India there are events related to political terrorism, inter-communal and inter-religious conflicts. To avoid them, first and foremost, I will refrain from visiting regions of the country where such events are taking place. It is, first and foremost, Kashmir, Jammu, border areas with Pakistan. You should also avoid visiting Assam, Nagaland, Tripura and Mainpuri, the South-Eastern States bordering Bangladesh. Also in 2008-2009, there were outbreaks of violence in Bangalore , Ahmedabad , new Delhi and Mumbai.

Read also the article about ways of keeping money and documents while traveling.

Tips for safety:

  • Always follow the basic precautions as in any other country: do not leave wallet, documents and valuables unattended, including on the beach; do not trust the locals (and indeed anyone) if they promise to look after your things; beware of pickpockets; do not carry large sums of money; always close the door in the hotel room; do not walk on dark and remote streets.
  • Don't go alone without a guard or guide in trekking or remote non tourist areas.
  • Not too trust street travel agencies, or street selling of tickets or tours. The risk of significantly overpay or be left without money and tickets/tours. Better to buy tickets in official ticket offices, and excursions in the audited agencies (for example in your hotel or on the recommendation) or the guides.
  • Rumor has it that in Idnia you can meet the fraudsters who have a certain gift may a hypnosis that can make you give them all your savings. It is unknown how true this is, but to avoid such trouble, be vigilant and not carry large sums of money that you can lure or steal.
  • Check your restaurant bill, checks, stores, counts the amount of the purchase on your calculator.
  • If you have any problems with the rickshaw or taxi driver (if you are sure that you cheated for the price, delivered not there), threatened him with police or boldly go to the nearest police. Rickshaw and taxi drivers are licensed and value their license, so the meeting with the police may result in more trouble than you with them.
  • In India the locals are very afraid of water. Even the fishermen, and they do not know how to swim. Keep this in mind when you pull on the exploits of the sea. No one will come to help.
  • Do not be fooled by offers Indian entrepreneurs quickly make you rich. It is 100% Scam and they will just leave you without money. Even if it looks very realistic (to buy here very cheap and sell it expensive), remember that free cheese only in a mousetrap. Not vstupaya with them in diskusii or talk, just apologize and say that you are not interested.
  • For women, a very high risk of India becoming a victim of sexual harassment and even crime. Even a simple conversation with the man can be perceived them as flirting, so all attempts to communicate with men better to prevent.
  • Many tourists come to India to free and inexpensive drugs. If you are among those tourists, keep in mind that the penalty for drugs in India is very severe. It concerns the acquisition, storage, sale and transportation of NARKOTIKOV. Do not think that you can only catch with drugs at customs in India legally practiced by the police and provocateur when police instigate the acquisition of drugs, and then cuff you. And so in no case do not try to smuggle drugs home, unless you want to stay in Idnia even thirty years chances are you will have virtually no.

Road safety

Хаос на дорогах Индии

On the roads of India's chaos and mess by our standards. In 2008 on the roads of India in the accident killed more than 118000 people (the largest number in the world), despite the fact that India has one of the lowest figures on the number of cars per capita. Potential dangers lurk everywhere: from unruly drivers who run the car more out of habit than according to the rules, before leaping into the road sacred animal cows.

To minimize the risk to get hurt in an accident, we recommend that when driving long distances use the train (in the railway system in India is very well developed) instead of the tourist or city buses. If we are without a bus can not do, try to travel on public coaches and not with private kamikaze. Try to use official taxis instead of private owners or the rickshaw.

The idea to rent a car in Indian conditions, the authors website seems to be not very good, but if you decide to would take care of the insurance, including all that is possible.

No better and safer to have and pedestrians. Always when crossing the road look in both and in all directions, even in those from where the transport to appear like and should not.

Health, vaccinations

The level of development of medicine in India, especially private, is very high, and sometimes not inferior to the best world level. There is even such a thing as "medical tourism in India". Tourists from all over the world come to India to do a complicated surgery or treatment for which at home would have to pay an amount several times more. However, there's not much to rely on the cheapness of Indian medicine, and it is better to purchase insurance.

In addition, India is one of the leading places in the world for the production of drugs. In the pharmacies where you can find any medications the most popular brands. Remember, however, that the names of the majority of the Russian medicines of the Indians is unknown, and it is unlikely you will be able to explain to the pharmacist that you need activated charcoal. If you know exactly what you need, then try to say the international drug name in English. If you can't, then try to explain to the pharmacist that you have a headache (even with gestures), and you will pick up what you need. But be careful: a mistake in misunderstanding when purchasing medicines can get very costly. But in any case it is better to pack up the first aid kit at home.

