The currency in Egypt, money, checks, credit cards

Egyptian pound

Один египетский фунт

The national currency of Egypt – Egyptian pound. International designation – EGP. In Egypt, the price tag is usually the local currency is designated as – L. E. (from the French. - Livre egyptienne, translated – Egyptian Lira) or E£. The locals call money aunt, guinay, or livre egyptienne (LE).

One Egyptian pound equals 100 piastres (pt). In wide circulation there are banknotes of 25 and 50 piastres; 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and £ 200; coins in 25, 50 piastres and 1 pound. There are coins of 20, 10, 5, 2, 1 milliam (the smallest coin), but they are almost there. If you will fall into the hands of small coins, is sure to leave them on the memory is almost a rarity. Sometimes the price tags can be specified prices in piastres: for example 550pt is 5,5 E £.

Bills of different denominations do not differ in size, and they depict ancient Egyptian temples or mosques. Inscriptions made in Arabic and repeated in English language. To distinguish bills of various denominations from the first glance it is sometimes difficult, so you should be very careful when calculating and obtaining delivery. If you pay more, nobody will tell you about it, and just pray for you to Allah.

What currency to take to Egypt?

Пятьдесят египетских фунтов

In Egypt there will be no issues with exchange either of the two main world currencies - the Euro and the U.S. dollar. So I can easily take any of them which you prefer. Also, many hotels and restaurants (especially expensive) prices are often quoted in dollars or euros and you will gladly accept payment in these currencies. You also will gladly accept euros or dollars anywhere where prices are in pounds, but can calculate the rate of pounds at an unfavourable rate. In such cases it is necessary to know the current rate of exchange and bargaining.

In resort areas it is possible to exchange rubles for pounds and even to pay in rubles, but unfortunately, the rate recalculation will be not the very best. Better to pay up or to change the dollar and the Euro.

Currency exchange

Монеты Египта

When exchanging currency should always be very careful, carefully counted the money, paying attention to the numbers on the bills and their title (the piastre or pound). In the Arsenal of serious change, even in banks there are many ways to chop a tourist for a couple of hundred pounds.

To exchange dollars or euros in Egypt can be anywhere: in hotels; in stores; I'm on the street; in the exchange; in the Bank. It is best to change currency in banks or exchange offices as there the best rate and less chance to be deceived, although he is still there.

Some banks of Egypt, work only in the morning from 8:30 to 14:00. Other additionally open from 18:00 to 21:00. But almost all banks (except Bank MISR) closed Friday and Saturday.

Do not hurry with the exchange on arrival at the airport, or, in extreme cases, change a small amount. During the holidays keep an eye to the course at different points and change small amounts as needed. It makes no sense to change a large sum at once: first, to exchange back to EUR or dollar will not be beneficial;secondly, the export of local currency is prohibited from Egypt; thirdly, you can pay with euros or dollars, you only need to follow the current course and to bargain, you have not counted the cost at an unfavorable rate.

The exchange rate

The Egyptian pound against the US dollar varies from 4.5 to 6 lbs. Ten Russian rubles is approximately equal to 2-m Egyptian pounds. To recalculate the approximate amount of pounds to rubles, just multiply it by five, for example, 10 Egyptian pounds is equal to 10x5=50 rubles.

The exchange rate (Egyptian pound) to 30/12/2017

Currency calculator*
Amount:
from
in
The result:
График изменения курса валюты
* Calculator recalculates the amounts based on the official world currency exchange rates. When exchanging currency in exchange offices the rate will vary slightly depending on the exchange fee
Enable widget currency*

* - If you enable the widget, exchange rate of the selected currency will be displayed in the right sidebar on every page of the website until you unplug yourself.

Plastic cards and traveller's cheques

Plastic cards and traveller's cheques are quite common in major Egyptian cities and resort areas.