To visit India do not have mandatory vaccinations, but if you are going there for a long time, you should think about how to do some of the recommended vaccinations: Typhoid, hepatitis a, Rabies, Polio, Meningitis.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
Dima 19 Sep 2016, 10:07
Arriving in Delhi with backpacks you will instantly become a target for the guys willing to help good and cheap to live. This guide will definitely get your Commission, for what you brought, so naturally you'll pay more than if you would have come yourself. So, if you are sure that you are able to find housing
do not greet anyone, don't talk and ignore all attempts to help you.

What would you not buy in India - be sure that the name you cost at least 2-3 times higher than real.
So, start to be traded as a maximum of half price. And even better and lower price to call.
Ideal - to estimate the price that you are willing to pay and called a few smaller - slowly build up bargaining.

About the pearls, I already wrote - one that is remarkable for a natural ocean - not always so in reality. The seller may even bring a lighter to show that it is not plastic. But, if the bead has split - it becomes clear that this cultured pearl is found inside a plastic ball. ...
PaZan 27 Dec 2016, 22:58
I heard that some beggars specially crippled to have galeony. And some who even builds business. Though I pass by and give a couple of rupees is very difficult. ...
Oksana-AUX 2017 Jan 15, 03:36
First and foremost, be sure to visit the Holy city of Varanasi will remain a big impression,that's for sure.And I advise you to visit the tea plantations of Kerala-a spectacle worthy of admiration. ...
vavalik 21 Feb 2017, 13:05
Dear travelers which of you lived in India with local using Couchsurfing? There are a couple of issues. ...
TaggerT1313 31 Mar 2017, 12:49
Of course, the cow) I also like the expression "he's serene as a cow in India".
Dimasta 09 Jul 2017, 12:12
Every year since 2012 ...
Arr 01 Aug 2017, 16:33
...
helga3682 26 Aug 2017, 23:10
South - for those who are richer, North - for the economy version... But the taste and color, as they say...
At the time, was in the South and in the North - clearly, South. ...
admin 2017 25 Oct, 16:42
Well, you rock!!! Don't have time to read until the review, ran a photo, but I definitely will. But the photo is so clear that you have a very cool journey turned out!!! ...
Svetasingh 01 Nov 2017, 10:24
Despite the fact that Khajuraho is one of the most visited tourist places of Central India is, after all, the Indian province. It is my second home:)

Outside glass hotels Khajuraho live like 100 years ago (and hotels inside the glass for at least 30 years ago). Where main street ends, starts flowery alleys with colorful houses, located with the observance of the caste system.

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/3702/244675082.2d/0_108c7a_e59629f2_L.jpg
https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6820/244675082.2d/0_108c80_b9e181bb_L.jpg

Pieces of asphalt roads infused with the dusty ground. Districts and separate houses alternate with gardens, wastelands, and lakes. There are no movie theaters and shopping centers.

Men shave in the open salons a terrible knife.

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/3903/244675082.2c/0_108c22_27f8c132_L.jpg

In the heat of the family sleep on that such roofs side by side:

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6106/244675082.2b/0_108bd4_43680b72_L.jpg

And sometimes at night the beds are submitted directly to the streets.
Here never saw the vacuum cleaner, and sold washing machines of the type "baby" from my deep childhood can't compete with the laundresses.

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/6705/244675082.2c/0_108bfc_f0870ddb_L.jpg

People here start the day with a bath treatment in any bodies of water, every day clean the house regularly and wash your clothes.

https://img-fotki.yandex.ru/get/5200/244675082.2c/0_108c00_c71e576_L& ...

На главную Наша Планета
Флаг Индии Индия

Безопасность, традиции

Традиции поведения

Индия - очень самобытная страна, где на высоком уровне соблюдаются традиции и правила поведения. И хотя на туристов обычно смотрят как на почетных гостей страны и у незнанию ими традиций относятся с пониманием, знание элементарных правил поможет избежать неприятностей в некоторых случаях, и сделает ваше пребывание в Индии более интересным и спокойным.

Советы по соблюдению традиций, чтобы избежать неприятностей:

  • Большая часть индусов строго соблюдают религиозные предписания в отношении одежды, жилища, храмов, святых людей, общения между полами. Поэтому не носите слишком открытую одежду. Руки у женщин должны быть закрыты по локоть. Исключите из своего гардероба мини-юбки, шорты, тонкие обтягивающие брюки. Модницам вообще стоит немного приубавить пыл, и одеваться поконсервативнее, не носить обтягивающую одежду. Ни в коем случае не загорайте топлесс.
  • При посещении храмов и жилищ обязательно снимайте обувь. Зачастую следует разуваться даже при входе в ресторан или в магазин.
  • Обходите храмы, ступы, лингамы и другие религиозные сооружения только по часовой стрелке.
  • .
  • Не каждый храм доступен для посещения иностранцам. Прежде чем войти в храм, в котором вы не видите других туристов, поинтересуйтесь, можно ли вам в него войти.
  • Ноги у индусов считаются нечистыми и потому абсолютно недопустимо указывать на кого-то или на что-то ногой, трогать что-либо или кого-либо ею.
  • Левая рука считается нечистой (догадайтесь, для чего она используется в отсутствие туалетной бумаги), и потому пользоваться ею можно лишь в случае крайней необходимости. Нельзя подавать левую руку в знак приветствия, показывать ею на кого-то, брать пищу или передавать предметы.
  • Не удивляйтесь тому, что незнакомый вам житель Индии может поинтересоваться некоторыми моментами вашей жизни, которые считаются слишком личными в нашем обществе. У индусов традиционно отсутствует понятие личного пространства, и к тому же они очень любопытны. Более того, интерес к делами другого человека считается проявлением вежливости. Не стесняйтесь сами задавать аналогичные вопросы, ваш собеседник будет польщен проявленному к нему интересу.
  • Не прикасайтесь к местным жителям, не хлопайте их по плечу и не обнимайте. Вторжение в физическое пространство будет воспринято как оскорбление. То же самое относится и к индийским детям.
  • Не давайте детям деньги. Если вы дадите им деньги один раз, они будут преследовать вас, протягивая руки, повсеместно. Они будут вас поджидать у выхода из отеля и следовать по пятам, пока вы не уедете из этого места.

Преступность, криминал и общая безопасность

В Индии, как и в большинстве азиатских стран, низкий уровень насильственной преступности. Шанс стать жертвой таких преступлений как убийство, разбой, грабеж очень низкий. Во многих крупных городах и туристических местах Индии действует специальная туристическая полиция. Хотя данная полиция ничем не лучше остальной, в первую очередь вам необходимо обращаться именно к туристическим полицейским хотя бы по причине языкового барьера.

Однако Индия одновременно имеет репутацию страны, в которой очень легко стать жертвой мелкой кражи, мошенничества, сексуальных домогательств (в основном для женщин). Но к счастью большинство возможных проблем можно избежать, если не пренебрегать здравым смыслом, быть осторожным и внимательным, соблюдать местные традиции и обычаи.

Следует также иметь в виду, что в Индии часто происходят события, связанные с политическим терроризмом, межобщинными и межрелигиозными конфликты. Чтобы избежать их, в первую очередь следует воздержатся от посещения регионов страны, где такие события имеют место быть. Это, в первую очередь, Кашмир, Джамму, районы пограничные с Пакистаном. Также следует избегать посещения Ассама, Нагаленда, Трипура и Маинпура, юго-восточные Штаты, граничащие с Бангладеш. Также в 2008-2009 годах были вспышки насилия в Бангалоре , Ахмедабаде , Нью- Дели и Мумбаи.

Прочитайте также статью о способах сохранности денег и документов во время путешествия.


Советы по правилам безопасности:

  • Всегда соблюдайте элементарные меры предосторожности, как и в любой другой стране: не оставляйте кошелек, документы и ценные вещи без присмотра, в т.ч. на пляже; не доверяйте местным жителям (да и вообще никому), если они пообещают присмотреть за вашими вещами; остерегайтесь карманников; не носите с собой крупные суммы денег; всегда закрывайте дверь в номере отеля; не ходите по темным и удаленным улицам.
  • Не ходите в одиночку без охраны или гида в горные походы или отдаленные не туристические районы.
  • Не слишком-то доверяйте уличным туристическим агентствам или уличной продаже билетов или экскурсий. Велик риск значительно переплатить или остаться без денег и билетов/экскурсии. Билеты лучше покупать в официальных кассах, а экскурсии в проверенных агентствах (например в вашем отеле или по рекомендации) или у гидов.
  • Поговаривают, что в Иднии можно встретить мошенников, которые обладают неким даром, возможно гипнозом, которые могут заставить вас отдать им все ваши сбережения. Неизвестно, насколько это правда, но чтобы избежать такой неприятности, будьте бдительны и не носите с собой большие суммы денег, которые у вас можно выманить или украсть.
  • Проверяйте счета в ресторане, чеки в магазинах, пересчитывайте сумму покупки на своем калькуляторе.
  • Если у вас возникли проблемы с рикшей или таксистом (если вы уверены, что вас обманули по цене, завезли не туда), пригрозите ему полицией или смело обращайтес к ближайшему полицейскому. Рикши и таксисты лицензируются и дорожат своей лицензией, поэтому встреча с полицией для них может обернуться большей неприятностью, чем для вас с ними.
  • В Индии местные жители очень боятся воды. Даже рыбаки, и те не умеют плавать. Имейте это в виду, когда вас потянет на подвиги в море. Вам некому будет прийти на помощь.
  • Не покупайтесь на предложения индийских "предпринимателей" быстро сделать вас богатыми. Это 100% мошенники и они просто оставят вас без денег. Даже если это все выглядит очень реалистично (купить тут очень дешево, и продать там подороже), помните - бесплатный сыр только в мышеловке. Не вступайете с ними в дискисии или разговоры, просто извинитесь и скажите что вам это не интересно.
  • Для женщин очень велик риск в Индии стать жертвой сексуального домогательства и даже преступления. Даже простая беседа с мужчиной может быть воспринята им как флирт, поэтому все попытки общения со стороны мужчин лучше пресекать.
  • Многие туристы едут в Индию, чтобы свободно и недорого употреблять наркотики. Если вы относитесь к таким туристам, имейте в виду, что наказание за наркотики в Индии очень суровое. Это касается приобретения, хранения, продажи и транспортировки наротиков. Не думайте, что вас могут поймать с наркотиками только на таможне: в Индии законно практикуется полицейское-провокаторство, когда полицейски подстрекают к приобретению наркотиков, а потом надевают на вас наручники. И уж ни в коем случае не пытайтесь провезти наркотики на родину, если только не хотите задержаться в Иднии еще лет на тридцать: шансов у вас не будет практически никаких.

Безопасность на дорогах

Хаос на дорогах Индии

На дорогах Индии царит хаос и безобразие по нашим меркам. В 2008 году на дорогах Индии в ДТП погибло более 118000 человек (самый большой показатель в мире), при том что в Индии один из самых низких показателей по количеству машин на душу населения. Потенциальные опасности подстерегают везде: от недисциплинированных водителей, которые управляют автомобилями больше по привычке, чем по правилам, и до выскакивающих на дорогу священных животных – коров.

Чтобы минимизировать риск пострадать в ДТП, рекомендуем при движении на дальние расстояния использовать поезда (система железнодорожного транспорта в Индии очень хорошо развита) вместо туристических или междугородных автобусов. Если уж без автобуса никак не обойтись, старайтесь путешествовать на государственных междугородных автобусах, а не на частных камикадзе. Старайтесь также использовать официальное такси вместо частников или рикш.

Идея брать автомобиль напрокат в индийских условиях для авторов сайта кажется не совсем хорошей, но если уж вы решитесь на это, непременно позаботьтесь о страховке, включающей все что только возможно.

Ничуть не легче и безопаснее приходиться и пешеходам. Всегда при переходе дороги смотрите в оба и во все стороны, даже в те, откуда транспорт появиться вроде бы и не должен.

Здоровье, прививки

Уровень развития медицины в Индии, особенно частной, очень высок, и порой не уступает лучшему мировому уровню. Даже существует такое понятие, как «медицинский туризм в Индию». Туристы со всего мира приезжают в Индию для того, чтобы сделать сложную операцию или пройти лечение, за которое на родине пришлось бы выложить сумму в несколько раз большую. Однако не стоит сильно уповать на дешевизну индийской медицины, а лучше приобрести страховку.

Кроме этого Индия занимает одно из лидирующих мест в мире по производству лекарств. В аптеках там можно найти любые лекарства самых популярных марок. Однако следует помнить, что названия большинства российских лекарств индусам неизвестны, и вряд ли вы сможете объяснить фармацевту, что вам нужен активированный уголь. Если вы точно знаете, что вам нужно, то постарайтесь сказать международное название препарата на английском. Если не можете, то постарайтесь объяснить фармацевту, что у вас болит (хотя бы жестами), и вам подберут то, что нужно. Но будьте осторожны: ошибки в недопонимании при приобретении лекарств могут вам очень дорого обойтись. Но в любом случае лучше собирать в дорогу аптечку дома.

Для посещения Индии не установлены обязательные прививки, однако если вы собираетесь туда на долго, стоит подумать о том, чтобы сделать некоторые из рекомендованных прививок: Тиф, Гепатит А, Бешенство, Полиомелит, Менингит.

Последняя редакция 10.04.2011