Plastic cards: Amex, Visa, MasterCard and Diners Club are accepted in many hotels, restaurants, shops in the major cities. But you will hardly be able to pay by card or charge it in areas remote from major centers of areas. Also keep in mind that when paying you will additionally charge a Commission of 3% to 10% of the value of the goods.

In large cities there are many ATMs where you can withdraw money with Visa or MasterCard. The safest way to do it in the premises of the banks or near them.

Traveler's checks most well-known brands can be cashed in most banks, Forex offices and authorised the offices of Amex and Thomas Cook in Cairo , Alexandria , Luxor , Aswan , Hurghada and Sharm El-Sheikh. In the exchange of cheques in banks you can charge a Commission, so it's best to exchange the correct amount of the fee, and if you are not satisfied, look for another Bank.

Tips

Tip, called "baksheesh", an integral part of relations between tourists and staff in Egypt, and often the main income of the Egyptians. Should be sensitive to the fact that most of them will expect from you "baksheesh" and not getting it one or two times will be different to treat you. The wages they receive are so small that they are not enough for subsistence, and basic income they receive in tips. And not getting them from you, they just will have nothing to eat and feed my family.

On the other hand, we should distinguish tips for services that you really provide the nature of their work, even if it is as simple as opening before you the doors of the imposed in the form of support on the street adhering to you guide whom you asked, the attendant in the Museum, the owner of the camel. If you blatantly extort money for services that you didn't want to or that you have already paid for in the General account, we firmly deny this. Tipping should be for services that you did have, and give freely.

A tip for small services, within a few pounds, I decided to give the hotel clerk and the airport, who helps to carry bags, open the door, escort you to your room in the hotel, hailing a taxi. A little more, approx £ 10 per week (almost $ 2), you would expect a maid cleaning the room. Easier to give baksheesh paper banknote (£5) or coins (1 pound). Count on the change for a large bill given as a tip, of course not.

In restaurants you will also expect a tip of 5% – 10% of the account value. Do not spare them, if you like, how you have served and liked the food, especially if you plan to return to this restaurant.

Taxi drivers can be given 10% more than the fare on the meter, if you believe that the trip was worth it.

In the end, if you mind to give a few pounds or you have none, give at least one pound, say "thank you" and smile. It's better than not to let anything pass by as if nothing had happened.

Comments / recent posts on the topic on the forum
35eg35 15 Dec 2015, 15:55
Maxim, apparently You are talking about the coincidence of the guesswork out of the second part (continuation). Yes, in the biblical stories many white spots. Sometimes so much that it becomes an obvious fact later edit them. ...
sunMYLOVE 28 Dec 2015, 06:27
In Egypt Souvenirs or services are not so expensive. There just aren't that clean. ...
sunMYLOVE 12 Jan 2016, 07:57
In Egypt not so expensive, it is possible for the sea to relax, and to travel. You can eat in the hotel, the Swiss table, the choice is too big. ...
sunMYLOVE 21 Mar 2016, 06:39
If you have several people can you rent a car, convenient. ...
olgaolgina16 18 Oct 2016, 23:09
There is also a large hotel where you can relax without animation. ...
katiaLike 04 Feb 2017, 11:28
I think it is totally safe! Though she was not there) ...
MStroy 13 May 2017, 06:57
Me too key chain with a scarab friend brought. ...
Anna Maviz 02 Mar 2017, 20:23
Relax there another week, Yes. To live, no. Very different customs and way of life. The climate is dry. In the desert only on trips good. And then for a swim. Like oases. Now there is generally not safe. ...
, Elena 06 Dec 2017, 14:43
It? Can you clarify? ...
Liliya1234 20 Dec 2017, 18:42
In that year, so wanted to go to Egypt but with Russia were closed poured, and the Deposit was in the Russian tour company had to fly to Turkey via Moscow, I hope to get there). ...

На главную Наша Планета
Флаг Египта Египет
Африка > Египет > Деньги, чеки, пластиковые карты

Валюта Египта, деньги, чеки, пластиковые карты

Египетский фунт

Один египетский фунт

Национальная валюта Египта – египетский фунт. Международное обозначение – EGP. В Египте на ценниках обычно местная валюта обозначается как – L.E. (от франц. - Livre egyptienne, переводится – египетская лира) или E£. Местные жители называют деньги паунт, guinay, или livre egyptienne (LE).

Один египетский фунт равен 100 пиастрам (pt). В широком обращении находятся банкноты в 25 и 50 пиастров; 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 и 200 фунтов; монеты в 25, 50 пиастров и 1 фунт. Существуют монеты достоинством 20, 10, 5, 2, 1 милльем (самая мелкая монета), но их в обращении почти нет. Если вам в руки попадутся мелкие монеты, непременно оставьте их себе на память – это почти раритет. Иногда на ценниках могут быть указаны цены в пиастрах: например 550pt вместо 5,5 E £.

Купюры разного достоинства не различаются между собой по размерам, и на них изображены древние храмы Египта или мечети. Надписи сделаны на арабском и продублированы на английском языке. Различить купюры различного достоинства с первого взгляда иногда бывает трудно, поэтому следует быть очень внимательным при расчете и получении сдачи. Если вы заплатите больше, вам никто не скажет об этом, а только помолятся за вас Аллаху.

Какую валюту брать с собой в Египет?

Пятьдесят египетских фунтов

В Египте не возникнет никаких проблем с обменом любой из двух основных мировых валют - евро и американский доллар. Поэтому можете спокойно брать любую из них, какая вам больше по душе. Также во многих отелях и ресторанах (особенно в дорогих) цены часто указаны в долларах или евро, и у вас с удовольствием примут оплату в этих валютах. У вас также с удовольствием примут евро или доллар в любом месте, где цены указаны в фунтах, но могут пересчитать курс из фунтов по невыгодному курсу. В таких случаях нужно знать текущий курс валют и торговаться.

В курортных зонах можно обменять рубли на фунты и даже расплатиться рублями, но, к сожалению, курс в пересчете будет не самый выгодный. Выгоднее все таки рассчитываться или менять доллар и евро.


Обмен валюты

Монеты Египта

При обмене валюты следует всегда быть предельно внимательным, тщательно пересчитывать полученные деньги, обращая внимание на цифры на купюрах и на их название (пиастр или фунт). В арсенале менял даже в серьезных банках есть множество способов наколоть туриста на сотню-другую фунтов.

Обменять доллар или евро в Египте можно где угодно: в отелях; в магазинах; у менял на улице; в обменных пунктах; в банке. Лучше всего менять валюту в банках или в обменных пунктах, поскольку там самый выгодный курс и меньше шансов быть обманутыми, хотя он все равно есть.

Некоторые банки Египта работают только в первой половине дня - с 8:30 до 14:00. Другие дополнительно открыты с 18:00 до 21:00. Но почти все банки (кроме банка МИСР) закрыты в пятницу и субботу.

Не торопитесь с обменом сразу по прибытию в аэропорту, или, в крайнем случае, поменяйте небольшую сумму. Уже во время отдыха присматривайтесь к курсу в разных пунктах и меняйте небольшие суммы по мере необходимости. Нет смысла менять сразу большую сумму: во-первых, обменять обратно в евро или доллар будет не выгодно;во-вторых, вывоз местной валюты из Египта запрещен; в-третьих, можно спокойно расплачиваться евро или долларами, нужно только следить за текущим курсом и торговаться, чтобы вам не пересчитывали стоимость по невыгодному курсу.

Курс обмена

Курс египетского фунта по отношению к доллару США варьируется от 4,5 до 6 фунтов. Десять российских рублей примерно равны 2-м египетским фунтам. Чтобы пересчитать примерную сумму из фунтов в рубли, просто умножайте ее на пять: например, 10 египетских фунтов равны 10x5=50 рублей.

Курс обмена валюты (Египетский фунт) на 03.07.2016

1 Доллар США (USD) = 8,88 EGP
100 рублей (RUB) = 13,92 EGP
1 Евро (EUR) = 9,89 EGP
Калькулятор валюты (Египетский фунт)*
Сумма:
из
в
Результат:
* Калькулятор пересчитывает суммы исходя из официальных мировых курсов валют. При обмене валюты в обменных пунктах курс будет незначительно отличаться в зависимости от комиссии обменного пункта
Включить виждет валюты*

* - При включенном виджете, курс обмена выбранной валюты будет отображаться в правом сайдбаре на каждой странице сайта, пока вы его не отключите сами.

Пластиковые карты и трэвел чеки

Пластиковые карты и трэвел чеки довольно широко распространены в крупных египетских городах и курортных зонах.

Пластиковые карты Amex, Visa, MasterCard и Diners Club принимаются к оплате во многих отелях, ресторанах, магазинах в крупных городах. Но вы вряд ли сможете расплатиться картой или снять с нее деньги в отдаленных от крупных центров районах. Имейте также в виду, что при оплате с вас дополнительно взыщут комиссию от 3% до 10% от стоимости товара.

В крупных городах установлено большое количество банкоматов, в которых вы сможете спокойно снять деньги с Visa или MasterCard. Безопаснее всего делать это в помещениях банков или рядом с ними.

Дорожные чеки большинства известных марок с легкостью могут быть обналичены в большинстве банков, офисах форекс и авторизированных офисах Amex and Thomas Cook в Каире , Александрии , Луксоре , Асуане , Хургаде и Шарм-эль-Шейхе. При обмене чеков в банках с вас могут взыскать комиссию, поэтому лучше до обмена уточнить сумму комиссии, и если вас не устраивает, поискать другой банк.

Чаевые

Чаевые, называемые здесь «бакшиш», неотъемлемая часть отношений туристов и обслуживающего персонала в Египте, и зачастую основной доход египтян. Следует с пониманием относиться к тому, что большинство из них будут ожидать от вас «бакшиш», а не получив его один-два раза будут по другому относиться к вам. Зарплаты, которые они получают, настолько малы, что их не хватит на пропитание, а основной доход они получают в виде чаевых. И не получив их от вас, им просто нечего будет есть и кормить семью.

С другой стороны, следует различать чаевые за услуги, которые вам действительно оказывают по роду своей работы, пускай даже такие простые, как открывание перед вами дверей, от навязанных услуг в виде сопровождения на улице приставшего к вам гида, которого вы об этом не просили, сопровождающего в музее, хозяина верблюда. Если с вас нагло вымогают деньги за услуги, которые вы не хотели получать или которые вы уже оплатили в общем счете, то твердо откажите в этом. Давать чаевые надо за услуги, которые вам действительно оказали, причем давать добровольно.

Чаевые за мелкие услуги, в пределах нескольких фунтов, принято давать служащему гостиницы и аэропорта, который помогает перенести багаж, открывает дверь машины, проводит вас до вашей комнаты в отеле, вызывает такси. Немного больше, около 10 фунтов в неделю (это почти 2 доллара), от вас будет ожидать горничная, убирающая номер. Удобнее давать бакшиш бумажной купюрой (5 фунтов) или монетами (1 фунт). Рассчитывать на сдачу с крупной купюры, данной в виде чаевых, конечно не стоит.

В ресторанах от вас также будут ожидать чаевые 5% – 10% от стоимости счета. Не жалейте их, если вам понравилось, как вас обслужили и понравилась еда, в особенности, если вы планируете вернуться в этот ресторан.

Таксистам можно дать на 10% больше от стоимости поездки по счетчику, если вы считаете, что поездка стоила того.

В конце концов, если вам жалко дать несколько фунтов или у вас их нет, дайте хотя бы один фунт, скажите "спасибо" и улыбнитесь. Это лучше, чем не дать ничего и пройти мимо как ни в чем не бывало.

Последняя редакция 27.10.2011